Dublin V Roscommon

Replying To baire:  "I know lots of people who have stopped watching it. I'm critical of the game as it is at present, not critical of the game of gaelic football as it used to be played in the past. If the GAA ignores the state of the game at present and accepts your attitude, your muppets can wallow in their bore-fest!"
Inclined to agree with you, shocking spectator sport.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 31/05/2023 20:59:59    2483264

Teams now are more efficient. I remember the 1992 semi for example. Mayo had 17 wides against Donegal. This would not happen today. I prefer the modern game.
The Dublin --Ros game was good craic. If they meet in knockout later the Dubs will tackle, different result.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 31/05/2023 21:24:30    2483267

Replying To worple:  "I remember with great fondness the great kick and catch games pre 1970.
Dublin Kevin Heffernan started the rot in 1974."
Ah here !!! Next thing we'll be hearing about the great games when teams were 21 aside.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 01/06/2023 01:08:13    2483279

Replying To yew_tree:  "Fair enough but I've witnessed that "banter" first hand. Like driving home after the 2017 final and the folks in Cloonfad waving Dublin flags and jeering at us as we drove through. I'm not easily offended but that's just pathetic. I don't disagree we have a portion of idiots too. The booing of freetakers from a section of our own fans for example drives me nuts."
Don't judge Roscommon fans by what you hear or see in Cloonfad. Sizable population of Dubs living there now. Many of them never supported Dublin before they moved but now have found their voice.

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 85 - 01/06/2023 09:06:32    2483292

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Dublin opted not to tackle for 6 minutes. How is this a possession football problem? Is it not a marking/tackling issue?
Peter Canavan is not making any sense about teams keeping possession and I usually agree with him most of the time. Armagh won the 2002 Final by keeping possession. They were the first team to do it I believe."
Tackling Roscommon lads is a high risk venture. They nearly killed that poor chap stone dead when he won the last free :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 01/06/2023 09:47:51    2483297

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Dublin opted not to tackle for 6 minutes. How is this a possession football problem? Is it not a marking/tackling issue?
Peter Canavan is not making any sense about teams keeping possession and I usually agree with him most of the time. Armagh won the 2002 Final by keeping possession. They were the first team to do it I believe."
I think you are spot on here - Dublin opted NOT to tackle or press strongly enough.

Doesnt matter who does it,

It wasnt a slight on Rossies at all, but it it terrible to watch and be at a match when it goes on.

And before people go on about Dublin doing it - Dublin fans dont like it then either, well I certainly dont.

You can understand it at the end of a game, but not from the 1st minute.... ;o(

15 men in their own half is another tactic which puts people off games.

But sure look, it is up to the GAA to amend the rules and limit the amount of consecutive hand passing, and passing backwards inc to your goalie.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 01/06/2023 10:17:00    2483307

Replying To Fionn:  "Lads - give it up - I was on the Hill and those Rossie fans however small or young the group were, were repeatedly singing about Mayo.
I dont really care if you believe me or not, but the Dublin fans around them just laughed when we heard the repeated chants about Mayo.

I am sure they probably captured it on their phones at the time.

But it happened.

I was just making a comment about it. it was not a hard hitting chant but a funny one.

But us Dublin fans were just surprised it was only Mayo they were jokingly chanting about. That is all.

End of....!"
Made up Nonsense, Never happened.

I was on the Hill, Never heard anything of the sort.
I have been at every Roscommon league game this year, never ever heard any chants about Mayo and if anyone started one they would be told to shut up by the vast majority.

I think you personally have an issue with Mayo as a rival over the past few years.

Its extraordinary that you are the only person in Croker that heard the chant.

It simply did not happen.

End of.

Romell01 (Roscommon) - Posts: 21 - 01/06/2023 10:48:44    2483319

Replying To Romell01:  "Made up Nonsense, Never happened.

I was on the Hill, Never heard anything of the sort.
I have been at every Roscommon league game this year, never ever heard any chants about Mayo and if anyone started one they would be told to shut up by the vast majority.

I think you personally have an issue with Mayo as a rival over the past few years.

Its extraordinary that you are the only person in Croker that heard the chant.

It simply did not happen.

End of."
omg - whatever.

Stop being so upset by a joking chant by some of your young fans.

Every county county does it.

You are some snowflake....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 01/06/2023 10:57:56    2483323

Replying To yew_tree:  "Singing songs about Mayo….on one of their biggest days in years. Jesus that's pathetic. Watched the game in my local and everyone was cheering on Roscommon.

Wouldn't mind another meeting with them in Croke Park."
You seem to get very upset about a lot of things. It's a pack of about two dozen boozed up teenagers thinking they're Italian Soccer ultra's for an hour. I wouldn't be writing letters into the county board about it

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 210 - 01/06/2023 12:00:04    2483342

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Teams now are more efficient. I remember the 1992 semi for example. Mayo had 17 wides against Donegal. This would not happen today. I prefer the modern game.
The Dublin --Ros game was good craic. If they meet in knockout later the Dubs will tackle, different result."
You'd be lucky to see 17 kicks of the ball in the modern game, never mind wides. The clue is in the name of the game. I think we could see something similar to the half-court rule in basketball being introduced to avoid 7m of pass the parcel possession games in teams' own halves.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/06/2023 12:46:40    2483349

Replying To PressureKick:  "You seem to get very upset about a lot of things. It's a pack of about two dozen boozed up teenagers thinking they're Italian Soccer ultra's for an hour. I wouldn't be writing letters into the county board about it"
I was in front of them for last 20 minutes of hurling. They were harmless I thought in fairness and a lot more pleasant than some other recent visitors who obviously wee soccer supporters. We moved away from them not because they were likely to be a bother, just prefer other company at this age!

Thankfully Dublin no longer has similar support. Just not popular among young fellas that tend to hang around in large groups, and they would never get tickets for the bigger games. Until recently anyway. So they don't travel either.

Drink and gangs of young fellas are bad news even if mostly just messy rather than violent. Hurling big days in CP or Thurles are worst in my experience.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 01/06/2023 13:27:44    2483358

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I was in front of them for last 20 minutes of hurling. They were harmless I thought in fairness and a lot more pleasant than some other recent visitors who obviously wee soccer supporters. We moved away from them not because they were likely to be a bother, just prefer other company at this age!

Thankfully Dublin no longer has similar support. Just not popular among young fellas that tend to hang around in large groups, and they would never get tickets for the bigger games. Until recently anyway. So they don't travel either.

Drink and gangs of young fellas are bad news even if mostly just messy rather than violent. Hurling big days in CP or Thurles are worst in my experience."
Spot on Barney. They were harmless and the chants were quite funny to be honest.

The Derry fans on the Hill recently were a funny lot also.

It defo brought a bit of an atmosphere to the Hill last week. They were in great spirits. Nice crowd.

Jeez you must have been close to me during the Hurling - they were only 2 steps behind me on the Hill.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 01/06/2023 13:56:17    2483369

Replying To Fionn:  "Spot on Barney. They were harmless and the chants were quite funny to be honest.

The Derry fans on the Hill recently were a funny lot also.

It defo brought a bit of an atmosphere to the Hill last week. They were in great spirits. Nice crowd.

Jeez you must have been close to me during the Hurling - they were only 2 steps behind me on the Hill."
Ha! Just to left of goal?

I knew I was among "deeply knowledgeable hurling people." :-)

You could sense the wristiness of the hurling genes floating about.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 01/06/2023 14:07:41    2483374

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Ha! Just to left of goal?

I knew I was among "deeply knowledgeable hurling people." :-)

You could sense the wristiness of the hurling genes floating about."
Exactly and underneath the large Dublin banner that was unfurled before the Football started. ;o)

Long day - I was in there just after 1pm ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 01/06/2023 14:25:54    2483378

Replying To Greengrass:  "Ah here !!! Next thing we'll be hearing about the great games when teams were 21 aside."
Bring back the bishop throwing in the ball

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 01/06/2023 14:50:51    2483384

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Tackling Roscommon lads is a high risk venture. They nearly killed that poor chap stone dead when he won the last free :-)"
He had to make the most of it with the Kildare ref giving Dublin everything. Foul all day by the rule book too

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 01/06/2023 17:07:51    2483426

Replying To Fionn:  "Exactly and underneath the large Dublin banner that was unfurled before the Football started. ;o)

Long day - I was in there just after 1pm ;o)"
You think that's a long day? Think you're spoiled.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 01/06/2023 18:04:05    2483439

Replying To Fionn:  "Exactly and underneath the large Dublin banner that was unfurled before the Football started. ;o)

Long day - I was in there just after 1pm ;o)"
A long day? You Dubs really are spoiled!

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 01/06/2023 18:05:09    2483440

Replying To yew_tree:  "Bring back the bishop throwing in the ball"
Just bring back football….. This current rubbish is woeful to watch… is it any wonder attendance figures are dropping like a stone… People are not total idiots

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 02/06/2023 07:46:14    2483491

Replying To ponga:  "A long day? You Dubs really are spoiled!"
Now I can see why the Rossies were chanting about you...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 02/06/2023 10:39:01    2483521