Regional Championship

Would love to see the regional teams compete in the feis Cup, and eventually in the full championship. Is there any plan for it? Or similar

aces (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 07/01/2024 18:23:40    2518865

Nearly that time of year again, has there been much info or anything new on this years regional championship? Haven't heard much info on it this year and was just wondering is it still going ahead, hopefully so.

overtheendline (Meath) - Posts: 6 - 14/10/2024 15:37:39    2574848

Replying To overtheendline:  "Nearly that time of year again, has there been much info or anything new on this years regional championship? Haven't heard much info on it this year and was just wondering is it still going ahead, hopefully so."
It certainly is going ahead and what a mouth watering competition we have to look forward to. Its a marvelous chance for players from the forgotten smaller clubs to put their best foot forward for selection on Robbies panel. Playing on cold, wet blustery nights in our center of excellence really separates the men from the boys. I fancy an tuaisceart this year. Ardbraccan will benefit greatly from the Hill beating De La Salle in HQ on Saturday. A fabulous winter of football ahead and fair play to Colm O'rourke for introducing the idea to the county. Theres hidden gems in the county and ill die on that side of the river.

NorthMeathRising (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 14/10/2024 15:48:56    2574853

Replying To NorthMeathRising:  "It certainly is going ahead and what a mouth watering competition we have to look forward to. Its a marvelous chance for players from the forgotten smaller clubs to put their best foot forward for selection on Robbies panel. Playing on cold, wet blustery nights in our center of excellence really separates the men from the boys. I fancy an tuaisceart this year. Ardbraccan will benefit greatly from the Hill beating De La Salle in HQ on Saturday. A fabulous winter of football ahead and fair play to Colm O'rourke for introducing the idea to the county. Theres hidden gems in the county and ill die on that side of the river."
I love your passion.

allroyal (Meath) - Posts: 4 - 14/10/2024 16:08:12    2574858

Replying To royal11:  "I got to two games last week and I must say the standard was way down on last year and really poor. While games were tight and competitive, I don't think any of the teams would win the intermediate . Seems to be many players unavailable. No doubt teams will gel with time and improve but not a great start."
Is there really any point to this competition. Its at the year end after a long season. You would hope that any standout player at junior or intermediate level would be already known. They should be really standing out at that level. How many players from this competition made it onto Meath senior team and had a really positive impact? The focus should be introducing top prospects from the U20 grade and who performed really well for their clubs in club championships particularly at senior.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 574 - 14/10/2024 18:16:16    2574908

Off topic I know but are there any Meath players involved with Leinster for the trial games to look at new rules at weekend.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2195 - 14/10/2024 18:55:55    2574923

Replying To NorthMeathRising:  "It certainly is going ahead and what a mouth watering competition we have to look forward to. Its a marvelous chance for players from the forgotten smaller clubs to put their best foot forward for selection on Robbies panel. Playing on cold, wet blustery nights in our center of excellence really separates the men from the boys. I fancy an tuaisceart this year. Ardbraccan will benefit greatly from the Hill beating De La Salle in HQ on Saturday. A fabulous winter of football ahead and fair play to Colm O'rourke for introducing the idea to the county. Theres hidden gems in the county and ill die on that side of the river."
My sarcasm meter is absolutely pinging here. Especially when you said COR introduced the idea. Was zero to do with him whatsoever

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 986 - 14/10/2024 19:37:21    2574932

Replying To seadog54:  "Off topic I know but are there any Meath players involved with Leinster for the trial games to look at new rules at weekend."
There are two Meath players involved. Eoghan Frayne and Ronan Jones.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 988 - 14/10/2024 21:04:44    2574949

Replying To Blackspot09:  "My sarcasm meter is absolutely pinging here. Especially when you said COR introduced the idea. Was zero to do with him whatsoever"
Colm was the driving force behind the regionals and was the full brains behind the operation. I don't appreciate your dismissive attitude towards my comment. I am simply looking forward to seeing what wonderful talents can be found from the forgotten clubs adin the county. Gems like of big Harry OHiggans and the brick micky flood got put on colms radar from the regionals and thats not to be forgotten. I wont have my enthusiasm for Meath GAA put down by pessimists like you. Lets hope Robbie goes to all of an tuaiscearts games as im sure theres at least 8 county starters to be found adin the northern clubs. Lets make sure we get big crowds yonder the center of excellence of a Tuesday evening to support the lads. An Tuaisceart Abu

NorthMeathRising (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 15/10/2024 13:18:18    2575051

Replying To NorthMeathRising:  "Colm was the driving force behind the regionals and was the full brains behind the operation. I don't appreciate your dismissive attitude towards my comment. I am simply looking forward to seeing what wonderful talents can be found from the forgotten clubs adin the county. Gems like of big Harry OHiggans and the brick micky flood got put on colms radar from the regionals and thats not to be forgotten. I wont have my enthusiasm for Meath GAA put down by pessimists like you. Lets hope Robbie goes to all of an tuaiscearts games as im sure theres at least 8 county starters to be found adin the northern clubs. Lets make sure we get big crowds yonder the center of excellence of a Tuesday evening to support the lads. An Tuaisceart Abu"
A lot you'd know about the formation of the regional championship good man.

In terms of news about the competition I was told Garrigan has already put the wheels in motion for Ardbraccan. Their tilt at the Brady's Skoda Meath Regional Championship 2024 is reliant on meath hill getting a result on sat

It's hard to envision Boyne Valley getting their third as they will be without Moynalvey who I imagine now will tranfer to Tara but I imagine many of the lads from slane sydan & walterstown have been already talking about building a dynasty.

My monies are on Bru na B. Good manager & plenty young & old lads who will want their chance with Mr Brennans boys come jan.

RobbiesArmy2025 (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 15/10/2024 14:22:18    2575071

Replying To NorthMeathRising:  "Colm was the driving force behind the regionals and was the full brains behind the operation. I don't appreciate your dismissive attitude towards my comment. I am simply looking forward to seeing what wonderful talents can be found from the forgotten clubs adin the county. Gems like of big Harry OHiggans and the brick micky flood got put on colms radar from the regionals and thats not to be forgotten. I wont have my enthusiasm for Meath GAA put down by pessimists like you. Lets hope Robbie goes to all of an tuaiscearts games as im sure theres at least 8 county starters to be found adin the northern clubs. Lets make sure we get big crowds yonder the center of excellence of a Tuesday evening to support the lads. An Tuaisceart Abu"
I am still not sure if you have gone overdrive in the sarcasm stakes or you have an extreme opposite way of thinking to most on this matter. You put it together well either way!

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 574 - 15/10/2024 15:43:39    2575103

I think it is about time we took de regionals seriously, it is very aparent that the senior players are only concerned with simply winnin the keegan cup. they've no desire to win anything with the county or even to progress with their own club in the Lenster champinship. I reckon Robbie give de Meath tea, a real shake up with the forgottn players from round the county by picking players mostly from the regional championship, and make some of our so called stars play in the regionals too. Take the chip adof their shoulders. If the mountain men do slay de maneys now on Saturday, I'd put 5 scores on Ardbraccan to take the regionals! Make de regionals for all clubs!

MartryMorrisey (Meath) - Posts: 12 - 15/10/2024 17:21:59    2575122

Colm O'Rourke did not have any involvement in the regional championship whatsoever. Conor O' Donughue was behind the Regional Championships. Michael Flood was also not brought on Colm's radar from the Regional Championship, he was performing excellently with his college UCC in the Sigerson cup. No one is debating your enthusiasm but at least get your facts right first. There is also not '8 county starters to be found in the Northern clubs'.

contributingtoamelee (Meath) - Posts: 54 - 16/10/2024 09:13:43    2575205

Replying To contributingtoamelee:  "Colm O'Rourke did not have any involvement in the regional championship whatsoever. Conor O' Donughue was behind the Regional Championships. Michael Flood was also not brought on Colm's radar from the Regional Championship, he was performing excellently with his college UCC in the Sigerson cup. No one is debating your enthusiasm but at least get your facts right first. There is also not '8 county starters to be found in the Northern clubs'."
Jes its clear to see most ppl dat post adon dis havent a clue wat is going on behind the scenes. im sick 2 de back teeth of the anti north meath agenda. i agree with martrymorrisey and robbiesarmy2025 dats about it. we'll be de ones standing supporting de lads playing adin the regionals while all de rest of ye snowflakes will be adin watching elf holding hands with de misses. ill be organising a bus to all regionals games so whoever wants to go can go. donnie quinn will do a bus for 30 quid a head. email me at [email protected] if ur interested

NorthMeathRising (Meath) - Posts: 18 - 16/10/2024 09:56:56    2575213

Replying To NorthMeathRising:  "Jes its clear to see most ppl dat post adon dis havent a clue wat is going on behind the scenes. im sick 2 de back teeth of the anti north meath agenda. i agree with martrymorrisey and robbiesarmy2025 dats about it. we'll be de ones standing supporting de lads playing adin the regionals while all de rest of ye snowflakes will be adin watching elf holding hands with de misses. ill be organising a bus to all regionals games so whoever wants to go can go. donnie quinn will do a bus for 30 quid a head. email me at [email protected] if ur interested"
NMR you're outta order…I don't agree with you. North Meath lads would be better suited either playing for Cavan or with a hurl in their hand…the last meath manager to get D1 football shares this sentiment n I would wager you were one of the lads sending him abuse & him a winning genius.

I hope the games are streamed on Clubr or Ideal Homes & Bathrooms Meath GAA TV. I won't be venturing to the COE bc I never agreed with it's construction what a waste of money

Does anyone know if the managers are the same as last yr. Would love to see Bernie Flynn involved maybe with Bru Na B or Lough Crew

RobbiesArmy2025 (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 16/10/2024 11:03:28    2575231

Replying To NorthMeathRising:  "Jes its clear to see most ppl dat post adon dis havent a clue wat is going on behind the scenes. im sick 2 de back teeth of the anti north meath agenda. i agree with martrymorrisey and robbiesarmy2025 dats about it. we'll be de ones standing supporting de lads playing adin the regionals while all de rest of ye snowflakes will be adin watching elf holding hands with de misses. ill be organising a bus to all regionals games so whoever wants to go can go. donnie quinn will do a bus for 30 quid a head. email me at [email protected] if ur interested"
Elf is a good movie man you should give it a chance!

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 188 - 16/10/2024 11:16:29    2575235

Replying To contributingtoamelee:  "Colm O'Rourke did not have any involvement in the regional championship whatsoever. Conor O' Donughue was behind the Regional Championships. Michael Flood was also not brought on Colm's radar from the Regional Championship, he was performing excellently with his college UCC in the Sigerson cup. No one is debating your enthusiasm but at least get your facts right first. There is also not '8 county starters to be found in the Northern clubs'."
Look at the county championships, Meath Hill in de intermediate, Tones in the senior, Kells and Slane packing punches for years now, jes even Simonstown seem to be making a remergence as well. the like of Michael Flood hard as nails dont make them like him down south. youd easily find 8 to 10/11/12 lads from de northern clubs that would walk into any county set up. Teams from the south try to emulate the Dubs too much, if we wanna be beating the Dubs we aint gonna be beating them at their own game, we need to throw the mountain men at them. Ruffle few feathers. Jes get down to some of the regional championships this Winter and youll be licking your lips at what the smaller clubs in the county are offering.

MartryMorrisey (Meath) - Posts: 12 - 16/10/2024 11:31:44    2575243

'Adin'...pure country phrase. Love it!

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 382 - 16/10/2024 15:22:20    2575319

Enough of the pro north meath/sarcasm comments but I think it's fair to say Gary Breslin is by way and afar the best player in North Meath at the moment and certainly deserves an opportunity at County level whether there is or isn't a regional competition. Interesting to see how he performs in intermediate final.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 574 - 16/10/2024 19:36:33    2575376

Replying To winatallcost:  "Enough of the pro north meath/sarcasm comments but I think it's fair to say Gary Breslin is by way and afar the best player in North Meath at the moment and certainly deserves an opportunity at County level whether there is or isn't a regional competition. Interesting to see how he performs in intermediate final."
ah go easy would ye. The division between the standard of football north and south of the county has been clear for all to see for the last 10 year. Bar the tones northern clubs have been sub par.

In relation to MH, they are soft favourites imo. Their route to this year's final has been without a serious challenge. Either GB wins MH the game on sat or he will have to return to his region & prove himself to the new gaffer there.

all indications at present is that the regional champ will be taking place…hopefully the cb finalise sponsor & fixtures in the next week. it is the highlight of the late autumn/ start of winter for me. tho i don't envy young lads trying to prove themselves in challenging conditions.

i wonder if it goes ahead would it be wise for some of the new rules from the frc to be trialled…what better competition to unearth a lad willing to bomb two pointers over from 40 yards

maybe COR would be willing to come on board with say Tara…his insights with a young panel of players would be invaluable. i for one would hate if a man like himself were lost to meath gaa

RobbiesArmy2025 (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 16/10/2024 23:01:59    2575405