2023 Dublin NFL Div 2 thread

Replying To thelongridge:  "A lot of teams try to wind the clock down like Clare, when leading a game as underdogs. A team should try and build on a lead, rather than play around with the ball.
Looked like a shock result for a long time, but Dublin reeled them in."
Had they been more positive towards the end they would have won. Admittedly its a big ask to beat Dublin in CP with 20,000 people roaring them on as though it was an AI final. They lost a similar lead to Kildare in Ennis the week before and have had a few similar collapses in recent years. They were very impressive earlier when going straight at Dublin. They are a team I would like to see stay up.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2528 - 27/02/2023 17:45:59    2460788

Looking forward to this Saturday. Many of you coming up lads? Expecting a 10k crowd at Celtic Park. Could be a cracker.

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 689 - 27/02/2023 21:46:42    2460845

Teams have tried to wind down the clock against Dublin over the years and they are so good at reeling them in, never panic just work the ball to a scoring position and make sure the right man is on the end of it.

Big question though, if that's Kerry or Mayo maybe even Armagh or Galway who are 6 pts up with 15 to go, does this current Dublin team come back and win?
If Kerry go 6 pts up you're expecting Clifford's and O Shea to tag on another point or 2 for them. Mayo the same with O Connor's, Carr and Conroy.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 28/02/2023 09:08:02    2460865

Replying To kingpuck71:  "Looking forward to this Saturday. Many of you coming up lads? Expecting a 10k crowd at Celtic Park. Could be a cracker."
See you up there my friend. Derry need to be beating 'this' Dublin side if they're to show their true credentials and I genuinely don't think that will be a problem.
Still, should be good!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 28/02/2023 13:51:16    2460953

Replying To kingpuck71:  "Looking forward to this Saturday. Many of you coming up lads? Expecting a 10k crowd at Celtic Park. Could be a cracker."
Should be a really good game. I'm expecting Derry to run out winners by a few points. Dublin's back's aren't firing. Too much inexperience and a couple of older legs. We're conceding far too many scores just now. Still, it will be a good battle. Love Celtic Park.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/03/2023 11:58:17    2461155

Difficult game ahead

It's an away game so I hope Dublin bring a more defensive minded approach, need to be patient, look for the turnovers, stay disciplined, defend in numbers and counter. Derry were very capable in dismantling Meath and kicking a large score before half time.

This game will be won in defense imo so we need the best showing of that to date

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/03/2023 17:52:49    2461661

Yep, don't fancy us at all for this one. A good showing will suffice for now.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 04/03/2023 14:48:23    2461759

Replying To realdub:  "Yep, don't fancy us at all for this one. A good showing will suffice for now."
Dublin 7/4. Fill your boots :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2528 - 04/03/2023 15:58:58    2461775

All about the defence today, I don't mind the result, but it's a great test for a few hopefuls at the back and be looking for a bit if character and resilience against a top 4 side.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 04/03/2023 16:08:54    2461777

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Dublin 7/4. Fill your boots :-)"
Don't tempt me :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 04/03/2023 16:11:26    2461780

Replying To realdub:  "Don't tempt me :D"
Not betting but it's seldom you see Dublin at such long odds. No idea what to expect, Gallagher is slippery lad too. He might want to do the Dubs over, but I reckon he be mostly keeping his powder dry. Reasonably good chance both will win their province and meet in championship.

Looking forward to it and slightly regretting I didn't take offer of lift this morning.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2528 - 04/03/2023 16:20:20    2461782

I will say it now. Dublin are going to win the All Ireland this year.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 04/03/2023 17:42:57    2461792

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I will say it now. Dublin are going to win the All Ireland this year."
Not if Hurson is the ref.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2528 - 04/03/2023 18:19:59    2461794

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I will say it now. Dublin are going to win the All Ireland this year."
Must be great for the lads from the north knowing everytime they hit the deck they get a free

ctowers (Dublin) - Posts: 99 - 04/03/2023 18:27:41    2461795

A little premature Ulsterman? Well done to Derry, not a bad game for a Div 2 fixture!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 04/03/2023 18:36:23    2461796

Well done Derry. Fair play

Good performance from Dublin

Kilkenny should have picked out Costello for a tap in

Really really silly ball retention from Dublin at the end

Ran into a ridiculous turn over on the side line and Mick Fitz decides to overly commit and then gets caught

Hold the ball lads... Very poor

WTF Davy Byrne is doing up in the corner with Mick Fitz on his shoulder

Ah well, absolutely threw away a result there but if you have very experienced players making silly daft decisions that's what loses games

A lot to take from that defeat.

Congrats again to Derry, very good 2nd half and Dublin's leaking goals continues

Got away with one last week, not so fortunate this week but it was a good performance, just some poor decisions in the end

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/03/2023 18:41:13    2461799

Replying To ctowers:  "Must be great for the lads from the north knowing everytime they hit the deck they get a free"
Bring back Joe McQuillan, eh?

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 04/03/2023 18:43:01    2461800

Thought Hurson had a very inconsistent game & gave Dublin very little. Enjoyable game all the same. See yis in Navan!!

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 04/03/2023 18:47:54    2461804

Another great game, Div 2 has been very competitive

Derry deserve to be on top after Dublin threw away a result.

These are things you didn't see under Gavin

Davy Byrne and Mick Fitz deserve an absolute bollicking imo

Why on earth Dublin carried the ball into that position in the first place... But then to leave ourselves so exposed to a counter... arrggh.. There's valuable lessons in that defeat if they want to learn them.

Good to see Howard back, machine of a player, has it all, ah well.. keep moving forward

Again though, well done Derry

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/03/2023 18:58:49    2461806

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Bring back Joe McQuillan, eh?"
I think that that constitutes your best defence says it all!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2528 - 04/03/2023 19:08:02    2461808