Replying To LohansRedHelmet: "If you read the rule you will see the error by the ref:
"When the referee has adjudicated that a foul has been committed (either Technical or Aggressive) he may allow play to continue if he considers it to be to the advantage of the offended team. He may allow this advantage to run for up to five seconds after the foul or for less time if is clear that no advantage has accrued."
He blew within the 5 second which by the law means he was "clear" that no advantage had accrued. He was wrong! Simple." He was poor on the day no doubt but we did shoot ourselves in foot Did Brian think KK were vastly superior to us that he has to play a sweeper a system that is I believe now dead in water. Last year we came off Munster final looking drained never performed and we always do against KK it was a once off 4 out of KK 6 forwards were replaced yesterday so how did he get it so wrong?
Some of mistakes decision making especially were awful when we pushed up so much better still our efficiency was off missed a 50 m free dropped a couple short we are also missing a bit of luck Midfielder got Hurley in and then the Peter Duggan save that was unreal and the Quilligan going short when Duggan was gobbling up puckout.
A huge opportunity missed as well as the Munster Final no silver wear again
clooney (Clare) - Posts: 998 - 10/07/2023 15:27:37
What about the clare man getting a punch into the liathroidi?
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2463 - 10/07/2023 15:45:36
Replying To LohansRedHelmet: "Do you think that should have been a free out to KK?
I am surprised he didnt give it to ye to be honest given what else he gave ye.
But seriously, if you think that SOD fending off a defender like that is a free out the game is dead." I did not say fending. I said pushing. Big difference
Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 182 - 10/07/2023 15:48:58
Replying To LohansRedHelmet: "If you read the rule you will see the error by the ref:
"When the referee has adjudicated that a foul has been committed (either Technical or Aggressive) he may allow play to continue if he considers it to be to the advantage of the offended team. He may allow this advantage to run for up to five seconds after the foul or for less time if is clear that no advantage has accrued."
He blew within the 5 second which by the law means he was "clear" that no advantage had accrued. He was wrong! Simple." Was it a black card and pen for hogan's slap on cody? These things always get debated and it's a hard one to call. I think the ref genuinely thought lawlor had possession and blew. You could see the ref knew immediately he could have left it on but to me that was genuine.
I also thought diarmuid Ryan was lucky to only get a yellow on richie hogan.
That was gut wrenching for clare I know but to me lohan playing a sweeper , some very poor decision making on the ball, a ridiculously soft goal to give away at exactly the wrong time and at times losing control both on and off the field were more contributing factors to losing that match than a decision which possibly cost clare 2 points.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 10/07/2023 15:51:31
He blew within the 5 second which by the law means he was "clear" that no advantage had accrued. He was wrong! Simple." He was wrong to blow the whistle but I suppose he thought Lawlor had possession. When Lawlor dropped the ball the play was already dead though, so the ref couldn't give the goal.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16670 - 10/07/2023 15:55:19
Replying To endgame: "Outside of Kilkenny who will always be competitive and dangerous, what does Leinster have though. Galway hammered yesterday and Wexford lost to Westmeath. That game today was there for Clare but they weren't able to get over the line. Might have been different if the game was played in Thurles . Clare will have plenty of regrets tonight but Lyons did them no favours over the course of the match." But semi finals are never played in Thurles, if me granny had balls she'd be....
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1449 - 10/07/2023 15:59:57
Replying To Oldtourman: "Well well, with a bigger hurling population your county have not won an. All Ireland in 85 years and you are taking a little dig at Limerick. The old green eyed monster is alive and well." He was referring to Clare Oldtourman.
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1449 - 10/07/2023 16:05:24
Replying To daveboy: "Tommy Walsh explained I well I thought on off the ball after the match. There was a foul on duggan and the ref correctly played an advantage. The advantage rule is if the shot goes over the bar a point is given but if it drops short it's deemed a 50/50 ball and if the opposition retain possession the free is then given straight away. The loss of possession by lawlor was after the ref was giving duggan the original free. If the shot dropping short was initially collected by a clare man then the ref has a judgement call to make if a tap over free is better than the possession gained. Once lawlor put his hand on the ball then the advantage is over." Exactly how I saw it.
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1449 - 10/07/2023 16:06:32
He blew within the 5 second which by the law means he was "clear" that no advantage had accrued. He was wrong! Simple." I don't wish to rub salt in the wounds and i was completely neutral in this but my reading of it was as soon as the shot was missed and the KK play touched the ball the advantage was over and he was committed to blowing. They generally don't allow a second phase of play to continue in advantage and the fact that a KK player touched it and looked like he would gather it meant he legitimately blew. Yes it could have gone on but it was not an incorrect call imo and he followed the rule you listed above. Hegarty was blown for a free on him against Clare when he was bearing down on goal and about to release to Gillane and wasn't even given the option of an advantage it was just stopped dead.
Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 455 - 10/07/2023 16:07:26
John Keenan will get the final. Frees will be earned, not given for dives.
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1449 - 10/07/2023 16:08:39
Replying To ballydalane: "Lohan said after the match they played the sweeper because they didn't want to be out of the game at half time, and it "worked" because they were "only" 5 points down at the break.
That screamed to me a management team that was overly fixated on what happened last year." I thought similar. Lohan referring to last year. Kilkenny have a new manager, with a different style of playing this year. Why was he fixated with last year? You could reasonably argue, that Clare would won if it wasn't for Lohan's first half tactics.
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 10/07/2023 16:46:46
He blew within the 5 second which by the law means he was "clear" that no advantage had accrued. He was wrong! Simple." Give it a rest. Are you seriously suggesting that refferees wait for 5 seconds after every foul to see if an advantage has, or has not been gained? 5 seconds! Whatever. He blew his whistle, and the Kilkenny players reacted to it. Just because a Clare player carried on playing is irrelevant.
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 10/07/2023 16:59:53
Replying To suckvalleypaddy: "Best to Limerick in the final, fully deserved. 4 in a row is really special." Thanks. a possible 4 in a row!!! It's a remarkable position to find ourselves in. When this team goes into decline, these days we're in now will be remembered & valued immensely.. They're a generational bunch of lads who have brought incredible joy to Limerick hurling supporters.
Win lose or draw I think they'll be remembered as one of the really great teams.
skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1117 - 10/07/2023 17:13:47
Replying To Viking66: "Munster hurling League" Just stop. Will ya? That's not a primary competition.
CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 871 - 10/07/2023 17:31:02
Stayed in Dublin for the Clare Kilkenny match & was sat among Clare fans. It certainly seemed as though 5/6 refereeing decisions went against Clare. But the explanation of the advantage rule here on this board is a help to understanding them.
I thought Kilkenny were the better team on the day. Their forwards won their own ball high above their head, brought it to ground and turned for goal. Flashes of that old Kilkenny brilliance.
When Shane O'Donnell scored his goal the place went nuts. No matter who the county, it is great to see that - how a whole county is lifted by a rocket of a shot hitting the net. Kilkenny kept the heads & I admired how they worked the ball into scoring positions, they were ice cool.
One final thought and this is not having a go at the man. Tony Kelly scored three goals against Dublin. He is an outstandingly gifted hurler. Against Limerick in the Munster Final he scored Clare's last point. He could have gone through and gambled on getting a goal, winning a penalty. He took the point. Yesterday he was found back on his own '40 a good few times. I think the player himself is lacking belief against the other top sides. Hard to know why as his skills and ability have walked the walk before - eg the last minute sideline in the Munster Final 2022.
I don't think Clare have done anything much wrong in the last two seasons. The argument is made about Brian Lohan's decisions, but Clare now compared to when he took over? He's done a hell of a job.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6510 - 10/07/2023 18:03:13
Replying To clooney: " Replying To LohansRedHelmet: "If you read the rule you will see the error by the ref:
He blew within the 5 second which by the law means he was "clear" that no advantage had accrued. He was wrong! Simple." He was poor on the day no doubt but we did shoot ourselves in foot Did Brian think KK were vastly superior to us that he has to play a sweeper a system that is I believe now dead in water. Last year we came off Munster final looking drained never performed and we always do against KK it was a once off 4 out of KK 6 forwards were replaced yesterday so how did he get it so wrong? Some of mistakes decision making especially were awful when we pushed up so much better still our efficiency was off missed a 50 m free dropped a couple short we are also missing a bit of luck Midfielder got Hurley in and then the Peter Duggan save that was unreal and the Quilligan going short when Duggan was gobbling up puckout. A huge opportunity missed as well as the Munster Final no silver wear again" If Clare don't get rid of Lohan as Manager, they're going to squander a great chance of silverware with a very talented group of players.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2547 - 10/07/2023 18:03:18
He blew within the 5 second which by the law means he was "clear" that no advantage had accrued. He was wrong! Simple." If the ref had adhered to the rule book yesterday then Hogan should have gotten a red for the pull on Cody and Diarmuid Ryan could have seen red for the shoulder into Richie Hogans head. Ye had the game won until the mix up for the goal as KK were gone and struggling for scores.
updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 905 - 10/07/2023 18:17:54
Replying To CARPS: "Just stop. Will ya? That's not a primary competition." You didn't say primary competition in your OP?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16670 - 10/07/2023 18:49:40
Replying To skillet: "Thanks. a possible 4 in a row!!! It's a remarkable position to find ourselves in. When this team goes into decline, these days we're in now will be remembered & valued immensely.. They're a generational bunch of lads who have brought incredible joy to Limerick hurling supporters.
Win lose or draw I think they'll be remembered as one of the really great teams." That's a definite at this stage win lose or draw the next day.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16670 - 10/07/2023 18:52:39
Replying To Newyorkkat: "I did not say fending. I said pushing. Big difference" I Agree, a push on the back is a free whether you have the ball or not is irrelevant.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4957 - 10/07/2023 18:59:16