Demise Of The GAA Pubs

The pints in Quinns were always cat. It was good craic on match days though.

Meaghers is a good bar for a pint. McGraths too.
Phil Ryan's and Gills. All superior to Quinns IMO.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 13/12/2022 18:46:32    2450350

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Quinn's closed about 4-6 years ago. The new owners applied for planning permission to build apartments on the site about two years ago. The planners refused them stating the historical significance of this pub during GAA matches. Nothing has happened to the Quinn's site since.
However the GAA sold land at Holy Cross College where GAA supporters parked for matches in Croke Park, at the junction of Clonliffe Road and Jones Road to an international developer who got planning permission for 1,600 build to rent apartments. (The biggest scheme in Dublin). One of the proposed apartment blocks is 18 stories high. A very high percentage of these apartments are single bedroom apartments. (Not family friendly). The GAA also plan to build a new hotel on part of the land that they have retained.

If this huge development goes ahead (is actually built) don't be surprised if the new owners of Quinn's might reconsider their options and built a super Gastro Pub?

McGraths, Kennedy's. Fagans & The Big Tree still going."
Not everything has to suit families. Contrary to popular belief not everyone has or wants to have a family.

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 13/12/2022 18:49:08    2450351

A quarter of all pubs since 2000 have closed. Times be changing and it won't get better. Various reasons including the cost, more people drinking at home, and younger people drinking less. Honestly, I'm fine with people drinking less because alcohol causes a lot of problems in Irish society. Sad to see people lose their businesses though.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 13/12/2022 19:23:41    2450353

Replying To Canuck:  "The problem is we now have an element in our society with a loud voice as to what people should do and not do. The local pub was the social center in rural areas for many people. Mental health deteriorated for many when the obstacles to going there made it impossible to do. Would we prefer they stay at home with no social interaction and blowing their brains out with cocaine or a shot gun ? Laws were required to control drunk drivers from driving at 100mph and killing people. We always seem to take the sledge hammer to kill a fly. However I would like to see the stats on how many accidents occurred by the local travelling 5km to his local social center (pub).
Back on your subject the demise of these pubs is a loss with a few factors the cause. I have a brother who never touched alcohol in his life but would want to stop in every pub between Thurles and Waterford. We never objected."
Drink driving should not be permitted for any distance full stop and you won't this to be a popular policy outside of a few old lads.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 13/12/2022 19:29:39    2450354

Tomsmith here from Cavan Town home of Cavan Gaels.

I suppose Ulster has the worst ( Pint dinkers view) availability of Pubs close toGaa County fields.
Sunday observance in the past forced a lot of spectators to bring the flask and home made egg sambo must to the displeasure of nearby spectators .
If you take Clones you have to walk all the way down to the Creighton Hotel,
Indeed in Kingspan Breffni Park actually has no Pub nearby,
The Old meadowview , or indeed my own fountain of knowledge the Imperial are all 5/6 fulongs away.
So it is understandable that we Cavan people take our small eats with us away up toDublin.
Sure when Berkeley Rd Chapel take all the change lft after lock hard gets his dues sure it down to flask and Sambos to keep the fearr Gortha away untill we get back past Whitegate Cross

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3858 - 13/12/2022 21:27:23    2450361

Can we get a way like other forums to quote two posts at the same time?

The problem is we now have an element in our society with a loud voice as to what people should do and not do. The local pub was the social center in rural areas for many people. Mental health deteriorated for many when the obstacles to going there made it impossible to do. Would we prefer they stay at home with no social interaction and blowing their brains out with cocaine or a shot gun ? Laws were required to control drunk drivers from driving at 100mph and killing people. We always seem to take the sledge hammer to kill a fly. However I would like to see the stats on how many accidents occurred by the local travelling 5km to his local social center (pub).
Back on your subject the demise of these pubs is a loss with a few factors the cause. I have a brother who never touched alcohol in his life but would want to stop in every pub between Thurles and Waterford. We never objected.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2326 - 13/12/2022 14:21:0

we've always had that.
The local pub was the social centre in rural areas for many people and that wasnt ideal as it was focused so much around alcohol(and i speak as someone who has extensive experience working in pubs/bars and bars at events....)
Alcohol is a major factor in many mental health issues as well.
Drink driving had to be cut and people having a few drinks coming home from the pub just isnt on. Now there should be and should have been more assistance giving to publicans to assist people get home from their establishments to stop them drink driving

The modern rural generation of 18 to 30 year olds are not ones for sitting in a rural pub drinking pints anymore.

They are into their coffee, gym, cocktails bars, restaurants and weekends away.

The rural pub just doesn't cut it for them, not fashionable enough.

That's the reality.
Past hurler (None) - Posts: 460 - 13/12/2022 17:36:42

You dont know many 18 to 30 year olds then, many most certainly will go to the rural pub as they wont be able to get near or want to be near one of these "cocktail bars".
The 18 to 30 year olds who enjoy coffee, gym, weekends away still go to their locals as well. nothing about it not being fashionable enough.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 13/12/2022 21:56:44    2450363

Replying To yew_tree:  "It's dying rapid…at least the GAA club draws the young people back at the weekends and for the summer. Without the GAA we would have nothing left."
That's what Fine Gael wants - nothing left in rural ireland so everyone is driven into urban areas .
The closure of practically all garda stations in rural ireland by this party has lead to law and order breakdown .

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 673 - 14/12/2022 08:38:55    2450368

Replying To Rolo2010:  "A quarter of all pubs since 2000 have closed. Times be changing and it won't get better. Various reasons including the cost, more people drinking at home, and younger people drinking less. Honestly, I'm fine with people drinking less because alcohol causes a lot of problems in Irish society. Sad to see people lose their businesses though."
Yeah an aspiring entrepreneur would be better off opening a coffee shop than a bar these days. In the small town I grew up in there were 7 pubs going when I was in my teens. There are now just about 3 going. Running a small rural pub must be near impossible now.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 14/12/2022 09:27:36    2450372

Replying To Rolo2010:  "Drink driving should not be permitted for any distance full stop and you won't this to be a popular policy outside of a few old lads."
Ya may be these "old lad" should be euthanized. They are senior citizens to begin with if you are interested in showing respect. If you read my post properly I said laws need to be enacted to control drinking and driving causing death. My point was the effect on people by the demise of the local pub. It stopped the the social interaction for many who became afraid to go there or had an alternative. These people are more likely to be killed walking to the pub if that is even an option that killing someone themselves. Yes it is difficult to make a selective law but for sure the level of punishment for someone driving on a highway with any amount of alcohol should be severe. They should be jailed.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 14/12/2022 13:07:35    2450393

Replying To Canuck:  "Ya may be these "old lad" should be euthanized. They are senior citizens to begin with if you are interested in showing respect. If you read my post properly I said laws need to be enacted to control drinking and driving causing death. My point was the effect on people by the demise of the local pub. It stopped the the social interaction for many who became afraid to go there or had an alternative. These people are more likely to be killed walking to the pub if that is even an option that killing someone themselves. Yes it is difficult to make a selective law but for sure the level of punishment for someone driving on a highway with any amount of alcohol should be severe. They should be jailed."
I'm not an old fella but I'd say mobile phones cause more accidents these days than drink driving ever did back in the day. And people being in too much of a hurry. A youngish lady sped past me yesterday on an icy road presumably late for the kids. And as a regular motorcyclist I've had far more near misses with people looking down at their phones in the last few years than I ever did back in the late 80s early 90s when drink driving was more prevalent.
I'm not condoning drink driving in general but a statistic I've yet to see is how many accidents and/or deaths are caused by people with less than say 3 pints in them? Why was this not published when they lowered the limit from 80 to 50? Because it proved nearly no accidents were caused by those levels of drink taken probably.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 14/12/2022 14:13:22    2450404

Replying To Canuck:  "Ya may be these "old lad" should be euthanized. They are senior citizens to begin with if you are interested in showing respect. If you read my post properly I said laws need to be enacted to control drinking and driving causing death. My point was the effect on people by the demise of the local pub. It stopped the the social interaction for many who became afraid to go there or had an alternative. These people are more likely to be killed walking to the pub if that is even an option that killing someone themselves. Yes it is difficult to make a selective law but for sure the level of punishment for someone driving on a highway with any amount of alcohol should be severe. They should be jailed."
What a childish response. People are more likely to be killed walking to a pub because they might be hit by a drunk driver. The demise of the pub is happening because Irish society is slowly moving away from alcohol being the centre of social interaction.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 14/12/2022 17:22:36    2450431

Replying To OpenStand:  "That's what Fine Gael wants - nothing left in rural ireland so everyone is driven into urban areas .
The closure of practically all garda stations in rural ireland by this party has lead to law and order breakdown ."
To be fair the rest of them are no better. The GAA clubs are pretty much all that's left keeping rural Ireland, Ireland.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 14/12/2022 17:52:50    2450435

Replying To OpenStand:  "That's what Fine Gael wants - nothing left in rural ireland so everyone is driven into urban areas .
The closure of practically all garda stations in rural ireland by this party has lead to law and order breakdown ."
Not sure about that…whilst I'm not condoning in any way drink driving, there is anger around here lately.

Example Gardai next morning checkpoints, following cats in the countryside with speed checks…yet when your home is broken into or there is a fight in town, they are slow to respond or are nowhere to be seen.

I think priorities need adjusting and fast. Someone mentioned young people are drinking less, in pubs most definitely but not overall. Drugs are also present in every town and village in Ireland which is another major problem.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 15/12/2022 07:56:22    2450446

Replying To Lockjaw:  "The pints in Quinns were always cat. It was good craic on match days though.

Meaghers is a good bar for a pint. McGraths too.
Phil Ryan's and Gills. All superior to Quinns IMO."
Quinns was an awful spot.

Outside of GAA games and student nights it'd be empty the rest of the year round. A bad sign.

Crowds from the country on those days kept it going but it did very little local trade, it's no loss to the area imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 15/12/2022 08:18:12    2450448

Replying To MesAmis:  "Quinns was an awful spot.

Outside of GAA games and student nights it'd be empty the rest of the year round. A bad sign.

Crowds from the country on those days kept it going but it did very little local trade, it's no loss to the area imo."
It was dreadful kip. Preferable to another apartment block all the same.

All pubs on big days are jammed but some such as Meaghers and Bridge, Gills, Triangle, Hogans and a few others managed to retain a nice atmosphere.

Pity if Gills is gone because it was great spot especially on weekend nights for league when it would be busy but comfortable.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 15/12/2022 10:54:04    2450467

Replying To oneoff:  "Not everything has to suit families. Contrary to popular belief not everyone has or wants to have a family."
The wider issue is that Irish apartments are barely even suitable for a single person or couple either. I lived in enough of them in Dublin down the years.

In many countries, e.g., France, it's illegal to build an apartment which doesn't have a bit of space to store stuff. Typically, this will be a basement area where you can park a couple of cars, store bicycles, fishing gear etc - the usual stuff that would go into a garage in a suburban or rural area.

Irish apartments primarily are designed for young brochure couples who have neither children nor possessions, nor a life outside work.

The reason for that is that, in Ireland, only a house is considered a home. Apartments are viewed as short-term living spaces; somewhere you have for a short while before you buy or build a proper house. As a result, in Irish apartments, storage space, and external amenity space, are cut to nothing, and you essentially have a small glossy box to "live" in.

It's calling out for regulation, as apartments can be great places to live in. But if your experience of them has been confined to Irish apartments, you'd be forgiven for being very sceptical about apartments.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 239 - 15/12/2022 11:55:27    2450471

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "The wider issue is that Irish apartments are barely even suitable for a single person or couple either. I lived in enough of them in Dublin down the years.

In many countries, e.g., France, it's illegal to build an apartment which doesn't have a bit of space to store stuff. Typically, this will be a basement area where you can park a couple of cars, store bicycles, fishing gear etc - the usual stuff that would go into a garage in a suburban or rural area.

Irish apartments primarily are designed for young brochure couples who have neither children nor possessions, nor a life outside work.

The reason for that is that, in Ireland, only a house is considered a home. Apartments are viewed as short-term living spaces; somewhere you have for a short while before you buy or build a proper house. As a result, in Irish apartments, storage space, and external amenity space, are cut to nothing, and you essentially have a small glossy box to "live" in.

It's calling out for regulation, as apartments can be great places to live in. But if your experience of them has been confined to Irish apartments, you'd be forgiven for being very sceptical about apartments."
Good points. The problem is that is increasingly evident in Dublin is that while the high rises built 15/20 or even ten years ago were as you say predominantly taken by young single people or couples without children, now people are stuck with them and they are full of children who have no safe access to any kind of green space or outside play areas.

The consequence of that is as it has been in every other country. New slums and ghettoes. We are great people for imitating the proven mistakes of others.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 15/12/2022 12:51:12    2450483

Replying To Rolo2010:  "What a childish response. People are more likely to be killed walking to a pub because they might be hit by a drunk driver. The demise of the pub is happening because Irish society is slowly moving away from alcohol being the centre of social interaction."
The demise of the local pub started by the unavailable ability to the its local patrons. It may have changed some what anyway by the change in socializing habits, You are not living in reality if you believe alcohol and a lot worse is not the centre of social interaction for many.
Personally myself or my family don't need a lesson on the consequences of drunken driving. What I can assure you he was not one of the locals who have gone to the local to play cards, have a few pints and socialize all their lives. He was someone who travelled far and wide doing his thing.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 15/12/2022 14:50:01    2450496

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "The Big Tree was sold and the new owners applied to build a hotel on the site. However the planning permission stated that the front structure of the Big Tree had to be maintained. What exists now is the Big Tree pub with some modifications and a new hotel attached which directly behind it on the North Circular Road. I presume the same person/company owns both premises. The new hotel is called Dublin One which has an additional bar that also does food.
Further down towards Croke Park on the North Circular Road you have The Hogan Stand and The Hideout (down a side road) . Gills pub at Jones Road appears to be closed at the moment."
Gills is gone for good I think. More money to be made in the Dublin area in closing a pub and selling the site for apartments. Mostly only superpubs will be left in the future.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 15/12/2022 20:34:31    2450518

Replying To Canuck:  "The demise of the local pub started by the unavailable ability to the its local patrons. It may have changed some what anyway by the change in socializing habits, You are not living in reality if you believe alcohol and a lot worse is not the centre of social interaction for many.
Personally myself or my family don't need a lesson on the consequences of drunken driving. What I can assure you he was not one of the locals who have gone to the local to play cards, have a few pints and socialize all their lives. He was someone who travelled far and wide doing his thing."
I am living in reality unlike you who keeps shouting at the wind and demanding that Ireland rolls back the last 25 years. I know alcohol is a centre for a lot of people and that's not a good thing. We have huge problems with alcohol in this country.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 15/12/2022 21:59:23    2450523