Clare Hurling thread

Replying To LimerickandProud:  "I would agree with you. Lee Chin is on form and it will give John Conlan some job to keep him under wraps. Reidy would be a huge help to Conlan in breaking up the Wexford attack and I would definitely be putting him in from the start for that reason. He would also cover ground if the ball is turned over when Fitzgerald is on one of his mazy runs up field. Also I can't understand what Brian Lohan has against Aaron Shanagher. He is a fine player and always causes trouble for defences when introduced.

I think it will be tight but Clare pull away at the end and will win by 3 points setting them up nicely for another crack off Kilkenny."
There's always the chance that one or other, or both, of the teams stays on the bus for the duration of the game. Its Clare v Wexford after all. But if both sides really come out to play it will be the best hurling game this year so far.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13407 - 19/06/2024 18:03:27    2553073

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "If Clare and Cork win. Will Clare be playing Kilkenny?"
Yes . They played Limerick in the MF. If Wexford and Dublin win Wexford will play Kilkenny.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13407 - 20/06/2024 07:35:57    2553107

Replying To Viking66:  "Yes . They played Limerick in the MF. If Wexford and Dublin win Wexford will play Kilkenny."
Of course. So am I right in thinking that there's no way Kilkenny can avoid playing Cork in the semi-final, if they (Cork) win their quarter-final?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2644 - 20/06/2024 10:29:18    2553137

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Of course. So am I right in thinking that there's no way Kilkenny can avoid playing Cork in the semi-final, if they (Cork) win their quarter-final?"
If clare and cork win kilkenny play clare

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 20/06/2024 10:39:45    2553145

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Of course. So am I right in thinking that there's no way Kilkenny can avoid playing Cork in the semi-final, if they (Cork) win their quarter-final?"
No. If Clare and Cork win you will play Clare.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13407 - 20/06/2024 10:56:34    2553152

Replying To daveboy:  "If clare and cork win kilkenny play clare"
Yes, thanks. It's obvious now.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2644 - 20/06/2024 11:08:19    2553156

interesting to see will a fully tuned in and fired up clare turn up on saturday or a clare that are mentally damaged from limerick over the last 3 yrs. my opinion is lohan will get a bounce out of clare again on saturday and win but will come to the end of the road again in the semi final against a fresh kilkenny side.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1130 - 20/06/2024 11:52:57    2553167

Replying To Viking66:  "No. If Clare and Cork win you will play Clare."
I think I'm OD'ing on the soccer at the moment. My brain seems to be a bit slow on the uptake.

As for Clare v Wexford: In one way I'd like to see Wexford win. I usually favour a Leinster team against a Munster one. Plus, it would be good for hurling people in Wexford to see their team play in a big match at Croke Park, in an AI semi-final. Big games involving Wexford are thin on the ground. On the other hand, I've backed a Cork v Kilkenny AI final. Wexford (and Cork) winning would ruin that bet.

That aside. I think Clare will be too strong (in depth) for Wexford, and will win by 3 or 4 points.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2644 - 20/06/2024 12:29:10    2553179

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I think I'm OD'ing on the soccer at the moment. My brain seems to be a bit slow on the uptake.

As for Clare v Wexford: In one way I'd like to see Wexford win. I usually favour a Leinster team against a Munster one. Plus, it would be good for hurling people in Wexford to see their team play in a big match at Croke Park, in an AI semi-final. Big games involving Wexford are thin on the ground. On the other hand, I've backed a Cork v Kilkenny AI final. Wexford (and Cork) winning would ruin that bet.

That aside. I think Clare will be too strong (in depth) for Wexford, and will win by 3 or 4 points."
Cork v Kilkenny AI final must've had pretty long odds?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13407 - 20/06/2024 12:37:23    2553181

Replying To Viking66:  "Cork v Kilkenny AI final must've had pretty long odds?"
7/1.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2644 - 20/06/2024 13:10:24    2553191

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "7/1."
That's not great tbh. Cork have to beat Dublin, Clare have to beat Wexford, Kilkenny have to beat Clare and Cork have to beat Limerick. You'd have probably got better odds on a 4 game accumulator.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13407 - 20/06/2024 23:00:08    2553286

Replying To munsterchamps:  "interesting to see will a fully tuned in and fired up clare turn up on saturday or a clare that are mentally damaged from limerick over the last 3 yrs. my opinion is lohan will get a bounce out of clare again on saturday and win but will come to the end of the road again in the semi final against a fresh kilkenny side."
Clare don't have enough good hurlers to beat Kilkenny, never had.

A Kilkenny hurler will never feel inferior to a Clare hurler and Clare mentally can't get over the line v Kilkenny either.

Clare have 5-6 really top hurlers but after that they have a lot of lads who are a similar standard.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 792 - 21/06/2024 00:21:50    2553292

Replying To Viking66:  "That's not great tbh. Cork have to beat Dublin, Clare have to beat Wexford, Kilkenny have to beat Clare and Cork have to beat Limerick. You'd have probably got better odds on a 4 game accumulator."
True, not great odds. But, any combination of Clare, Cork, Kilkenny and Limerick as finalists will be relatively low odds, Clare v Cork being the best odds at 9/1. I only had very small stake on it, will cover the price of a few pints on AI day.
As regards to a 4 game accumulator, it's not possible. You can't get odds on a match that doesn't yet exist (Kilkenny v Clare, Limerick v Cork).

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2644 - 21/06/2024 08:16:42    2553301

https://x.com/GaaClare/status/1804046901601313236?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet

Clare team named

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13407 - 21/06/2024 08:29:19    2553305

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "True, not great odds. But, any combination of Clare, Cork, Kilkenny and Limerick as finalists will be relatively low odds, Clare v Cork being the best odds at 9/1. I only had very small stake on it, will cover the price of a few pints on AI day.
As regards to a 4 game accumulator, it's not possible. You can't get odds on a match that doesn't yet exist (Kilkenny v Clare, Limerick v Cork)."
True too. But you could back the results individually and make more money.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13407 - 21/06/2024 09:41:44    2553321

Replying To Past hurler:  "Clare don't have enough good hurlers to beat Kilkenny, never had.

A Kilkenny hurler will never feel inferior to a Clare hurler and Clare mentally can't get over the line v Kilkenny either.

Clare have 5-6 really top hurlers but after that they have a lot of lads who are a similar standard."
Would have beaten ye last year if Ryan Taylor wasn't maimed and missed a years hurling bar 2022 have always put it up to ye won this years league very arrogant post it might come back to bite you

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 960 - 21/06/2024 09:55:06    2553322

Replying To Past hurler:  "Clare don't have enough good hurlers to beat Kilkenny, never had.

Clare have 5-6 really top hurlers but after that they have a lot of lads who are a similar standard."
Would have beaten ye last year if Ryan Taylor wasn't maimed and missed a years hurling bar 2022 have always put it up to ye won this years league very arrogant post it might come back to bite you

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 960 - 21/06/2024 09:55:54    2553323

Replying To Viking66:  "https://x.com/GaaClare/status/1804046901601313236?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet

Clare team named"
I know you can never tell what team starts till throw in but that looks like the team you might expect though I would have liked Aron Shanagher or Ian Galvin to start instead of Aidan McCarthy Reidy will go midfield with Kelly to roam from corner forward id imagine.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 960 - 21/06/2024 09:59:46    2553325

No bad blood? What ye shower done in Portlaoise in 2020 was thuggery and a disgrace. And you know well enough what i am talking about. `Horrible.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 656 - 21/06/2024 12:32:55 2553376

any idea what he is talking about was there abuse thrown at Davy ?

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 960 - 21/06/2024 14:22:10    2553421

I think this is Clare strongest team so far this year.. Reidy definitely deserves to start, hes so consistent.. as does T.Kelly, himself and SOD work so well together.
Darragh Lohan had a great league but failed to reach those height in the championship. Can't understand Aaron Shanagher not getting game time.. but then again I don't know how he's going in training etc.
We'll be up against it but if we can limit Duggan and SOD we certainly have a great chance

TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 85 - 21/06/2024 19:16:22    2553495