Tailteann Cup 2023

Replying To skirge7:  "Pretty bad draw for Offaly considering. At home to London who they'd be expected to beat anyway and wouldn't draw a crowd. Other games are tough like away in Laois in a local derby. 3rd not guaranteed to go through"
Only 1 3rd not going through I think

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12053 - 06/05/2023 14:47:25    2476094

By Charging €15 into Tailteann Cup games GAA certainly not helping it gain support or atmosphere.

Few hundred at games won't exactly build the competition or inspire players

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1098 - 08/05/2023 23:28:33    2476910

Replying To skirge7:  "Pretty bad draw for Offaly considering. At home to London who they'd be expected to beat anyway and wouldn't draw a crowd. Other games are tough like away in Laois in a local derby. 3rd not guaranteed to go through"
Good draw for Offaly, with Louth being the real challenge imo.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 09/05/2023 10:36:11    2476947

Sorry that should have read Cavan.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2908 - 09/05/2023 10:39:58    2476954

My interest in this competition was dwindling ., I wanted the gaa to give me a reason to reinvest my interest .. then I see 15 euro for adults and they charging kids 5 euro … I mean come on … the travelling alone will be big cost .. only one home game which is fair enough .. but like any good sales man with a new product .. you drop the price right down .. get buy in and slowly increase it .. these are afterall for half the teams anyway 3 games to get you to a play off to get you to a quarter final !!!! I'd
Say these early games will have smaller attendance than league games and I haven't misse d league or champo in long time .. they are also timetabling a load of games during state exam times but sure anyway .. gaa can have their shake down .. of the handful that turn up anyway !

KeshGFC (Fermanagh) - Posts: 334 - 09/05/2023 11:07:58    2476966

€10 and u16s free for the TC group games would be the way to go.
And try to market the feckin thing, have kids meet the teams after or the like.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1440 - 09/05/2023 11:15:32    2476969

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "€10 and u16s free for the TC group games would be the way to go.
And try to market the feckin thing, have kids meet the teams after or the like."
As I said previously, this competition along with All Ireland series is all about generating money. Supporters are not considered.
Like selling big matches to GAAGO, it is not about the general public. The attitude is 'if you want to watch a major match or go and see your team playing then you pay.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3101 - 10/05/2023 13:10:47    2477300

Replying To Jack L:  "As I said previously, this competition along with All Ireland series is all about generating money. Supporters are not considered.
Like selling big matches to GAAGO, it is not about the general public. The attitude is 'if you want to watch a major match or go and see your team playing then you pay."
The TC is hardly a money making competition.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1440 - 10/05/2023 13:49:21    2477325

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "The TC is hardly a money making competition."
It's 35 extra matches. While it wont have the interest of the main competition, it will not run at a loss to the association.

If it was a box ticking exercise, why not have top team in each group and best 3 runner-ups qualify for QF with New York. It would be 4 matches less and give a week extra back to the clubs.

No. Extra weekend with four matches will generate some revenue for the association.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3101 - 10/05/2023 14:39:40    2477347

Replying To KeshGFC:  "My interest in this competition was dwindling ., I wanted the gaa to give me a reason to reinvest my interest .. then I see 15 euro for adults and they charging kids 5 euro … I mean come on … the travelling alone will be big cost .. only one home game which is fair enough .. but like any good sales man with a new product .. you drop the price right down .. get buy in and slowly increase it .. these are afterall for half the teams anyway 3 games to get you to a play off to get you to a quarter final !!!! I'd
Say these early games will have smaller attendance than league games and I haven't misse d league or champo in long time .. they are also timetabling a load of games during state exam times but sure anyway .. gaa can have their shake down .. of the handful that turn up anyway !"
The kids should be free or at least those under a certain age. 15 euro for a ticket isn't bad like. Its hardly astronimical. However if you are taking your four kids say aged under 12 then it starts to bite. No need to charge for the kids

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 159 - 10/05/2023 15:11:27    2477355

Replying To KeshGFC:  "My interest in this competition was dwindling ., I wanted the gaa to give me a reason to reinvest my interest .. then I see 15 euro for adults and they charging kids 5 euro … I mean come on … the travelling alone will be big cost .. only one home game which is fair enough .. but like any good sales man with a new product .. you drop the price right down .. get buy in and slowly increase it .. these are afterall for half the teams anyway 3 games to get you to a play off to get you to a quarter final !!!! I'd
Say these early games will have smaller attendance than league games and I haven't misse d league or champo in long time .. they are also timetabling a load of games during state exam times but sure anyway .. gaa can have their shake down .. of the handful that turn up anyway !"
were u born in cavan? if i go from wexford to fermanagh on sunday the last thing ill be worried about is how much it is to get in , typicial whingers

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2845 - 10/05/2023 15:44:08    2477367

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "were u born in cavan? if i go from wexford to fermanagh on sunday the last thing ill be worried about is how much it is to get in , typicial whingers"
Agreed. I brought the 4 kids to Salthill. The 40 euro for the tickets was not a huge proportion of the 200 odds the day cost.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12053 - 10/05/2023 16:11:38    2477381

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "were u born in cavan? if i go from wexford to fermanagh on sunday the last thing ill be worried about is how much it is to get in , typicial whingers"
There are additional costs to be factored, the flask of tae and the hang sandwiches for the family

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3101 - 10/05/2023 16:36:47    2477386

Replying To Jack L:  "As I said previously, this competition along with All Ireland series is all about generating money. Supporters are not considered.
Like selling big matches to GAAGO, it is not about the general public. The attitude is 'if you want to watch a major match or go and see your team playing then you pay."
Ask any player in the Tailteann Cup and they'll tell you for all the training they have done what they wanted most was games.

Under the old system many of these Tailteann Cup teams got just 2 championship matches 1 provincial and 1 qualifier and shipped some heavy beatings in those.

All teams had their chances of reaching the provincial finals and now have three more guaranteed matches that these counties deserve for their long winter months of training.

As for supporters they should get out and watch their team in action if they can as with the split season it's a long gap before they see them in action again.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3353 - 10/05/2023 17:40:48    2477406

"I think two tiers is enough, it is up to the likes of ourselves and a few teams in the bottom half of Division 4 to raise our standards, to get up to that level," Carlow veteran Darragh Foley said.
"If you dilute it any more it will be very hard to keep lads motivated and bring youngsters through that want to play inter-county football. So I think two tiers is enough, as I say I just want to raise standards, to get up to the levels of your Meaths or the bottom of Division Two teams."
Darragh is making a fair point. It is easy for some to suggest a third tier is needed. The players have to be on board and the majority of players seem to support the current two tier format.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 10/05/2023 17:59:14    2477410

Stmunnsriver and viking666, look forward to seeing you both in brewster park Sunday.

Obviously your travel cost will make match ticket look minimal, but no need for GAA to charge 15 euro, especially as dedicated fans have high enough travel cost already. Definitely will deter the 50/50 brigade

I'd anticipate some very small attendances at some of the TC games, the exact opposite of what the competition needs if it is to flourish, it needs exposure and atmosphere to make it feel like championship, not 200 people sounds of pins dropping.

Again short sightedness on GAA marketing behalf not to do package deal and make games accessible to all.

Same thinking exposed with GAA GO..€€€

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1098 - 10/05/2023 18:28:52    2477413

Should be a knockout competition. Meaningless , pointless group games that won't attract 1000 supporters. Crazy craic really.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 11/05/2023 09:52:24    2477492

Replying To Breffni1969:  "Should be a knockout competition. Meaningless , pointless group games that won't attract 1000 supporters. Crazy craic really."
Other than that they will be competitive games I would be inclined to agree with you. In our case, the new manager needs games like these to try out young players with survival in Div 3 next year in mind.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1004 - 11/05/2023 18:24:11    2477719

If you can afford it good luck to ya .. I can't .. and I'd be interested to see how many turn up … thanks for calling me a whinger in this financial crisis .. those whingers in the food banks should just work longer hours too says you ? Enjoy Brewster park .. and your side choice of seats

KeshGFC (Fermanagh) - Posts: 334 - 11/05/2023 21:16:09    2477743

Replying To legendzxix:  ""I think two tiers is enough, it is up to the likes of ourselves and a few teams in the bottom half of Division 4 to raise our standards, to get up to that level," Carlow veteran Darragh Foley said.
"If you dilute it any more it will be very hard to keep lads motivated and bring youngsters through that want to play inter-county football. So I think two tiers is enough, as I say I just want to raise standards, to get up to the levels of your Meaths or the bottom of Division Two teams."
Darragh is making a fair point. It is easy for some to suggest a third tier is needed. The players have to be on board and the majority of players seem to support the current two tier format."
Agree 100% with that. Two Tiers more than enough. Any more tiers would totally dilute the championships.

I think we are on the right path with the current structure a few tweaks and we are nearly there.

Provincials becoming the pre-season competitions instead of the O'Byrne / McKenna Cups could be one tweak or played alongside the leagues.

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 291 - 12/05/2023 09:41:30    2477771