Cluxton Back!

Replying To Neartheborder:  "We all thought Cluxton was the kind of man who didn't like the limelight, how things have changed. Pat is right, if Derry or any other team brought back a man of 41 they'd be laughed at."
I don't wish to sound unkind but maybe Derry chaps ought not be mocking goalkeepers of any age :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2556 - 05/04/2023 10:05:50    2468956

Replying To armaghfan02:  "its a bit different as cluxton is an 8 time all ireland winner and arguably the greatest keeper of all time"
Just shows Dublin have nothing coming through when you see Cluxton and Dias recalled to the squad… So much for the myth of always having a great bench… A lot of very average footballers on that Dublin team at present

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1926 - 05/04/2023 10:18:03    2468962

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Just shows Dublin have nothing coming through when you see Cluxton and Dias recalled to the squad… So much for the myth of always having a great bench… A lot of very average footballers on that Dublin team at present"
Five years ago you were probably predicting Dublin would win 14 in a row because they had "conveyor belt" of lads who were professionals from under 14, driving a free SUV.

Dublin have come back to the pack. None of the current contenders anything as good as Dublin 2015-2020. Nor as good as Kerry and Tyrone of the noughties. Any of 5/6 teams including ourselves could win it. No-one in Dublin thinks they are exceptional.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2556 - 05/04/2023 10:42:13    2468974

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Five years ago you were probably predicting Dublin would win 14 in a row because they had "conveyor belt" of lads who were professionals from under 14, driving a free SUV.

Dublin have come back to the pack. None of the current contenders anything as good as Dublin 2015-2020. Nor as good as Kerry and Tyrone of the noughties. Any of 5/6 teams including ourselves could win it. No-one in Dublin thinks they are exceptional."
Glad you mentioned the 00s Barney, Kerry, Tyrone, Dublin, Armagh and Mayo, there wasn't a kick of a ball between either of them. Luck played it's part, Tyrone could have had 4or 5 but at the same Tim could have had 1. Mayo, one particular match v Tyrone they were 2or 3 up and straight through on goal and missed, Tyrone went on to win it outright. This year could be the same, toss a coin.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2013 - 05/04/2023 12:27:02    2469019

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Five years ago you were probably predicting Dublin would win 14 in a row because they had "conveyor belt" of lads who were professionals from under 14, driving a free SUV.

Dublin have come back to the pack. None of the current contenders anything as good as Dublin 2015-2020. Nor as good as Kerry and Tyrone of the noughties. Any of 5/6 teams including ourselves could win it. No-one in Dublin thinks they are exceptional."
During that time we heard plenty of Dublin posters on here big up Dublins "conveyor belt'' bur now that's view has changed. Why's that?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 05/04/2023 13:09:21    2469042

Replying To oneoff:  "During that time we heard plenty of Dublin posters on here big up Dublins "conveyor belt'' bur now that's view has changed. Why's that?"
Dublin are still the team to beat in Leinster this year. No obvious challenger to their dominance.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 05/04/2023 13:40:35    2469054

Replying To oneoff:  "During that time we heard plenty of Dublin posters on here big up Dublins "conveyor belt'' bur now that's view has changed. Why's that?"
Dublin are still the team to beat in Leinster this year. No obvious challenger to their dominance.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 05/04/2023 13:40:52    2469055

Vast majority of Dubs enjoyed the unprecedented domination of the best gaelic football ever for what it was and knew it would pass, it was begrudgers like Colm O'Rourke whinging it would never end.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 678 - 05/04/2023 13:46:35    2469056

I don't remember any Dublin posters talking about conveyer belts

Maybe several years ago when Gavin was with the U21s

No doubting, a few of us were talking about upcoming players but sure that's just normal GAA talk, hopeful footballers like Archer or Basquel

Over the last few years many of us have been saying the very opposite, we've highted the weaknesses, lack of depth, various issues but also highlighting a few bright sparks like Lee Gannon

Think you're cherry picking a wee bit

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/04/2023 14:20:58    2469066

You are completely wrong with that statement...

Dublin posters on here said the actual opposite.
We said that it was a once in a generation team and we would fall back.

It was mainly a poster from kerry, amongst others, who were crying about the Dubs winning 10 in a row etc
Split Dublin in 2 or 4, take out of Croker, and share their sponsorships, so avoid unending Dublin dominance.....

How silly were all their claims now....
Dubs got relegated to Div 2 last year, and are only a shadow our our former selves due to Retirements and there being NO recurring conveyor belt.

So stop trying to cause a storm with non factual comments please.

HS has been a much nicer place for the past 2 years with all those nonsense posts having dried up.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 05/04/2023 14:31:14    2469070

Replying To Fionn:  "You are completely wrong with that statement...

It was mainly a poster from kerry, amongst others, who were crying about the Dubs winning 10 in a row etc
Split Dublin in 2 or 4, take out of Croker, and share their sponsorships, so avoid unending Dublin dominance.....

Dubs got relegated to Div 2 last year, and are only a shadow our our former selves due to Retirements and there being NO recurring conveyor belt.

HS has been a much nicer place for the past 2 years with all those nonsense posts having dried up."
Ah yes the Kerry Poor mouth whinger mass exodus.. they couldn't have their safe space and left hahaha

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/04/2023 14:36:31    2469072

Replying To jimbodub:  "I don't remember any Dublin posters talking about conveyer belts

Maybe several years ago when Gavin was with the U21s

No doubting, a few of us were talking about upcoming players but sure that's just normal GAA talk, hopeful footballers like Archer or Basquel

Over the last few years many of us have been saying the very opposite, we've highted the weaknesses, lack of depth, various issues but also highlighting a few bright sparks like Lee Gannon

Think you're cherry picking a wee bit"
In the first part you say there was no one talking about and then say they were. Either they were or they weren't?

I think, as ever, it's you who's doing the cherry picking...

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 05/04/2023 14:37:02    2469073

HS has been a much nicer place for the past 2 years with all those nonsense posts having dried up."
Easy to say these things now isn't it? After the fact.

It's also funny how everything according to some Dubs on here Kerry are always the problem. Kerry overhyped Dublin yet at the same time apparently didn't give them credit. On this thread there's examples of it. You can't have it both ways.

Also on the splitting Dublin in two thing. Some Dubs love to bring that up yet ignore the fact the first time it was ever mentioned was by a Dublin manager.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 05/04/2023 14:41:39    2469075

[Ignoring the cross county spats and (alleged) begrudgery...]

I might be in a minority in Dublin here but I have to say I am not too sure about Cluxton's return.
In a sense it's unearned. Does he fancy sitting on the bench for the year? I doubt it.
Should he get his place in the team? Regardless of what they say I would think that some of the players would feel it's unfair.
If Dublin win then it won't matter, but there are no guarantees.

This is going back to the past and I don't think that is a good idea. It's not like he's 32 with a good stretch ahead of him. Bringing him back now is taking the opportunity to develop away from another player. Cluxton himself was quite often a target of unwarranted abuse in his early days (e.g. after getting sent off against Armagh in 2003) but was able to develop into the player he did.
It also reeks of closed shop-ness. Like they used to say about the Irish rugby team, it was harder to get off it than it was to get on.

It also reminds me of starting out as a 17/18 year old player (a good few years ago) and playing junior football with a club who also had senior team. Quite often when the junior championship came round a former senior player would appear just for the championship game, not having played any other games and get a start for someone who had played all year, usually disrupting the team by requiring wholesale positional changes, thereby annoying (to put it politely) all the players who had put in the effort already. Inevitably it wouldn't work out and the next week it would be back to the usual suspects with a chance to play in the championship missed for a player for another year. I realise that the Dublin junior championship is not quite at the same level as intercounty football but just the same I guess many people on this forum will have experienced this a player.

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 05/04/2023 14:55:08    2469080

Replying To oneoff:  "In the first part you say there was no one talking about and then say they were. Either they were or they weren't?

I think, as ever, it's you who's doing the cherry picking..."
Whatever man.. you're gas

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/04/2023 15:10:03    2469086

Replying To jimbodub:  "Whatever man.. you're gas"
Is what I said not true? Did you not say Dublin posters weren't talking about players coming trough? Then in the next line say they were? Or like always are you just going to say you meant something else?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 05/04/2023 16:47:33    2469118

Replying To Saynothing:  "Glad you mentioned the 00s Barney, Kerry, Tyrone, Dublin, Armagh and Mayo, there wasn't a kick of a ball between either of them. Luck played it's part, Tyrone could have had 4or 5 but at the same Tim could have had 1. Mayo, one particular match v Tyrone they were 2or 3 up and straight through on goal and missed, Tyrone went on to win it outright. This year could be the same, toss a coin."
I think Dublin were a bit behind yourselves and Kerry, and also lost to Mayo and Armagh when it mattered.

But, agree this year will most likely be a close affair. While some seem to think the groups might throw up a surprise, and it might, it favours the big guns who are effectively given two chances if they don't either win their province or top their group so not beyond bounds that a team that has lost twice be in semi final or even final. In fact the first is almost certain to happen.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2556 - 05/04/2023 16:58:33    2469122

Replying To rcarragh:  "[Ignoring the cross county spats and (alleged) begrudgery...

I might be in a minority in Dublin here but I have to say I am not too sure about Cluxton's return.
In a sense it's unearned. Does he fancy sitting on the bench for the year? I doubt it.
Should he get his place in the team? Regardless of what they say I would think that some of the players would feel it's unfair.
If Dublin win then it won't matter, but there are no guarantees.

This is going back to the past and I don't think that is a good idea. It's not like he's 32 with a good stretch ahead of him. Bringing him back now is taking the opportunity to develop away from another player. Cluxton himself was quite often a target of unwarranted abuse in his early days (e.g. after getting sent off against Armagh in 2003) but was able to develop into the player he did.
It also reeks of closed shop-ness. Like they used to say about the Irish rugby team, it was harder to get off it than it was to get on.

It also reminds me of starting out as a 17/18 year old player (a good few years ago) and playing junior football with a club who also had senior team. Quite often when the junior championship came round a former senior player would appear just for the championship game, not having played any other games and get a start for someone who had played all year, usually disrupting the team by requiring wholesale positional changes, thereby annoying (to put it politely) all the players who had put in the effort already. Inevitably it wouldn't work out and the next week it would be back to the usual suspects with a chance to play in the championship missed for a player for another year. I realise that the Dublin junior championship is not quite at the same level as intercounty football but just the same I guess many people on this forum will have experienced this a player."]Cluxton is that rare thing - a quiet, introverted Dub : ) Decent guy, well respected everywhere I'd say. Can't make up my mind about it though - one the one hand, having someone of his standards back in the panel keeps pressure on current players - both goalies and outfield players. So that can be a plus. At the same time, risk of the Alex Ferguson effect - having a former great looking over your shoulder all the time may just irritate and demotivate. Why not just bring him back as goalkeeping coach?

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 239 - 05/04/2023 17:23:13    2469129

Replying To oneoff:  "Is what I said not true? Did you not say Dublin posters weren't talking about players coming trough? Then in the next line say they were? Or like always are you just going to say you meant something else?"
That's not us saying there's a conveyer belt. That's what you were throwing out,.

Using that term clearly indicates there is/was an never ending manufacturing of players, it is a term used to indicate dominance, and a never ending source of players.

I can find posts of mine in here indicating that we were only a couple of players better and that we could have and should have been beaten on a number of occasions during Dublin's dominance.

I said nothing to indicate that or prove your delusions to be correct at all, that Dublin posters were boasting about having a conveyer belt... How you can even imagine that nonsense

We simply spoke about players that might make it, or looked promising, like all county supporters do.. and certainly over the last few years there's been no talk of conveyer belts, that hysteria pumped by a few on here to indicate Dublin winning 10 in a row has largely vanished.. because the same posters did that very thing

The hysterics went with them..

It's chalk and cheese to the phrase "conveyer belt" that you were accusing Dublin posters of boasting about, I simply said I've seen NO Dublin poster using that strong a phrase for several years

So please stop being so disingenuous, noting I said indicated a conveyer belt of talent at Dublin's disposal

Here we go.. you copying and pasting something put to you only for you to accuse that person of being that thing.

Show me one Dublin posters mentioning the term "conveyer belt"

We are perfectly entitled to discuss players of interest that might make it without it being considered as if we have some sort of high-end industrial manufacturing conveyer belt for talent.. just spurting out players

We called it right, we were only ever a couple player's better and once they left, Dublin would not be the team they once were, we were 100% right.

So please save your exaggerations and/or back up your accusations..

Talking about a few lads having chance of success is not on par with your own clear as day over exaggerations of Dublin posters talking about a conveyer belt of talent

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/04/2023 17:32:13    2469132

Well bloody said man

We were completely proved right, we did our best to try and calm the hysterics and convince some that the sky wasn't falling down.. but they were too interested in their whinging

All the evidence was there with how competitive it truly was at the business end of things, think of the crazy games Dublin somehow came out the winner of...

I said it then and I'll say it now, we were only ever a few players better and being honest, we were fortunate to come through a couple of those games and now, as proven over the last few seasons, said players have either retired or left the panel and Dublin have been deservedly beaten by better teams in Croke Park.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/04/2023 17:41:20    2469134