Tailteann Cup 2023

Replying To OpenStand:  "Meath . Cavan , Antrim & Limerick are the 4 favourites this weekend . If they were to progress Meath & Cavan can't meet so Meath v Cavan is a likely final pairing."
Meath didn't play Cavan anyway.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 16/06/2023 14:17:29    2486904

Replying To OpenStand:  "Meath . Cavan , Antrim & Limerick are the 4 favourites this weekend . If they were to progress Meath & Cavan can't meet so Meath v Cavan is a likely final pairing."
Only teams who have played each other already cannot be paired unless 3 from one group made the semi-finals. Cavan and Meath were in different groups.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 16/06/2023 14:28:59    2486916

Replying To legendzxix:  "Only teams who have played each other already cannot be paired unless 3 from one group made the semi-finals. Cavan and Meath were in different groups."
Meath v Cavan is probably the only final pairing that would draw a crowd .

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 16/06/2023 14:48:01    2486921

Replying To Breffni1969:  "Meath v Cavan is probably the only final pairing that would draw a crowd ."
What makes you think that, when Down were getting 5 and6 thousand at all home NFL games this year

germac (Down) - Posts: 535 - 16/06/2023 19:04:51    2486982

Replying To Breffni1969:  "Meath v Cavan is probably the only final pairing that would draw a crowd ."
I'm kind of disappointed Cavan are gone.
Cavan Meath final would have been good (I'm from south Meath but there seems to be a good rivalry on the border up there).

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1358 - 19/06/2023 09:48:16    2487083

Replying To bdbuddah:  "I'm kind of disappointed Cavan are gone.
Cavan Meath final would have been good (I'm from south Meath but there seems to be a good rivalry on the border up there)."
I'd have to give Colm o Rourke a lot of credit for the improvement he's brought to Meath in such a short space of time. Fair play to him.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 19/06/2023 10:12:24    2487100

Down v Laois
Meath v Antrim
Down and Meath are favourites to make the final.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 19/06/2023 10:14:22    2487102

Replying To legendzxix:  "Down v Laois
Meath v Antrim
Down and Meath are favourites to make the final."
Both Down & Meath look strong favourites but you never know. 4 teams in a positive place from recent wins.

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 677 - 19/06/2023 10:19:46    2487112

Replying To OpenStand:  "Both Down & Meath look strong favourites but you never know. 4 teams in a positive place from recent wins."
Definitely. Antrim and Laois have the momentum to cause upsets.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7873 - 19/06/2023 10:32:06    2487122

Replying To legendzxix:  "Definitely. Antrim and Laois have the momentum to cause upsets."
Antrim is definetly a an area of huge potential for the GAA, be good to see them move up the ranks in both hurling & Football. Belfast is a majority nationalist city now and should be feeding more into the Antrim set up however soccer is very strong in nationalist areas of Belfast .

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 677 - 19/06/2023 10:55:29    2487153

Updated Power Rankings.

1. Meath
2. Down
3. Antrim
4. Cavan
5. Limerick
6. Laois
7. Fermanagh
8. Wexford
9. Offaly
10. Carlow
11. Longford
12. Wicklow
13. London
14. Tipperary
15. New York
16. Leitrim
17. Waterford

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 291 - 19/06/2023 11:02:12    2487167

Replying To bdbuddah:  "I'm kind of disappointed Cavan are gone.
Cavan Meath final would have been good (I'm from south Meath but there seems to be a good rivalry on the border up there)."
Could be a Down - Antrim final yet, then youd have reason to be dissapointed!

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 677 - 19/06/2023 11:47:55    2487218

After yesterday, if I were a betting man, on basis of what I saw yesterday, I'd put a small fortune on Meath to beat Antrim. I'd like to be wrong for no reason other than Antrim are underdogs but I think Antrim will struggle in Croke Park.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 19/06/2023 13:38:19    2487324

Replying To Onion Breath:  "After yesterday, if I were a betting man, on basis of what I saw yesterday, I'd put a small fortune on Meath to beat Antrim. I'd like to be wrong for no reason other than Antrim are underdogs but I think Antrim will struggle in Croke Park."
You're probably right but just getting to play a Championship game at HQ is a massive boost for us. Croker is a big, big pitch and could drag the legs out of our guys. Meath will be massive favourites but we can't let the occasion get to us, we must just focus on the game at hand.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 19/06/2023 13:54:52    2487337

Replying To drumalee11:  "Updated Power Rankings.

1. Meath
2. Down
3. Antrim
4. Cavan
5. Limerick
6. Laois
7. Fermanagh
8. Wexford
9. Offaly
10. Carlow
11. Longford
12. Wicklow
13. London
14. Tipperary
15. New York
16. Leitrim
17. Waterford"
Cavan 4th are out Laois 6th are still in . Limerick 5th beaten by Laois 6th. Power Rankings?? You having a laugh??

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 19/06/2023 13:55:00    2487338

Up Leix!

Great performance out of the lads, hard to know where they have summoned this bit of a run from. The last gasp draw against London looked to be the darkest spot in an already bleak year but it has turned out to be a real turning point.

Limerick will be kicking themselves having missed 3/4 great goal chances and no idea why they completely stopped attacking with 20 mins to go. But all credit to our lads they really stuck at it. To kick the final 1-5 without reply away from home, against a team 2 divisions above us and in the middle of a thunderstorm, shows great character and commitment to eachother and to the jersey.

We really are the walking wounded now with Timmons, Collins, Lowry, Finn, Kirwan and Kingston all carrying knocks, but we all wanted more games, and injuries were bound to happen playing so many games in such a short period of time. Here we are now playing our 8th championship game of the year, which has surely never happened before, it's great!

Fermanagh were favourites against us, as were Limerick, and Down too will be worthy favourites.

But patch up the lads as best ye can and let's go again and see where hard work, some belief and a bit of luck might take us!

Laoisvillian (Laois) - Posts: 79 - 19/06/2023 15:32:59    2487415

I see that the TC semi finals are clashing directly with the Galway/Mayo clash. The TC matches will be on RTE2 while the big clash in Salthill will be on RTE1.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3101 - 19/06/2023 16:18:41    2487461

Replying To Jack L:  "I see that the TC semi finals are clashing directly with the Galway/Mayo clash. The TC matches will be on RTE2 while the big clash in Salthill will be on RTE1."
Yeah, that's a bit of a joke. I'll be at the Antrim game but there's no point in talking about promoting second tiers and then putting the games in competition with the biggest game of the weekend.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 19/06/2023 16:33:14    2487478

So much for the aspiration to give the TC a chance to build a profile by prioritising the semis as promised. I understand the fixtures next weekend are congested but if they had the hurling on Sunday instead of Galway Mayo it might have been better as a fair chunk of GAA people in the country will have little interest in the hurling so would watch the football. Now Galway Mayo will dominate interest on Sunday. How many neutrals will travel to Croker now??

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 19/06/2023 16:45:52    2487489

Replying To Breffni1969:  "I'd have to give Colm o Rourke a lot of credit for the improvement he's brought to Meath in such a short space of time. Fair play to him."
???? The jury still out on that. We beat 3 division 4 teams playing in tc. Only time will tell.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/06/2023 17:47:21    2487552