Round 3 Neutral Venues All Ireland

Replying To skirge7:  "That's a lot nearer galway. Leitrim is just bad for both teams. If there was a better stadium in Mullingar or Navan it'd be there"
No it wouldn't Navan is not central the same as Cavan wasn't. It offers only advantages to Armagh. I was in Mullingar last weekend and the stadium is too small also, Roscommon is the best location, it is central and can take the expected crowd with traffic coming from opposite sides of the town with good parking and the town centre close to the pitch. Croke park will be empty with less than 20k. We (Galway) are also in Croke park this weekend with the hurlers, it is unfair to bring us there 3 times in a month having been there for the Galway v Dublin hurling semi-final two weeks ago.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 719 - 08/06/2023 16:20:32    2484968

Replying To Temple56:  "They won't get more than 25,000 in Croker. Poor form by both county boards. Should be in Roscommon if it's to be moved."
Ros v Dublin was part of a double header with Dub/Galway hurling.
30,000 attended.
If the football was stand alone would it have crossed 20k?
Galway v Armagh in a Group game when neither will lose out on place in the k.o. stages will hardly reach 10k?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1399 - 08/06/2023 16:22:50    2484970

Armagh and Galway managers probably want Croker game time as they expect to get to latter stages. Can't blame them, but from a supporters point of view its a negative. Croke park with 20k, if they even get that, is awful. The Hyde is nearer to Galway yes, but it can hold more than will attend.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1217 - 08/06/2023 16:33:33    2484977

Capacity Pairc Sean Mc Diarmada is 9331,

9000 from Armagh and 331 from Galway, its grand

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 08/06/2023 17:08:36    2484994

https://www.gaeliclife.com/counties/armagh/armagh-county-football/cccc-turn-down-croker-request/
Just confirmed the game is not going to Croke Park. It says tickets are first come first serve. Ticketmaster will need to go to season ticket holders first and then the public sale. If you take out Season ticket holders and the allocations to the two county boards, approx 3k of tickets will be available. It might be moved to The Hyde yet.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 08/06/2023 17:42:54    2485004

Replying To GDL:  "No it wouldn't Navan is not central the same as Cavan wasn't. It offers only advantages to Armagh. I was in Mullingar last weekend and the stadium is too small also, Roscommon is the best location, it is central and can take the expected crowd with traffic coming from opposite sides of the town with good parking and the town centre close to the pitch. Croke park will be empty with less than 20k. We (Galway) are also in Croke park this weekend with the hurlers, it is unfair to bring us there 3 times in a month having been there for the Galway v Dublin hurling semi-final two weeks ago."
I fully agree with you. I have been stating on this forum for a couple of years that the GAA and the Connacht Council should develop Hyde Park as the most central and viable option in Connacht for holding matches in neutral venues. The main pitches for Galway, Sligo and Mayo are all near the coast and never going to get matches played in neutral venues.
However we are a small county (Roscommon) with limited clubs and players, so we should not have to raise all the cash ourselves. Next weekend along, the Gaa are going to miss out on 5,000 x 25 euro = 125,000 euro just on the Galway - Armagh match alone, as well as disappointing thousands of supporters who wanted to go to the match.
It is up to Mayo, Galway and Sligo supporters to support the proposal and put the pressure on Croke Park and the Connacht Council. The alternative will see Carrick on Shannon with its very small capacity holding more games or Connacht supporters travelling longer distance to support their teams in Croke Park etc.
Am I missing something as it makes total sense to me. As well as substancial savings for supporters, it would also be better for the environment (less travelling)

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 492 - 08/06/2023 19:15:36    2485013

I cannot understand why Dublin/Sligo and Tyrone / Westmeath cannot be played as a double header in Kingspan Breffni Park rather than 2 separate gates on Sat & Sun.
It would draw a greater crowd than 2 separate games and give value for money too.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 08/06/2023 21:21:00    2485034

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "I fully agree with you. I have been stating on this forum for a couple of years that the GAA and the Connacht Council should develop Hyde Park as the most central and viable option in Connacht for holding matches in neutral venues. The main pitches for Galway, Sligo and Mayo are all near the coast and never going to get matches played in neutral venues.
However we are a small county (Roscommon) with limited clubs and players, so we should not have to raise all the cash ourselves. Next weekend along, the Gaa are going to miss out on 5,000 x 25 euro = 125,000 euro just on the Galway - Armagh match alone, as well as disappointing thousands of supporters who wanted to go to the match.
It is up to Mayo, Galway and Sligo supporters to support the proposal and put the pressure on Croke Park and the Connacht Council. The alternative will see Carrick on Shannon with its very small capacity holding more games or Connacht supporters travelling longer distance to support their teams in Croke Park etc.
Am I missing something as it makes total sense to me. As well as substancial savings for supporters, it would also be better for the environment (less travelling)"
Why is it up to Galway, Mayo and Sligo? Mayo, Galway and Roscommon all have alternating home/away arrangements. The provincial championships are dying already but every county wants to be able host big games and the revenue it brings to those towns.

Castlebar to my knowledge is the only Connacht ground to have hosted an all Ireland football quarter final in the past (pre redevelopment). Galway v Roscommon in 2001. It always hosted Galway v Donegal but I can't remember if that was a quarter final or qualifier.

Of course Hyde Park should be developed with a new stand and dressing rooms but don't make the same mistake as the Mayo CB and load your county with debt. Every club in Mayo is now saddled with the MacHale Park debt via a yearly levy.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 08/06/2023 22:04:54    2485046

Replying To yew_tree:  "Why is it up to Galway, Mayo and Sligo? Mayo, Galway and Roscommon all have alternating home/away arrangements. The provincial championships are dying already but every county wants to be able host big games and the revenue it brings to those towns.

Castlebar to my knowledge is the only Connacht ground to have hosted an all Ireland football quarter final in the past (pre redevelopment). Galway v Roscommon in 2001. It always hosted Galway v Donegal but I can't remember if that was a quarter final or qualifier.

Of course Hyde Park should be developed with a new stand and dressing rooms but don't make the same mistake as the Mayo CB and load your county with debt. Every club in Mayo is now saddled with the MacHale Park debt via a yearly levy."
Galway played Donegal in a quarter final replay in 2003 in Castlebar. The drawn game was in Croker.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1234 - 08/06/2023 23:07:37    2485049

Replying To yew_tree:  "Why is it up to Galway, Mayo and Sligo? Mayo, Galway and Roscommon all have alternating home/away arrangements. The provincial championships are dying already but every county wants to be able host big games and the revenue it brings to those towns.

Of course Hyde Park should be developed with a new stand and dressing rooms but don't make the same mistake as the Mayo CB and load your county with debt. Every club in Mayo is now saddled with the MacHale Park debt via a yearly levy."
Fair comments yew_tree. I am just a Roscommon supporter who lives in Dublin (not a Roscommon official) and I certainly do not want the Roscommon county board and clubs saddled with extra debt. I never suggested that the home and away arrangements between the counties for the Connacht Championship would change.
My central point is, with the new All Ireland arrangements, there is going to be much more big matches played in neutral venues. If the Connacht Council looks at a map of Ireland and hopes to get some of them, Hyde Park is the obviously choice as many of the other county grounds are near the coast and not really viable for many of the possible matches. That is one reason why Carrick on Shannon has been selected for the Galway - Mayo game and we can see the consequences of that decision.
Just give the lads & lassies in Roscommon a few bob to help them develop Hyde Park. It makes sense.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 492 - 09/06/2023 06:45:03    2485059

Replying To giveitlong:  "Armagh and Galway managers probably want Croker game time as they expect to get to latter stages. Can't blame them, but from a supporters point of view its a negative. Croke park with 20k, if they even get that, is awful. The Hyde is nearer to Galway yes, but it can hold more than will attend."
Agree. Thankfully Croke Park turned down the request and I'm glad for a number of reasons.

1. Why should Galway and Armagh get the advantage over other counties by getting game at CP ahead of later/bigger days at same venue? ( I know Dublin and to an extent other Leinster counties enjoy this advantage but that's a different story)

2. CP would be three quarters empty . Carrick will be much better

3. Its good to see the county grounds get used

4. Its good to see the economic benefit spread around

5. When the GAA make their fixtures, that should be that. This craic of objecting to fixtures or appealing the venue is something we need to move away from ( e.g. Newbridge or nowhere).

6. People may have already made plans based on the venue selection.

7. Businesses in Carrick may have already modified staff rotas to ensure the restaurants / pubs are adequately manned ( sorry adequately staffed, I dont think we can use "manned" any more).

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 839 - 09/06/2023 09:20:08    2485068

Don't know where all this carrick been a bad venue for Galway fans. It's an hour or less from willamstown glan Dunmore clonbern where majority of followers come from and would be much easier to access then the Tyrone game in salthill for them

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1159 - 09/06/2023 09:46:13    2485077

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Fair comments yew_tree. I am just a Roscommon supporter who lives in Dublin (not a Roscommon official) and I certainly do not want the Roscommon county board and clubs saddled with extra debt. I never suggested that the home and away arrangements between the counties for the Connacht Championship would change.
My central point is, with the new All Ireland arrangements, there is going to be much more big matches played in neutral venues. If the Connacht Council looks at a map of Ireland and hopes to get some of them, Hyde Park is the obviously choice as many of the other county grounds are near the coast and not really viable for many of the possible matches. That is one reason why Carrick on Shannon has been selected for the Galway - Mayo game and we can see the consequences of that decision.
Just give the lads & lassies in Roscommon a few bob to help them develop Hyde Park. It makes sense."
Should have read Galway - Armagh game.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 492 - 09/06/2023 09:47:42    2485078

Replying To jm25:  "Don't know where all this carrick been a bad venue for Galway fans. It's an hour or less from willamstown glan Dunmore clonbern where majority of followers come from and would be much easier to access then the Tyrone game in salthill for them"
Not sure ive seen any Galway fans complain about the venue? Armagh put in the request for the change. I assume Galway just didn't disagree with it but it was made clear on Galway Bay fm last night that it was Armagh's request

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 209 - 09/06/2023 10:30:04    2485086

Tickets available on ticketmaster For Armagh v Galway presently 2pm friday

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 669 - 09/06/2023 14:08:45    2485124

Replying To PressureKick:  "Not sure ive seen any Galway fans complain about the venue? Armagh put in the request for the change. I assume Galway just didn't disagree with it but it was made clear on Galway Bay fm last night that it was Armagh's request"
If the roads were any way decent it could be 25 mins

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 289 - 09/06/2023 14:22:14    2485130

Replying To anotheralias:  "Agree. Thankfully Croke Park turned down the request and I'm glad for a number of reasons.

1. Why should Galway and Armagh get the advantage over other counties by getting game at CP ahead of later/bigger days at same venue? ( I know Dublin and to an extent other Leinster counties enjoy this advantage but that's a different story)

2. CP would be three quarters empty . Carrick will be much better

3. Its good to see the county grounds get used

4. Its good to see the economic benefit spread around

5. When the GAA make their fixtures, that should be that. This craic of objecting to fixtures or appealing the venue is something we need to move away from ( e.g. Newbridge or nowhere).

6. People may have already made plans based on the venue selection.

7. Businesses in Carrick may have already modified staff rotas to ensure the restaurants / pubs are adequately manned ( sorry adequately staffed, I dont think we can use "manned" any more)."
Excellent point goodfellas. People sometimes forget how important matches and other events are to the local towns and surrounding areas.

I know people slag Dubs over not travelling but people from all over enjoy going to a place where for just one day, the only thing that matters is the match or races or whatever. Might only be 10/15,000 but that's keeping a few people in business and jobs. And better crack mostly.

Day I'm looking forward to most is Thurles if our fellas beat Carlow, and even if they get a hiding off Limerick or Clare we'll see the All Ireland champions and finalists along with 40,000 others.

You couldn't beat it with a stick.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2521 - 09/06/2023 18:45:58    2485166

Still tickets on Ticketmaster for Armagh and Galway game!!

So much for moving the game to Croke Park

Temple56 (Westmeath) - Posts: 383 - 16/06/2023 22:32:39    2487008

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Excellent point goodfellas. People sometimes forget how important matches and other events are to the local towns and surrounding areas.

I know people slag Dubs over not travelling but people from all over enjoy going to a place where for just one day, the only thing that matters is the match or races or whatever. Might only be 10/15,000 but that's keeping a few people in business and jobs. And better crack mostly.

Day I'm looking forward to most is Thurles if our fellas beat Carlow, and even if they get a hiding off Limerick or Clare we'll see the All Ireland champions and finalists along with 40,000 others.

You couldn't beat it with a stick."
Giving certain counties an advantage over others by hosting games at a prestigious venue like Croke Park ahead of later or bigger events could create an imbalance. It's essential to promote equality and fairness among all counties.

Furthermore, hosting the game in a county ground like Carrick would ensure a better atmosphere as it would likely be filled with passionate fans. This not only enhances the overall experience but also benefits the local economy, spreading the economic impact across different regions.

I agree that once the GAA makes their fixtures, it should be respected and adhered to. Objecting to fixtures or appealing the venue can create unnecessary complications and disrupt the planning process. It's important to have a consistent approach and move away from such practices.

fuoos (Kerry) - Posts: 5 - 27/06/2023 19:49:15    2490240