All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023

Replying To daveboy:  "Tommy Walsh explained I well I thought on off the ball after the match. There was a foul on duggan and the ref correctly played an advantage. The advantage rule is if the shot goes over the bar a point is given but if it drops short it's deemed a 50/50 ball and if the opposition retain possession the free is then given straight away. The loss of possession by lawlor was after the ref was giving duggan the original free. If the shot dropping short was initially collected by a clare man then the ref has a judgement call to make if a tap over free is better than the possession gained. Once lawlor put his hand on the ball then the advantage is over."
Agreed and well put

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4957 - 10/07/2023 19:01:34    2493667

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "John Keenan will get the final.
Frees will be earned, not given for dives."
Well with both Limerick and Kilkenny playing there will be no diving

Limerick2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 80 - 10/07/2023 19:07:16    2493668

Ref blew up way before the ball hit the net.

KK had more composure down the closing stretch.

Ref did ok.

Stop moaning.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2954 - 10/07/2023 19:39:07    2493672

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Well they clearly do against Limerick, who have been the best team in the country for the past number of years."
They do raise their game for Limerick certainly but you're answering a question nobody asked

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3849 - 10/07/2023 20:07:39    2493678

Replying To Newyorkkat:  "I did not say fending. I said pushing. Big difference"
Answer my question. If you were the ref would you have given a free out?

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 10/07/2023 20:24:27    2493681

Tthe suggestion that Shane O'Donnell's goal should not have counted because he pushed a defender out of his way is ridiculous. How many times during the game did the player in possession push/charge an opponent without any penalty against him? In fact, on several occasions the player charging actually got a free. I know it's a different game but in camogie a player in possession gets a yellow card if she runs at an opponent. To me this seems a bit harsh but in hurling it's the other extreme. Players are running at opponents, often taking 7 or 8 steps, and getting a free if they go down. Some players have brought this to a fine art and it usually results in a point for his team, given how good free-taking is now. It's not easy for the referee to adjudicate on, but if the four steps rule was strictly enforced it would greatly help his decision-making.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 620 - 10/07/2023 21:01:01    2493685

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "
Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "If you read the rule you will see the error by the ref:

"When the referee has adjudicated that a foul has been committed (either Technical or Aggressive) he may allow play to continue if he considers it to be to the advantage of the offended team.

He may allow this advantage to run for up to five seconds after the foul or for less time if is clear that no advantage has accrued."

He blew within the 5 second which by the law means he was "clear" that no advantage had accrued. He was wrong! Simple."
Give it a rest. Are you seriously suggesting that refferees wait for 5 seconds after every foul to see if an advantage has, or has not been gained? 5 seconds!
Whatever. He blew his whistle, and the Kilkenny players reacted to it. Just because a Clare player carried on playing is irrelevant."
The rule is the same as rugby if advantage is played you have 5 seconds to use it or if an opposing player plays the ball play will be pulled back there fore Lyons was correct. I would not have agreed with some of his decisions but I feel that one was correct

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 370 - 10/07/2023 21:19:10    2493687

Well it's the hope that kills you. The life of a Clare man. I'm proud of the team. We turned up and gave it our all. Came up short and left it all out there. Thought we had them twice in the 2nd half but those KK boys just don't do panic do they? Good luck to em against one of the best teams I've seen play the game.

One thing I'll say is, this constant moaning about refs is weak stuff. Refs don't loose matches, player's and manager's decisions do. Can't stand managers crying about refs decisions. Is this gonna be the narrative everytime we lose? We lost and that's it.

Buachaillbui (Clare) - Posts: 127 - 10/07/2023 21:21:52    2493688

Replying To skillet:  "Thanks.
a possible 4 in a row!!! It's a remarkable position to find ourselves in.
When this team goes into decline, these days we're in now will be remembered & valued immensely.. They're a generational bunch of lads who have brought incredible joy to Limerick hurling supporters.

Win lose or draw I think they'll be remembered as one of the really great teams."
I'm watching hurling for over 45 years and they are the best team I have ever seen. I hope they go all the way now and cement their reputation .

over35hurler (Cork) - Posts: 36 - 10/07/2023 23:29:36    2493702

Replying To skillet:  "Thanks.
a possible 4 in a row!!! It's a remarkable position to find ourselves in.
When this team goes into decline, these days we're in now will be remembered & valued immensely.. They're a generational bunch of lads who have brought incredible joy to Limerick hurling supporters.

Win lose or draw I think they'll be remembered as one of the really great teams."
There's no doubt.

We all know the teams of the big 3.

This Limerick team have reinvented the script really.

Not too long ago there was a real fear that Limerick wouldn't recover. I remember a long drought without a championship victory, and being shafted with restructure of the league.

Even 3 in a row is a pretty elite club. It's an inspiration to the hurling world.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3849 - 11/07/2023 08:28:54    2493706

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "
Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "If you read the rule you will see the error by the ref:

"When the referee has adjudicated that a foul has been committed (either Technical or Aggressive) he may allow play to continue if he considers it to be to the advantage of the offended team.

He may allow this advantage to run for up to five seconds after the foul or for less time if is clear that no advantage has accrued."

He blew within the 5 second which by the law means he was "clear" that no advantage had accrued. He was wrong! Simple."
Give it a rest. Are you seriously suggesting that refferees wait for 5 seconds after every foul to see if an advantage has, or has not been gained? 5 seconds!
Whatever. He blew his whistle, and the Kilkenny players reacted to it. Just because a Clare player carried on playing is irrelevant."
The fact they are laying the blame on the referee yet again speaks volumes. It was their own failings that cost them the game. Their set up in the first, the terrible goal they gave away and some poor decision making with possession at times. The sideline has got some big calls wrong in all 3 games they lost this year. But their management's attack of the ref on Sunday is again out of line. And the behavior of some players toward him during the game also. Just stand up and own it that is was their own fault.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 863 - 11/07/2023 09:24:14    2493718

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "John Keenan will get the final.
Frees will be earned, not given for dives."
Frees should be given for fouls and infractions.

They shouldn't have to earned.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 11/07/2023 09:43:22    2493722

Replying To Viking66:  "

He was wrong to blow the whistle but I suppose he thought Lawlor had possession. When Lawlor dropped the ball the play was already dead though, so the ref couldn't give the goal."
These decisions swings in roundabouts in fairness kk got a perfect legit goal ruled out against us in the park and no whinging. Just human errors.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 410 - 11/07/2023 10:37:01    2493735

Replying To slayer:  "Stayed in Dublin for the Clare Kilkenny match & was sat among Clare fans. It certainly seemed as though 5/6 refereeing decisions went against Clare. But the explanation of the advantage rule here on this board is a help to understanding them.

I thought Kilkenny were the better team on the day. Their forwards won their own ball high above their head, brought it to ground and turned for goal. Flashes of that old Kilkenny brilliance.

When Shane O'Donnell scored his goal the place went nuts. No matter who the county, it is great to see that - how a whole county is lifted by a rocket of a shot hitting the net. Kilkenny kept the heads & I admired how they worked the ball into scoring positions, they were ice cool.

One final thought and this is not having a go at the man. Tony Kelly scored three goals against Dublin. He is an outstandingly gifted hurler. Against Limerick in the Munster Final he scored Clare's last point. He could have gone through and gambled on getting a goal, winning a penalty. He took the point. Yesterday he was found back on his own '40 a good few times. I think the player himself is lacking belief against the other top sides. Hard to know why as his skills and ability have walked the walk before - eg the last minute sideline in the Munster Final 2022.

I don't think Clare have done anything much wrong in the last two seasons. The argument is made about Brian Lohan's decisions, but Clare now compared to when he took over? He's done a hell of a job."
Its unusual to get a Limerick poster to give a balanced post when Clare are involved but you do so thanks for that, some Wexford posters also with there tiresome irrelevant comments, you cant make a reasonable comment you are labelled a whinger very east to say something like this.

Personally I will not be bothered logging on again to read bitter lies about my County

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 998 - 11/07/2023 11:29:40    2493744

Replying To clooney:  "Its unusual to get a Limerick poster to give a balanced post when Clare are involved but you do so thanks for that, some Wexford posters also with there tiresome irrelevant comments, you cant make a reasonable comment you are labelled a whinger very east to say something like this.

Personally I will not be bothered logging on again to read bitter lies about my County"
But ye are whinging, consistently whinging when things do not go yer way. Galway came out and took it on the chin after their defeat. There was no qualms. Brian Lohan started attacking Sunday Game panelists in the post match interview. What relevance does that have to Sunday? Looking for something to give out about. He brought up the suspensions from last years Munster final, if I remember right, Rory Hayes literally pulled down on a mans back? Again what relevance? How the players carry themselves towards the ref's and their gamesmanship also. They are very reasonable and relevant comments.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 863 - 11/07/2023 12:39:50    2493774

Replying To Tiger1:  "
Replying To Viking66:  "[quote=LohansRedHelmet:  "If you read the rule you will see the error by the ref:

He was wrong to blow the whistle but I suppose he thought Lawlor had possession. When Lawlor dropped the ball the play was already dead though, so the ref couldn't give the goal."
These decisions swings in roundabouts in fairness kk got a perfect legit goal ruled out against us in the park and no whinging. Just human errors."]Now that I think of it, if we are bringing up injustices Limerick had a perfectly good goal disallowed in the 1996 AIHF against Wexford, they won by two points. We all have long memories when it suits us.

aloneitstands (Limerick) - Posts: 79 - 11/07/2023 12:42:14    2493775

Replying To Viking66:  "You didn't say primary competition in your OP?"
What I meant was clear. Hardly includes practice matches, or glorified practice matches.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 871 - 11/07/2023 13:03:18    2493783

Replying To daytona11:  "Frees should be given for fouls and infractions.

They shouldn't have to earned."
You should tell that to James Owens too. Gave a grand total of 20 frees last Saturday. There's hardly a game played today when there isnt at least double that number of fouls committed and certainly Last Saturday's game was not an exception.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 2059 - 11/07/2023 13:27:20    2493788

My power ranking and performance review so far. All Ireland will only effect 1 and 2.
1. Limerick, clearly no.1, I think all the plaudits are pretty self explanatory. Greatness already achieved and continuing to push on.
2. Kilkenny, I don't think there's any dispute about who's no.2 in the country. I think Clare and Galway aren't that much worse than them but I just don't think Kilkenny loose to either of them in games that actually matter. Similar way with Limerick, just don't loose to Galway or Clare when it comes to the crunch. Unlike those 2, not afraid to win and have a lot more self belief and steeliness. Can't not admire them. Limerick might be beyond them.
3/4. Im putting Clare and Galway here together cus I think they've similar 2 years. Clare ran Kilkenny close enough this year, hammered by Kilkenny last year. Galway ran Limerick close enough last year, hammered this year. Two mentally weak counties with Croke Park hang ups since they last won all Ireland's. Both have topped round Robin's last two years, lost provincal finals in dissapointing ways. Both probably at cross roads now, what their doing isn't going to be enough. I know they can look to close calls or near misses but fact is no cups, no finals and 2 back to back semi final losses. Hard to know how they'll go next year, some of their best players are their best players from nearly a decade ago. Think Lohan and Shefflin do one more year but both in last chance saloon (if not already maybe gone past that) but both need shake up tactics or backroom teams, both very slow to make decisions in game and have both experienced getting walloped and missing big chances in croke Park and don't seem to learn from either. Don't fancy either to be winning an all Ireland next year as of now, could all change, who knows really.
5. Tipp. Year started great but they got progressively worse as the year went on. Don't but the overtraininy in November at all, if anything they didn't look fit. Think that's a easy fix compared to some things. Thought Davy was raving when he said Waterford weren't fit when he got them but maybe some truth in it. Some positive signs and progress none the less. Played some great stuff but didn't ever put in a full 70 min performance. Clare game first half (yes, the goalie mistakes) showed what they can do. New lads mighnt be as good as what they've had but I think they'll be better next year.
6. Cork, hard to know. After munster it seemed like an OK year but looking back they didn't really do much. Beat Waterford and lost tight games. Do have talent coming but we're a while waiting for this to come. They've been in 5 of the last 6 u21/20 finals and the first of that crew are in Their mid to late 20s now and haven't really pushed on at all at senior. Harneddy and Horgan still their top performers this year. Ciaran Joyce is a super centre back already and will only get better. Need to be doing better really.
7. Dublin. Not a bad first year under Donoghue. Think they had some wasted years under Mattie Kenny who had a much better and stronger team. Dublin if they get back some of their best players and keep Donal Burke fit could trouble some big teams next year, Donoghue very good manager. Had a tough day v Clare and probably showed up the losses from the panel hugely and Donal Burke going off injured early on. But progress none the less.
8. Waterford. Good performances v Limerick (second half) and Tipp sandwich in some absolutely horrendous performances. Time is ticking on their good crop and look to be sliding away from them, pity that a clearly talented bunch haven't found consistency and can't seem to get a handle on the round Robin at all. Not even going to attempt to predict Waterford for next year, they could end up in an all Ireland or end up floundering again. They're like a more extreme and somehow even more inconsistent Galway, like 2000s Galway teams maybe. Can't trust them.
9. Wexford. Probably worst year since pre Liam Dunne. But then they beat Kilkenny again but somehow lost to Westmeath, makes no sense. Maybe like Clare when they play Limerick, Wexford play above themselves when playing Kilkenny and then struggle v other top teams. A lot their 2019 lads are getting older now and Lee Chin (what a hurler) needs to stay fit and injury free for them to have any chance of making an impact. I don't think they're as bad as they showed this year but until they prove otherwise next year they are where they are.
10. Antrim, solid year. Should've beaten Dublin and ran Wexford close. Won the big one v Westmeath to ensure safety. Have potential to do more, probably the best of the McDonagh teams to come. Have had some good days in recent years but waiting for that big win v a big county to push on, in last couple of years ran Cork pretty close, beaten Clare in League, drew with Dublin, drew with Wexford in league, gave Kilkenny a fee decent games etc but just a small bit off it, have some good hurlers but just don't have the depth or same pool of high quality talent to take that next step.
11. Westmeath, probably one of the unluckiest teams to be relegated but ultimately didn't win the game they targeted all year in the Antrim game. Where one more Kilkenny goal away from being saved. They were down a fee of their better players this year and had probably their greatest win ever this year. You would expect them to bounce back pretty quick to Liam McCarthy. Joe Fortune has done a very good job and relegation shouldn't take away from that either.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 11/07/2023 15:22:14    2493808

Replying To countyman2022:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "[quote=LohansRedHelmet:  "If you read the rule you will see the error by the ref:

The fact they are laying the blame on the referee yet again speaks volumes. It was their own failings that cost them the game. Their set up in the first, the terrible goal they gave away and some poor decision making with possession at times. The sideline has got some big calls wrong in all 3 games they lost this year. But their management's attack of the ref on Sunday is again out of line. And the behavior of some players toward him during the game also. Just stand up and own it that is was their own fault."]Agree 100% countryman at one stage I thought Tonk Kelly wanted to ref it .Plenty of reasons why Clare didn't win one being trying to be too clever in front of their own goal and giving away the ball for the goal instead.Have to say we'll done to the Clare goalie on some excellent saves kept them in it when not going well.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 410 - 11/07/2023 15:45:39    2493814