Wouldnt go as far as saying there is a discipline problem in Wexford but we are poor at tackling. Alot of times we go in with hurls around the neck etc. not dirty play but just poor technique and it's so easy for a ref to give a free for that. The incidents mentioned above. Everyone around Ireland was giving out about Jack o Connors red last year. Never should have been a red. ROC red against Clare the first yellow should never have been given second foul was a yellow so the ref had to give the red then. The red cards yesterday I know if I was a Rathnure man I'd be livid at those decisions. I was watching the game online and couldn't for the life of me understand either of those sending offs. The second one looked like 2 of the Galway players ran into each other. And then not long after the second red card, a Rathnure man gets shouldered in the head and not even a yellow. Some days decisions go for ya some days they go against you but the inconsistency is so frustrating. Even watching Sars and Slaughneil today Jack o Connor flicks the back of Slaughneil lads helmet and it's a yellow card. Yesterday in the intermediate the ref was giving out reds for lesser offences. camánouttathat (Wexford) - Posts: 60 - 15/12/2024 15:12:24 2583617 Link 0 |
Always somebody else fault in Wexford,
CorkLiamMcCarthy24 (Cork) - Posts: 53 - 15/12/2024 15:43:00 2583622 Link 2 |
Ironic we have two Ulster men on about discipline. countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 742 - 15/12/2024 16:03:35 2583624 Link 0 |
Talk about irony all you want but it won't win Wexford any provincials. Something Donegal and Monaghan have won plenty of in recent times. There's times we have been no angles granted but we've never reached the levels of whinging coming from Wexford in recent times. peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1066 - 15/12/2024 16:23:14 2583626 Link 2 |
No. Most of us realise we haven't been within an asses roar of winning an all Ireland since 2019 when we beat ourselves despite being on the better end of a few referee decisions. Nothing to do with referees or anything, just havebt been good enough. tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1435 - 15/12/2024 18:49:34 2583661 Link 0 |
I don't think you want this conversation. Starting with chin being the only player we have is a bad start. He's not the best hurler in Wexford. I was referring to missed opportunities between 19 and 21. I can be very specific. I've also made it clear multiple times that I don't see any scenario where we beat Limerick. They're not the only hurling team. On a good day we might beat Clare or Cork. We've nobody to blame for the Antrim game but ourselves. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3228 - 15/12/2024 23:14:47 2583689 Link 0 |
Fairly ironic from a cork man. Didn't ye make the GAA reformat the league so you wouldn't get relegation after the tournament was over at the expense of Wexford and Limerick? It's the biggest example of "it's my Ball and I'm going home" I've ever seen in elite sports. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3228 - 15/12/2024 23:16:34 2583690 Link 0 |
No conspiracy at all. I wouldn't call it a disciple problem as such. It's more a nativity. The top counties are a little cuter when it comes to manufacturing frees and fouling at the right time. Clare are particularly good at this. Not to pick on them either, Kilkenny lads are great at taking the head off a fella on the 45 rather than waiting until you're in penalty territory. Cody's team were also unreal at fouling with the spare hand which is very difficult to detect. Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3228 - 15/12/2024 23:23:01 2583692 Link 0 |
Where did I say he was the only player? I said he was the only conditioned (physical conditioning) player at the level of Limerick. The game is more than just about good players nowadays, you need top physical conditioning as well as high skill levels. peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1066 - 16/12/2024 07:16:02 2583704 Link 0 |
A Donegal man coming onto the Wexford page trying to give lip to a proper GAA county like Wexford. Get back in your back wee man. All Ireland Senior football titles Wexford - 5 Donegal - 2 All Ireland Senior Hurling Titles Wexford - 6 Donegal - 0 Provincial Senior Football Titles Donegal - 11 Wexford - 10 Provincial Senior Hurling Titles Wexford - 21 Donegal - 3 Past hurler (None) - Posts: 835 - 16/12/2024 13:33:39 2583741 Link 0 |
Wexford clubs have also won 10 Senior Provincial club titles to Donegal clubs 2.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14127 - 16/12/2024 14:18:23 2583748 Link 0 |
Surely it is the conspiracy!
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2114 - 16/12/2024 15:41:50 2583759 Link 0 |
It wasn't my intention but you seem well and truly rattled. I was merely advising to focus on your own controllable shortcomings rather than blaming the officials. peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1066 - 16/12/2024 15:46:59 2583761 Link 0 |
Not sure about conspiracy but referees all referee the game differently to eachother in ways, and some referee different games differently to the way they referee others. I'd be pretty certain there are plenty of referees up and down the country that might not have given any red cards in the Rathnure v TAD game.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14127 - 16/12/2024 15:57:39 2583763 Link 0 |
When we fix the referees then we will move onto skills, discipline and fitness. Be no stopping us then!
Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 309 - 16/12/2024 20:52:31 2583797 Link 0 |
Those states are embarrassing. Not surprising though considering half the county thinks they are from Scotland going around in Celtic jerseys.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 742 - 17/12/2024 11:00:32 2583830 Link 0 |
For a county that plays little to no hurling and a very very poor attempt at promoting hurling their gaelic football stats are shocking. As said above, probably more interest in Glasgow Celtic in the Urban areas in Donegal. Past hurler (None) - Posts: 835 - 17/12/2024 11:56:22 2583835 Link 0 |
Which 'states' are you referring to? American States? Australian States? Please be more specific. The only this embarrassing here is your literacy levels. peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1066 - 17/12/2024 11:56:25 2583836 Link 0 |
Hmmm. It must be doubly embarrassing when you seize upon a simple typo by somebody ("states" instead of "stats") and use this to criticise their literacy levels, only to then go on and make a mess of what you're attempting to write yourself: The only this embarrassing here is your literacy levels. Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2648 - 17/12/2024 12:10:13 2583837 Link 0 |
I'm glad someone picked up on my deliberate typo. I was waiting to see if the original poster would himself but hey ho we'll never know now.
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1066 - 17/12/2024 12:31:01 2583838 Link 0 |