Was Joey Barton Correct When He Said Woman Should Not Discuss Mens Sport

Replying To PattyONeill:  "I don't agree with having female pundits as they have no experience in playing men's football so you can't take their opinions seriously. Mens football is much more physical than woman's. It would be like having a club footballer as a pundit who never played county. It wouldn't make sense as they never played in the All Ireland mens championship."
Being honest for me and most men I know of always feel like this when I listen to a female pundit discussing a game as part of a TV panel.
But I kinda understand why female pundits are there, they are there to try to get more women interested in the sport, a bit like why RTE have Irish competitors who were never competitive in the Olympics commenting on Olympic finals for various events as Irish people commenting for these events are better at talking to an Irish audience.

GreenMan1987 (Meath) - Posts: 38 - 10/12/2023 17:23:02    2516223

Replying To PattyONeill:  "I don't agree with having female pundits as they have no experience in playing men's football so you can't take their opinions seriously. Mens football is much more physical than woman's. It would be like having a club footballer as a pundit who never played county. It wouldn't make sense as they never played in the All Ireland mens championship."
There's a logic there but going by that should Davy Burke be excluded from punditry or even management? If someone is intelligent and can read the game why should they be excluded?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 809 - 10/12/2023 17:46:18    2516225

Joey Barton hmmm. Would anyone take what he says seriously?

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 233 - 10/12/2023 17:55:00    2516228

It's just sexism and most men don't even realise it. It's like the lad who can't cope if the car salesperson is a woman, or gets nervous if their solicitor is a woman. They are more comfortable in male company and are all in favour of equality but struggle all the same.
Physically we don't expect women to match men but after that there are few differences, and punditry is not determined by strength or genetics.
Can you imagine if women said they would not deal with a male gynaecologist during birth because they had no experience.
Rate pundits by their ability not their gender. There are some pundits out there that I dread, but their gender is not the determining factor.

Roger (Meath) - Posts: 473 - 10/12/2023 18:04:22    2516230

Replying To Roger:  "It's just sexism and most men don't even realise it. It's like the lad who can't cope if the car salesperson is a woman, or gets nervous if their solicitor is a woman. They are more comfortable in male company and are all in favour of equality but struggle all the same.
Physically we don't expect women to match men but after that there are few differences, and punditry is not determined by strength or genetics.
Can you imagine if women said they would not deal with a male gynaecologist during birth because they had no experience.
Rate pundits by their ability not their gender. There are some pundits out there that I dread, but their gender is not the determining factor."
Great post. In a world that has pundits like Steve Mc, Michael Owen and Garth Crooks we should welcome all newcomers!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7912 - 10/12/2023 18:24:30    2516236

Replying To tommyjohn:  "Speed, strength, stamina and a group of 15 year old boys beating the Australian womens team ranked 5th in the world 7 nil."
You're missing the point by a country mile. That's the difference between men and women, which we're all already aware of. The question, which I'll repeat for you, is what are major differences between the rules of men's soccer and women's soccer? Answer the question. And here is a link to the Dutch women's team beating the u-18 mean's team, and as you well know women tend to quit growing at 14 or 15 and any of those lads would have been far bigger and stronger: https://talksport.com/football/1478821/netherlands-women-beat-mens-u18s-world-cup-friendly/

And soccer is not rugby - the whole point is that skill can and often does beat brawn - Best and Messi and many others dominated their eras despite being lightly built and small men.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 243 - 10/12/2023 18:47:01    2516242

Replying To GreenMan1987:  "Being honest for me and most men I know of always feel like this when I listen to a female pundit discussing a game as part of a TV panel.
But I kinda understand why female pundits are there, they are there to try to get more women interested in the sport, a bit like why RTE have Irish competitors who were never competitive in the Olympics commenting on Olympic finals for various events as Irish people commenting for these events are better at talking to an Irish audience."
I enjoy a fresh perspective, and let's face it, there have and still are, many, many utterly rubbish male commentators, who spew **** on a regular basis, yet continue to be indulged.

Nor do I think that Irish people are better at talking to an Irish audience. There are plenty of Irish people and Irish pundits I can't stand.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 243 - 10/12/2023 18:51:43    2516244

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Joey Barton hmmm. Would anyone take what he says seriously?"
100 pc , and would that be in broken french or broken english , im sure you remember that interview

germac (Down) - Posts: 536 - 10/12/2023 20:25:16    2516260

Sexism or preference? Or are they just the same thing? I don't know, either way I don't get the same enjoyment when women comment on men's games, sorry but can't help what I like.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 10/12/2023 21:07:30    2516264

Replying To realdub:  "Sexism or preference? Or are they just the same thing? I don't know, either way I don't get the same enjoyment when women comment on men's games, sorry but can't help what I like."
Because it's new and you have already decided you don't like it. I don't need commentators male or female to dictate my mood when watching a match.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7912 - 10/12/2023 21:30:58    2516272

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "You're missing the point by a country mile. That's the difference between men and women, which we're all already aware of. The question, which I'll repeat for you, is what are major differences between the rules of men's soccer and women's soccer? Answer the question. And here is a link to the Dutch women's team beating the u-18 mean's team, and as you well know women tend to quit growing at 14 or 15 and any of those lads would have been far bigger and stronger: https://talksport.com/football/1478821/netherlands-women-beat-mens-u18s-world-cup-friendly/

And soccer is not rugby - the whole point is that skill can and often does beat brawn - Best and Messi and many others dominated their eras despite being lightly built and small men."
The debate comes down to do pundits need to have experience at the highest level of the men's game to give opinions of the biggest male games.

Traditionally the ex-players selected to be pundits were some of the best players of their generation.
You generally wouldn't really ever see an ex-player from an intercounty team that was not competitive at the top end.
It was thought that having been successful at the top they could give insights of what male players in the inter county game face.

Sports, such as gaelic football where biology means women can't react the same levels as men have separate competitions for women.

It's in this context that people are questioning should pundits be confined to male ex intercounty players.

For me I probably would think a male ex inter county player is in a better position to talk about male inter county matches than an ex female inter county player but maybe women (especially women who sport) prefer listening to an ex female inter county player describing the matches.

GreenMan1987 (Meath) - Posts: 38 - 10/12/2023 22:47:51    2516289

I would go further even on what Barton said. We should stop allowing Ulster commentators comment on Gaelic games. That puke football they play up there is a completely different sport to what we play.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 245 - 11/12/2023 08:30:57    2516304

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "I would go further even on what Barton said. We should stop allowing Ulster commentators comment on Gaelic games. That puke football they play up there is a completely different sport to what we play."
Nobody plays football like ye do in Leitrim!

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2777 - 11/12/2023 09:32:41    2516309

You have people like Gabby Agbonlahor getting publicity day in day out on talksport and getting to be on co commentary for certain games it proves everyone and anyone can talk about sport. Like all things in life there are both male and female pundits who are an awful listen. However there are very good pundits who offer good insight into games. https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/12960955/they-contaminate-football-gary-neville-jill-scott-swap-twitter-accounts-in-social-experiment
Think this article gives the best insight. Woman will always get more abuse in this area and it really is not justified. But Joey Barton an upstanding member of society doesn't agree so.....

Chris6788 (Cavan) - Posts: 8 - 11/12/2023 10:24:05    2516321

He probably didn't say it in the best way but I do see his point. When it comes to pundits I'd prefer to see ex players who played at that level, wether it be GAA, Rugby or Soccer

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 269 - 11/12/2023 10:47:04    2516322

Replying To Roger:  "It's just sexism and most men don't even realise it. It's like the lad who can't cope if the car salesperson is a woman, or gets nervous if their solicitor is a woman. They are more comfortable in male company and are all in favour of equality but struggle all the same.
Rate pundits by their ability not their gender. There are some pundits out there that I dread, but their gender is not the determining factor."
This 100%

goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 114 - 11/12/2023 11:45:51    2516329

Replying To goreyll:  "This 100%"
Exactly

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 222 - 11/12/2023 12:31:16    2516343

Replying To GreenMan1987:  "Being honest for me and most men I know of always feel like this when I listen to a female pundit discussing a game as part of a TV panel.
But I kinda understand why female pundits are there, they are there to try to get more women interested in the sport, a bit like why RTE have Irish competitors who were never competitive in the Olympics commenting on Olympic finals for various events as Irish people commenting for these events are better at talking to an Irish audience."
Whatever u about not wanting women pundits what a stone age sexist remark so women shouldn't be on because they will never be as popular as men is this what u are implying. Ah here

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 222 - 11/12/2023 12:33:44    2516345

Exactly

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 222 - 11/12/2023 12:34:20    2516346

Well said.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 107 - 11/12/2023 13:12:01    2516349