Senior Football Championship 2024

Replying To S1234:  "Haha hardly a victory you got a draw in last second after not scoring for 12 minutes? Haha"
Well simple, a great score to win a q/f spot for Dublin and on the other side of the coin a concession by Mayo to lose top of the group. There was only one winner after Costello's point.
I think Mayo will probably get through next week and hope they do. If Derry get the show back on the road they might be a threat.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 781 - 18/06/2024 12:58:39    2552701

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "The ref didn't get involved…? Did he not over rule a perfectly good call by the umpire to give Mayo a 45 to level the game late on… The ball was clearly wide… the umpire saw it and waved it wide… Mayo played very well and deserved something out of the game but the referee was poor…."
Not sure what game you watched but The ref didn't overrule anyone on that play. The umpire made that call all by himself.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 471 - 18/06/2024 13:54:04    2552726

Replying To cluichethar:  "Not sure what game you watched but The ref didn't overrule anyone on that play. The umpire made that call all by himself."
It was still wrong though!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1818 - 18/06/2024 14:04:32    2552730

What did Mick Fitzsimons get a yellow card for?

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 213 - 18/06/2024 14:51:44    2552746

Replying To sligo joe:  "Well simple, a great score to win a q/f spot for Dublin and on the other side of the coin a concession by Mayo to lose top of the group. There was only one winner after Costello's point.
I think Mayo will probably get through next week and hope they do. If Derry get the show back on the road they might be a threat."
Your wrong there was no winner it was a draw if you saw the end result. Yes we still have to play an extra game but our perfermance we will get a huge boost and momentum for it can't say the the same for dubs as for the 45 call at the end that ye are all giving out about it was right call a dubs player shoved into our guy hence why we got the free I could name countless times and countless times ye got a wrong ref call bunch of moaners of I ever met any..

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 101 - 18/06/2024 16:16:55    2552776

Replying To TheFlaker:  "All blocks are illegal? Do you know what a block is lad? Also for the 10th time i never said Fenton attempted a foot block. I already said that previously but sure feel free to keep ranting about a foot block.

Also ROD was up and away from Fitz at the end, not his fault he was called back. By the way there was a little push in the back, feel free to watch it back."
Flaker. You're wasting your time. As they say "There are none so blind as those who will not see"!

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 658 - 18/06/2024 16:50:52    2552789

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "It was still wrong though!"
Yes wrong call by the umpire not the referee. I still stand by what I said that this was one of the best reffed games in a long time. The ref was consistent throughout.
Coming from me someone that that is usually critical of referees,this is high praise for a referee. Call it the way I see it.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 471 - 18/06/2024 17:02:59    2552793

Replying To S1234:  "Your wrong there was no winner it was a draw if you saw the end result. Yes we still have to play an extra game but our perfermance we will get a huge boost and momentum for it can't say the the same for dubs as for the 45 call at the end that ye are all giving out about it was right call a dubs player shoved into our guy hence why we got the free I could name countless times and countless times ye got a wrong ref call bunch of moaners of I ever met any.."
As they say "WHATEVER". Going into the game we needed a win or a draw so we succeeded, Mayo needed a win but failed to get it, so only one winner in the Hyde on Sunday, McStay said as much after the game.
As regards your ramble about free/45, you've lost me.
Mayo's 45 was a wrong call, ball went wide off the Mayo player's leg and the late free was a bad call by the ref, but it was worth it to see Cluxton, Kilkenny, Jack and Cormac combine for the score of the game!

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 781 - 18/06/2024 17:09:35    2552795

Jeez guys - move on. Both teams are still in the Championship.

Draw was a fair result overall.

Hoping Mayo can put a run together in the knockout stages.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 18/06/2024 17:41:10    2552800

Replying To S1234:  "Your wrong there was no winner it was a draw if you saw the end result. Yes we still have to play an extra game but our perfermance we will get a huge boost and momentum for it can't say the the same for dubs as for the 45 call at the end that ye are all giving out about it was right call a dubs player shoved into our guy hence why we got the free I could name countless times and countless times ye got a wrong ref call bunch of moaners of I ever met any.."
Mayo deserved at least a draw but nobody with an ounce of sense could say that the 45 was a correct call… it simply wasn't.. nor was the penalty call that Mayo didn't get…. It was a clear penalty.. The referee was very poor

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 2758 - 18/06/2024 17:46:10    2552804

Replying To sligo joe:  "As they say "WHATEVER". Going into the game we needed a win or a draw so we succeeded, Mayo needed a win but failed to get it, so only one winner in the Hyde on Sunday, McStay said as much after the game.
As regards your ramble about free/45, you've lost me.
Mayo's 45 was a wrong call, ball went wide off the Mayo player's leg and the late free was a bad call by the ref, but it was worth it to see Cluxton, Kilkenny, Jack and Cormac combine for the score of the game!"
Again your wrong a win actually means you WON the game which you clearly didn't ye lot have clearly gotten so deluded with all your wins ye think a draw actually means a win..

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 101 - 18/06/2024 18:04:41    2552807

Replying To S1234:  "Again your wrong a win actually means you WON the game which you clearly didn't ye lot have clearly gotten so deluded with all your wins ye think a draw actually means a win.."
In the context of the group a draw was as good as a win for the Dubs and as good as a loss for Mayo and it was written all over the respective fans faces as we left the Hyde so whether you like it or not Dublin got what they wanted on Sunday and Mayo didn't, best of luck in Castlebar, if Derry get back on the horse and win I'd be wary of them going fwd.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 781 - 18/06/2024 19:28:07    2552830

Replying To S1234:  "Again your wrong a win actually means you WON the game which you clearly didn't ye lot have clearly gotten so deluded with all your wins ye think a draw actually means a win.."
The poster clearly said they needed a win or a draw. They got the draw. Are you 12?

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 161 - 18/06/2024 19:58:57    2552834

Important thing now is Mayo back up the Dublin performance (which was far from perfect) and beat Derry. It's a dangerous game. I've seen it many times a team written off and down on confidence go and turn the tables. We've done it many times ourselves.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11375 - 19/06/2024 11:57:07    2552957

Replying To yew_tree:  "Important thing now is Mayo back up the Dublin performance (which was far from perfect) and beat Derry. It's a dangerous game. I've seen it many times a team written off and down on confidence go and turn the tables. We've done it many times ourselves."
You gotta fancy Mayo if they can bring the intensity that they did on Sun. I think Castlebar may swing it for them. But it's a potential banana skin. If Derry bring their A game and have their shooting boots on then it could go pear shaped for Mayo. They have to be on it. This game and Louth v Cork should be very interesting.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4734 - 19/06/2024 14:53:17    2553027

Replying To Joxer:  "You gotta fancy Mayo if they can bring the intensity that they did on Sun. I think Castlebar may swing it for them. But it's a potential banana skin. If Derry bring their A game and have their shooting boots on then it could go pear shaped for Mayo. They have to be on it. This game and Louth v Cork should be very interesting."
Mayo would probably prefer play the game in the Hyde again rather than McHale. Tighter pitch in McHale doesn't suit them as much as bigger pitches.
I think this could be a really tricky game for Mayo and everyone is writing Derry off. I actually fancy Derry to win. Last weekend took a lot out of Mayo and with the dejected faces at the end Mayo will have to mentally be right for this weekend.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1181 - 19/06/2024 15:07:55    2553037

Derry for me...
Mayo incapable of scoring through a blanket defence...

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 19/06/2024 15:31:24    2553044

Replying To Belclare7:  "Derry for me...
Mayo incapable of scoring through a blanket defence..."
Wonder why a Galway one supporting derry over mayo hmm..

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 101 - 19/06/2024 16:44:43    2553057

Don't understand the bickering over referee calls. It was a super game, some days calls go with you, some days they go against you, that's just life, take it on the chin and move on.

I was there and it was a super game, best I have seen Mayo in a few years. And yes, it was brutally disappointing to not get the needed win. But - Dublin were strong favorites going into this, Mayo went man to man and more than held their own. Now that the dust has settled, Mayo should take confidence from that, not focus on the last 30 seconds.

If Derry manage to turn Mayo over next weekend, fair play to them. The big question for me about Derry is how they are going to respond when something goes against them, Mayo might just get the odd home town decision from the ref - will heads drop?

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 332 - 19/06/2024 16:49:12    2553058

Replying To Cbar:  "Don't understand the bickering over referee calls. It was a super game, some days calls go with you, some days they go against you, that's just life, take it on the chin and move on.

I was there and it was a super game, best I have seen Mayo in a few years. And yes, it was brutally disappointing to not get the needed win. But - Dublin were strong favorites going into this, Mayo went man to man and more than held their own. Now that the dust has settled, Mayo should take confidence from that, not focus on the last 30 seconds.

If Derry manage to turn Mayo over next weekend, fair play to them. The big question for me about Derry is how they are going to respond when something goes against them, Mayo might just get the odd home town decision from the ref - will heads drop?"
In a tight game like Sunday's when the last three calls from the officials all go the one way and each of them is clearly wrong well then they should be called out and it's not sour grapes or anything like that as the result suits Dublin.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 781 - 19/06/2024 17:25:01    2553063