Meath Vs Kildare

Replying To royaldunne:  "I was thinking that would be a very bad way to handle things. Actually it would be a immediate sacking offence so glad to hear it's not true"
You continue to go down the road of deliberately targeting COR at a ludicrously early stage. Ok we are poor with every man and his dog in Meath knowing that but most of this has ben inherited rather than ad a result of what COR has done or not done. Alright after 18 months to 2 years, we can then make an assessment. You obviously have some vendetta regarding this but it makes for poor reading. We have not been relegated and I guess he is in a position where he has identified players which may or may not be capable of playing to the required level unfortunately alot who are not. Every post you write alludes to issues with COR and its getting really boring at this stage.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 511 - 28/03/2023 15:36:38    2467371

Replying To royaldunne:  "I actually think he would. I don't think he really ever got a fair shot at county and I blame Andy for that, he got destroyed v dubs but I do think he is better and more likely to get points than what is there at the minute"
You could argue he would offer more than some of the subs alright but I couldn't see him pushing for a start in championship. I actually the likes of Barry Dardis is more equipped to make some sort of impact at IC level but no idea what his story is . Seems to be moving well for Summerhill. Not that old either

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 28/03/2023 15:44:01    2467374

Replying To royaldunne:  "I admire him for putting himself forward. The problem I have is that as much as mod wasn't a ic manager he at least had a game plan he brought in the wallace's Shane Mac etc to have the Lacey forwards attacking. Now it never worked but you could see what he was trying to do, and there was effort from the players , same with Andy he tried to defensive method with the running game it worked against some teams but the top 6 it never did. And towards the end you could see the players didn't but into it anymore and that's why he had to go. But no one and I mean no one can tell me what Colm's game plan , not even the players. It's not about getting rid of a manager early it's about getting something done. If Colm doesn't improve then the team doesn't. We seem to be in free fall with the bottom looking further and further away. What happens IF (and everything I wrote earlier was based on a IF, so the point about wanting him gone now is not valid) but IF , we get beat by Offaly? Or more likely louth or Westmeath, and we fail to make all ire, AND we don't win Tc or even get to a final or semi final. IF all that happens SHOULD WE PERSIST FOR ANOTHER YEAR. ? I'm only asking the question. I have zero problem with Colm continuing for his 2 years once we see some improvement even back the where he took over. That is all"
I see your point and I feel if we don't beat Offaly,lLouth/Westmeath or end up in the TC and dont do much there then of course he will be under alot of pressure and he might well walk himself then but let's give him the time.As you say there is alot of Ifs in there and I think we have a decent chance still of getting to a Leinster(although not as confident as I was before or after 2 league games)but hopefully we improve.I still think we should give him time because it's not like we were competing for Leinster or Division 1 the last few years and to be calling for his head is not a great look is it.Most managers now would really think twice about going for the Donegal job with the way Paddy carr was treated and Donegal are better than us st the minute so who would take over us if players throw o Rourke under the bus.Review at the end of the year take stock and ho from there.What would success be for you?Would a leinster final and more than likely a defeat to Dublin ne enough?or say a been competitive in the all ireland series (if we got there)Genuine question to everyone?

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 28/03/2023 16:02:28    2467379

Replying To winatallcost:  "You continue to go down the road of deliberately targeting COR at a ludicrously early stage. Ok we are poor with every man and his dog in Meath knowing that but most of this has ben inherited rather than ad a result of what COR has done or not done. Alright after 18 months to 2 years, we can then make an assessment. You obviously have some vendetta regarding this but it makes for poor reading. We have not been relegated and I guess he is in a position where he has identified players which may or may not be capable of playing to the required level unfortunately alot who are not. Every post you write alludes to issues with COR and its getting really boring at this stage."
Did you read what was wrote prior to that ? Or are you just totally and utterly ignorant of what I was responding to ??
Quick recap. Poster says lads were told on bus the dropped. Another poster says that's not true. I say that's good as that would be no way to treat players and I'm blamed for talking negatively about cor ? Ok

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/03/2023 16:10:47    2467383

Replying To ratlag:  "Ah give me a break Royaldunne, Ben Brennan was given more than enough chances and is nowhere near the level required, I could name 15-20 better forwards than him within the county at the minute. James Conlon is the same as Joey Wallace, two excellent club forwards that are well able to score, but for whatever reason have not been able to replicate club form on the county stage"
While I dont think Ben brennan should be in now Royal Dunne has a valid point.I think he was made a scapegoat that day v Dublin in croke park.Yes he missed a few frees but how many have we missed since.It knocked Brennan alot after that and it was harsh on the lad.On James conlan I think he is as good as fair few on the panel and might give us something different.As I've said before no point kicking high ball into him as we did v Dublin when he had 2 lads on him.Low ball into space and not many would beat him too the ball.The only thing against him is his size and that of course is an issue at intercountuy level.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 28/03/2023 16:13:25    2467385

Replying To royaldunne:  "Did you read what was wrote prior to that ? Or are you just totally and utterly ignorant of what I was responding to ??
Quick recap. Poster says lads were told on bus the dropped. Another poster says that's not true. I say that's good as that would be no way to treat players and I'm blamed for talking negatively about cor ? Ok"
I did see it and really makes little or no difference to my opinion. You are anti COR. Results and performances obviously are not acceptable so very few would expect to be comfortable in the squad at the moment. You want him to invite them to a nice restaurant and buy them dinner or what before telling them? He is not ending their football careers. You can't continue to blame management and not expect changes in playing personnel. We are on transition, simple as.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 511 - 28/03/2023 16:28:48    2467396

Replying To Proudroyal:  "I see your point and I feel if we don't beat Offaly,lLouth/Westmeath or end up in the TC and dont do much there then of course he will be under alot of pressure and he might well walk himself then but let's give him the time.As you say there is alot of Ifs in there and I think we have a decent chance still of getting to a Leinster(although not as confident as I was before or after 2 league games)but hopefully we improve.I still think we should give him time because it's not like we were competing for Leinster or Division 1 the last few years and to be calling for his head is not a great look is it.Most managers now would really think twice about going for the Donegal job with the way Paddy carr was treated and Donegal are better than us st the minute so who would take over us if players throw o Rourke under the bus.Review at the end of the year take stock and ho from there.What would success be for you?Would a leinster final and more than likely a defeat to Dublin ne enough?or say a been competitive in the all ireland series (if we got there)Genuine question to everyone?"
Honestly we could get beat by better teams like mayo , Galway , Monaghan , Kerry Dublin Tyrone Derry, once we at least put it up to them until halftime at least. I think we should have been like louth this year and pushing for promotion, that was my Hope particularly after cork game. However the Clare game opened my eyes that we may be in trouble louth pushed that further, I began to really worry the way we set up going man to man with Derry the week beforehand, but I honestly thought that was a miscalculation by management anyone can make those , but the ultimate low point came v Limerick, that really was god awful stuff, then to go man to man v dubs was again bizarre and game over by ht, and against Kildare the players looked like they either couldn't give a toss or the really have issues with sideline. Either one a worrying development. (Again to just clarify not all players particularly jones). While in my dreams I dream of Leinster and all ire glory we really are miles off that standard. I do think on average we have better players than louth , Limerick, about the same level as Kildare cork it wasn't even the winning it was the manner they won in. Sometimes you have to scratch beneath the surface. This year we deserved to be relegated, clare were better than us and we owe the dubs a huge thank you for coming back in the end to snatch a win against them or we were gone.
Yes to save us a little this year I think we have to get to Leinster final and try to keep dubs honest for 35, mins. I'd take 3 defeats in the round robin against high quality teams once we at least showed some game plan and an actually worked hard. No shame in been beat by a better team once you have given it ur all. And so far this year we have not. That's my main problem with where we are.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/03/2023 16:28:56    2467397

Replying To Proudroyal:  "While I dont think Ben brennan should be in now Royal Dunne has a valid point.I think he was made a scapegoat that day v Dublin in croke park.Yes he missed a few frees but how many have we missed since.It knocked Brennan alot after that and it was harsh on the lad.On James conlan I think he is as good as fair few on the panel and might give us something different.As I've said before no point kicking high ball into him as we did v Dublin when he had 2 lads on him.Low ball into space and not many would beat him too the ball.The only thing against him is his size and that of course is an issue at intercountuy level."
Yeah I'd agree with that.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/03/2023 16:29:47    2467398

Replying To Blackspot09:  "You could argue he would offer more than some of the subs alright but I couldn't see him pushing for a start in championship. I actually the likes of Barry Dardis is more equipped to make some sort of impact at IC level but no idea what his story is . Seems to be moving well for Summerhill. Not that old either"
Yes agree Barry dardis is a good shout, decent freetaker as well.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 257 - 28/03/2023 16:36:02    2467399

Replying To winatallcost:  "I did see it and really makes little or no difference to my opinion. You are anti COR. Results and performances obviously are not acceptable so very few would expect to be comfortable in the squad at the moment. You want him to invite them to a nice restaurant and buy them dinner or what before telling them? He is not ending their football careers. You can't continue to blame management and not expect changes in playing personnel. We are on transition, simple as."
And you seem to be the head of the COR groupie fan club. I'd argue with Royal Dunne on a number of points he'd make, but he's spot in with this one. IF what has been said about how O Rourke informed lads they were dropped from the panel is true, then it is completely unacceptable. You're right, hes not ending their football careers, hes just dropping them from a team they have committed 7 days a week to for the last 6 months, less than a month before championship, and doesn't even have the decency to pull them aside for a one to one conversation or phone call, once the dust has settled on the game!!! Its not the first time stories like this have gone around about O Rourke and dropping lads from the team either so sadly I find it hard to ignore, and IF we don't have a decent championship you will see either a number of players walk from the panel next year if he is still around.

ratlag (Meath) - Posts: 557 - 29/03/2023 08:27:37    2467481

God lads it's fierce comfy here living in royaldunnes head… where I reside rent free….

Imagine a lad posts for the first time and the response is to label them another poster… who's making up accounts to annoy someone.. how paranoid must ye be to respond saying that…

imagine a genuine supporter as the lad said he is of 40 years (so this person is older than my 42 years) supporting Meath who's putting his valid opinion out there and someone tells him he's talking absolute s**** because they've a differing opinion… a opinion which is the same as 99% of posters on here…

… but points must be made… eh

You couldn't make this stuff up… but it's cosy in here all the same lad….

Anyways as always I take my time and reflect to give a reasonable viewpoint and not a reactionary one. Sunday again just wasn't good enough. We're not scoring enough and decision making is still poor all over this team. Fitness and S&C are not where they need to be with the champions imminent. Free taking hasn't been resolved fully and that's on Colm, six months in the role and still not a dedicated free taker is not good enough. Sort it out. Kick outs and midfield are improving and hopefully that trend will continue. Jones and Flynn are getting better game by game and hopefully they've the makings of a great partnership. Defence and the system is sorely lacking and I hope this has all been shadow boxing so far, but I fear it's not. Shane Walsh as a focal point is being missed. Costello is needed at half forward for his size but we lack an inside guy to work off.

Talk

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 29/03/2023 11:14:23    2467523

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ben Brennan wasn't given a fair shot under Andy. Definitely had more to offer and was scapegoated for the performance v dubs. Would add steel to half forward line. And is Conlon any worse that moriarty Curtis or lynch ?"
Conlon is an electric player to watch and a serious club footballer but as previous poster said his physique goes against him at inter county level. I do think he is better than Lynch but i don't believe Keith Curtis got a fair chance. Ben has had a few injuries and don't think he would add anything at this stage.

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 29/03/2023 11:25:35    2467527

God lads it's fierce comfy here living in royaldunnes head… where I reside rent free….

Imagine a lad posts for the first time and the response is to label them another poster… who's making up accounts to annoy someone.. how paranoid must ye be to respond saying that…

imagine a genuine supporter as the lad said he is of 40 years (so this person is older than my 42 years) supporting Meath who's putting his valid opinion out there and someone tells him he's talking absolute s**** because they've a differing opinion… a opinion which is the same as 99% of posters on here…

Anyways as always I take my time and reflect to give a reasonable viewpoint and not a reactionary one. Sunday again just wasn't good enough. We're not scoring enough and decision making is still poor all over this team. Fitness and S&C are not where they need to be with the champions imminent. Free taking hasn't been resolved fully and that's on Colm, six months in the role and still not a dedicated free taker is not good enough. Sort it out. Kick outs and midfield are improving and hopefully that trend will continue. Jones and Flynn are getting better game by game and hopefully they've the makings of a great partnership. Defence and the system is sorely lacking and I hope this has all been shadow boxing so far, but I fear it's not. Shane Walsh as a focal point is being missed. Costello is needed at half forward for his size but we lack an inside guy to work off.

Talk of all these great players were missing. Who are they? McGill and menton yes I'd have them back but guess what they were there before and results over the last 2 years havent been much different. The Wallace's, mcentee, McMahon (who's dropped himself off the panel this year) etc were there for those things too, they long enough, time to move on folks. is trying out new lads, has a development squad (who played on Monday v Dublin) and u20s team all working. So who are these great players that are there? That need to be added, please do tell us..

And talk of getting rid of Colm… who's going to replace him? McCarthy and O'Bric aren't the solution. Dreaming and drooling over Eamonn Fitzmaurice isn't the solution… so let's hear who's going to do a better job right now.. cos it's easy to say things, but provide or proffer a solution too..

So off I go to login as seadog, or latouche or rat lag, or joe or some one else… maybe I'll even log is as RD himself…. Good man brian

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 29/03/2023 11:33:26    2467528

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Things are bad enough as it is without posters making up stories like this, yes o rourke will be making changes to the panel he said himself the players will have a week off and him and his selectors will decide during the week what changes are needed, I never understand why people feel the need to spread vicious lies like this, honestly it feels sometimes that people want o rourke to fail."
Story is true, very poor way to handle things, not good enough for lads who put in huge effort, i hope we can turn things around

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 29/03/2023 11:34:05    2467529

Replying To ratlag:  "And you seem to be the head of the COR groupie fan club. I'd argue with Royal Dunne on a number of points he'd make, but he's spot in with this one. IF what has been said about how O Rourke informed lads they were dropped from the panel is true, then it is completely unacceptable. You're right, hes not ending their football careers, hes just dropping them from a team they have committed 7 days a week to for the last 6 months, less than a month before championship, and doesn't even have the decency to pull them aside for a one to one conversation or phone call, once the dust has settled on the game!!! Its not the first time stories like this have gone around about O Rourke and dropping lads from the team either so sadly I find it hard to ignore, and IF we don't have a decent championship you will see either a number of players walk from the panel next year if he is still around."
I am in no way biased with regards COR and obviously things cannot continue as they are. Agree that it wouldn't be the right way to drop lads, however there are no guarantees with county football and the higher the level, the greater the rewards but also the greater the falls. Colm has tried a few things, alot of which has not worked out but most of the job is about identifying players and making hard calls. I didn't really like his interview on LMFM listening all his achievements and thought this unnecessary but lets see this time next year when some of our underage talent continues to join the squad. I think we are wasting our time over analysing anything. Its really early days.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 511 - 29/03/2023 12:15:02    2467543

Replying To brian:  "God lads it's fierce comfy here living in royaldunnes head… where I reside rent free….

Talk of all these great players were missing. Who are they? McGill and menton yes I'd have them back but guess what they were there before and results over the last 2 years havent been much different. The Wallace's, mcentee, McMahon (who's dropped himself off the panel this year) etc were there for those things too, they long enough, time to move on folks. is trying out new lads, has a development squad (who played on Monday v Dublin) and u20s team all working. So who are these great players that are there? That need to be added, please do tell us..

And talk of getting rid of Colm… who's going to replace him? McCarthy and O'Bric aren't the solution. Dreaming and drooling over Eamonn Fitzmaurice isn't the solution… so let's hear who's going to do a better job right now.. cos it's easy to say things, but provide or proffer a solution too..

So off I go to login as seadog, or latouche or rat lag, or joe or some one else… maybe I'll even log is as RD himself…. Good man brian"
Its now a case of wait and see, another poor league from Meath, hopefully we can break the trend next season. A shake up of panel may have desired result, too often in past we have presisted with lads who showed no signs of improvement, so its good to see the challenge been thrown down at an early stage. As far as I know O Bric is with senior development squad and with McCarthy i/c of under 20s we have good men involved throughout the squad. At long last there seems to be a system in place where the young lads have a clear pathway ahead. If you are good enough and show traits required then progress is in your own hands. Lads who struggle for one reason or another will be released back to clubs with a clear understanding what they need to improve on, door is not closed on future return. This system is especially important to development squad and u20s, its based on ability, attitude and effort, not who you are or club you play for, everyone gets fair crack at county jersey. Meath football has been on downward curve for way to long, what we were doing was not working. Credit to all involved and hopefully results will soon mirror the effort. Calling for a group of young lads who just started shaving to rise up against their manager is just the type of horses1t that has Meath football where it is. These lads have grown up looking at the disaster that passed for Meath football and are clever enough to know something has to change. Its fantastic to see ninty odd young men in training across the three groups and bodes well for the future.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 29/03/2023 12:45:57    2467554

Replying To royaldunne:  "I was thinking that would be a very bad way to handle things. Actually it would be a immediate sacking offence so glad to hear it's not true"
Why would it ge a sacking offence,they're not employees and don't need a written warning. He can drop them whenever he feels fit. Both Andy and Boylan did much worse. By the way how do you know the story is not true. It's time to stop commenting on the standard of players here. Critical about young lads. Most of the lads brought in are only 20 or 21 and will take time to get to the standard required. Please give them support not abuse. I hear Morris is gone of the panel if that's true then I feel sorry for him, while he is going through a slump in form he still has something to offer and is a good footballer.

latouche25 (Meath) - Posts: 520 - 29/03/2023 13:17:18    2467559

Im told (as mentioned in previous posts) that 4 lads are gone off the panel (Morris, Harkin, Conlon and Clarke) Not unusual for squads to be trimmed down after league and quite possible that one of those players left of his own accord. I can only speak for one of the players, but he 100% recieved a phone call on monday to be informed he would not be on the panel going forward to championship.

Meathmaverick (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 29/03/2023 13:38:27    2467567

Replying To Meathmaverick:  "Im told (as mentioned in previous posts) that 4 lads are gone off the panel (Morris, Harkin, Conlon and Clarke) Not unusual for squads to be trimmed down after league and quite possible that one of those players left of his own accord. I can only speak for one of the players, but he 100% recieved a phone call on monday to be informed he would not be on the panel going forward to championship."
Thanks for clearing that up why posters feel the need to spread rumours is hard to undetstand, most do not mean harm, getting info third, forth hand and posting as fact. The odd one (very odd) just attempting to in some way validate their stance. Hard on the four lads but now up to them to show management they were wrong. Won't be surprised if there are one or two more changes in coming weeks.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 29/03/2023 13:58:28    2467573

Replying To winatallcost:  "I am in no way biased with regards COR and obviously things cannot continue as they are. Agree that it wouldn't be the right way to drop lads, however there are no guarantees with county football and the higher the level, the greater the rewards but also the greater the falls. Colm has tried a few things, alot of which has not worked out but most of the job is about identifying players and making hard calls. I didn't really like his interview on LMFM listening all his achievements and thought this unnecessary but lets see this time next year when some of our underage talent continues to join the squad. I think we are wasting our time over analysing anything. Its really early days."
Early days for sure, he gave an honest interview on the Chronicle podcast and F Lynch touches on many of the issues raised on forum. Worth a listen.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 29/03/2023 14:05:32    2467575