Senior Football Championship 2024

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Congratulations to Armagh, an amazing achievement, I don't think anyone was tipping them at the start of they year to win the All-Ireland. Armagh weren't even at their best yesterday so there is more to come from this team in the next few years. The have a relatively young squad apart from the amazing Stefan Campbell and Aidan Forker. They showed real grit yesterday. Enjoy the celebrations.

Hard luck to Galway, they have had a great championship but just fell short yesterday. they have a strong panel and will be back next year. They seem to be carrying a few injured players, Shane Walsh just doesn't look right. What will hurt most is that the game was there for them as Armagh weren't at their best either.

The game itself started well, the first 10 minutes were very good. However like most games this year, it became very attritional. Is one of the issues that too many games are crammed into a short time period and the resultant spectacle is not what it would be otherwise? It is just so difficult for the full forward to function in modern day football, nearly every player is struggling in that line. For example, what more could Damien Comer have done yesterday? He didn't get a ball kicked into him. I'm not sure what the answer is but such a shame to see these talented forwards struggling to get a touch of the ball."
I agree with you. The way that the game is evolving, it doesn't matter how good your inside forwards are, there is no room for them to manoeuvre and get a shot at goals. I've heard some talk in the media recently that David Clifford is a pale shadow of himself due to the amount of football he is playing. There is some truth in what is being said, too many games in a short period of time but apart from yourself, I haven't heard anyone talk about defenses being setup to ensure that the likes of David Clifford is marked out of the game entirely. If you are in the full forward line, you are out of the game behind fifteen opposition players. I really hope that the new rules committee devises some sort of change so that we can see players like Comer, Clifford etc having some space in order to display their skills. As I pointed out on another thread, congratulations to Armagh, I wouldn't want to take anything away from their victory yesterday, it was merited but the football championship in 2024 has been poor to mediocre. I may get some criticism for saying such but the modern game won't attract neutrals and won't encourage skillful players to play the game in its current form.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1981 - 29/07/2024 13:23:58    2562598

Congratulations to Armagh.

Worthy and refreshing winners.

Its a great story and shows on any given year anyone can win the All Ireland.

Often obstacles are in the head.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4460 - 29/07/2024 13:28:20    2562603

Great scenes in the Athletic Grounds

Hope the nay saying neighbours are enjoying the noise and colour... :)

Feck em

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 29/07/2024 18:31:37    2562741

Replying To jimbodub:  "Great scenes in the Athletic Grounds

Hope the nay saying neighbours are enjoying the noise and colour... :)

Feck em"
The hatred is off the scale jimbo, totally unreal. You can almost taste their rage. You can see what Gaels in the North have had to put up with.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9778 - 29/07/2024 18:49:18    2562743

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The hatred is off the scale jimbo, totally unreal. You can almost taste their rage. You can see what Gaels in the North have had to put up with."
They don't like to see them happy.. they don't like that at all.

Would it be even more negative for them considering it was Armagh, are they as raging if Tyrone etc won or is there a special amount of venom for Armagh..

Historic win for Armagh

Its almost like they finally got what should of been a deserved 2nd title.. the early 00s side were a better team than their one win suggests, its like that cycle has been completed now.

And.. funnily enough, it took a heroic last second block to secure it, sort of poetic when it was a wonder block that denied them in 2003..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 29/07/2024 22:27:00    2562799

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The hatred is off the scale jimbo, totally unreal. You can almost taste their rage. You can see what Gaels in the North have had to put up with."
And would you say its better /worse than say 02 when armagh last won?. Or generally the same.

The reason I ask is throughout the island (and much of the western world frankly), people are more divided now, among almost every conceivable line, than at any time in my lifetime anyways (born in 85), and maybe this heightened state of growing tension is feeding into things?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 30/07/2024 00:47:25    2562825

I've great respect for Gaels in the six counties. What they have had to endure to even play the games over the decades is a credit to them.

From the outside looking in, the PSNI waving a flag out the windows is harmless fun and good community policing in my book. They wouldn't have been able do that 30 years ago. When something so small creates a storm with the few remaining hardliners you know things have and are going the right direction. Well done again Armagh.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11375 - 30/07/2024 18:35:06    2563107

Interesting stat.

For the first year ever, there is no player from the Senior Football or Hurling All Ireland winning teams, who has won a senior county provincial winners medal.....

Now there is one for the next Pub Quiz.... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 31/07/2024 09:16:21    2563187

Replying To yew_tree:  "I've great respect for Gaels in the six counties. What they have had to endure to even play the games over the decades is a credit to them.

From the outside looking in, the PSNI waving a flag out the windows is harmless fun and good community policing in my book. They wouldn't have been able do that 30 years ago. When something so small creates a storm with the few remaining hardliners you know things have and are going the right direction. Well done again Armagh."
You have hit the nail on the head. These small minded clowns are just showing themselves up for what they are, and desperately trying to stoke the hatred of a diminishing group. Thankfully the good GAA folk of Armagh, and even more importantly the fair minded and sensible members of the Unionist/Protestant community are rising above it.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9449 - 31/07/2024 09:42:11    2563194

I seem to be in the minority here but i have to say i am not a huge fan of Jarlath Burns. I am sure he will promote the game well and he is an excellent communicator but he seems to love being the centre of attention with pre rehearsed rousing speeches. Sunday was no different. He totally stole the limelight from Forker.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8054 - 31/07/2024 10:38:05    2563205

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I seem to be in the minority here but i have to say i am not a huge fan of Jarlath Burns. I am sure he will promote the game well and he is an excellent communicator but he seems to love being the centre of attention with pre rehearsed rousing speeches. Sunday was no different. He totally stole the limelight from Forker."
I'm with you in that minority Flaker.
I know it's still early days, so will give him time to prove us wrong as he's clearly an intelligent man who could still do a great job in time.

However, if at the end of his tenure all he's remembered for is pandering to a new fan club with prolonged speeches like those we've heard recently, it should be seen as an abject failure.

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 503 - 31/07/2024 13:03:53    2563242

Replying To streaker:  "I'm with you in that minority Flaker.
I know it's still early days, so will give him time to prove us wrong as he's clearly an intelligent man who could still do a great job in time.

However, if at the end of his tenure all he's remembered for is pandering to a new fan club with prolonged speeches like those we've heard recently, it should be seen as an abject failure."
jezz guys... yous must be a barrel of laughs in the local pub. lol
I found both speeches inspirational and emotional, he is a true GAA gael and it must have been an absolute dream come true for him to present Sam Maguire to his native Armagh in his first year as president. I don't think there's one Armagh person who could say he stole the limelight from Forker.
He is president of the GAA and has great charisma in the role. His role too is to promote our games. There was a wordwide audiance for both All-Ireland finals and I think he did a fantastic job on both occaisons.
Sounds like you'd rather him stand there and just nod like a KPMG adjudicator during the Lotto draw.. LOL

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 144 - 31/07/2024 13:39:26    2563246

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "jezz guys... yous must be a barrel of laughs in the local pub. lol
I found both speeches inspirational and emotional, he is a true GAA gael and it must have been an absolute dream come true for him to present Sam Maguire to his native Armagh in his first year as president. I don't think there's one Armagh person who could say he stole the limelight from Forker.
He is president of the GAA and has great charisma in the role. His role too is to promote our games. There was a wordwide audiance for both All-Ireland finals and I think he did a fantastic job on both occaisons.
Sounds like you'd rather him stand there and just nod like a KPMG adjudicator during the Lotto draw.. LOL"
Eh, each to their own and all that buddy. But I say anyone who finds Burns' monologues "inspirational and emotional" wouldn't be my ideal drinking partner either.
Just a matter of opinion, mind....

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 503 - 31/07/2024 14:37:51    2563257

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "jezz guys... yous must be a barrel of laughs in the local pub. lol
Sounds like you'd rather him stand there and just nod like a KPMG adjudicator during the Lotto draw.. LOL"
Never said i want someone boring. But he basically started talking about Geezer the exact way the captain would in his speech. I believe he is gearing for a run at politics after this and his speeches are gaining attention. Less is more sometimes.

By the way i listened to the Second Captains pod today and they all referenced his speech and strealing a little limelight from Forker.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8054 - 31/07/2024 16:42:58    2563276

Burns is an exceptional orator, listening to both I didn't think he stole the limelight, in fact he seemed to me to be standing back during various parts of the presentation- if it was my county and son after winning an All Ireland I would be unstoppable !! His speeches on the last two,Sundays spoke to inclusivity, community and volunteerism- if we are to believe all narrative this is what the GAA stands for ….

I do agree though he could have options after his stint as GAA president if he wants to pursue a political career. He is a top drawer public speaker and strikes me as highly intelligent, and well able to present his position, tailor made for public office.

Bainisteoir (National) - Posts: 553 - 31/07/2024 18:29:46    2563291

Burns is an exceptional orator, listening to both I didn't think he stole the limelight, in fact he seemed to me to be standing back during various parts of the presentation- if it was my county and son after winning an All Ireland I would be unstoppable !! His speeches on the last two,Sundays spoke to inclusivity, community and volunteerism- if we are to believe all narrative this is what the GAA stands for ….

I do agree though he could have options after his stint as GAA president if he wants to pursue a political career. He is a top drawer public speaker and strikes me as highly intelligent, and well able to present his position, tailor made for public office.

Bainisteoir (National) - Posts: 553 - 31/07/2024 20:13:24    2563300

Spillane said it was an anus horribleus for Gaelic football.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3829 - 14/08/2024 12:51:50    2565075

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Spillane said it was an anus horribleus for Gaelic football."
For Spillane any year that Kerry get beaten by an Ulster team is pretty horrible.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1106 - 14/08/2024 14:39:01    2565087

I wouldn't say there's many Armagh supporters that give two *****

Kerry as the Munster champions were deservedly beaten by Armagh

Galway beat the Leinster and Ulster champions to deservedly reach the final

The two best teams reached the final and Armagh were the better team.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 14/08/2024 15:25:51    2565099

Replying To gunman:  "For Spillane any year that Kerry get beaten by an Ulster team is pretty horrible."
Ha ha no kerryman but that aside not wrong it was poor again this year football.
Not because ulster team won

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 428 - 14/08/2024 15:59:43    2565111