Dublin V Roscommon

Replying To baire:  "I know lots of people who have stopped watching it. I'm critical of the game as it is at present, not critical of the game of gaelic football as it used to be played in the past. If the GAA ignores the state of the game at present and accepts your attitude, your muppets can wallow in their bore-fest!"
Inclined to agree with you, shocking spectator sport.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4809 - 31/05/2023 20:59:59    2483264

Teams now are more efficient. I remember the 1992 semi for example. Mayo had 17 wides against Donegal. This would not happen today. I prefer the modern game.
The Dublin --Ros game was good craic. If they meet in knockout later the Dubs will tackle, different result.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1162 - 31/05/2023 21:24:30    2483267

Replying To worple:  "I remember with great fondness the great kick and catch games pre 1970.
Dublin Kevin Heffernan started the rot in 1974."
Ah here !!! Next thing we'll be hearing about the great games when teams were 21 aside.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 5938 - 01/06/2023 01:08:13    2483279

Replying To yew_tree:  "Fair enough but I've witnessed that "banter" first hand. Like driving home after the 2017 final and the folks in Cloonfad waving Dublin flags and jeering at us as we drove through. I'm not easily offended but that's just pathetic. I don't disagree we have a portion of idiots too. The booing of freetakers from a section of our own fans for example drives me nuts."
Don't judge Roscommon fans by what you hear or see in Cloonfad. Sizable population of Dubs living there now. Many of them never supported Dublin before they moved but now have found their voice.

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 64 - 01/06/2023 09:06:32    2483292

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Dublin opted not to tackle for 6 minutes. How is this a possession football problem? Is it not a marking/tackling issue?
Peter Canavan is not making any sense about teams keeping possession and I usually agree with him most of the time. Armagh won the 2002 Final by keeping possession. They were the first team to do it I believe."
Tackling Roscommon lads is a high risk venture. They nearly killed that poor chap stone dead when he won the last free :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 1460 - 01/06/2023 09:47:51    2483297