Wexford Club Hurling Championships 2023

Replying To Viking66:  "I think whoever wins the Alley-Barntown game will win the final. I'd have the Alley as favourites overall."
Harriers for me.

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 179 - 21/11/2023 17:32:43    2514073

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Wow, this board is just a pantomime. People screaming and complaining about losing to Westmeath in hurling and not winning a game in football championship are now saying go out there and enjoy it and if you win well good but if you don't then grand you have a job to go to in the morning.
Top level sport is competitive. Everybody is striving to be better. In my lowly Aussie Rules team for which season which is now over, team was analysed for how we can improve, we work on what we were weakest at in practice after the matches. Players pushing each other and the whole game forward. People doing gym programmes for next season. And this is a low enough level but players want to do better.
But in Wexford its ah go out there and enjoy it and sure have a few pints on the way home and be ready for the next match next weekend.
Mediocrity is par for the course in Wexford which is why we are no good at either when the chips are down and we come up against teams from Munster.
The only thing left to hear is "oh but we beat everybody in the league".
Saying Wexford club teams are as good as anyone bar Kilmacud Crokes is like saying Doncaster Rovers are as good as everybody in League 1 as they come to play Man City. Should they not ask why they can't be as good as them? And before the reply is "money", Ballyhale and Kilcormac Killoughtey debunk that myth.
Its why I inevitably got sick of playing GAA in Wexford, to be honest. Football is treated like a bit of fun, hurling marginally better."
wow!!!! i though playing both was supposed to be fun and enjoyed!!!! down with that sort of thing u say? oooook

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2848 - 21/11/2023 20:12:40    2514092

Anyone at any one the u21 semi finals? Convincing enough wins for Buffers Alley and the Faythe Harriers. High scoring games for the time of year. Maybe we can play hurling in the winter and be competitive in Leinster. Should be a good final and hopefully under lights in the Park next weekend. Buffers alley won the u19 last year I think. Il tip them to get the win by 4 points

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 171 - 26/11/2023 11:43:25    2514620

Replying To WexMurph:  "Anyone at any one the u21 semi finals? Convincing enough wins for Buffers Alley and the Faythe Harriers. High scoring games for the time of year. Maybe we can play hurling in the winter and be competitive in Leinster. Should be a good final and hopefully under lights in the Park next weekend. Buffers alley won the u19 last year I think. Il tip them to get the win by 4 points"
Alley`s best players would be mostly U 20 whereas the Harriers best players would be up to the age and would include Lawlor, Scallan and Shiel. Harriers should win

Groundball (Wexford) - Posts: 122 - 26/11/2023 22:13:52    2514657

Replying To WexMurph:  "Anyone at any one the u21 semi finals? Convincing enough wins for Buffers Alley and the Faythe Harriers. High scoring games for the time of year. Maybe we can play hurling in the winter and be competitive in Leinster. Should be a good final and hopefully under lights in the Park next weekend. Buffers alley won the u19 last year I think. Il tip them to get the win by 4 points"
Wasn't at any myself, your right they won u19 well last year but unless their injured or suspended Harriers will have Richie Lawlor, Josh Shiel, Kyle Scallan and Liam Cassin which could be significant, they were all overage last year for u19. Anyone get to the Craanford Tullogher game?

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 26/11/2023 22:19:20    2514659

Teams going out playing hurling enjoying themselves because most of them have done nothing for these competitions so I suspect the matches were like training games.
The state of the plastic cups being presented by Wexford GAA for these competitions I've more expensive egg cups at the back of the press

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 27/11/2023 02:31:58    2514665

Was at the Harriers V Rathnure game .. Overall was a good game and to be honest Rathnure probably could have won it .. They coughed up two bad goals .. Goalie went to bat the ball for first one between defender and forward but missed it and ball landed in empty net .. Harriers got a very good 2nd goal where they moved the ball quickly through the lines but their 3rd goal was a calamity aswell and that took the wind out of Rathnure .. granted Rathnure got a very soft one at the end.

Jack Redmond was rusty due to been only back from a broken wrist and missed 4 very score-able frees in first half - Harriers on the other hand missed none and that kept them in touch in first half. They were definitely the bigger more physical team while Rathnure had 5-6 Minors playing. Harriers moved the ball well and it will be a very interesting final between themselves and Buffers Alley. Kyle Scallan and Richie Lawlor big asset to them

Overall the standard was good - pitch was heavy but not bad

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 136 - 27/11/2023 10:57:40    2514695

Was at the rathnure/harriers game. Very entertaining game despite being played on an awful pitch which didn't look like it had been cut in weeks. Credit to both teams for their efforts. Rathnure will regret a few poor wides in the first half and conceded 2 very poor goals. Harriers took over in the second half and just about deserved the win. Eamonn Wickham best for rathnure while josh Shiel very good for the harriers. Should be a good final

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 488 - 27/11/2023 11:09:13    2514696

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Wasn't at any myself, your right they won u19 well last year but unless their injured or suspended Harriers will have Richie Lawlor, Josh Shiel, Kyle Scallan and Liam Cassin which could be significant, they were all overage last year for u19. Anyone get to the Craanford Tullogher game?"
Just a bit of a quirk re. lads like those who are now 21, on account of how the competition has changed over the last couple of years:

- Two years ago, when they were 19, it was an U20 competition, so they could play in it.
- Last year, when they were 20, it was an U19 competition, so they were overage.
- And now that they're 21 and it's an U21 competition, they can play in it again.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2257 - 27/11/2023 11:11:08    2514697

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Just a bit of a quirk re. lads like those who are now 21, on account of how the competition has changed over the last couple of years:

- Two years ago, when they were 19, it was an U20 competition, so they could play in it.
- Last year, when they were 20, it was an U19 competition, so they were overage.
- And now that they're 21 and it's an U21 competition, they can play in it again."
Wasn't lost on me either, mad situation alright.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 27/11/2023 11:16:16    2514698

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Was at the rathnure/harriers game. Very entertaining game despite being played on an awful pitch which didn't look like it had been cut in weeks. Credit to both teams for their efforts. Rathnure will regret a few poor wides in the first half and conceded 2 very poor goals. Harriers took over in the second half and just about deserved the win. Eamonn Wickham best for rathnure while josh Shiel very good for the harriers. Should be a good final"
Impossible cut pitches currently with what rain has fallen .. last week was the first dry week in about 6 weeks .. I've been at a lot of county finals over the past number of weeks and all club pitches are in a similar state .. Be interesting to see will the final be played in Wexford Park under lights .. A premier U21 final should be played in our county grounds

Is Eamonn WIckam eligible for U20 county team in 2024?

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 136 - 27/11/2023 11:29:05    2514702

Down for 6 next Saturday in the park. Looking at the forecast for next weekend there could be frost around, a change wouldn't surprise me as I think the section of the pitch under the stand can be a problem if there's cold weather.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 27/11/2023 12:42:50    2514714

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Down for 6 next Saturday in the park. Looking at the forecast for next weekend there could be frost around, a change wouldn't surprise me as I think the section of the pitch under the stand can be a problem if there's cold weather."
Annes v Blackwater final on in Patricks Park Sunday at 2.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 27/11/2023 13:56:39    2514728

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Wasn't at any myself, your right they won u19 well last year but unless their injured or suspended Harriers will have Richie Lawlor, Josh Shiel, Kyle Scallan and Liam Cassin which could be significant, they were all overage last year for u19. Anyone get to the Craanford Tullogher game?"
That would probably sway it for a harriers win then I'd say.

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 171 - 27/11/2023 16:27:08    2514759

Replying To WexMurph:  "That would probably sway it for a harriers win then I'd say."
Made it to the final. Was a poor enough spectacle from a neutral perspective but think Faythe Harriers just deserved the win. A lot of scrappy hurling conditions were very tough in fairness. Thought Josh Sheil and Eoin Cassin were the pick of the winners side up front while there captain Boggan done well at the back. Cassin got a crucial goal in the second half from a breaking ball which proved to be the difference. Ref gave Buffers Alley every chance at the end but Harriers held on. As a previous poster mentioned the majority of there team is underage next year so no doubt they'll be back. Richie Kehoe was the manager of the Faythe Harriers and good to see players like him getting involved in management

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 171 - 02/12/2023 20:18:51    2515284

Replying To WexMurph:  "Made it to the final. Was a poor enough spectacle from a neutral perspective but think Faythe Harriers just deserved the win. A lot of scrappy hurling conditions were very tough in fairness. Thought Josh Sheil and Eoin Cassin were the pick of the winners side up front while there captain Boggan done well at the back. Cassin got a crucial goal in the second half from a breaking ball which proved to be the difference. Ref gave Buffers Alley every chance at the end but Harriers held on. As a previous poster mentioned the majority of there team is underage next year so no doubt they'll be back. Richie Kehoe was the manager of the Faythe Harriers and good to see players like him getting involved in management"
It is for sure. He was a great player in his day. Hopefully he can pass some of his experience on to the new generation.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12114 - 02/12/2023 21:36:26    2515288

Got up to the u21 final Saturday night,thought Faythe Harriers were the better team,between there selves and the ref they made it particularly hard for themselves,for me they were 7-8 points the better team!!! They played very well in patches but,at times they over played the ball which was what kept a dogged Buffers Alley team in the game for far to long!!! conditions were very tough for hurling wet and freezing cold,but it was a rare night in Wexford park that there was no breeze!!Eoin Cassin was particularly lively getting 1-3 his goal being crucial in the end,Josh sheil and Richie Lawlor getting through a mountain of work in midfield, Kyle scallon was solid at Centre back a powerful man going forward!! Alex Boggan was solid at full back!!! No real stand out for buffers alley just a dogged performance from the team probably O'Meara in the middle of the field looked good on the ball O'Hagan in patches looked ok but kept relatively quiet!!! It was Richie kehoe over the team for the harriers and Shane grannels for the Alley,great to see lads like this getting involved with the next generation of club hurlers!!! I spoke to some harriers men at the game that spoke very highly of Richie as a coach and as a manager they said he has no problem making though decisions for the team,and he doesn't care who you are or what U have done if U hurl well and for the team you will get your chance!!!they said he had been involved with minors and juveniles this year along with Wexford minors!!! Fair play to him!!! Well done to the Faythe Harriers hard luck Buffers Alley I hope the build on it and get back up to the senior ranks

theboys (Wexford) - Posts: 216 - 05/12/2023 09:45:22    2515562

See Michael Martin has issued a letter for discussion amongst committees, The basic gist of it is that we will have two more weeks next season as the Leinster Council are starting the Leinster Championships later but he feels that going forward two groups of 6 is fine but he wants to see a change where the team that comes top goes through to the semis while 2nd and third go through to the quarters. 5th and 6th play in relegation finals. Not a bad proposal as it gives more incentive to finish top, With 5th and 6th into relegation keeps competition going until last game, less teams go through but probably will make it more competitive. Also states to go back to alternative weeks.

The other thing he talks about he feels the gap is getting bigger between four or 5 top clubs in senior in both football and hurling and would like to see in 2026 senior reduced to 8 teams. He said you could see which the teams would qualify for the semis. I'm not sure I agree with that. I think the hurling is more competitive than ever with 8 to 9 teams in with a chance on their day.

Also he wants to see the leagues have some bearing on the championship, one idea is that the team that wins the league gets an extra point for the championship.

There is a lot in the letter, few pages long but the above are some of the main points I have taken.

alwaysasub (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 05/12/2023 14:09:36    2515606

Replying To alwaysasub:  "See Michael Martin has issued a letter for discussion amongst committees, The basic gist of it is that we will have two more weeks next season as the Leinster Council are starting the Leinster Championships later but he feels that going forward two groups of 6 is fine but he wants to see a change where the team that comes top goes through to the semis while 2nd and third go through to the quarters. 5th and 6th play in relegation finals. Not a bad proposal as it gives more incentive to finish top, With 5th and 6th into relegation keeps competition going until last game, less teams go through but probably will make it more competitive. Also states to go back to alternative weeks.

The other thing he talks about he feels the gap is getting bigger between four or 5 top clubs in senior in both football and hurling and would like to see in 2026 senior reduced to 8 teams. He said you could see which the teams would qualify for the semis. I'm not sure I agree with that. I think the hurling is more competitive than ever with 8 to 9 teams in with a chance on their day.

Also he wants to see the leagues have some bearing on the championship, one idea is that the team that wins the league gets an extra point for the championship.

There is a lot in the letter, few pages long but the above are some of the main points I have taken."
He's been pushing a few of those things the last while. I disagree about the reducing senior to 8 teams, the Leagues having a bearing on the Championship which might encourage more lads not to commit to intercounty, and the alternate weeks. Going forwards with 2 groups of 6 is OK although I'd still prefer 4 groups of 4 personally, and we might even have 3 extra weeks depending on the draw.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12114 - 05/12/2023 15:21:49    2515618

Replying To Viking66:  "He's been pushing a few of those things the last while. I disagree about the reducing senior to 8 teams, the Leagues having a bearing on the Championship which might encourage more lads not to commit to intercounty, and the alternate weeks. Going forwards with 2 groups of 6 is OK although I'd still prefer 4 groups of 4 personally, and we might even have 3 extra weeks depending on the draw."
The quality isn't there for 16 Senior teams - I also don't believe 8 will fix / improve anything ... When we had 16 there were way too many whipping boys in the championship. Our championship was poor this year standard wise, some of the games were atrocious but everyone of them were competitive and it is difficult to pick a winner. 12 in my opinion is the optimum level.

Intermediate championship is competitive but how many of those teams would actually compete in a Senior championship that would have 16 teams - and by compete I mean reach a Q/F or S/F

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 136 - 05/12/2023 16:08:35    2515628