The acceptance speeches of all ireland winners are becoming more boring and bland as years go on. Not helped by having to thank individually the back room team with it's cast of 1000s. Also not helped by no crowd surging in front of Hogan stand. Blackbog (Carlow) - Posts: 725 - 31/07/2023 09:04:53 2497918 Link 2 |
Joe Connolly I presume you mean and that would be no. 1 for me. Dara O'Cinneide and Sean Og O Halpin were very good also. And Peter Canavan made a good one too … "we fought the British Army" !! Most are forgettable though and if you see a captain pulling out an A4 sheet like yesterday then it's time to turn off. Some brutal ones over the years. I thought some of the Kilkenny ones were dire. As good as Lester Ryan's might have been Eoin Larkin's was just cringeworthy it was desperate altogether not helped I suppose by the lack of passion in the 2/3 empty stadium as Kilkenny's wins had become boring to even their own fans at that stage. Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1434 - 31/07/2023 13:20:05 2498024 Link 2 |
There was only 1 truly great acceptance speech and that was Joe Connolly's in 1980 followed by Joe McDonagh singing The West's Awake. I fall asleep listening to what I have heard since then!
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 31/07/2023 13:29:43 2498028 Link 1 |
Peter Canavan 2003! What a speech.... bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 356 - 31/07/2023 13:34:23 2498030 Link 2 |
Did Anthony Daly make a great speech in '95? Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 332 - 31/07/2023 14:13:18 2498048 Link 0 |
I always thought they should do the staff thanking at the evening do. Then maybe talk to their county supporters a bit more personally like a few of the better speeches have achieved. SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2513 - 31/07/2023 14:26:47 2498055 Link 2 |
It's become too much of a list of thanking people who would probably lose the plot if the captain didn't mention them! Its almost invariably a damp squib and Dublin have contributed greatly to that since 2011 when it was at least entertaining! BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3275 - 31/07/2023 14:28:44 2498056 Link 1 |
It makes sense not to allow the crowd on the pitch as it means everyone gets to stay in the ground longer including the players. PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 251 - 31/07/2023 14:41:40 2498060 Link 0 |
It has to be 1961 Down captain Paddy Doherty, when he said Thanks Offaly,and hip hip hooray for them x3,, thats the entire speech Brilliant
germac (Down) - Posts: 557 - 31/07/2023 15:00:15 2498074 Link 0 |
They are amateur sportsmen that have just come off the pitch jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20699 - 31/07/2023 15:42:01 2498105 Link 1 |
There is a notice outside Hill that "large flags not permitted." Obviously it is easy enough to hide a flag but it does stop the less ingenious from bothering. It is a great sight.
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3275 - 31/07/2023 15:55:59 2498113 Link 1 |
Louth captain Dermot O Briens speech in 1957. Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 946 - 31/07/2023 16:26:01 2498135 Link 0 |
1991 All Ireland final between Down and Meath. The hill was full of red and black flags.
Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 946 - 31/07/2023 16:27:07 2498138 Link 0 |
They should be more concerned about letting drunken eejits into the hill than large flags and they mightn't have the problem of young lads brawling.
MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1000 - 31/07/2023 16:39:53 2498144 Link 0 |
Daly for all his speeches, Munster or all-ireland. cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 783 - 31/07/2023 16:42:17 2498146 Link 1 |
Cluxton's speeches were coma inducing. Made worse by the fact that he was making the same speech Every. Fecking. Year. ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1256 - 31/07/2023 16:50:38 2498148 Link 0 |
Indeed. A few minor incidents yesterday related to same issue. Any Kerry young fellas near me were grand and I'm sure some of them encountered eijits on our side, Ironically, the fact that there are almost no groups of young fellas of same age following Dubs other than club members who tend generally to civilised and among older lads with a bit of cop on is the saviour here. Also not been drinking on the bus or train since early morning. BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3275 - 31/07/2023 16:57:42 2498151 Link 0 |
Joe Connolly's is hard to beat and Lester and Sean Og were also excellent but one of my favourites is Pat Fleury's one ! carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1852 - 31/07/2023 17:06:15 2498160 Link 0 |
One of the best speeches I've heard was Shane Walsh when Tullaroan won the All Ireland intermediate club hurling all Ireland. Brilliant stuff. Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2106 - 31/07/2023 18:25:42 2498197 Link 0 |
Joe Connollys speech easily the most iconic one of all time, everything about it, native Irish speaker, talking about immigration that effected the west etc the Wests Awake after it, calling up Iggy Clarke who missed the final, just so many great parts to it. I think a small thing that shows it out on its own is the fact its the only speech ever shown on the "Reeling in the Years" show. Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 286 - 31/07/2023 21:48:34 2498239 Link 0 |