National Hurling League 2023

Replying To tiobraid:  "I hope we see better in the championship than this. Woeful stuff. Kilkenny on this performance are far from guaranteed to get out of Leinster. Limerick have hardly looked interested"
Dublin and Wexford's league performances were even worse so Kilkenny don't need to be too worried on that front. Was very poor from them yesterday though, no doubt about that. They may as well have gotten on the bus at half time

Báireoir (Dublin) - Posts: 80 - 10/04/2023 12:08:41    2469990

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Limerick scored 2-20 had 20 wides and no score from Cian,gearoid,Peter or Tom when brought in..if someone had said an 11 point win over cats and those four not scoring I'd have laughed..also 3 boys missing in William,Kyle and Declan..I'm not getting carried away and feel munster is still going to be a problem and god only knows what Waterford will bring..some huge decisions to be made as I think mike,Dan and cahal are playing outstanding stuff so who loses out is beyond me..the performance from backs today was very good..limerick penalized for throwing the ball on 2 or 3 occasions which were completely wrong..I also thought gearoid and boylan were never going to get a free today..onwards now for championship and hope we can get another amazing year.."
Munster will be more difficult than yesterday, I expect, but at this stage I cannot see any team stopping Limerick. All last year, and again in the closing stages of this year's league, they have been without some key players and are still far too good for everyone. Two years ago, I thought that if Limerick had to play without Hannon or Lynch they might struggle, but it doesn't seem to matter who's missing, they have more than adequate replacements and their panel is growing stronger and stronger. They are an extremely well-oiled machine with loads of spare parts available if needed.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 541 - 10/04/2023 12:32:35    2469995

Replying To daveboy:  "Solid win
Loads to work on. Kieky was visibly upset at several elements today. No let up over next 2 weeks. A v b next Sunday will be tasty"
I think most of all he'll be disappointed with the contribution off the bench. They are meant to come in and make an impact and this is meant to be a given. Young inexperienced or not I think Kiely will demand more from some of the young guns when they come in as subs.
Really utilised the direct ball into Gillane and Flanagan yesterday who both were excellent I thought. Kk and I think other teams will have learned a lot, you can't push up to nullify the half forward line as you'll be destroyed inside or you can't retreat either as the half forward line will just pop them from distance like in the AI final. Teams will almost have to go man on man and forget about pushing up or retreating back and just put faith on your marker. Pushing up being the greater of the two evils as you are going to concede goals. KK will be a different animal as they can go through the gears in Leinster and have Westmeath up first. For the Munster teams it's an immediate bear bit and it's immediately do or die for all concerned. If Waterford were to somehow cause an upset in two weeks time it would be an even bigger dog fight

Thought Colin Coughlan was very good again yesterday both himself and O'Neill pushing very hard for starting places.But what would you do with Kyle Hayes then as he has to play. Dan Morrissey looks composed at full back or Center back and I see him starting at full back with Finn and Nash nailed on starters.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 384 - 10/04/2023 13:45:09    2470006

Replying To tiobraid:  "Unbelievable really. Those 3 often get 10+ points between them.
Been saying it for years that Gillane isn't a free taker. Haven't seen frees missed like that at Junior A club standard.
Most of us will say you win nothing without a free taker yet limerick are winning everything without a top free taker - although maybe Byrnes accuracy from long range ones evens things out.
Limerick really went through the motions yesterday and a fair chunk of it was played at challenge match pace. I expect them to win the All ireland comfortably but I don't think they'll get an easier game than that this year. Hugely disappointing spectacle but Limerick won't care nor should they"
I thought Kilkenny were just waiting in the long grass. Don't know after yesterday. Hard to pull yourself up from that but they are the cats and we all know what they can do. Just as well Cody isn't around or there wouldn't be enough of band aids in training tomorrow night.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 10/04/2023 14:52:48    2470024

I thought Richie English done well when introduced, very composed.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 10/04/2023 14:55:48    2470029

Replying To Báireoir:  "Dublin and Wexford's league performances were even worse so Kilkenny don't need to be too worried on that front. Was very poor from them yesterday though, no doubt about that. They may as well have gotten on the bus at half time"
League means absolutely nothing. Surely last year we were flying won 5 from 5, then got hammered by Waterford, and then only started playing for the last 20 minutes in the games at home against Galway and Dublin in the Round Robin.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11715 - 10/04/2023 15:07:19    2470037

Replying To tiobraid:  "Unbelievable really. Those 3 often get 10+ points between them.
Been saying it for years that Gillane isn't a free taker. Haven't seen frees missed like that at Junior A club standard.
Most of us will say you win nothing without a free taker yet limerick are winning everything without a top free taker - although maybe Byrnes accuracy from long range ones evens things out.
Limerick really went through the motions yesterday and a fair chunk of it was played at challenge match pace. I expect them to win the All ireland comfortably but I don't think they'll get an easier game than that this year. Hugely disappointing spectacle but Limerick won't care nor should they"
Very unlike Kilkenny, normally they die with their boats on,cats manager and selector were trying to get the lads to keep going,bar the first 20 mins and 5 mins second half, Kilkenny folded.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 10/04/2023 16:55:23    2470063

Replying To Bon:  "I thought Richie English done well when introduced, very composed."
He done very well but you nearly have five all stars to pick for three places,mike Casey was excellent yesterday but I would start Dan at full back, outside of Nicky,the competition is crazy on every line for Limerick.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 10/04/2023 17:03:54    2470066

Replying To Canuck:  "I thought Kilkenny were just waiting in the long grass. Don't know after yesterday. Hard to pull yourself up from that but they are the cats and we all know what they can do. Just as well Cody isn't around or there wouldn't be enough of band aids in training tomorrow night."
Ya I suppose it is only the league. Its easy forget thoough that they almost didnt make it out of Leinster last year - despite winning it! It certainly gives the other 3 main contenders hope. A lot is being pinned on TJs return but hes another year older and another injury further on with no hurling for a few months so it'll be interesting to see how he is brought back into the team. Seems like he could go on for ever but age catches up with everyone and there is a fair chance he might not have the same impact this year. Its a big ask coming back from a lay off into a condensed championship.
There are a few teams going into the championship that most of us couldnt probably get lost to guessing their starting 15 and KK is one of those. They have to go to Corrigan Park and Wexford Park which will be two tough games. Could be another exciting Leinster cship

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 11/04/2023 10:43:06    2470158

alot of head high tackles made on limerick players last sunday and not one card dished out imagine if a limerick done one the tv and social media would out for blood

leftback (Limerick) - Posts: 64 - 11/04/2023 18:11:18    2470364

Replying To tiobraid:  "Ya I suppose it is only the league. Its easy forget thoough that they almost didnt make it out of Leinster last year - despite winning it! It certainly gives the other 3 main contenders hope. A lot is being pinned on TJs return but hes another year older and another injury further on with no hurling for a few months so it'll be interesting to see how he is brought back into the team. Seems like he could go on for ever but age catches up with everyone and there is a fair chance he might not have the same impact this year. Its a big ask coming back from a lay off into a condensed championship.
There are a few teams going into the championship that most of us couldnt probably get lost to guessing their starting 15 and KK is one of those. They have to go to Corrigan Park and Wexford Park which will be two tough games. Could be another exciting Leinster cship"
Hasn't been a bad one in the Round Robin era!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11715 - 11/04/2023 22:04:37    2470397

Replying To leftback:  "alot of head high tackles made on limerick players last sunday and not one card dished out imagine if a limerick done one the tv and social media would out for blood"
Couldn't agree more. Big awkward agricultural challenges from the likes of Walsh the corner back on Peter Casey and nothing said about it

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 12/04/2023 08:59:02    2470410

Very surprised to see Fergal Horgan pack it in. Really strange comments given the games he has gotten. I dont remember other refs getting semis and finals in the same year. Only Barry Kelly and James Gavin have refereed more All Irelands in the past 30 years and I'd imagine they were on the scene far longer.
Munster refs refereed the last 3 All Ireland finals and this years club final and he indicates Munster refs arent getting a fair crack at it.
A really good referee that very few ever seemed to have issue with but obviously his head got too big!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 12/04/2023 09:57:20    2470427

Replying To Shocs07:  "Couldn't agree more. Big awkward agricultural challenges from the likes of Walsh the corner back on Peter Casey and nothing said about it"
You cant win on this one, complain and you will be told you are whinging do the same thing and you'll have all the lads on again who can't understand Limericks "discipline issues" thats the popular narrative for the time being.
Just need to drive on and ignore the noise.

" "More people who have no idea, who aren't in the arena, who can't influence anything, where it's just another example in life, ignore the noise. No one knows. Believe in yourself, believe in what you're doing, believe in your process, believe in your teammates. These are the things that are important. These are the things that matter." Brady

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 384 - 12/04/2023 10:35:32    2470443

Tiobraid don't know about getting a big head..always thought he was a very fair and good ref..he always seemed to have respect from players to..he,ll be a huge loss as year moves on..a worry for me is he mentioned refs having failed fitness tests doing some big matches in past few weeks..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2206 - 12/04/2023 10:47:46    2470448

Replying To tiobraid:  "Very surprised to see Fergal Horgan pack it in. Really strange comments given the games he has gotten. I dont remember other refs getting semis and finals in the same year. Only Barry Kelly and James Gavin have refereed more All Irelands in the past 30 years and I'd imagine they were on the scene far longer.
Munster refs refereed the last 3 All Ireland finals and this years club final and he indicates Munster refs arent getting a fair crack at it.
A really good referee that very few ever seemed to have issue with but obviously his head got too big!"
A very good referee. Sounds like he is making excuses for wanting out though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11715 - 12/04/2023 10:52:40    2470453

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Tiobraid don't know about getting a big head..always thought he was a very fair and good ref..he always seemed to have respect from players to..he,ll be a huge loss as year moves on..a worry for me is he mentioned refs having failed fitness tests doing some big matches in past few weeks.."
Yeah, if it's true that referees who failed fitness tests still got matches that would be a concern, especially if guys who passed the tests are being ignored. There's more to being a good referee than being fit, but why bother with the tests if those who fail can still be appointed?

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 541 - 12/04/2023 11:24:34    2470465

Replying To tiobraid:  "Very surprised to see Fergal Horgan pack it in. Really strange comments given the games he has gotten. I dont remember other refs getting semis and finals in the same year. Only Barry Kelly and James Gavin have refereed more All Irelands in the past 30 years and I'd imagine they were on the scene far longer.
A really good referee that very few ever seemed to have issue with but obviously his head got too big!"
Top Referee huge loss to GAA you always felt you got fair play from him, knew how to leave game on the edge too, James McGrath retired very early too Barry Kelly also good ref felt he left too early.

I wish him well

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 878 - 12/04/2023 11:31:54    2470467

Horgan will definitely regret those comments yesterday. Some of the stuff he said just doesn't stand up. Of the last 6 AI finals he personally has reffed 3 of them and in 2019 he couldn't because Tipp were in it. Lyons reffed last years final and fergal has had numerous semi finals over that stretch. He has been the best ref in the country over that period for me. His ability to talk to players, explain why a free is a free, call them by their name, not be dismissive and arrogant. He was exceptional and always fair to the teams and the game. I was shocked with some if the things he said. As for fitness I haven't seen that from refs in any of the matches I've been at.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1123 - 12/04/2023 11:48:50    2470476