Dublin V Roscommon

Replying To anotheralias:  "The question of pitch sizes got me thinking and i used Dr Google to do some comparisons. I have a feeling that the dimensions quoted are for the full grass area rather than the playing area ( which would be better) , as McHale Park is quoted as 137m long but looking at footage of Sligo v Galway game there is definitely not 7m between the 65s.
Having said that this is what I could find..
Castlebar 137m x 82m
Thurles 145m x 80m
Dublin 145m x 88m

This means that Croke Park is 1526 square metres bigger than McHale Park ( over a third of an acre).
Thats a lot of ground if it converts even closely in terms of on pitch differential."
MacHale Park got a new pitch recently, it's longer and wider now than those stats on the old pitch.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3346 - 26/05/2023 17:09:42    2481800

Replying To anotheralias:  "The question of pitch sizes got me thinking and i used Dr Google to do some comparisons. I have a feeling that the dimensions quoted are for the full grass area rather than the playing area ( which would be better) , as McHale Park is quoted as 137m long but looking at footage of Sligo v Galway game there is definitely not 7m between the 65s.
Castlebar 137m x 82m
Thurles 145m x 80m
Dublin 145m x 88m

This means that Croke Park is 1526 square metres bigger than McHale Park ( over a third of an acre).
Thats a lot of ground if it converts even closely in terms of on pitch differential."
They're going out to play football, not bailing hay on whatever bit of extra land that gives Dublin a perceived advantage. A team going out to play Dublin with the negative mindset of how many advantages Dublin might have should stay at home. I'm sure Davy Burke will have Roscommon ready and positive.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 26/05/2023 19:01:10    2481813

Croke Park is also a great place to master your craft when you are starting off your inter county career, when CP is your home venue for all games. You how things work regarding dimensions etc when it comes to the business end of the championship.

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 100 - 26/05/2023 19:18:38    2481814

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Kildare took the game to Dublin in Croke Park and went all out for the win. Dublin played as well as they were let that day. A little better game management and experience at the end and Dublin were out of the Leinster Championship.

Our performance against Sligo was poor and no point trying to dress it up any other way.

Nowlan Park will be a different game, if Dublin get a result there they will have to earn it. I certainly hope Desssie Farrell and his merry band turn up with your attitude..."
So Dublin played as well as they were let in the Leinster semi but "my oh my" Kildare just had an off day and played poorly against Sligo.
Maybe that's the sort of jaundiced soft analysis that leaves Kildare with as much consistency as watery soup.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 676 - 26/05/2023 19:26:45    2481815

Castlebar 137m x 82m
Thurles 145m x 80m
Dublin 145m x 88m

Jesus - what an active life you have- I wish I was as cool as you and to be looking up pitch dimensions

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 26/05/2023 21:20:36    2481825

Replying To brianb:  "I've never really got the "wide open spaces" in Croke Park commentary either. I think its more to do with the pitch always being pretty quick - you never get a heavy pitch there compared to many county grounds. Anyone slightly off the pace gets found out a lot quicker.

I can't see Davy Burke setting Roscommon up in any way that you'll be beaten by 10 points. It will be a close game. I think Kildare did an OK job against Dublin in the Leinster Semi Final and could have won that one. I expect Roscommon will put themselves in the same situation - if Dublin bring the same shooting boots they had against Kildare; Roscommon will win - but I'd say the Dubs have had some shooting practice since then. Dublin by 3."
People always say how Derry can't cope with playing in Croke Park because of the large pitch yet I remember reading that Owenbeg where they train is the same size as the Croke park pitch.

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 222 - 26/05/2023 22:42:23    2481832

Castlebar 137m x 82m
Thurles 145m x 80m
Dublin 145m x 88m

There's a massive difference in Mayo performances in MacHale Park vs Croke Park as any Mayo fan would notice. Croke Park is definitely a lot bigger

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 26/05/2023 23:48:05    2481835

Replying To sligo joe:  "So Dublin played as well as they were let in the Leinster semi but "my oh my" Kildare just had an off day and played poorly against Sligo.
Maybe that's the sort of jaundiced soft analysis that leaves Kildare with as much consistency as watery soup."
Oh dear ....They'll have a surprise now Joe. Ssssh...

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2547 - 27/05/2023 00:39:38    2481837

Replying To LilywhiteGael:  "Kildare took the game to Dublin in Croke Park and went all out for the win. Dublin played as well as they were let that day. A little better game management and experience at the end and Dublin were out of the Leinster Championship.

Our performance against Sligo was poor and no point trying to dress it up any other way.

Nowlan Park will be a different game, if Dublin get a result there they will have to earn it. I certainly hope Desssie Farrell and his merry band turn up with your attitude..."
You won't have to worry about their attitude old chap. You may put your Jaysus house on that.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2547 - 27/05/2023 00:41:35    2481838

Rossies ..did they rope a dope today. Well done to the primrose and blue today!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1079 - 28/05/2023 21:57:18    2482377

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "It's much easier to do the "rope a dope" tactics in Castledar. It's 20m shorter than Croker.
Everyone who played Dublin in Croker and parked the bus has had their arses handed to them since 2014.

Only a full court press works against Dublin. Note sure Roscommon have the defenders to handle Dublin's forwards one on one

Dublin by 10"
Well that didn't go as you hoped. Not taking the beating Ros dished out to you lot in Castlebar very well are you.
I can tell you one thing that is happening this summer. Ros will go further in the Championship than Mayo.
McStay is too gung ho & will be found out when it counts.

Romell01 (Roscommon) - Posts: 21 - 29/05/2023 09:25:40    2482453

Replying To moros:  "Rossies ..did they rope a dope today. Well done to the primrose and blue today!"
It ain't pretty but it works. Dublin can have no complaints. They were very leggy apart from a patch in the second half. We were lucky to get out with a draw. I think the Rossies could go far with that system. Following a superb Dub v Galway hurling match, the football was poor fare. Farrell has his work cut out now to negotiate the Kildare car park in Kilkenny.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 29/05/2023 09:30:47    2482457

The "wide open spaces" of Croke Park didn't do us too bad yesterday as we fully deserved at least a draw out of that game. We had a bad habit of conceding big scores in the venue over the last decade i think yesterday proves if the minds are right and system is in place you can hold teams to low scores there even sides as good as Dublin. To be honest though while we only conceded 1-11 it really would have been just 0-9 or less had we not gave away the goal and handful of points on cheap turnovers and that cost us our long overdue championship win in Croke Park.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3753 - 29/05/2023 15:10:02    2482616

Replying To The_analyser:  "The "wide open spaces" of Croke Park didn't do us too bad yesterday as we fully deserved at least a draw out of that game. We had a bad habit of conceding big scores in the venue over the last decade i think yesterday proves if the minds are right and system is in place you can hold teams to low scores there even sides as good as Dublin. To be honest though while we only conceded 1-11 it really would have been just 0-9 or less had we not gave away the goal and handful of points on cheap turnovers and that cost us our long overdue championship win in Croke Park."
The wide open spaces line is so lazy by pundits. Am I right in saying the Hyde pitch is as big as Croker? Furthermore if you want to keep possession, the bigger the pitch the better.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 780 - 29/05/2023 15:18:25    2482624

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "Jesus - what an active life you have- I wish I was as cool as you and to be looking up pitch dimensions"
Yes. If you want I can give you lessons, and you could be as cool as me. In return, maybe you could give me lessons in sarcasm.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 29/05/2023 15:26:41    2482629

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "The wide open spaces line is so lazy by pundits. Am I right in saying the Hyde pitch is as big as Croker? Furthermore if you want to keep possession, the bigger the pitch the better."
Yes I brought that up before it's a lazy line used as Hyde Park is the same size pitch. And you are right the bigger the pitch the more suitable it is for possession game.

tirawleybaron on this thread is one that had the view we didn't have the defender to handle Dublin forwards. Cormac Costello caused us the most issues with 0-3 from play. Con O'Callaghan 0-2 in the 1st half and marked out of the game after that. Ciaran Kilkenny; Paul Mannion held scoreless.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3753 - 29/05/2023 17:38:16    2482684

Replying To Joxer:  "It ain't pretty but it works. Dublin can have no complaints. They were very leggy apart from a patch in the second half. We were lucky to get out with a draw. I think the Rossies could go far with that system. Following a superb Dub v Galway hurling match, the football was poor fare. Farrell has his work cut out now to negotiate the Kildare car park in Kilkenny."
There were two patchwork quilts there yesterday, yellow and blue on one side of the pitch, blue and navy on the other. I stayed until half-time but it was too fine a day for a quilt or a blanket of any sort!.
I used to enjoy watching the Dublin footballers some years ago but that has changed unfortunately.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 29/05/2023 18:18:11    2482709

Replying To Romell01:  "Well that didn't go as you hoped. Not taking the beating Ros dished out to you lot in Castlebar very well are you.
I can tell you one thing that is happening this summer. Ros will go further in the Championship than Mayo.
McStay is too gung ho & will be found out when it counts."
Your right, it didn't go as I hoped.
It's a pity Roscommon couldn't get it done. The chance to beat Dublin at home doesn't come round to often.

There is a big opportunity for Roscommon to push on and try to get big scores against Sligo and Kildare.
Finishing top of the group would give ye a big chance at a semi final.

Can't say the football is good to watch though.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 30/05/2023 05:54:04    2482770

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Your right, it didn't go as I hoped.
It's a pity Roscommon couldn't get it done. The chance to beat Dublin at home doesn't come round to often.

There is a big opportunity for Roscommon to push on and try to get big scores against Sligo and Kildare.
Finishing top of the group would give ye a big chance at a semi final.

Can't say the football is good to watch though."
Horses for courses, We have played 3 of the 4 best teams in the country in the years Championship, Won One,Lost one(that we were well in) and drew one. Bar Kerry we have played the main sides in the country, We were not going to win in a shootout as we have seen down the years. I expect us to play more open football against Sligo and Kildare

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 30/05/2023 12:26:16    2482848

Replying To baire:  "There were two patchwork quilts there yesterday, yellow and blue on one side of the pitch, blue and navy on the other. I stayed until half-time but it was too fine a day for a quilt or a blanket of any sort!.
I used to enjoy watching the Dublin footballers some years ago but that has changed unfortunately."
That's football these days for you. I used to enjoy watching it but gone are the days of releasing fast runners into the corner, lads running off the shoulder, rampaging wing backs and high fielding inside forwards. Give me the old days of Dublin v Mayo man to man games any day over this hand passing in your own half for 5m with your keeper playing in the half forwards. Lads training hard for 12 months of the year to play tag rugby.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 30/05/2023 13:18:23    2482873