Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Viking66:  "What about Jippo? He'd have been more physically able than Conor was for the Cork 14 too?"
Going off previous posts, would you chance him if he's at 60%/65% full fitness?

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 274 - 18/03/2024 21:11:37    2532007

Replying To Magpie2:  "What about Rory O'connor? Surely you are not leaving him out? Okay if he's not fit then obviously he won't play, but another 5 weeks to go and not been available since the start of the year. That would be at least 4 months injured. The same applies for Liam Ryan. He must be near to be ready to resume. Quite honestly our team may suffer badly in the heat of championship without the above named players. However if they are unfit there is nothing more we can do.
."
Sorry was going off of earlier posts regarding their fitness.

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 274 - 18/03/2024 21:13:02    2532008

Replying To Magpie2:  "O'Hanlon played against Waterford and yesterday v Cork. I would be more worried about Chin, Rory and Liam Ryan. Still with 5 weeks to go before the Dublin match surely they should be ready for action by then."
At least Chin has played some games. Ryan and Rory going into championship with only training sessions behind them is far from ideal.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 429 - 18/03/2024 22:44:12    2532019

Replying To Timbertony:  "At least Chin has played some games. Ryan and Rory going into championship with only training sessions behind them is far from ideal."
I presume we'll play at least 1 challenge game over the next 5 weeks so hopefully some of the lads who haven't figured yet will there, i know it wouldn't be the same as the league but a step in the right direction anyway.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 18/03/2024 23:11:14    2532026

Replying To Paull:  "Conor Mcdonald has been a long way 2nd best every time he has come up against Eoghan O Donnell. If he does start on him it's definitely not because he is our best match up."
Absolutely. Mac is an ideal lad for a big fullback to mark. Doesn't make enough runs out.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16372 - 19/03/2024 06:15:57    2532039

Replying To OpenStandWall:  "Going off previous posts, would you chance him if he's at 60%/65% full fitness?"
He will be fitter than that come Championship. But no I wouldn't play him. He shouldn't have played against Dublin last year he looked barely able to run.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16372 - 19/03/2024 06:17:10    2532041

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "I presume we'll play at least 1 challenge game over the next 5 weeks so hopefully some of the lads who haven't figured yet will there, i know it wouldn't be the same as the league but a step in the right direction anyway."
Probably more than 1. And no doubt some spicy in house games with plenty of lads wanting places on the panel.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16372 - 19/03/2024 06:18:13    2532042

Replying To Viking66:  "I knew when I heard the team selected that we didn't really want to win that game. And that was confirmed for me when I saw what way we set up, with a pretty orthodox 3 inside and 15 on 15 which left alot of space around the middle for Cork to exploit. What was a little concerning was the amount of space we gave Cork, our lads who were touch tight all year were a couple yards off their men, and weren't throwing themselves into blocking and tackling like they have all year. Maybe they were told not to get injured. I think Keith and the management team wanted to see how lads fared out in different positions with an eye on who our starting championship team will be. It was telling to see Niall Murphy, CBD, Richie, not on the pitch, except a late cameo from Niall. Conor Foley did OK in midfield, as did Shane, but I think come championship we will need Shane back in the corner or maybe wingback. Thought Eoin Ryan, Damien Reck and Matthew O Hanlon played pretty well, and it was great to see Mogie, Dwyer and Mac back looking fit! Dooleys sharpness is a little off still, but there's still a good few weeks to go before the Dublin game. Conor Hearne was our best player, along with Mark Fanning, while Kevin had his 1st off day of the year. Well done to Darragh Carley on his 1st Senior start! After that game I'd go with this team for Dublin based on this years League and last years Championship-
Fanning
Dooley, Jippo, Murphy
O'Hanlon, D. Reck, S. Reck
Hearne, O'Keefe
K. Foley, Chin, Mogie
Rory, Casey, Lawlor
Subs- Duggan, Mac, Devitt, Dwyer, Dunbar, Jacko, C. Foley, Patsy, CBD, C. Byrne, Tucker, which should provide cover for every line and position.
Shane Reck to pick up Donal Burke. Obviously we are likely to have injuries so lads will be promoted from the bench, and other lads will be promoted to the bench as the championship goes on.
Important things learnt/gained for the League-
-We have a fullback if Jippo gets injured.
-We have good trustable cover on the bench for players in every line.
-We have other lads not in the 26 who would be able subs in the event of injuries down the line. In other words Rossi is building a good squad.

Interestingly only 7 outfielders of the above team to face Dublin started that Cork game this afternoon. Half a team. And of the other 7 who started 4 wouldn't even make the bench for the Dublin game, as I can only pick 26. Some hard choices for Rossi to make in the coming weeks!"
So Wexford didn't want to win this one? Ah stop...No more waffle please. This is the type of blinkered nonsense that gives fans (only a small few) a false sense of security. Wexford were just blown away on the day, and had no response to Corks' aggressiveness and sharpness.
Of course it's great for Wexford that it's happened now, and gives them plenty to work on for championship, but to suggest they had no interested in winning, in front of their home fans, is pure and utter nonsense..

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 416 - 19/03/2024 08:26:17    2532050

Replying To Viking66:  "Absolutely. Mac is an ideal lad for a big fullback to mark. Doesn't make enough runs out."
Very harsh on Mac, as biased as I am, I think he gets horrendous treatment from fullbacks that goes unpunished. The amount of times I've seen fullbacks wrestle or bear hug him to the ground without even a sniff of a free. I think he might be one of the most fouled forwards in the game.

You can make an argument that part of the reason this happens is because he doesn't have the legs to get away from his marker, sure. I still think he gets fouled an awful lot.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 270 - 19/03/2024 08:37:56    2532052

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "So Wexford didn't want to win this one? Ah stop...No more waffle please. This is the type of blinkered nonsense that gives fans (only a small few) a false sense of security. Wexford were just blown away on the day, and had no response to Corks' aggressiveness and sharpness.
Of course it's great for Wexford that it's happened now, and gives them plenty to work on for championship, but to suggest they had no interested in winning, in front of their home fans, is pure and utter nonsense.."
That's a fair point but I would say ye were nearer to your championship side, I'd say minimum 7 maximum 9 of the Wexford starting team would be in the championship starting team will I'd say it was around 12-13 of the team for yourselves, ye are building serious strength in depth particularly in the forward line.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 19/03/2024 10:02:00    2532065

Replying To Fulgrim:  "Very harsh on Mac, as biased as I am, I think he gets horrendous treatment from fullbacks that goes unpunished. The amount of times I've seen fullbacks wrestle or bear hug him to the ground without even a sniff of a free. I think he might be one of the most fouled forwards in the game.

You can make an argument that part of the reason this happens is because he doesn't have the legs to get away from his marker, sure. I still think he gets fouled an awful lot."
Agreed and I think he deserves a chance

goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 19/03/2024 10:56:52    2532077

Replying To Fulgrim:  "Very harsh on Mac, as biased as I am, I think he gets horrendous treatment from fullbacks that goes unpunished. The amount of times I've seen fullbacks wrestle or bear hug him to the ground without even a sniff of a free. I think he might be one of the most fouled forwards in the game.

You can make an argument that part of the reason this happens is because he doesn't have the legs to get away from his marker, sure. I still think he gets fouled an awful lot."
Yeah Mac hasn't the legs to avoid been fouled
Why do referees not give him frees?
Maybe playing him in the corner would be more beneficial. With Casey at full and Richie or Kian Byrne in the other corner might be our best option. Mac gave the pass to Casey who scored the goal. ( Too little too late) ìf Chin and Rory are back with Jacko and Mogie adding strength and experience to the forwards.
Yes it's not ideal with so many lads recovering but if they are unavailable to play we would be wafer thin in too many positions and would find it difficult to cope against the big physical lads that Kilkenny, Dublin and Galway will have.
Hopefully the injured players are now back training or will be soon.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 524 - 19/03/2024 11:15:00    2532081

Replying To Magpie2:  "Yeah Mac hasn't the legs to avoid been fouled
Why do referees not give him frees?
Maybe playing him in the corner would be more beneficial. With Casey at full and Richie or Kian Byrne in the other corner might be our best option. Mac gave the pass to Casey who scored the goal. ( Too little too late) ìf Chin and Rory are back with Jacko and Mogie adding strength and experience to the forwards.
Yes it's not ideal with so many lads recovering but if they are unavailable to play we would be wafer thin in too many positions and would find it difficult to cope against the big physical lads that Kilkenny, Dublin and Galway will have.
Hopefully the injured players are now back training or will be soon."
I have no idea why, it might just a perception issue on my part.

I always thought Conor Cleary and Geroid McInerney in particular were absolutely going out to wrestle instead of hurl.

It might be crazy but I'd love to see Mac used as an option at centre forward. We struggle on puck outs but a half forward line of Chin, Rory, and himself would be a good platform for long puck outs.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 270 - 19/03/2024 11:40:01    2532085

Replying To Fulgrim:  "I have no idea why, it might just a perception issue on my part.

I always thought Conor Cleary and Geroid McInerney in particular were absolutely going out to wrestle instead of hurl.

It might be crazy but I'd love to see Mac used as an option at centre forward. We struggle on puck outs but a half forward line of Chin, Rory, and himself would be a good platform for long puck outs."
Clare full back line in general are prone to pulling and dragging Hayes, Hogan and Cleary.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 19/03/2024 11:54:39    2532093

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "That's a fair point but I would say ye were nearer to your championship side, I'd say minimum 7 maximum 9 of the Wexford starting team would be in the championship starting team will I'd say it was around 12-13 of the team for yourselves, ye are building serious strength in depth particularly in the forward line."
re team strength - Oh without a doubt TF, and Cork did have a very strong team out. I was just responding to the poster who was stating that Wexford had no interest in winning - why would ye want to lose? what do ye gain from that? was the point I was trying to make.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 416 - 19/03/2024 12:31:51    2532105

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "So Wexford didn't want to win this one? Ah stop...No more waffle please. This is the type of blinkered nonsense that gives fans (only a small few) a false sense of security. Wexford were just blown away on the day, and had no response to Corks' aggressiveness and sharpness.
Of course it's great for Wexford that it's happened now, and gives them plenty to work on for championship, but to suggest they had no interested in winning, in front of their home fans, is pure and utter nonsense.."
Ok. I'm only speculating based on team selection and set up. These were both quite different to the previous 11 games I've been at this year. So what's your opinion on these? Why do you think he didn't start lads like Niall Murphy, Corey Byrne Dunbar, Tucker Kinsella, Richie Lawlor, James Byrne etc who all played in most or all of the League games up to now and who did well so far this year? Chin and Jacko have minor niggles so there was no point starting them. But he could've started Dwyer, Mac and Mogie the 3 subs he brought on in the 2nd half if he really wanted to win the game. He even gave a starting debut to a 20 year old, who in fairness did ok! He played 3 inside for large chunks of the game which gave your halfback line the freedom of the Park to run through as well as time to play good ball inside, and no sitting midfielder. He went man on man most of the game for the 1st time this year, which he'd of known wouldn't be the best way to play against Cork with their running game. Obviously it would've been great to keep the "not losing" run going, but there wasn't a single Wexford supporter I know there that thought we would win that game after seeing the changes to the team. And that was before we even got to see what way we set up against you.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16372 - 19/03/2024 12:33:42    2532107

Ok. I'm only speculating based on team selection and set up. These were both quite different to the previous 11 games I've been at this year. So what's your opinion on these? Why do you think he didn't start lads like Niall Murphy, Corey Byrne Dunbar, Tucker Kinsella, Richie Lawlor, James Byrne etc who all played in most or all of the League games up to now and who did well so far this year? Chin and Jacko have minor niggles so there was no point starting them. But he could've started Dwyer, Mac and Mogie the 3 subs he brought on in the 2nd half if he really wanted to win the game. He even gave a starting debut to a 20 year old, who in fairness did ok! He played 3 inside for large chunks of the game which gave your halfback line the freedom of the Park to run through as well as time to play good ball inside, and no sitting midfielder. He went man on man most of the game for the 1st time this year, which he'd of known wouldn't be the best way to play against Cork with their running game. Obviously it would've been great to keep the "not losing" run going, but there wasn't a single Wexford supporter I know there that thought we would win that game after seeing the changes to the team. And that was before we even got to see what way we set up against you.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16372 - 19/03/2024 12:34:27    2532109

I agree 100% he's the most fouled player in the game of hurling. But every ref let's the fullbacks away with that grappling. Mac has to find ways of getting away from that. I'm not running him down as a player. He's skill to burn. But at the end of the day how effective is he? It's been a long time since he made a difference to us winning a game of hurling.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16372 - 19/03/2024 12:37:16    2532111

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "re team strength - Oh without a doubt TF, and Cork did have a very strong team out. I was just responding to the poster who was stating that Wexford had no interest in winning - why would ye want to lose? what do ye gain from that? was the point I was trying to make."
I don't think we wanted to lose. Maybe I phrased that wrong. I just think we could've done alot of things differently if we really wanted to win that game.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16372 - 19/03/2024 12:42:53    2532115

Have to agree with our Cork friend.
Could not envisage a Wexford team going out to play Cork in front of a big Home crowd having forked out €20 and travelling expenses to watch them not wanting to win!!!! No way that is what happened. Fact is that Rossie had to play with what he had at his disposal and we were very lightweight throughout the field. We simply couldn't match their physicality and were whitewashed.
If they were told to go out and avoid injury and not win it would be ridiculous to say the least.
Granted the selected team was strange as I and other posters pointed out before the game but that was an error by management in my opinion.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 524 - 19/03/2024 12:48:10    2532116