2023 WEXFORD FOOTBALL C SHIP

Replying To Tox73:  "Yeah me too, Best football game in Wexford last year was certainly Fethard V Dunshaughlin. Don't think that they are missing so many it's more walking wounded. Brian Power and one of the Suttons in Oz, I don't see Ruari Tubritt either. Mikey definitely carrying injury same as Richie Waters, Cian Byrne out last week as well. They had a decent goal chance at a crucial time but unluckily came back off crossbar. There is a race to get to 1/4 final,all 3 Ross districts teams will fight it out for last place and to aVOID RELEGATION. Nothing between them with Gusserane in poll position at the moment."
I didn't see or hear anything about there game with Starlights the weekend so I'm not sure who was missing. The week before they seemed to have the majority of people back, I think it was just Daire Barden missing of all the players who will be available to them. Ruari Tubritt didn't play football for them last year.

I think it's Bryan power, Joe Sutton and Jimmy Sutton missing who would start. For a club with a very small pick, missing 3/4 starts can have a huge impact. Looks like it's going to come down to their final game against St James to decide the relegation

JT22 (Wexford) - Posts: 40 - 11/09/2023 09:12:46    2503710

I have seen 8 different games over the course of the championship so far and, sadly I have to say the standard on show is shockingly bad. I never seen the standard so low. I was talking to a friend and he was telling me his club have 3 lads well into their fortys who couldn't get on the team in their prime and there are playing midfield, wing back and wing forward on their team now and that intermediate level.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1017 - 11/09/2023 11:11:38    2503743

Replying To JT22:  "I didn't see or hear anything about there game with Starlights the weekend so I'm not sure who was missing. The week before they seemed to have the majority of people back, I think it was just Daire Barden missing of all the players who will be available to them. Ruari Tubritt didn't play football for them last year.

I think it's Bryan power, Joe Sutton and Jimmy Sutton missing who would start. For a club with a very small pick, missing 3/4 starts can have a huge impact. Looks like it's going to come down to their final game against St James to decide the relegation"
Was Eoin Whelan playing?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13444 - 11/09/2023 11:22:17    2503749

Replying To hunting:  "I have seen 8 different games over the course of the championship so far and, sadly I have to say the standard on show is shockingly bad. I never seen the standard so low. I was talking to a friend and he was telling me his club have 3 lads well into their fortys who couldn't get on the team in their prime and there are playing midfield, wing back and wing forward on their team now and that intermediate level."
Name and shame..... Ferns maybe as they seem to be going very poorly, albeit they are not alone in that bracket! Just a surprise they are going so poorly.

rossytilidie (Wexford) - Posts: 300 - 11/09/2023 12:23:59    2503774

Replying To hunting:  "I have seen 8 different games over the course of the championship so far and, sadly I have to say the standard on show is shockingly bad. I never seen the standard so low. I was talking to a friend and he was telling me his club have 3 lads well into their fortys who couldn't get on the team in their prime and there are playing midfield, wing back and wing forward on their team now and that intermediate level."
I've seen 7 and would have to agree. In fairness most of the panels involved would prefer hurling if pushed, and obviously most of them wouldn't have much football work done. I'm hoping things will get better especially come the knockout stages.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13444 - 11/09/2023 12:31:38    2503776

Am afraid I have to agree - none of the matches I've seen so far have been of any great standard either, and that's the main reason I haven't been posting much about matches themselves.

Haven't seen either Shels or Kilanerin in senior yet though, so will probably go see one or both of them next weekend, and hope that restores my faith a bit!

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2503 - 11/09/2023 12:40:31    2503780

At this early stage any players John hegarthy should have his eye on,

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 462 - 11/09/2023 12:56:29    2503785

Got to only 2 senior games so far between wedding, stag (not the same wedding) and being honest choosing the Ireland rugby game on TV on Saturday instead of New Ross, Shels Starlights was woeful and Kilanerin Gusserane was a decent game for 45 mins before Kilanerin turned the screw.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 11/09/2023 13:05:32    2503790

Replying To rossytilidie:  "Name and shame..... Ferns maybe as they seem to be going very poorly, albeit they are not alone in that bracket! Just a surprise they are going so poorly."
I don't know much about what's going on in Ferns, but I do know that the 3-2 they registered this weekend is an unusual score anywhere above Under-12 level.

Another scoreline that caught my eye was the Starlights juniors - beaten 5-17 to 0-4 by Oylegate-Glenbrien.

Still, at least they fielded this weekend. There mustn't have been anything like Electric Picnic on. :)

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2503 - 11/09/2023 13:54:46    2503805

I was at one game over weekend as I was working alot of weekend, sars v Bunclody, really could have went either way but Bunclody marginally better team, but one thing that struck was the behavior of small portion of sars supporters who verbally abused refree at every chance they got, Two gentleman in particular

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 462 - 11/09/2023 14:57:59    2503829

Replying To Lockerroomboy:  "At this early stage any players John hegarthy should have his eye on,"
As far as Taghmon goes Ian Carty was with the hurlers and is going travelling later this year. Stephen O Gorman got a call off John earlier this season but would prefer to be hurling intercounty. If Conor Murphy isn't called by the intercounty hurlers he would be worth bringing in. He played for the Wexford u20 footballers when he was only 18 but opted to join up with Keith Rossiter for this season. David O Keefe played for the Peters team that lost to St Brendans in the Hogan Cup final and is in excellent form. Barry O Gorman is also an excellent player and keeps himself in really good shape. He'd add alot of strength and experience, and would be over and beyond the S and C required for Senior intercounty Football already although he is 30 now. He'd be a good option for the next few years though. Adam Sinnott is a good footballer but might not want to commit.
The best Gorey football players all seem to be hurlers, except Dylan Cooke Leonard who has really impressed me any time I've seen him play. He's already with the football panel though he needs to work at his S and C. There are some other younger lads who John no doubt has his eye on already.
The Martins didn't really have any standout performers Saturday who wouldn't be in or around, or have been in and around, the hurling panels at some intercounty level. Not sure if they would want to give intercounty Football a shot as I don't know any of them.
Clongeens best lads seem to be suffering from injury, Curtis and Kent. Young Dylan Murphy is a skilful player although light.
Ola Safola covered alot of ground for the Marys, while Conor Kehoe looked lively for Sars. Dylan O Brien from the Anne's looked an interesting lad too, but again most of their best football players are probably more inclined towards hurling.
Most of the best lads Ive seen so far are already intercounty hurlers or footballers I guess.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13444 - 11/09/2023 15:48:50    2503842

Replying To Pikeman96:  "I don't know much about what's going on in Ferns, but I do know that the 3-2 they registered this weekend is an unusual score anywhere above Under-12 level.

Another scoreline that caught my eye was the Starlights juniors - beaten 5-17 to 0-4 by Oylegate-Glenbrien.

Still, at least they fielded this weekend. There mustn't have been anything like Electric Picnic on. :)"
Apart from the unusual scoreline from Ferns I heard there was a fair bit of needle in the game with a good old schemozzle just before half time and a couple of Red Cards too. Anyone at the game? 5 scores for the hour is a poor return from a team i fancied to give that championship a fair rattle.

indaknownow (Offaly) - Posts: 112 - 11/09/2023 16:50:24    2503857

Replying To Viking66:  "As far as Taghmon goes Ian Carty was with the hurlers and is going travelling later this year. Stephen O Gorman got a call off John earlier this season but would prefer to be hurling intercounty. If Conor Murphy isn't called by the intercounty hurlers he would be worth bringing in. He played for the Wexford u20 footballers when he was only 18 but opted to join up with Keith Rossiter for this season. David O Keefe played for the Peters team that lost to St Brendans in the Hogan Cup final and is in excellent form. Barry O Gorman is also an excellent player and keeps himself in really good shape. He'd add alot of strength and experience, and would be over and beyond the S and C required for Senior intercounty Football already although he is 30 now. He'd be a good option for the next few years though. Adam Sinnott is a good footballer but might not want to commit.
The best Gorey football players all seem to be hurlers, except Dylan Cooke Leonard who has really impressed me any time I've seen him play. He's already with the football panel though he needs to work at his S and C. There are some other younger lads who John no doubt has his eye on already.
The Martins didn't really have any standout performers Saturday who wouldn't be in or around, or have been in and around, the hurling panels at some intercounty level. Not sure if they would want to give intercounty Football a shot as I don't know any of them.
Clongeens best lads seem to be suffering from injury, Curtis and Kent. Young Dylan Murphy is a skilful player although light.
Ola Safola covered alot of ground for the Marys, while Conor Kehoe looked lively for Sars. Dylan O Brien from the Anne's looked an interesting lad too, but again most of their best football players are probably more inclined towards hurling.
Most of the best lads Ive seen so far are already intercounty hurlers or footballers I guess."
You have mentioned 7 Taghmon players now who you think are good enough for inter county football although they have been bet in 2 out of 3 games and scraped by an awful ferns team?

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 225 - 11/09/2023 16:55:26    2503858

Surely you know Viking has Taghmon Rose Tinted glasses welded to his eyes..

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 182 - 11/09/2023 17:15:20    2503862

Kilanerin, Castletown & Shels the 3 obvious front runners in Senior, if there's a bolter from the rest I'd say its most likely to be Gusserane who were good for 45 mins on Saturday vs Kilanerin. I don't think the likes of Bunclody, Glynn, Annes, Sarsfields are good enough to challenge while lads travelling seems to have Fethard & Crossabeg under pressure, pity Crossabeg didn't get promoted around 2018 when they left an Intermediate final behind vs Horeswood, think they would have been a solid senior team built around the Devereux and Foley brothers, St james looks like they've a hangover from a hard hurling campaign after both the semi and final going to ET, Starlights are very hard to judge a match for anyone on there day but can be woeful aswel, short 3 starters from recent years who have opted out of football too. relegation could go anyway based on results.

In Intermediate Gorey and Martins look strong, you never know what way Gorey will go the talent has been there the last 5-6 years but depending on the year you've no idea who will line out in relation to their senior hurlers and what their general interest will be, Ferns have been the biggest disappointment gave Horeswood plenty of it in a QF last year but off the pace this year, taught a few weeks break between hurling and football would help but not so far. For relegation the loser of Bannow/Fintans this weekend looks like they will be under pressure.

Apart from the walkovers in Junior grades the standout for me in the lower grades is Cloughbawn's results in Intermediate A, they've 2 big losses in Colm Kehoe and Bob Whitty who is their free taker but heard anecdotally a few of their main players aren't togging and are instead focusing on giving Leinster Intermediate Hurling a rattle. They were in the last 2 finals losing to Clongeen by a point and Adamstown by 4 or 5

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 11/09/2023 18:51:43    2503885

Replying To WexMurph:  "You have mentioned 7 Taghmon players now who you think are good enough for inter county football although they have been bet in 2 out of 3 games and scraped by an awful ferns team?"
I was answering a question who might be good enough, either now, or with work put in, in the future. Not all the lads want to play intercounty Football anyway. Ian Carty was already on the football panel but opted for hurling. Hes not fully fit and has missed several club championship games this year. Stephen O Gorman was asked last year but opted not to go. He's alot fitter and stronger now than he was when he was asked. Both are travelling next year in any case. Conor Murphy opted for hurling this year too, but is only 20 and wouldn't really be a Senior intercounty starter straight away. But that wasn't the question I was answering anyway. David O Keefe missed effectively 2 years with an ACL injury and is only back fully fit this year though is carrying a knock at the moment and only played last weekend because Taghmon were down so many players . Adam Sinnott has missed alot of this year with a groin injury including last weekend's game. Barry O Gorman is fully fit ok. I'm pretty sure that's 6 not 7.
I was at the Ferns game the result was never in doubt. The Martins game hinged on a decision that wasn't given, as a close in free and sending off would've made the game a 1 point game and the lad who scored Martins last point wouldn't have been on the field to score it. Who knows how the game mightve finished up as Taghmon wouldn't have had to go for a goal for the last few minutes. And that despite Taghmon playing without a few starters and lads playing carrying injuries. If Taghmon get to the knockout stages and have a fully fit panel I'd be expecting them to go further than last year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13444 - 11/09/2023 20:04:14    2503890

Replying To WexMurph:  "You have mentioned 7 Taghmon players now who you think are good enough for inter county football although they have been bet in 2 out of 3 games and scraped by an awful ferns team?"
To be fair, most of the senior sides, and prob half of the intermediate teams have 5/6 players who COULD play inter country football, obviously between commitment, s&c and age this number reduces dramatically!!

rossytilidie (Wexford) - Posts: 300 - 11/09/2023 20:14:24    2503892

Replying To Paull:  "Surely you know Viking has Taghmon Rose Tinted glasses welded to his eyes.."
Yup. But I answered the question honestly. All 6 of those lads would be good enough to get a look at. As it is 2 of them are going travelling next year in any case. All of them except Adam already kicked football for Wexford at either u20/1 or Senior, or got asked to. So it's not just me thinks they are good enough. And Adam can play football with a sliotar....

Hurling skills, crazy pick up with foot in Wexford hurling championship https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=eHh3DMTL6Dg

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13444 - 11/09/2023 20:27:00    2503896

Who has looked good to you in the games you have gone 2? Lads who aren't currently in the Wexford Senior Football squad? Either developmental lads like Conor Murphy and Adam Sinnott or lads like Barry O Gorman or David O Keefe who would be physically able for Senior intercounty straight away?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13444 - 11/09/2023 21:03:58    2503899

Replying To Lockerroomboy:  "I was at one game over weekend as I was working alot of weekend, sars v Bunclody, really could have went either way but Bunclody marginally better team, but one thing that struck was the behavior of small portion of sars supporters who verbally abused refree at every chance they got, Two gentleman in particular"
After all that has gone on with refs in this county in the recent past, you would hope this kind of behaviour would be consigned to the bin. As it turns out the ref that did this game, in my opinion, did a good job, and did not deserve the abuse he got.

Monica (Wexford) - Posts: 31 - 12/09/2023 00:03:13    2503909