Jimmy's Coming Back!

Replying To Saynothing:  "Great to be alive for Donegal people today. Murphy could easily be asked back , he's less than a year older than Aidan O Shea and he had a great year for Mayo. Ulster title? Why not."
I'd say Murphy has made his decision but there are plenty of good footballers in Donegal. I felt Donegal underachieved under Declan Bonner. Second comings don't always work but it is going to be very interesting to see how Donegal do under McGuinness mark 2.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2187 - 22/08/2023 13:59:19    2501771

Replying To browncows:  "Football has indeed come a long way -should it not now be called handball considering that the number of hand passes far exceeds the kicking!!"
Should they change the name of American Football as well because the ball is thrown and ran so much there too?

Donaldtrump (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 22/08/2023 14:02:28    2501773

Donegal are of course a talented side, and with right motivation and planning could punch well above their weight, but to say the current team is more talented than 2012 is just wrong.

Michael Murphy, Karl Lacey, Neil McGee, Frank McGlynn, and Colm McFadden are 5 players who will likely never be replaced in a Donegal all-time XV. The 2010 versions of Toye, Cassidy, E.McGee, Gallagher, Kavanagh, Dunnion, Durcan, Hegarty, Ciaran Bonner were all known to be incredibly talented footballers who hadn't reached their potential. Can't speak for boys with 1/2 years exp, but there's very few players who've been there/thereabouts for more than a few years on current panel as talented as those above.

Let them prove me wrong.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 401 - 22/08/2023 14:06:40    2501774

Jimmy is back, he will put a very fit team on the field , thats guaranteed. Has he the players to make them All Ireland contenders . Dont think the present squad has the physical strenght to compete at top level, however last time he went to Buncranna and got Bradley from nowhere to a match winner, maybe he can again find the right players to compete at top table.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 410 - 22/08/2023 14:07:39    2501775

Replying To sam1884:  "Excellent appointment for Donegal. Whilst the GAA is professional in preparation it does show there is a big step up to making it as a professional manager in soccer.

I'd say this is indication the breakthrough isn't possible in soccer despite every attempt being made. This is also a good time to step back into Donegal and I don't think football is particularly strong so there is potential success over the next year or two. If he can get Donegal back to All Ireland Finals will be interesting to follow."
Under Jim in his first term included a Al semi and final lost and 1 All-Ireland won. Since he left (9 years) Donegal haven't reached All-Ireland semi final highlighting how much they regressed without his guidance.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3362 - 22/08/2023 14:31:05    2501778

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Under Jim in his first term included a Al semi and final lost and 1 All-Ireland won. Since he left (9 years) Donegal haven't reached All-Ireland semi final highlighting how much they regressed without his guidance."
I agree, it's an excellent appointment for Donegal and I understand the hype his appointment will bring. I think he is one of the best GAA coaches/managers who clearly wanted a career in soccer coaching/management.

My point whilst we in the GAA like to think our sports has a very professional set up it's clear there is still a massive gap and by returning to Donegal it appears success at GAA management cannot be easily moved across to professional sports such as soccer and that must have become a reality.

I think he has made every attempt to break through. If that road is blocked it is better news for Donegal as he might remain with Donegal for a long time.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 22/08/2023 17:32:47    2501820

Replying To Saynothing:  "Did good Meath men care when they won a few weeks ago?"
Thanks for not contracting my post - but no need for the rant!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 22/08/2023 18:02:10    2501825

10 lads in goal and the other 5 standing on each other's shoulders, first lad on the crossbar :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 22/08/2023 19:54:38    2501834

Replying To realdub:  "10 lads in goal and the other 5 standing on each other's shoulders, first lad on the crossbar :D"
I know you're only having a friendly dig and are one of the better posters.

But from reading various opinions on social media platforms some people genuinely do think Jim will adopt park the bus tactics again, and that he is a blight on football.

I would make no apologies for labelling the likes of these people complete losers, living in a fantasy land where fairies and elves play pumped balls into big full forwards. The days of man on man football have been over for years.

It's a far more tactical game now than ever. So when someone comes along with something bold and new, it should be applauded & not feared.

Was it really a blight on football the day we ran Dublin ragged in 2014? Dublin players shooting wides from 30 yards due to the intensity and tactical masterclass Jim adopted?

Much easier to sit back in your armchair & criticise I suppose

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 23/08/2023 11:37:18    2501881

Jim was an easy target for the media, some football snobs, others who were stuck in the past and in particular often one particular Kerry "analyst" who just didn't like getting beaten by Ulster teams.
Some of the posters on here would really remind you of that.

It was easier for these people to cry "puke football" etc than acknowledge the tactical masterclasses he produced and the sheer fitness and professionalism of his teams. Jim also had some really talented footballers at his disposal it must be said.

This idea that he "ruined the game" is laughable.
Watch some of the football Donegal played in the 2012 QF against Kerry, against Mayo in the 2012 all Ireland or against Dublin in the 2014 SF.
If Kerry or Dublin played that way pundits would be lauding their work-rate, hunger etc.

Best of luck to him again this time around

Donaldtrump (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 23/08/2023 12:19:04    2501887

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I know you're only having a friendly dig and are one of the better posters.

But from reading various opinions on social media platforms some people genuinely do think Jim will adopt park the bus tactics again, and that he is a blight on football.

I would make no apologies for labelling the likes of these people complete losers, living in a fantasy land where fairies and elves play pumped balls into big full forwards. The days of man on man football have been over for years.

It's a far more tactical game now than ever. So when someone comes along with something bold and new, it should be applauded & not feared.

Was it really a blight on football the day we ran Dublin ragged in 2014? Dublin players shooting wides from 30 yards due to the intensity and tactical masterclass Jim adopted?

Much easier to sit back in your armchair & criticise I suppose"
A pity ye didn't use Jimmy's more 'defensive' football at the start of the 2012 final! Pure begrudgery thinking McGuinness had Donegal always playing dour football after 2011. Maybe people being upset to see him back is a backhanded compliment. He had ye playing football when ye should be playing football and defending deep with numbers when it was needed, whatever it took to win games. Jimmy McGuinness is a winner who hates losing, a great tactician, coach and manager. I don't see the gap between Donegal and a very good Dublin team in transition an unbalanced but good Kerry team, a Derry team with a lot of potential, anything as large as the gap between Donegal and winning an All Ireland the last time he managed ye. Welcome back Jimmy. Gaelic Football missed you.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 23/08/2023 12:56:53    2501907

No word about Gallagher on the background team again?

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 160 - 23/08/2023 13:14:47    2501911

Replying To Whestofthewest:  "No word about Gallagher on the background team again?"
Very distasteful comment.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 817 - 23/08/2023 13:49:29    2501924

Replying To Whestofthewest:  "No word about Gallagher on the background team again?"
Gallagher is busy enough with his own teams.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 728 - 23/08/2023 13:50:17    2501925

No. Just the groundless question you've posed on the idea.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1322 - 23/08/2023 14:34:27    2501943

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Very distasteful comment."
why? not convicted of anything at all

Whestofthewest (Clare) - Posts: 160 - 23/08/2023 15:04:46    2501951

Replying To Donaldtrump:  "Jim was an easy target for the media, some football snobs, others who were stuck in the past and in particular often one particular Kerry "analyst" who just didn't like getting beaten by Ulster teams.
Some of the posters on here would really remind you of that.

It was easier for these people to cry "puke football" etc than acknowledge the tactical masterclasses he produced and the sheer fitness and professionalism of his teams. Jim also had some really talented footballers at his disposal it must be said.

This idea that he "ruined the game" is laughable.
Watch some of the football Donegal played in the 2012 QF against Kerry, against Mayo in the 2012 all Ireland or against Dublin in the 2014 SF.
If Kerry or Dublin played that way pundits would be lauding their work-rate, hunger etc.

Best of luck to him again this time around"
Exactly. It often bemused me how these so called traditionalists could be so anti-McGuinness, when Donegal pretty much executed the textbook goal of their dreams on the biggest day of all in 2012.

Lacey bombing forward before delivering a long accurate ball into the great man, who expertly caught, turned & almost burst the net.

Or how about Frank McGlynn bombing forward in the semi final against Cork and hooking a point over from a stupid angle on his weaker left foot?

Or in the same game, big Neil Gallagher giving an absolute exhibition of high fielding? Not traditional enough?

How about the QF in 2014, Odhran MacNiallais blasting a goal past a startled Armagh keeper when hardly anyone in the ground expected it?

I could probably list a dozen more examples off the top of my head.

See this whole puke football thing does doesn't stack up at all. The Dublin game in 2011 aside, where McGuinness openly admitted himself we hadn't the attacking part of the system fully worked out. Beyond that though, Donegal could attack with as much precision & intent as any.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 23/08/2023 15:07:16    2501953

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I know you're only having a friendly dig and are one of the better posters.

Much easier to sit back in your armchair & criticise I suppose"
There's no way Jimmy is coming back without a plan and a belief in the current panel.
It will be very interesting Lockjaw!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 23/08/2023 15:32:59    2501956

Replying To Whestofthewest:  "why? not convicted of anything at all"
Neither was Mason Greenwood

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9189 - 23/08/2023 15:44:11    2501957

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Exactly. It often bemused me how these so called traditionalists could be so anti-McGuinness, when Donegal pretty much executed the textbook goal of their dreams on the biggest day of all in 2012.

Lacey bombing forward before delivering a long accurate ball into the great man, who expertly caught, turned & almost burst the net.

Or how about Frank McGlynn bombing forward in the semi final against Cork and hooking a point over from a stupid angle on his weaker left foot?

Or in the same game, big Neil Gallagher giving an absolute exhibition of high fielding? Not traditional enough?

How about the QF in 2014, Odhran MacNiallais blasting a goal past a startled Armagh keeper when hardly anyone in the ground expected it?

I could probably list a dozen more examples off the top of my head.

See this whole puke football thing does doesn't stack up at all. The Dublin game in 2011 aside, where McGuinness openly admitted himself we hadn't the attacking part of the system fully worked out. Beyond that though, Donegal could attack with as much precision & intent as any."
I agree Lockjaw. It's like the old adage "the man that gets the name of an early riser can stay in bed all day". Jimmy McG had Donegal playing some great football but many only remember 2011.I enjoyed the Donegal team under Jimmy and never bought into the bad press he got. Same with Tyrone. 03 v Kerry they played a distasteful type of football but after that Tyrone played some brilliant football. Both Donegal and Tyrone were judged unfairly and wrongly imo.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3687 - 23/08/2023 16:06:04    2501963