I think he's better known than you know though I could be wrong!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15700 - 16/08/2023 16:46:04 2500851 Link 0 |
Yes. But their kids can kick football with the clubs I mentioned.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15700 - 16/08/2023 16:47:14 2500852 Link 0 |
Wasn't Larkin 270 with his S and C man?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15700 - 16/08/2023 16:48:19 2500853 Link 0 |
Alot of that growth is in dormitory areas of the North of the county. Or in urban areas where alot of lads actually can't afford the membership fees sad to say.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15700 - 16/08/2023 16:52:17 2500856 Link 0 |
It has everything to do with demographics at club level. I come from a large family with approx 100 first cousins that are now well beyond our playing years. With one primary school numbers sat at 165 35 years ago, today it's 70. The club will struggle in the years ahead so in this case it is demographics as in wex your primary school outside of towns decides how many you have. My daughters play in a dublin club and we have as many under 8's girls as there is in all of my primary school! Yet the population of wexford is growing. bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 74 - 16/08/2023 19:40:40 2500878 Link 0 |
I don't want to fall in to the trap of arguing with an idiot and losing to experience, but south of Gorey I happen to live. And I wouldn't call them a little club even if I did. I don't see where you could think I am Jim Gavin (you can show me where I did in my posts) but I am grateful for the comparison. Only problem is the other coaches tend to take the football sessions but I do help out. I'm amazed you think I could attend your AGM, because most clubs only allow members to attend. I thought you'd have known that. But good luck for 2024 and the upcoming AGM. I am sure you will sort it and I'll leave you to it at that. ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1336 - 16/08/2023 20:05:51 2500882 Link 0 |
I don't know why any of ye pay attention to what countyman says, constantly in rows with other posters needs to find better things to do with their time.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 16/08/2023 23:13:16 2500892 Link 0 |
Countryman In relation to your previous post over the last few days where it was stated that Kilkenny man Eoin Larkin was being paid so much per night in Rathnure. I Was in attendance at Wexford park on Friday evening last for the relegation final between Rathnure & Glynn Barntown being one of the many people present from the non competing clubs. Sitting alongside 2 Rathnure follower's before the game even started I was told that Eoin Larkin was only the coach or trainer to the team, and that a local man Colm Byrne was there manager and it took everyone by complete surprise when the club appointed him. This gentleman told me that things couldn't be worse and he had lost the respect of the player's from an early stage and it was a disaster and the words he said were, don't be one bit surprised if we're beaten here this evening. If the club was paying that kind of money to a man with 8 senior all Ireland medals could the club not have appointed Eoin to be the manager from the start.
Luckyboy (Wicklow) - Posts: 38 - 17/08/2023 07:57:53 2500903 Link 0 |
Eoin Larkin isn't a great coach as far as I have heard in Kilkenny. And the way they faded in the last 10 minutes you would have to question his S and C man also. "Haha ah no I think Eoin can work away with Rathnure a bit longer, or maybe even better come back and get the Village relegated here!" Exactly word for word what he thought of Larkin when he told me that likely 2 big county underage jobs were coming up in Kilkenny for next year and I asked would Larkin be in the frame. And that was long before the relegation final. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15700 - 17/08/2023 10:10:42 2500913 Link 0 |
He is like a nettle sometimes for sure. But he knows alot about hurling also, and goes to alot of games.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15700 - 17/08/2023 10:32:20 2500921 Link 0 |
In Oylegate we have a small population but a very high participation rate. Win or lose Sunday, good progress is being made at underage. Minors are competing at premier in both hurling and football, this includes at lot of U16s, 1/3 of the team. U14s are leading both the hurling and football Premier division having won Premier hurling last year and loosing out in the second teir football final. U12s are competing in both hurling and football in the Premier division having won the Rackard League football final this year and loosing out in the hurling final. WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 505 - 17/08/2023 10:58:09 2500926 Link 1 |
That's absolutely brilliant WEX98. I'm sure you have plenty of lads working very hard to achieve that. Fair play to you all.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15700 - 17/08/2023 11:30:23 2500942 Link 0 |
There was little to no respect, but thats a common theme amongst alot of the younger players in recent years with any management. They could have made him manager Luckyboy. But like a lot of things, a lot seems to be done backwards in recent years despite the concerns of many. I am scared of what is going to happen. Could even be in the same grade as Cushinstwon next year.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 788 - 17/08/2023 11:30:38 2500943 Link 0 |
Cushinstown are going very well. I saw them earlier in the year and they hadn't quite got their short game right but they are going well now with it. Lads like Matthew Cody and Daire Bolger have skill to burn and they have big fit men like Porter as well. I was surprised they didn't come straight back up last year to be honest. They will be hard beaten in Intermediate football as well. There are alot of strong teams in that this year. Tbh as things stand if you played them this weekend I'd have them as favourites. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15700 - 17/08/2023 11:50:15 2500950 Link 0 |
It isnt all on Eoin larkin, this has been coming down the tracks for years with Rathnure. Im sure hes hurting as much as anyone and as a fella thats admitted to suffering with depression over the years and been quite open about it im sure hes struggling too with being the coach when the axe finally did fall on rathnure but that axe has been hanging in place for quite a while now. tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1498 - 17/08/2023 12:30:01 2500962 Link 0 |
Porter very good, I've seen the last two games. The more hurling he is getting the better he is going. Probably would not be far off beating Rathnure in fairness.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 788 - 17/08/2023 13:05:22 2500970 Link 0 |
Some amount of BS on Rathnure over the last week - This is the most accurate and appropriate comment in relation to their relegation - it's been inevitable for a few years now and long before current management got involved. In numerous relegation battles last while.. Well done tearintom
grassroots01 (Wexford) - Posts: 180 - 17/08/2023 14:48:14 2501007 Link 0 |
His dad is a Donegal man and hurling mad.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15700 - 17/08/2023 14:54:15 2501010 Link 0 |
And a good school principal.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 788 - 17/08/2023 15:46:22 2501030 Link 0 |
I think that's what Countyman2022 has been saying the last week tbh grassroots01. From the top down.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15700 - 17/08/2023 16:15:01 2501043 Link 0 |