Meath Vs Kildare

Replying To seadog54:  "In fairness It would seem like your the one with the hang up. What timewarp or fixaction, he and many other managers and pundits alike have put Dublin forward as the benchmark for success. Therefore aim for that standard and by doing so we reach and surpass the teams you mention. Do you really think its good management strategy to select your panel and tell they our goal is to be as good as Clare, Cavan and Kildare? You go on to say it will not take much to fix this, really? Have you watched Meath over the last number of years, we are way behind the curve. One thing COR has brought - the very thing you ask for - is an understanding of exactly where Meath stand, no illusions of grandure or living on past glory, just an honest summation on the very poor state of Meath football. As things stand Kildare have more quality players, than us, especially forwards, with more to come back from injury. Its up to you to accept it or not, however evidence suggests otherwise."
look , ive never seen such an amount of comment on Our situation so early into a Managers role...no matter who that was.
And , there must be reason for that.. Now genuinely, Im hoping no one of all the posters here are "pro" Colm Or "anti" Colm without at least some time in the job , No different that i hoped that was the situation with Andy or Mick before.
So , lets park perceptions of Personality . My sense of worry and concern (and you are right- there is a solid argument that its too early to be pushing the panic button) is the Profile that COR has had for the last 20 years, and the added spotlight that this has placed on Our set up & on the man himself, at a time , when one could argue we need pressure off the
Whole set up . far too much of this already is out in the public in general, . just as i disagreed with Andy publcily blaming referees for all our failings in his last two years , im also calling out COR for expressing too many things on the airwaves . This was all very well when he was a pundit, but the rules have changed, and im seeing him struggle to adapt to that
There is so many posts on this forum , simply because the Set up & results & Comments around that is creating an environment for people . this can be very polarising, . Somehow or other this **** has to stop...i dont know what rumours are true or not, but there is a big job (after only 6 months) to pull everyone back as One...and i can state there That i hope COR does that

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 29/03/2023 14:15:51    2467580

Replying To seadog54:  "Its now a case of wait and see, another poor league from Meath, hopefully we can break the trend next season. A shake up of panel may have desired result, too often in past we have presisted with lads who showed no signs of improvement, so its good to see the challenge been thrown down at an early stage. As far as I know O Bric is with senior development squad and with McCarthy i/c of under 20s we have good men involved throughout the squad. At long last there seems to be a system in place where the young lads have a clear pathway ahead. If you are good enough and show traits required then progress is in your own hands. Lads who struggle for one reason or another will be released back to clubs with a clear understanding what they need to improve on, door is not closed on future return. This system is especially important to development squad and u20s, its based on ability, attitude and effort, not who you are or club you play for, everyone gets fair crack at county jersey. Meath football has been on downward curve for way to long, what we were doing was not working. Credit to all involved and hopefully results will soon mirror the effort. Calling for a group of young lads who just started shaving to rise up against their manager is just the type of horses1t that has Meath football where it is. These lads have grown up looking at the disaster that passed for Meath football and are clever enough to know something has to change. Its fantastic to see ninty odd young men in training across the three groups and bodes well for the future."
Great post seadog, fair play to you.

As you say others have been slow to make changes and Colm has always spoken of an open door policy. For too long it was harder to get off the panel than onto it. The names being mentioned will benefit from game time with their clubs and if they're showing then I've no doubt they'll be brought back in. Thanks lads for your commitment, and hopefully this is see you again soon rather than goodbye.

None of us so called keyboard warriors have been in these lads shoes or Colm's for that matter so don't have half a clue of what's involved. My hats off to all of them. Sometimes there's tough choices which have to be made and there's never a nice way of delivering them. I would hope Colm and his team will have a cup of coffee and chat within those lads over the next few weeks and advise what's required.

Those casting any shadow on him are as usual looking to pick holes in a man who's put himself out there. Has he made mistakes, of course but he's doing the best he can. Will he learn, looks like he has been making tough calls and let's see how this plays out.

I think as someone else said we need to realistically look at where we are in todays game 15-20th at best and start working on beating those counties at that level. Tbf yo Andy in his time that's what he looked to do and had a pretty good record. I also wonder would these lads benefit from a Caroline currid or niamh Fitzpatrick figure. There's a lot of heavy scars which they'd be able to help players resolve psychologically. The u20s group don't have those scars but if you can build up the lads in the 22-26 age range they'll be the leaders moving forward and hopefully there's time for them to recover mentally.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 29/03/2023 14:32:44    2467586

Replying To Meathmaverick:  "Im told (as mentioned in previous posts) that 4 lads are gone off the panel (Morris, Harkin, Conlon and Clarke) Not unusual for squads to be trimmed down after league and quite possible that one of those players left of his own accord. I can only speak for one of the players, but he 100% recieved a phone call on monday to be informed he would not be on the panel going forward to championship."
What is the story with Morris? Was he dropped or left of his own accord?

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 29/03/2023 14:41:31    2467590

Replying To BigJoe14:  "What is the story with Morris? Was he dropped or left of his own accord?"
Probably play against us for cavan I'd say at some stage in the future. They made approach's before but was shot down. Shame. And he such an exciting forward couple of years ago. Apparently new manager and him never saw eye to eye. I wish him all the best. And hopefully when we get the current mess sorted he will return

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/03/2023 15:18:42    2467606

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "look , ive never seen such an amount of comment on Our situation so early into a Managers role...no matter who that was.
And , there must be reason for that.. Now genuinely, Im hoping no one of all the posters here are "pro" Colm Or "anti" Colm without at least some time in the job , No different that i hoped that was the situation with Andy or Mick before.
So , lets park perceptions of Personality . My sense of worry and concern (and you are right- there is a solid argument that its too early to be pushing the panic button) is the Profile that COR has had for the last 20 years, and the added spotlight that this has placed on Our set up & on the man himself, at a time , when one could argue we need pressure off the
Whole set up . far too much of this already is out in the public in general, . just as i disagreed with Andy publcily blaming referees for all our failings in his last two years , im also calling out COR for expressing too many things on the airwaves . This was all very well when he was a pundit, but the rules have changed, and im seeing him struggle to adapt to that
There is so many posts on this forum , simply because the Set up & results & Comments around that is creating an environment for people . this can be very polarising, . Somehow or other this **** has to stop...i dont know what rumours are true or not, but there is a big job (after only 6 months) to pull everyone back as One...and i can state there That i hope COR does that"
I agree there is too much comment for such an early stage, driven mainly by one poster who has an axe to grind based mainly on fact he cannot accept that Andy is gone and that leads to many others piling in to call him out for what he is, in truth many of should know better, myself included. Haters are going to hate no matter what. I think this time we need to step away, not overly focus on results or who is in the hot seat. This time it has to be different or we just continue to slowly slide further down the pecking order. Give it a chance and future rewards will far outweigh a short term quick fix.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 29/03/2023 15:52:56    2467624

Replying To royaldunne:  "So division 3 then ?"
I dont know WHERE we get to or what Div. . For me the important point is that we get the best or full potential out of the players we have. I will be satisfied when we can see improvement on a steady basis. I am confident That Colm will use the full range of skills required for a manager starting with the most critical skill to REVIEW how things have gone AND take the appropriate action to ADJUST and IMPROVE ..Not interested in DIVISIONS in football terms for now just improvement paths.. Not interested in DIVISIONS off the field either. Colm took on a massive task that will take time. I admit to at times being a little impatient and have to keep telling myself this will take time and patience. He deserves the opportunity to use the full range of skills as Manager. To me this review is very important in trying to build a programme of IMPROVEMENT. I do believe given the time he deserves and using the full cycle of mangement install.......review........adjust to improve........monitor progress...... REVIEW with county board that will take the 2 years at least. I understand that is the agreement. .Biting at his heels wont help at this point.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 29/03/2023 16:00:30    2467628

Replying To BigJoe14:  "What is the story with Morris? Was he dropped or left of his own accord?"
Again, I dont want to claim to be in the know but what i was told from a player who was part of the group was that Morris, Harkin and Conlon were informed they were not part of championship panel.

Meathmaverick (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 29/03/2023 16:18:03    2467633

COR mentioned a development team and the papers had it that cluxton played in a challenge on Monday night against us. Anyone know who was on our development team? Didn't know about a development team. Sounds like a good idea to be fair

seasiderblues (Meath) - Posts: 344 - 29/03/2023 16:23:54    2467634

Replying To Meathmaverick:  "Im told (as mentioned in previous posts) that 4 lads are gone off the panel (Morris, Harkin, Conlon and Clarke) Not unusual for squads to be trimmed down after league and quite possible that one of those players left of his own accord. I can only speak for one of the players, but he 100% recieved a phone call on monday to be informed he would not be on the panel going forward to championship."
Fair play to the 4 lads for their time and commitment and hopefully they go back to their clubs and do well.Who knows we might see them back in green soon.Does anyone know who is on the development team who might step in to replace them?Or will it be some under 20 lads although COR has said he is leaving them were they are.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 29/03/2023 16:35:13    2467640

The big mystery is why were players not taken from the top Senior clubs and the higher performing other clubs. One would think that trials were held when players still in the championship were not free. And they were then forgotten about.
It is pointless doing analysis of matches and reviewing how the team played. The real lack of performance arises from the exclusion of Ratoath, Summerhill, Dunboyne ,Ashbourne and the areas performing best at the moment. Mick O Dowd was criticised for not picking more North Meath Players, the answer was that better organisation and development benefitted South Meath players and made them more suited for Croke Park. None of this has changed . Maybe COR would like to split Meath in 2.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 29/03/2023 16:36:57    2467641

I've been ignoring this thread the last few days and just posting on the 20's as it has been fairly toxic. The whole situation around and in the senior team really seems downbeat at the minute. If it is true that Morris and Harkin are dropped on top of McGill then to me it is quite concerning. I don't think it's an attitude thing because everything I have heard about Harkin is that you won't find a more diligent and dedicated player who is always looking to improve. So I don't fully understand the motivation. The saving grace is we do have 4 weeks off and then we are guaranteed more games in a round Robin. So there is a chance to turn the season around. But truth be told we had an awful league both results and performance wise and now there seems to be so much noise before the championship. I can't really figure out O'Rourke's train of thought. He started Harkin at the weekend and then dropped him. Conlon started games too, was on the 26 on Sunday and was dropped. I think Jordy started every game bar Kildare where he was injured and yet it appears they were dropped. It's a really confusing one. Like I said we have a lot of time off and then should have quite a few championship games to resurrect the year. But as of now I'll pretend the seniors don't exist for a while and enjoy the 20's!

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1464 - 29/03/2023 16:47:31    2467646

I think maybe Colm O'Rourke might not have the bandwidth to be a county manger, lot of red flags showing over the last few weeks and I believe things won't turn around either , good early start with two wins , but then it all fell apart badly after that .

Donegal players had a players meeting with Paddy Carr , Paddy resigned straight away after it , players can smell a manger completely out of there dept and out of touch with modern style football ….so can the fans!

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 29/03/2023 16:53:31    2467649

Replying To Ashrules:  "The big mystery is why were players not taken from the top Senior clubs and the higher performing other clubs. One would think that trials were held when players still in the championship were not free. And they were then forgotten about.
It is pointless doing analysis of matches and reviewing how the team played. The real lack of performance arises from the exclusion of Ratoath, Summerhill, Dunboyne ,Ashbourne and the areas performing best at the moment. Mick O Dowd was criticised for not picking more North Meath Players, the answer was that better organisation and development benefitted South Meath players and made them more suited for Croke Park. None of this has changed . Maybe COR would like to split Meath in 2."
I think we will see some changes to the panel and I'll be surprised if we don't see 6 ton 7 lads dropped and being replaced by some of the on the development squad

I could see Ben Wyer come in and possibly his clubmate Rodgers. Also wouldn't be surprised to see a couple of the 20s come in - frayne in particular

I'd love to see some Kells players in - at least they would bring some spirit and fight to the squad!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 480 - 29/03/2023 18:07:20    2467667

Replying To nobull456:  "I dont know WHERE we get to or what Div. . For me the important point is that we get the best or full potential out of the players we have. I will be satisfied when we can see improvement on a steady basis. I am confident That Colm will use the full range of skills required for a manager starting with the most critical skill to REVIEW how things have gone AND take the appropriate action to ADJUST and IMPROVE ..Not interested in DIVISIONS in football terms for now just improvement paths.. Not interested in DIVISIONS off the field either. Colm took on a massive task that will take time. I admit to at times being a little impatient and have to keep telling myself this will take time and patience. He deserves the opportunity to use the full range of skills as Manager. To me this review is very important in trying to build a programme of IMPROVEMENT. I do believe given the time he deserves and using the full cycle of mangement install.......review........adjust to improve........monitor progress...... REVIEW with county board that will take the 2 years at least. I understand that is the agreement. .Biting at his heels wont help at this point."
Can I ask you. Has Colm said he is doing a review? Why should anyone believe he is doing a review? What will it consist of ? By his lmfm interview there was zero indication that is what he will do. He was more interested in trying to tell everyone that what Cora Staunton said wasn't accurate even though there is no evidence to the contrary. He then rather childishly went on about his previous achievements at college and club level while conveniently leaving out his only county job with u21s.
I was talking to a ex pupil of his only this morning and he said what a few people on here have already said, that he believes he is always right and if people pulls him up on it he either responds with condescending remarks or goes full on teacher mode and do as I say or else.
I have no reason to disbelieve this man as his farther was also a teacher along with Colm.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/03/2023 19:20:09    2467684

Replying To Ashrules:  "The big mystery is why were players not taken from the top Senior clubs and the higher performing other clubs. One would think that trials were held when players still in the championship were not free. And they were then forgotten about.
It is pointless doing analysis of matches and reviewing how the team played. The real lack of performance arises from the exclusion of Ratoath, Summerhill, Dunboyne ,Ashbourne and the areas performing best at the moment. Mick O Dowd was criticised for not picking more North Meath Players, the answer was that better organisation and development benefitted South Meath players and made them more suited for Croke Park. None of this has changed . Maybe COR would like to split Meath in 2."
I think the mindset was that most players from those clubs had already been in, given time, and didn't cut the mustard over the past number of years. I'm not a massive follower of those teams but most of there better players would have been involved at some point and any of their future prospects would be in with the 20's but by all means flag up any 21-23 year old's at those clubs that should be in that haven't been looked at.

In my opinion ratoath lads have been in, didnt cut it and past their primes.
Dunboyne, the decent one or two are/been in and the rest are aging.
Summerhill, aging and big decline coming in next year or two as youth starved.
Ashburn not at the races last year and menton is done with the county.
I would wonder though why some of the younger wolf tones lads are not involved.

I personally think at this stage, we have got div 2 football next year which is a bonus based on performances. its obvious to those with their ears to the ground that the u20s are being wrapped in cotton wool and kept together as the likelihood is that next year most will be vying for the starting spots. This year is about establishing foundations(shaky at best at the minute). in reality a run at Maguire was never on cards and a bit of a showing in T.Cup would be bonus but i think COR needs time to assess and make the changes gradually. We as supporters need to be realistic as the best man for the job has it. No outsiders wanted it and they certainly wouldn't want it now. We all need to row in behind him and his team and just see what happens over the next few years.

Irish_downunder (Meath) - Posts: 631 - 30/03/2023 09:27:58    2467711

Replying To brian:  "God lads it's fierce comfy here living in royaldunnes head… where I reside rent free….

Imagine a lad posts for the first time and the response is to label them another poster… who's making up accounts to annoy someone.. how paranoid must ye be to respond saying that…

imagine a genuine supporter as the lad said he is of 40 years (so this person is older than my 42 years) supporting Meath who's putting his valid opinion out there and someone tells him he's talking absolute s**** because they've a differing opinion… a opinion which is the same as 99% of posters on here…

… but points must be made… eh

You couldn't make this stuff up… but it's cosy in here all the same lad….

Anyways as always I take my time and reflect to give a reasonable viewpoint and not a reactionary one. Sunday again just wasn't good enough. We're not scoring enough and decision making is still poor all over this team. Fitness and S&C are not where they need to be with the champions imminent. Free taking hasn't been resolved fully and that's on Colm, six months in the role and still not a dedicated free taker is not good enough. Sort it out. Kick outs and midfield are improving and hopefully that trend will continue. Jones and Flynn are getting better game by game and hopefully they've the makings of a great partnership. Defence and the system is sorely lacking and I hope this has all been shadow boxing so far, but I fear it's not. Shane Walsh as a focal point is being missed. Costello is needed at half forward for his size but we lack an inside guy to work off.

Talk"
I don't read RD posts, just skip by them. I'm surprised you and others don't do the same. Zero interest in engaging with that kind of stuff. Try it!

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 30/03/2023 10:13:55    2467724

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "I think maybe Colm O'Rourke might not have the bandwidth to be a county manger, lot of red flags showing over the last few weeks and I believe things won't turn around either , good early start with two wins , but then it all fell apart badly after that .

Donegal players had a players meeting with Paddy Carr , Paddy resigned straight away after it , players can smell a manger completely out of there dept and out of touch with modern style football ….so can the fans!"
There are deffo a few red flags and tbh if he didn't have the backroom staff he has, I'd be more worried.

I think we just have to show faith for the moment and keep an open mind. The likes of the lads he seems to have unceremoniously dropped off the panel weren't up to much anyway - tried and tested and are Div3 players or else talented but seemingly brainless in a footballing sense. I think O'Rourke had identified some good young players in the pipeline and is working on the culture he wants those young lads to come into.

This year is maybe a bit of a write off anyway and he's already done ok to keep us up in Div 2 - he's about par with expectations while showing a ruthless streak I wasn't sure he had. His Simonstown teams were very open and helter skelter, entertaining and brilliant one day and then in disarray the next - I hope his Meath teams aren't like that long term but that's where his coaching ticket comes in. O'Rourke can create the culture and environment and that's his role - more of a Ferguson than a manager with a coaching whistle.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 30/03/2023 10:21:41    2467726

Replying To royaldunne:  "Can I ask you. Has Colm said he is doing a review? Why should anyone believe he is doing a review? What will it consist of ? By his lmfm interview there was zero indication that is what he will do. He was more interested in trying to tell everyone that what Cora Staunton said wasn't accurate even though there is no evidence to the contrary. He then rather childishly went on about his previous achievements at college and club level while conveniently leaving out his only county job with u21s.
I was talking to a ex pupil of his only this morning and he said what a few people on here have already said, that he believes he is always right and if people pulls him up on it he either responds with condescending remarks or goes full on teacher mode and do as I say or else.
I have no reason to disbelieve this man as his farther was also a teacher along with Colm."
So your contribution is unbiased, supportive, constructive, not sowing the seed to divide,and timely ???? NO Further comment !!!!

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1227 - 30/03/2023 10:22:02    2467727

Replying To Irish_downunder:  "I think the mindset was that most players from those clubs had already been in, given time, and didn't cut the mustard over the past number of years. I'm not a massive follower of those teams but most of there better players would have been involved at some point and any of their future prospects would be in with the 20's but by all means flag up any 21-23 year old's at those clubs that should be in that haven't been looked at.

In my opinion ratoath lads have been in, didnt cut it and past their primes.
Dunboyne, the decent one or two are/been in and the rest are aging.
Summerhill, aging and big decline coming in next year or two as youth starved.
Ashburn not at the races last year and menton is done with the county.
I would wonder though why some of the younger wolf tones lads are not involved.

I personally think at this stage, we have got div 2 football next year which is a bonus based on performances. its obvious to those with their ears to the ground that the u20s are being wrapped in cotton wool and kept together as the likelihood is that next year most will be vying for the starting spots. This year is about establishing foundations(shaky at best at the minute). in reality a run at Maguire was never on cards and a bit of a showing in T.Cup would be bonus but i think COR needs time to assess and make the changes gradually. We as supporters need to be realistic as the best man for the job has it. No outsiders wanted it and they certainly wouldn't want it now. We all need to row in behind him and his team and just see what happens over the next few years."
Thanks be to God the Ratoath lads are past their primes! If not they'd be going for 5 Keegan's in a rom instead of 4 in 5 years!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 480 - 30/03/2023 10:56:28    2467737

Replying To Royalblufill:  "Thanks be to God the Ratoath lads are past their primes! If not they'd be going for 5 Keegan's in a rom instead of 4 in 5 years!"
I think that modt of the Ratoath lads are quite happy to be out of the county panel and concentrate on the club. Kevin Reilly didnt join to make up the numbers. They are probably looking to go a step further and win the provincial club championship this year so the Meath panel is not on their radar.

stillaroyal (Meath) - Posts: 224 - 30/03/2023 11:34:27    2467747