Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Timbertony:  "It was clear our tactic was to lump a handful of long balls in early with both Chin and Mac nearly in the square. Worked against Clare a couple of years ago and even in KK with Mac's goal but it didn't work at all yesterday. Both Chin and McDonald were atrocious yesterday, beaten nearly in every duel the pair of them and letting their markers catch the ball clearly over them regularly.

In the league when it was the likes of Casey and Byrne in there, we had to be more precise with the delivery and I thought we were the better for it. I do think delivery from the half back line is something we need to work on. McInerney is very measured on the ball and I don't think we have someone with that quality yet."
Ive said this before at the beginning of the season. We are short of half backs capable of long low accurate passing. Carty is excellent at this, I hope he comes back. Devitt is very good too. Matthew would be as well if he commits for one more year. We will need more of these type of halfbacks as the best forwards who are coming through aren't the tallest of lads.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12880 - 24/06/2024 07:00:12    2554208

Replying To Yellowhelmet:  "Flood was playing against us in a league game. Scored from all angles"
I can tell you he was heartbroken not to be involved this year. Rossi has told him he's in his plans once he gets himself right.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2900 - 24/06/2024 08:04:40    2554215

Replying To Viking66:  "It would be great if Flood would commit properly. Very skilful lad, but very light. A Crossabeg lad wasn't too confident of Oisin playing. He said Paudie would."
He wanted to play this year but didn't recover quickly enough.

He is light but he's very athletic so can handle a bit of physicality I think.

I don't think we should be playing him as a back though.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2900 - 24/06/2024 08:06:38    2554219

Replying To Viking66:  "The ball was what people call a backs ball. High dropping slow ball. Only decent ball in that stuck in my head was Shane Reck played a beautiful low stick pass to Cian Byrne, but Lee and Mac weren't making enough of those kind of runs out."
The sending off ruined it WX were right back in the game before half time first yellow was crazy a slap in the back ticking at most and hardly even ,the Referees too fond of handing out yellow cards.

Wexford fought to the end though full credit you cannot win now with a man down other teams use the ball to well

As always Wexford fans full of enthusiasm good natured and gracious I wish ye well next year missing a fair few players this year

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 940 - 24/06/2024 08:23:04    2554224

Replying To clooney:  "The sending off ruined it WX were right back in the game before half time first yellow was crazy a slap in the back ticking at most and hardly even ,the Referees too fond of handing out yellow cards.

Wexford fought to the end though full credit you cannot win now with a man down other teams use the ball to well

As always Wexford fans full of enthusiasm good natured and gracious I wish ye well next year missing a fair few players this year"
Thanks indeed! Most gracious in victory. Best of luck for the remainder of the year. Odds are we'll see you same time next year haha

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2900 - 24/06/2024 09:25:42    2554245

Replying To Viking66:  "Ive said this before at the beginning of the season. We are short of half backs capable of long low accurate passing. Carty is excellent at this, I hope he comes back. Devitt is very good too. Matthew would be as well if he commits for one more year. We will need more of these type of halfbacks as the best forwards who are coming through aren't the tallest of lads."
There's a huge problem we have. The forwards coming through don't seem to be huge and Chin and McDonald are not very mobile so in year 2 Rossiter will have to work on varying up the game. He's going to have to bring back a bit of the running game we saw under Davy and a bit with Egan.

When we had Davy and lesser extent Egan the cry was drive it in on Mac and Chin etc....well that tactic didn't do anything for us v Clare. We need to vary it up next year. Running game, high ball, low fast ball we can't be predictable next year.

To be fair to Rossiter year 1 was about stopping the rot, getting the basics in order and finding new players.....he has done that. Hopefully next year we can add extra dimensions to the attack because we just don't have the physicality to compete with Clare etc. Did we win any puck out at all the other day?

On Conor Foley....he took.his scores so.well the other day if Jippo was OK next year injury wise and we conceivably had Foley and or Carty back could Conor Foley possibly be tried out in the forwards? Only a thought...maybe he has only played in backs and he doesn't have the forward mindset but he's well able to take scores.

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 301 - 24/06/2024 09:33:01    2554257

Overall I think Rossi and management had a decent first year. We had 4 young 21 year olds starting regularly in Conor Foley, Richie Lawlor, Eoin Ryan and Cian Byrne. We need the likes of Tucker Kinsella, Corey Byrne Dunbar, Darragh Carley Cian Molloy and Eoin Whelan to really push on for starting spots next season. Think Matt and Mogie might retire they have been fantastic servants. Really hoping Dee stays on having missed the whole season. Id expect Chin to stay on hopefully. Hoping we get Oisin and Paudie Foley and Ian Carty back next year too. Think Oisin is a massive loss in the forwards for us he is a class hurler. Its a pity Jippo and Jacko had no luck with injuries this year hopefully they have more luck next year. Next year the aim has to be maintain our Div 1A status and we have to be looking to make a Leinster final .

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 328 - 24/06/2024 09:42:14    2554259

Replying To WEXILE:  "There's a huge problem we have. The forwards coming through don't seem to be huge and Chin and McDonald are not very mobile so in year 2 Rossiter will have to work on varying up the game. He's going to have to bring back a bit of the running game we saw under Davy and a bit with Egan.

When we had Davy and lesser extent Egan the cry was drive it in on Mac and Chin etc....well that tactic didn't do anything for us v Clare. We need to vary it up next year. Running game, high ball, low fast ball we can't be predictable next year.

To be fair to Rossiter year 1 was about stopping the rot, getting the basics in order and finding new players.....he has done that. Hopefully next year we can add extra dimensions to the attack because we just don't have the physicality to compete with Clare etc. Did we win any puck out at all the other day?

On Conor Foley....he took.his scores so.well the other day if Jippo was OK next year injury wise and we conceivably had Foley and or Carty back could Conor Foley possibly be tried out in the forwards? Only a thought...maybe he has only played in backs and he doesn't have the forward mindset but he's well able to take scores."
I think Conor Foley could be a good midfield partner for Hearne

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 328 - 24/06/2024 09:44:26    2554260

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Overall I think Rossi and management had a decent first year. We had 4 young 21 year olds starting regularly in Conor Foley, Richie Lawlor, Eoin Ryan and Cian Byrne. We need the likes of Tucker Kinsella, Corey Byrne Dunbar, Darragh Carley Cian Molloy and Eoin Whelan to really push on for starting spots next season. Think Matt and Mogie might retire they have been fantastic servants. Really hoping Dee stays on having missed the whole season. Id expect Chin to stay on hopefully. Hoping we get Oisin and Paudie Foley and Ian Carty back next year too. Think Oisin is a massive loss in the forwards for us he is a class hurler. Its a pity Jippo and Jacko had no luck with injuries this year hopefully they have more luck next year. Next year the aim has to be maintain our Div 1A status and we have to be looking to make a Leinster final ."
I'd imagine Rossiter will allow the more senior players or the ones more.injury prone to sit out the early stages of league and focus on rehab and conditioning etc. He did it this year and seemed to work.

So 1A this year for us will again be taken on by a young and inexperienced Wexford team with a few older players thrown in. I think it's an ideal learning experience for the likes of CBD, Molloy, Whelan ,.Kinsella.etc. it worked this year for Cian Byrne and Eoin Ryan.

My only worry would be if we were getting beaten bad in every game would it dent the confidence? Maybe not but I see pre season and league primarily for building the squad. Usually the bigger teams.can be beaten in the first few.rounds as they are never up to pitch so that would be great if we could.do that but supporters need to give the young lads time and not be negative and cutting the backs off em if we lose a few.league games.

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 301 - 24/06/2024 09:59:11    2554275

Replying To WEXILE:  "There's a huge problem we have. The forwards coming through don't seem to be huge and Chin and McDonald are not very mobile so in year 2 Rossiter will have to work on varying up the game. He's going to have to bring back a bit of the running game we saw under Davy and a bit with Egan.

On Conor Foley....he took.his scores so.well the other day if Jippo was OK next year injury wise and we conceivably had Foley and or Carty back could Conor Foley possibly be tried out in the forwards? Only a thought...maybe he has only played in backs and he doesn't have the forward mindset but he's well able to take scores."
Conor Foley was always a midfielder or half forward for Horeswood from underage up as far as I know. Midfield might be his best position down the line.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12880 - 24/06/2024 10:26:13    2554296

Replying To Doylerwex:  "He wanted to play this year but didn't recover quickly enough.

He is light but he's very athletic so can handle a bit of physicality I think.

I don't think we should be playing him as a back though."
No he was a forward all his life until Davy got hold of him

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12880 - 24/06/2024 10:27:19    2554297

Replying To WEXILE:  "I'd imagine Rossiter will allow the more senior players or the ones more.injury prone to sit out the early stages of league and focus on rehab and conditioning etc. He did it this year and seemed to work.

So 1A this year for us will again be taken on by a young and inexperienced Wexford team with a few older players thrown in. I think it's an ideal learning experience for the likes of CBD, Molloy, Whelan ,.Kinsella.etc. it worked this year for Cian Byrne and Eoin Ryan.

My only worry would be if we were getting beaten bad in every game would it dent the confidence? Maybe not but I see pre season and league primarily for building the squad. Usually the bigger teams.can be beaten in the first few.rounds as they are never up to pitch so that would be great if we could.do that but supporters need to give the young lads time and not be negative and cutting the backs off em if we lose a few.league games."
If we play gameplans to suit the younger players like we did this year there's no reason why we should be being beaten badly. We have good hurlers coming through.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12880 - 24/06/2024 10:31:01    2554300

Wanted to wait a few days before commenting but hard luck to ye. The first yellow was a joke. Irrespective of what time it happened on the pitch it was never a yellow. It was a free but never a yellow.

Again, ye showed the weaknesses in our team. We were cut down the middle a couple of times and forced into last ditch defending which I hate. The second yellow was warrented, it was just a tackle he did not have to make but that killed the game from there. I just dont think ye had the belief that ye could salvage something from that point on and it was a double wammy really with your best player on the day having picked up the red.

From a Clare perspective I am hugely concerned with our defesive lapses. We have the forwards to kill any team but if we keep letting teams in for handy scores or cough up black cards and penalties like we have we will go no where. I would have hooked Hogan at half time although he was much better in the second half. Cleary had a fine game but again the ball into Wexford's forwards wasn't great and the type of ball a defender loves. Leen played well.

SOD, what can you say about the man. He is incredible and is in hurler of the year form. Tony back to 90% of his best, but needs to up it another gear. Shanagher gives us more options when he plays.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2578 - 24/06/2024 10:34:39    2554303

First of all - I want to say Thanks to all involved with the senior hurling team. It takes a lot of commitment and sacrifice to be an inter county hurler.
Secondly - Best of luck to Clare. The better team won on the day. The Clare fans were gracious in victory afterwards.

Thirdly - I think Wexford are in a massive transition. If you look the team versus Clare back in 2020 and 2021, there's only 6/7 starters from those games versus our starting team last Saturday.
There's already been a huge turnover of players and that will continue in the next few years.
As pointed out by a few posters already, Keith Rossiter has done a good job bringing in new lads and helping them perform at intercounty level.

Fourthly - IMHO, the standards of inter county game of hurling has risen to a very high standard - most notably by the excellence of Limerick. That's the template. In particular, if you look at the half back line of Limerick, they are giants of men, strong in the air and physical robust specimens that can hurl excellently.
In order to win ball off that, your half forward line need to match them physically - so your 5.6, 7 and 10,11,12 all need to be big men.
For me, the league next year is about trying our bigger men in these positions to see who and what works.

Fifthly - Missing players.
IF and it's a big IF, you got Paudi Foley/Oisin Foley/Ian Carty/Conal Flood/a fit Liam Ryan back into that team - you'd bring that size and physicality into the team in the middle third. Even two or three of them being fit and available would make a difference.

Anyway, thanks to all the players and management involved. Loch Gorman abu.

Punter72007 (Wexford) - Posts: 317 - 24/06/2024 10:39:07    2554307

Replying To Viking66:  "If we play gameplans to suit the younger players like we did this year there's no reason why we should be being beaten badly. We have good hurlers coming through."
I agree. We called it out after the Dublin game that we'd abandoned the crossfield ball into space in front of the man that served us so well earlier in the year. As brilliant as Chin was early in the championship, looking for him all the time made our forward unit worse.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2900 - 24/06/2024 10:51:03    2554315

Agree, the ball played in wasn't good, high, looping balls instead to diagonal in front of the forward like Kilkenny or Limerick in particular do - not sure if this was a tactic or backs reverting to it under pressure but we are not going to maximise our scoring chances with this hail Mary approach.

wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 78 - 24/06/2024 11:02:57    2554320

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Wanted to wait a few days before commenting but hard luck to ye. The first yellow was a joke. Irrespective of what time it happened on the pitch it was never a yellow. It was a free but never a yellow.

Again, ye showed the weaknesses in our team. We were cut down the middle a couple of times and forced into last ditch defending which I hate. The second yellow was warrented, it was just a tackle he did not have to make but that killed the game from there. I just dont think ye had the belief that ye could salvage something from that point on and it was a double wammy really with your best player on the day having picked up the red.

From a Clare perspective I am hugely concerned with our defesive lapses. We have the forwards to kill any team but if we keep letting teams in for handy scores or cough up black cards and penalties like we have we will go no where. I would have hooked Hogan at half time although he was much better in the second half. Cleary had a fine game but again the ball into Wexford's forwards wasn't great and the type of ball a defender loves. Leen played well.

SOD, what can you say about the man. He is incredible and is in hurler of the year form. Tony back to 90% of his best, but needs to up it another gear. Shanagher gives us more options when he plays."
Hope it's 3rd time lucky for you next time out LRH.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12880 - 24/06/2024 11:19:07    2554339

Replying To Punter72007:  "First of all - I want to say Thanks to all involved with the senior hurling team. It takes a lot of commitment and sacrifice to be an inter county hurler.
Secondly - Best of luck to Clare. The better team won on the day. The Clare fans were gracious in victory afterwards.

Thirdly - I think Wexford are in a massive transition. If you look the team versus Clare back in 2020 and 2021, there's only 6/7 starters from those games versus our starting team last Saturday.
There's already been a huge turnover of players and that will continue in the next few years.
As pointed out by a few posters already, Keith Rossiter has done a good job bringing in new lads and helping them perform at intercounty level.

Fourthly - IMHO, the standards of inter county game of hurling has risen to a very high standard - most notably by the excellence of Limerick. That's the template. In particular, if you look at the half back line of Limerick, they are giants of men, strong in the air and physical robust specimens that can hurl excellently.
In order to win ball off that, your half forward line need to match them physically - so your 5.6, 7 and 10,11,12 all need to be big men.
For me, the league next year is about trying our bigger men in these positions to see who and what works.

Fifthly - Missing players.
IF and it's a big IF, you got Paudi Foley/Oisin Foley/Ian Carty/Conal Flood/a fit Liam Ryan back into that team - you'd bring that size and physicality into the team in the middle third. Even two or three of them being fit and available would make a difference.

Anyway, thanks to all the players and management involved. Loch Gorman abu."
Spot on with all of that.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12880 - 24/06/2024 11:19:40    2554340

Replying To Viking66:  "Conor Foley was always a midfielder or half forward for Horeswood from underage up as far as I know. Midfield might be his best position down the line."
Would you say he's mobile enough? If our half forwards aren't winning much ball he could br an option there

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 301 - 24/06/2024 11:46:21    2554358

The year as a whole was prob little above where we might have expected winning walsh cup gave us a boost especially with younger players stepping up . Decent league campaign finished with a trimming by Cork we make excuses right or wrongly . Not forgetting the fortuitous draw v offaly .
Round Robin was as mixed a bag as you could think of beating Galway losing to Antrim losing to kilkenny aftr starting well and when they changed it up to smoother us in mid third (engine room) we lost our way . Couple of reasons physicality , primary ball winning and our touch let's us down , confidence dropped we look vulnerable and our intensity dropped as a result cam bzck well though .
When teams target these weaknesses we struggle .
Decent win v laois but I thought we looked vulnerable at times at the back . The worry going into Clare game was their forwards don't need a 2nd invitation as proved on the day . We struggled at times especially round that mid third in the fore mentioned areas .
The hope was we get more from Chin and mac . But clare got the match ups right and with pressure being put on the ball being played in we never got the return we needed . Can we afford to keep them both inside answer no . Pace was the best option Saturday as seen when Rory took them on his touch to get the ball and break the tackle at the same time caused them untold. All gifted players have an edge Rory needs to control it better thats all I can say or be cuter at it . We don't have a powerhouse mid fielder or centre forward to win or break enough val to give us a platform to build
We go forward we have no choice there are certainly positives from the year and I m more optimistic but still realistic to know we are nt at top table
If 15 on 15 last Saturday would we have won no.i dont think so, would have been a better contest and we d be more upbeat We struggled bar a 10 min period in first half . and bar Rory we did nt seem to have the edge in many other aspects Or areas I d imagine Brian lohsn would have changed his backs to stiffle him soon enough before his sending off .
We ve introduced new players eoin Ryan and cian byrne our best newcomers the 2 that stood out most . But lawlor foley etc have done their bit too . We wil lose players after this campaign for sure which ones I m nit sure.
Bit it is time for change for some of them they owe wexford very little and the years gave caught up .
Hoping the local championship throws up few new faces or possibly few more will be fit next year for the season . Hoping fir decent championship where pur best players come through uninjured. Lot of games before medals handed out now .probably too many truth be told . Added in a preliminary 1/4 finals will surely take from the competitvemess come the latter rounds of round Robin in hurling .
Best of luck to the Dual players too as I always said your club should ALWAYS COME FIRST ..
Hurling is the dominant code but football for yiur club should be as important to a true club player .
Park up intr county now .
Get through the championship let rossiter and his team .review the whole year and see where and what we can improve upon .
Next years targets should be rest establishd players until few weeks before the league but.it is important they take part in the league or at least few games in the league to grt up to speed . Give potential players the chance in walsh Cup mix established and new players for the league and hope we are good enough to compete and stay up and hopefully get few new players through .
Come round Robin target the leinster final we are capable of winning . After that we want to be more competitve in all ireland series. Worst case we get beat in 1/4 but be competive best case semi finsl and who knows on a given day with nothing to lose .
We need to be realistic on our expectations we Eil be going through a transition for a few years .

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 216 - 24/06/2024 11:49:42    2554359