When You See That Horrible Football (Over And Back ) Now Played People Will Soon Need To Be Payed To Go To A Game

Replying To tomsmith:  "Font of wisdom of 10 Posts

Tomsmith here.

As I said its great to see you posting under one of your lesser known/used handles.
Agh was just saying that the great Mrs T is not appreciating and one questioning ( she has made excellent choices in life sofar) her judgement on all matters. It was discussed in the Imperial whether I should respond or not to your comment.
I feel and it was left to me, that I will only speak about the subject matter.
I say that the two buckooes that created defensive football, short passing, back passing ect should be ousted from the Gaa. When we had David Givney ( Who I discovered myself) at his prime it was a kick it in high to Givney and he would do the rest.
Please restore football like it was like in the past , sure the style of football played by the 1947 Team that won an All ireland in Newyork when the mighty Kerry was felled would be very enjoyable to watch..
Cavan Gaels play lovely football"
It's the same old lines over and over again. Mrs T, the Imperial, great Cavan Gaels, Junior poster. It doesn't change the fact that I outed you as a Monaghan man. Enough of the trolling and back to talk about football. On that subject, do you feel yous can get enough points to stay in Div 1? Ps. I'm intrigued as to what other identity you think I post under."]FONTOFWOSDOM of 11posts
Tomsmith here..
I remember when I was a junior poster ( ough in double figures your now up to 11 under this handle) I was very careful before I would press the send button to let the great Mrs T look over everything . As a word of advice Fontofwisdom you could do the same as indeed you have come on greatly in the past number of years. But it intrigues me as to why you alternate / Post under different handles.
Enought advice given now to the football . I have said in the past that this virus has spread down to Junior Club football in every County. I was away down/over in West Cavan and I watched a game and low and behold over and back the field,, sure it was like watching paint dry.. Even the Gaels had a touch of contamination to their play in the latter part of 2022. I dont like it and I feel that it could sound the death knell for Gaelic football supporters"]From that post I infer that you've never watched a club game in West Cavan, or Cavan for that matter. I take it you're from North Monaghan so? Which West Cavan club was playing this defensive football so?"]Fontofwisdon
Hello Fontof wisdom now now of 25 Posts . sorry sorry now of 15posts. I never said I was a Monaghan man. I am a Cavan Gaels man true and true, I have admired the Gaels all my life and wonder if all the Country players were allowed to transfer into the Club would we be like Xmaglen a real force in Cavan and Ulster.
I say that the type of football currently played in Ulster is a real turn off for netural supporters"]Cavan are rubbish at Gaelic football. Also has TomSmith learned to spell- it is paid, not payed. Did he go to school?

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 23/02/2023 10:19:42    2459841

Replying To tomsmith:  "Font of wisdom of 10 Posts

Tomsmith here.

As I said its great to see you posting under one of your lesser known/used handles.
Agh was just saying that the great Mrs T is not appreciating and one questioning ( she has made excellent choices in life sofar) her judgement on all matters. It was discussed in the Imperial whether I should respond or not to your comment.
I feel and it was left to me, that I will only speak about the subject matter.
I say that the two buckooes that created defensive football, short passing, back passing ect should be ousted from the Gaa. When we had David Givney ( Who I discovered myself) at his prime it was a kick it in high to Givney and he would do the rest.
Please restore football like it was like in the past , sure the style of football played by the 1947 Team that won an All ireland in Newyork when the mighty Kerry was felled would be very enjoyable to watch..
Cavan Gaels play lovely football"
It's the same old lines over and over again. Mrs T, the Imperial, great Cavan Gaels, Junior poster. It doesn't change the fact that I outed you as a Monaghan man. Enough of the trolling and back to talk about football. On that subject, do you feel yous can get enough points to stay in Div 1? Ps. I'm intrigued as to what other identity you think I post under."]FONTOFWOSDOM of 11posts
Tomsmith here..
I remember when I was a junior poster ( ough in double figures your now up to 11 under this handle) I was very careful before I would press the send button to let the great Mrs T look over everything . As a word of advice Fontofwisdom you could do the same as indeed you have come on greatly in the past number of years. But it intrigues me as to why you alternate / Post under different handles.
Enought advice given now to the football . I have said in the past that this virus has spread down to Junior Club football in every County. I was away down/over in West Cavan and I watched a game and low and behold over and back the field,, sure it was like watching paint dry.. Even the Gaels had a touch of contamination to their play in the latter part of 2022. I dont like it and I feel that it could sound the death knell for Gaelic football supporters"]From that post I infer that you've never watched a club game in West Cavan, or Cavan for that matter. I take it you're from North Monaghan so? Which West Cavan club was playing this defensive football so?"]Fontofwisdon
Hello Fontof wisdom now now of 25 Posts . sorry sorry now of 15posts. I never said I was a Monaghan man. I am a Cavan Gaels man true and true, I have admired the Gaels all my life and wonder if all the Country players were allowed to transfer into the Club would we be like Xmaglen a real force in Cavan and Ulster.
I say that the type of football currently played in Ulster is a real turn off for netural supporters"]You're not from Cavan. A post you added ages ago revealed this fact to me. in fact, reading between the lines, you revealed the fact that you were from Monaghan. The Genie is out of the bottle 'Tom'. Also, I'm fairly sure I know your club in Monaghan. They're motoring well, in my opinion. Do you think that McManus can give you another year of good service?

Fontofwisdom (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 01/03/2023 17:09:14    2461268

Replying To Fontofwisdom:  "It's the same old lines over and over again. Mrs T, the Imperial, great Cavan Gaels, Junior poster. It doesn't change the fact that I outed you as a Monaghan man. Enough of the trolling and back to talk about football. On that subject, do you feel yous can get enough points to stay in Div 1? Ps. I'm intrigued as to what other identity you think I post under."
FONTOFWOSDOM of 11posts
Tomsmith here..
I say that the type of football currently played in Ulster is a real turn off for netural supporters"]You're not from Cavan. A post you added ages ago revealed this fact to me. in fact, reading between the lines, you revealed the fact that you were from Monaghan. The Genie is out of the bottle 'Tom'. Also, I'm fairly sure I know your club in Monaghan. They're motoring well, in my opinion. Do you think that McManus can give you another year of good service?"]Yous are still at it lads

Inatfullforward (Longford) - Posts: 93 - 02/03/2023 18:34:48    2461490

Replying To Inatfullforward:  "FONTOFWOSDOM of 11posts
Tomsmith here..
Enought advice given now to the football . I have said in the past that this virus has spread down to Junior Club football in every County. I was away down/over in West Cavan and I watched a game and low and behold over and back the field,, sure it was like watching paint dry.. Even the Gaels had a touch of contamination to their play in the latter part of 2022. I dont like it and I feel that it could sound the death knell for Gaelic football supporters"
From that post I infer that you've never watched a club game in West Cavan, or Cavan for that matter. I take it you're from North Monaghan so? Which West Cavan club was playing this defensive football so?"]Fontofwisdon
I say that the type of football currently played in Ulster is a real turn off for netural supporters"]You're not from Cavan. A post you added ages ago revealed this fact to me. in fact, reading between the lines, you revealed the fact that you were from Monaghan. The Genie is out of the bottle 'Tom'. Also, I'm fairly sure I know your club in Monaghan. They're motoring well, in my opinion. Do you think that McManus can give you another year of good service?"]Yous are still at it lads"]Apologies for posting drivel like the above. I just think that lads from rival Counties pretending they're from others is a blight on the forum. That particular contributor has been disrupting debate for too long. I wouldn't mind but his own county, Monaghan, are currently in a great place. He should concentrate on supporting them. On another note, Longford are struggling at the minute. On paper at least, they looked pretty strong this season. I'm surprised at their form.

Fontofwisdom (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 03/03/2023 14:36:19    2461604

Replying To Inatfullforward:  "FONTOFWOSDOM of 11posts
Tomsmith here..
Enought advice given now to the football . I have said in the past that this virus has spread down to Junior Club football in every County. I was away down/over in West Cavan and I watched a game and low and behold over and back the field,, sure it was like watching paint dry.. Even the Gaels had a touch of contamination to their play in the latter part of 2022. I dont like it and I feel that it could sound the death knell for Gaelic football supporters"
From that post I infer that you've never watched a club game in West Cavan, or Cavan for that matter. I take it you're from North Monaghan so? Which West Cavan club was playing this defensive football so?"]Fontofwisdon
I say that the type of football currently played in Ulster is a real turn off for netural supporters"]You're not from Cavan. A post you added ages ago revealed this fact to me. in fact, reading between the lines, you revealed the fact that you were from Monaghan. The Genie is out of the bottle 'Tom'. Also, I'm fairly sure I know your club in Monaghan. They're motoring well, in my opinion. Do you think that McManus can give you another year of good service?"]Yous are still at it lads"]There are some wires crossed here.. I did not post that long message. An error on hoganstand behalf.

Inatfullforward (Longford) - Posts: 93 - 04/03/2023 12:39:25    2461745

Replying To Inatfullforward:  "From that post I infer that you've never watched a club game in West Cavan, or Cavan for that matter. I take it you're from North Monaghan so? Which West Cavan club was playing this defensive football so?"
Fontofwisdon
I say that the type of football currently played in Ulster is a real turn off for netural supporters"]You're not from Cavan. A post you added ages ago revealed this fact to me. in fact, reading between the lines, you revealed the fact that you were from Monaghan. The Genie is out of the bottle 'Tom'. Also, I'm fairly sure I know your club in Monaghan. They're motoring well, in my opinion. Do you think that McManus can give you another year of good service?"]Yous are still at it lads"]There are some wires crossed here.. I did not post that long message. An error on hoganstand behalf."]in at Full Forward of 26 posts

What ever you were on when you posted thus rambling incoherent rambling message , and then to use the faux pass that it was Hogan Stand that was responsible .
Well well its odious that you were allowed to cast balme on an innocent 3rd party
Back to the origional post its got worse as the league goes on , horrible football. The Gaa game is ruined

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 18/03/2023 10:45:31    2464418

Replying To tomsmith:  "Fontofwisdon
I say that the type of football currently played in Ulster is a real turn off for netural supporters"
You're not from Cavan. A post you added ages ago revealed this fact to me. in fact, reading between the lines, you revealed the fact that you were from Monaghan. The Genie is out of the bottle 'Tom'. Also, I'm fairly sure I know your club in Monaghan. They're motoring well, in my opinion. Do you think that McManus can give you another year of good service?"]Yous are still at it lads"]There are some wires crossed here.. I did not post that long message. An error on hoganstand behalf."]in at Full Forward of 26 posts

What ever you were on when you posted thus rambling incoherent rambling message , and then to use the faux pass that it was Hogan Stand that was responsible .
Well well its odious that you were allowed to cast balme on an innocent 3rd party
Back to the origional post its got worse as the league goes on , horrible football. The Gaa game is ruined"]Maybe you should take up watching Great Game of hurling Tom?!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 18/03/2023 11:16:22    2464425

Replying To Viking66:  "You're not from Cavan. A post you added ages ago revealed this fact to me. in fact, reading between the lines, you revealed the fact that you were from Monaghan. The Genie is out of the bottle 'Tom'. Also, I'm fairly sure I know your club in Monaghan. They're motoring well, in my opinion. Do you think that McManus can give you another year of good service?"
Yous are still at it lads"]There are some wires crossed here.. I did not post that long message. An error on hoganstand behalf."]in at Full Forward of 26 posts

Back to the origional post its got worse as the league goes on , horrible football. The Gaa game is ruined"]Maybe you should take up watching Great Game of hurling Tom?!"]Viking 66 of all of 7500 posts..

Tomsmith here from County Cavan the home of t Gheaa in Ulster.
As a supporter of Cavan for along number of years and a Hogan Stand faithfull for as long as I can remember , I still content that Mc Guinness and Hurt caused the Gaa game to be played in a different manner.
I feel that its excitement has vanished and its no longer attractive for me to go to games.
Viking I am amazed that you would chide another senior poster like Tommsith .
Perhaps I should do l;ike what thegreat Mrs T suggested ie.. just ignore fools because by responding to one you could become ????

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3855 - 20/03/2023 22:04:10    2465381

Replying To tomsmith:  "Yous are still at it lads"
There are some wires crossed here.. I did not post that long message. An error on hoganstand behalf."]in at Full Forward of 26 posts

Back to the origional post its got worse as the league goes on , horrible football. The Gaa game is ruined"]Maybe you should take up watching Great Game of hurling Tom?!"]Viking 66 of all of 7500 posts..

As a supporter of Cavan for along number of years and a Hogan Stand faithfull for as long as I can remember , I still content that Mc Guinness and Hurt caused the Gaa game to be played in a different manner.
I feel that its excitement has vanished and its no longer attractive for me to go to games.
Perhaps I should do l;ike what thegreat Mrs T suggested ie.. just ignore fools because by responding to one you could become ????"]Yous need to win on Sunday or you will be joining Cavan in Div 2 next year. Monaghan have slipped a bit since the arrival of the new management. What do you think yourself Tom? In fairness, you own clubmen have performed well for Monaghan this season.

Fontofwisdom (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 21/03/2023 10:58:15    2465428

There are some wires crossed here.. I did not post that long message. An error on hoganstand behalf."]in at Full Forward of 26 posts

Perhaps I should do l;ike what thegreat Mrs T suggested ie.. just ignore fools because by responding to one you could become ????"]I wasn't chiding you Tom. Hurling is an excellent game!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 21/03/2023 17:06:04    2465566

Hi Tom - Your welcome to come and support Mayo….while you will likely be left in misery on All Ireland final day, you are guaranteed to be entertained along the way.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 21/03/2023 21:01:03    2465633

Replying To yew_tree:  "Hi Tom - Your welcome to come and support Mayo….while you will likely be left in misery on All Ireland final day, you are guaranteed to be entertained along the way."
Ah sure he already devotes time to two counties. How's he gonna choose between Cavan and his own county, Monaghan, if they're both in div 2 next year.

Fontofwisdom (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 22/03/2023 14:49:33    2465797

Replying To Fontofwisdom:  "Ah sure he already devotes time to two counties. How's he gonna choose between Cavan and his own county, Monaghan, if they're both in div 2 next year."
Very easy. Go for the better footballing county, and that would clearly be Monaghan; big difference between Div. 1 and Div. 3 teams.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 22/03/2023 14:55:31    2465802

Perhaps I should do l;ike what thegreat Mrs T suggested ie.. just ignore fools because by responding to one you could become ????"]https://www.hoganstand.com/Article/Index/327059

Of course it's about not wanting to pay money. It's Cavan after all.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 22/03/2023 15:12:21    2465813

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Very easy. Go for the better footballing county, and that would clearly be Monaghan; big difference between Div. 1 and Div. 3 teams."
Think they might be in the same division next year!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 22/03/2023 15:19:23    2465820

https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2023/0321/1365522-no-easy-fix-to-games-ills-after-poor-league/

I have the greatest respect for Lee Keegan.
One of the greatest to never win an AI.
And this is not a criticism of his article but my thoughts on it.
Lee opens his article by lamenting the state of Gaelic Football , the packed defence and the lateral play to counteract it.
He then closes his article by praising Mickey Hartes Louth and their packed defence and the lateral game that has raised these minnows of the game to be contenders.
And that is where we are. Managers have figured a way to bring the game to a level where any group of bonded players singing of the same sheet can compete with the elite counties of the sport.
The game is in transition and people's expectation will change. This is the evolution of all things.
Even Aussie rules have changed. There is no longer space, even in those vast expanses, for the Gary Abletts Jason Dunstalls etc to chalk up their 100 goals per year.
Scoring 100 goals a year is now a rarity as compared to 15 year ago.

Derryman2 (Derry) - Posts: 12 - 23/03/2023 08:46:24    2465939

Replying To Saynothing:  "In soccer the players have near 650 sq metres space, in GAA the players have near 1000 sq metres. Plenty of space."
No sure how you do Maths - but large Croke Park pitch is 145 x 88 = 12,760 sq m, or 425.33 sq m for each of the 30 players.

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2570 - 24/03/2023 21:15:02    2466365

Would the Joe Brolly "Exclusion Zone" improve Gaelic football? It would certainly change it! - for the better, in my opinion - but it would need to be trialled.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/exclusion-zone-can-destroy-blanket-joe-brolly-outlines-his-plan-to-make-football-a-skill-based-spectacle-once-again-37368216.html

Joe Brolly says:
"I am proposing that the scoring zone around the goals becomes an exclusion zone, where a defending player can only man-mark - no one can take up a space there unless he is man-marking. We have trialled this and it looks great. So, there would be a semi-circle (marked in fluorescent yellow) from the end line, 10 metres in from each sideline, running to 35 metres at its tip".

For easier policing by the linesman, I would have a 'rectangular' Exclusion Zone - say, at a new 33 metre broken line - defender is "offside" is behind the 33 without an attacking player.

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2570 - 24/03/2023 21:32:33    2466368

Replying To omahant:  "Would the Joe Brolly "Exclusion Zone" improve Gaelic football? It would certainly change it! - for the better, in my opinion - but it would need to be trialled.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/exclusion-zone-can-destroy-blanket-joe-brolly-outlines-his-plan-to-make-football-a-skill-based-spectacle-once-again-37368216.html

Joe Brolly says:
"I am proposing that the scoring zone around the goals becomes an exclusion zone, where a defending player can only man-mark - no one can take up a space there unless he is man-marking. We have trialled this and it looks great. So, there would be a semi-circle (marked in fluorescent yellow) from the end line, 10 metres in from each sideline, running to 35 metres at its tip".

For easier policing by the linesman, I would have a 'rectangular' Exclusion Zone - say, at a new 33 metre broken line - defender is "offside" is behind the 33 without an attacking player."
Nonsense, playing Gaelic football evolves with time. Officials can't keep players out of the wee square, in on top of goalies so now he wants this. In soccer if a team kept the ball and play back and forwards until they got an opening for goal people would be raving about the great play.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 25/03/2023 09:46:14    2466386

Gaelic football has morphed into a rugby type game where the ball is not kicked any more but passed back and forth with multiple opponents converging on the player in possession. The only players capable of pointing a forty five (with a few exceptions) is the goalie. Watching teams like Derry and Armagh would put you to sleep, fair play to Lee Keegan for calling it out.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 25/03/2023 11:33:10    2466406