Leinster Hurling Championship 2024

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "I know, but you are talking about after the fact. Sure the standard of some of the Leinster games has been pretty poor also. Galway v KK, Wexford v Galway, Carlow v KK, etc. These shootouts as you call them were obviously not envisaged when the live games are being carved up. At the outset, if you have the choice between Cork /Tipp or Wex/Carlow, which one do you think is going to be shown? Dublin v KK was on Saturday evening, and I really enjoyed it,. Leinster games this weekend should be also cracking affairs.."
I watch all hurling. The crowds in Munster are great but this notion of the quality being way higher is a myth.

This is proven time and again in the ai series.

Limerick are a cut above everyone.

Outside of that there's little between the Munster counties, Kilkenny, Galway, Wexford.

Kilkenny and Wexford was one of the best games of the year last year and wasn't on telly or streamed.

Granted I do accept that when one of Cork, Waterford, Limerick and Clare have to go the championship will be worse off.

However the same can be said of Galway Wexford and Dublin.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2894 - 22/05/2024 09:19:56    2546298

Waterford v Cork and Galway v Clare for All Ireland Senior Hurling Semi Finals.....any takers on those predictions!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2324 - 22/05/2024 10:07:52    2546312

Replying To katser:  "Waterford v Cork and Galway v Clare for All Ireland Senior Hurling Semi Finals.....any takers on those predictions!"
I'd worry about staying in the championship first.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2894 - 22/05/2024 10:48:22    2546325

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "You've missed my point completely. I was pointing out about the game selection being a commercial decision. I never stated if it was right or wrong, and in no way would I suggest Cork should be selected over Wexford.

However, from reading your post I can see it contains plenty of bitterness towards Munster hurling, and statements like 'Exhibition match' 'Franks Folly' and 'Donny old puke' just back that up. I'll leave that chip with you.

looking forward to some cracking games in Leinster and Munster this weekend. Games we can all watch.."
I've no bitterness towards Munster hurling. On account of some very good friends and spending alot of time up there every year I've followed Limerick in Munster since the 90s. My eldest sons godfather is from Cork. I watch as many Munster games as I can every year.
Franks Folly was a term I first heard from a Munster man, from Clare.
Donny old puke is my own term for a man who seems to prioritise himself first, then his county second, then hurling in general only gets lip service, once it suits his own agenda. Such people are called pukes around where I live.
Limerick v Cork was very exciting, with plenty of scores. But like an exhibition game the defending was pretty woeful.
Are you a referee by any chance? A reason given to me by several Cork hurling friends for Corks lack of success the last 20 years is that referees in Cork, club and underage, give frees for any kind of contact. They reckon thus has led to 2 things, free scoring Cork forwards that can't score if put under enough pressure, and backs that don't know how to tackle properly at intercounty, leading to either soft scores conceded, or yellow and red cards due to Cork defenders overcompensating.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12822 - 22/05/2024 10:55:09    2546333

Replying To Viking66:  "I've no bitterness towards Munster hurling. On account of some very good friends and spending alot of time up there every year I've followed Limerick in Munster since the 90s. My eldest sons godfather is from Cork. I watch as many Munster games as I can every year.
Donny old puke is my own term for a man who seems to prioritise himself first, then his county second, then hurling in general only gets lip service, once it suits his own agenda. Such people are called pukes around where I live.
Limerick v Cork was very exciting, with plenty of scores. But like an exhibition game the defending was pretty woeful.
Are you a referee by any chance? A reason given to me by several Cork hurling friends for Corks lack of success the last 20 years is that referees in Cork, club and underage, give frees for any kind of contact. They reckon thus has led to 2 things, free scoring Cork forwards that can't score if put under enough pressure, and backs that don't know how to tackle properly at intercounty, leading to either soft scores conceded, or yellow and red cards due to Cork defenders overcompensating."
Ye must relishing the chance of playing Corks so, especially as we can't defend, and only score points because other Munster teams can't defend either.

If it transpires that we end up meeting in the championship, please go easy on us....

BTW - best of luck against the stripy men on Sunday!

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 22/05/2024 11:09:14    2546339

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "You've missed my point completely. I was pointing out about the game selection being a commercial decision. I never stated if it was right or wrong, and in no way would I suggest Cork should be selected over Wexford.

However, from reading your post I can see it contains plenty of bitterness towards Munster hurling, and statements like 'Exhibition match' 'Franks Folly' and 'Donny old puke' just back that up. I'll leave that chip with you.

looking forward to some cracking games in Leinster and Munster this weekend. Games we can all watch.."
I've no bitterness towards Munster hurling. On account of some very good friends and spending alot of time up there every year I've followed Limerick in Munster since the 90s. My eldest sons godfather is from Cork. I watch as many Munster games as I can every year.
Are you a referee by any chance? A reason given to me by several Cork hurling friends for Corks lack of success the last 20 years is that referees in Cork, club and underage, give frees for any kind of contact. They reckon thus has led to 2 things, free scoring Cork forwards that can't score if put under enough pressure, and backs that don't know how to tackle properly at intercounty, leading to either soft scores conceded, or yellow and red cards due to Cork defenders overcompensating.
The reason the post might of sounded anti Munster is that it was written in response to a clown, another self explanatory local term, claiming stuff about the standard of Munster and Leinster hurling this year, when very apparently like Donny old puke, he hasn't actually seen much, if any, Leinster hurling, being as he pointed out himself it's not been on GAAGO. Antrim v Wexford was though, and if you want to see some real hurling buy it, or it might even be free now which would likely suit a cute Cork **** like yourself. You will be able to see some real hurling, real defending, such as you wouldn't have seen in a Cork Jersey since O Sullivan retired, Paddy Burke on Lee Chin for example.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12822 - 22/05/2024 11:10:26    2546340

Replying To Viking66:  "I've no bitterness towards Munster hurling. On account of some very good friends and spending alot of time up there every year I've followed Limerick in Munster since the 90s. My eldest sons godfather is from Cork. I watch as many Munster games as I can every year.
The reason the post might of sounded anti Munster is that it was written in response to a clown, another self explanatory local term, claiming stuff about the standard of Munster and Leinster hurling this year, when very apparently like Donny old puke, he hasn't actually seen much, if any, Leinster hurling, being as he pointed out himself it's not been on GAAGO. Antrim v Wexford was though, and if you want to see some real hurling buy it, or it might even be free now which would likely suit a cute Cork **** like yourself. You will be able to see some real hurling, real defending, such as you wouldn't have seen in a Cork Jersey since O Sullivan retired, Paddy Burke on Lee Chin for example."
Ah stop, you must be pulling my leg now. I only got to see the highlights of Antrim v Wexford, and a great result for Antrim it was, and no surprise in their home ground really. This was the same Antrim that conceded 5-30 the week before, and you're on about real defending & real hurling?? Enough said. I'll leave it there..

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 22/05/2024 12:13:28    2546366

The reason the post might of sounded anti Munster is that it was written in response to a clown, another self explanatory local term, claiming stuff about the standard of Munster and Leinster hurling this year, when very apparently like Donny old puke, he hasn't actually seen much, if any, Leinster hurling, being as he pointed out himself it's not been on GAAGO. Antrim v Wexford was though, and if you want to see some real hurling buy it, or it might even be free now which would likely suit a cute Cork **** like yourself. You will be able to see some real hurling, real defending, such as you wouldn't have seen in a Cork Jersey since O Sullivan retired, Paddy Burke on Lee Chin for example."
It's funny you should bring up about refs in cork giving frees for anything. I know a guy who coached senior club level down in cork and he said the exact same. Refs gave frees far too easy and the whole thing was far too nice. He coached senior in kilkenny and said it was like night and day, hard tackles flying in and refs waving play on.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1979 - 22/05/2024 13:42:11    2546391

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Ah stop, you must be pulling my leg now. I only got to see the highlights of Antrim v Wexford, and a great result for Antrim it was, and no surprise in their home ground really. This was the same Antrim that conceded 5-30 the week before, and you're on about real defending & real hurling?? Enough said. I'll leave it there.."
What did you see of Kilkenny and Antrim? Its obvious from your post you didn't even bother to read a match report. Why do you keep digging? It's very obvious you know nothing about the Leinster Championship so why are you on this thread posting comparisons to the Munster Championship? If you had any knowledge of our Championship at all you would know the following-
1- there is relegation.
2-teams therefore target games to get points from.
3- weaker counties play weakened teams in games they don't think they will win, and play in a manner to reduce the risk of injuries.
What you know about the Leinster Championship could be written on the back of a postage stamp in large writing. You obviously don't have any interest in increasing your knowledge of it either. Maybe dust the cobwebs of the old cute Cork hoor wallet and actually buy a game and watch it might be a good starting point. Then you might actually be able to form valid opinions of your own. Instead of being spoon-fed them by a clown on TSG.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12822 - 22/05/2024 14:18:52    2546409

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Ye must relishing the chance of playing Corks so, especially as we can't defend, and only score points because other Munster teams can't defend either.

If it transpires that we end up meeting in the championship, please go easy on us....

BTW - best of luck against the stripy men on Sunday!"
Thanks. Luck is important in every big game! If we meet again in the championship I'm sure neither team will go easy.
I didn't say you can't defend, only that you could defend better. Every Cork hurling supporter I've met would say the same. Its very unusual to win a championship game when you concede 35 points. And it's harder to score when your forwards are put on under pressure. You obviously didn't watch your AIQF in Thurles in 2022. I did. I was there. On balance of play you should've won. But you didn't because of those failings.
I think you should make it through so maybe we will meet down the line.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12822 - 22/05/2024 14:27:15    2546410

Replying To Bon:  "It's funny you should bring up about refs in cork giving frees for anything. I know a guy who coached senior club level down in cork and he said the exact same. Refs gave frees far too easy and the whole thing was far too nice. He coached senior in kilkenny and said it was like night and day, hard tackles flying in and refs waving play on."
It was Cork lads told me that.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12822 - 22/05/2024 14:29:19    2546414

RTE showing the dead rubber of Clare vs Tipperary instead of any of the Leinster matches.

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 585 - 22/05/2024 14:29:56    2546415

Replying To Bon:  "It's funny you should bring up about refs in cork giving frees for anything. I know a guy who coached senior club level down in cork and he said the exact same. Refs gave frees far too easy and the whole thing was far too nice. He coached senior in kilkenny and said it was like night and day, hard tackles flying in and refs waving play on."
Yes and that being so I saw it on Saturday night any time a Kilkenny player hit the deck for any reason their supporters were shouting for frees.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1201 - 22/05/2024 14:49:49    2546421

Replying To Yellow:  "RTE showing the dead rubber of Clare vs Tipperary instead of any of the Leinster matches."
Have to say I think that's a terrible decision, and I've posted about it already on another thread.

They'd probably say that Wexford v Kilkenny was already allocated to GAA GO by the time they decided to use the News Now channel, but sweet Lord, if the news channel was going to be thrown into the mix for showing matches, it surely should have been done before the decisions were made about what match goes where.

Clare v Tipp is not quite a dead rubber but there's definitely a strong chance it will turn out to be completely irrelevant. If Limerick beat Waterford in the other match, then Clare will go through to the Munster Final in second place no matter what happens in their own match v Tipp.

On the other hand, it's absolutely guaranteed that the results of the two Leinster matches will be hugely relevant. And yet RTE decide to show Munster hurling instead. After the disgrace of The Sunday Game the other night, they're giving Leinster another kick in the teeth.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 22/05/2024 14:50:43    2546422

Could they not have had last day in either one on Saturday and shown all the relevant matches?

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1201 - 22/05/2024 14:57:04    2546424

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Have to say I think that's a terrible decision, and I've posted about it already on another thread.

They'd probably say that Wexford v Kilkenny was already allocated to GAA GO by the time they decided to use the News Now channel, but sweet Lord, if the news channel was going to be thrown into the mix for showing matches, it surely should have been done before the decisions were made about what match goes where.

Clare v Tipp is not quite a dead rubber but there's definitely a strong chance it will turn out to be completely irrelevant. If Limerick beat Waterford in the other match, then Clare will go through to the Munster Final in second place no matter what happens in their own match v Tipp.

On the other hand, it's absolutely guaranteed that the results of the two Leinster matches will be hugely relevant. And yet RTE decide to show Munster hurling instead. After the disgrace of The Sunday Game the other night, they're giving Leinster another kick in the teeth."
I thought RTE are showing Galway v Dublin ??

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 311 - 22/05/2024 15:11:11    2546427

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Have to say I think that's a terrible decision, and I've posted about it already on another thread.

On the other hand, it's absolutely guaranteed that the results of the two Leinster matches will be hugely relevant. And yet RTE decide to show Munster hurling instead. After the disgrace of The Sunday Game the other night, they're giving Leinster another kick in the teeth."
Sure an ould bad Munster match would have better hurling in it than a good Leinster, and even RTE know that!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2009 - 22/05/2024 15:33:31    2546428

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Sure an ould bad Munster match would have better hurling in it than a good Leinster, and even RTE know that!"
It would, the country was enthralled by Tipp and Cork on Sunday. Or Tipp and Limerick a month ago!

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1201 - 22/05/2024 16:16:14    2546438

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "I thought RTE are showing Galway v Dublin ??"
That's only the 2nd FTA game from Leinster this season. Wexford have had no FTA games this Leinster, and one of our games didn't even have highlights on TSG, never mind be available on stream. One of the best games of championship hurling I saw last year was Wexford v Kilkenny. Again no FTA or even GAAGO. And you can't understand us being frustrated? The biggest attendance at a Leinster final ever involved Wexford, as did the biggest attendance ever at an AI hurling final. So the argument that its about viewing figures doesn't add up either.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12822 - 22/05/2024 16:28:01    2546440

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Sure an ould bad Munster match would have better hurling in it than a good Leinster, and even RTE know that!"
Sick of hearing about how great Munster hurling is. How have Kilkenny beaten Clare and reach the AI final the last 2 years if Munster is so far ahead? Leinster only gets a bare mention on the Sunday game and any of the main podcasts.

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 314 - 22/05/2024 16:39:12    2546446