Cavan Seniors 23

MESSAGE TO CAVAN MANAGEMENT.
Watching the 1st half of Antrim /Meath
See what happens when you kick the ball forward???????
PLEASE TAKE NOTE.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 25/06/2023 14:28:39    2489110

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "I agree …. Development squads are a waste of time and money….. A lot of counties pick these squads and then stick rigidly to them as they go up the age groups all the way to senior level thus missing out on late developing players that may be a lot better… It also takes players away from their clubs and sows a seed of over importance in them that they are actually better than they are and don't need to improve their game as they have the feeling of having made it…. Not much has ever came from these squads that has helped Cavan at senior level…"
Works well for us down the road, must be something in the water

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 25/06/2023 20:55:58    2489295

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Works well for us down the road, must be something in the water"
You got something going with your minors this year… Good luck in the Final

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 25/06/2023 22:16:30    2489321

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Works well for us down the road, must be something in the water"
Fair play to ye and hope ye beat Derry in the final but for some reason there is a complete change of mindset in the Monaghan under age set up ye fear no one and now unlike a few years ago normally come out on top in tight matches must have brought in a good psychologist where as Cavan now need to be 7 or 8 points better than the opposition to beat them by one.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 26/06/2023 10:00:31    2489395

We still drinking Celtic pure water up here

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 26/06/2023 10:38:00    2489425

Tyrone were cruising against Monaghan in the Ulster Minor Semi and threw it away. Cavan were 6 pts up against Donegal with 5 minutes to go and lost. Donegal were probably the better team overall but Cavan collapsed at the end

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 26/06/2023 11:30:26    2489451

https://hoganstand.com/Forum/FindPost?MessageID=2485794

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 26/06/2023 20:20:34    2489794

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "it will be interesting to see if Down play the same manure they played in the league probably one of the worst teams to watch in ireland if they do we are in for a real treat."
interesting indeed

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 26/06/2023 20:21:17    2489795

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "As the saying goes.." you can only dance with the girls that are in the hall " … hopefully from this year on we will be playing a much higher quality of opponent… The brilliant current management set up is the reason we have wasted 3 years playing these teams so we have to put up with it.,,,"
just demonstrating here. There are a few posters on here who claim to be the authoritive voice when it comes to football but it seems they actually are not that great at judging teams at all.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 26/06/2023 20:23:28    2489796

Replying To s goldrick:  "just demonstrating here. There are a few posters on here who claim to be the authoritive voice when it comes to football but it seems they actually are not that great at judging teams at all."
I think it's management that haven't a great judge of teams….let it be the one they are picking or the one they are playing against….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 27/06/2023 10:11:02    2489894

Replying To s goldrick:  "interesting indeed"
You have to hand it to Down for having the courage to change their style of play. They realised the " manure" they were playing was getting them nowhere and since they became more direct they have become a far better team.
When will we learn? Or will we ever.
All 4 teams in the Tailteann semis played direct football , why would we spoil that with the type of manure we play???

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 27/06/2023 10:31:39    2489903

Replying To s goldrick:  "interesting indeed"
i also stated elsewhere that it was a shame to see Down playing such manure as they had brilliant footballers and if they went out and tried to play football they could easily beat anyone left in the tailteann cup. I can understand how teams with limited panels such as louth and fermanagh( could also include cavan here) can play this defensive manure but not a county like down that have had great under age teams for the past few years. Great to see Down trying to play football again and they will make mince meat of the Meath defense in the final if they continue to play football.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 27/06/2023 12:26:45    2489996

genuine question for this forum to debate.
why are Monaghan a County with a smaller population to Cavan and our biggest & longest rivals so far ahead of us at all levels.
their Senior team is competing in Division 1 for approx 10 years while we have experienced all divisions in the last 4/5 years and they stand a great chance of making an All Ireland Semi final next weekend. yes we have won a Ulster championship more recently than them but even the most fervent Cavan supporter would acknowledge how much further advanced their team is.
Monaghan minors have just qualified for the All Ireland minor final and their U20's (despite us beating them well last year) are far more consistent and competitive than we have been for years.
to me it appears that both Monaghan players and supporters are far more passionate about their Jersey than Cavan are and while football is the number 1 sport in Cavan we appear a lot more passive about it.
what are peoples genuine opinions for this and what do we as a County need to do to replicate their achievements ??

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 27/06/2023 12:36:05    2490003

Replying To bond:  "genuine question for this forum to debate.
why are Monaghan a County with a smaller population to Cavan and our biggest & longest rivals so far ahead of us at all levels.
their Senior team is competing in Division 1 for approx 10 years while we have experienced all divisions in the last 4/5 years and they stand a great chance of making an All Ireland Semi final next weekend. yes we have won a Ulster championship more recently than them but even the most fervent Cavan supporter would acknowledge how much further advanced their team is.
Monaghan minors have just qualified for the All Ireland minor final and their U20's (despite us beating them well last year) are far more consistent and competitive than we have been for years.
to me it appears that both Monaghan players and supporters are far more passionate about their Jersey than Cavan are and while football is the number 1 sport in Cavan we appear a lot more passive about it.
what are peoples genuine opinions for this and what do we as a County need to do to replicate their achievements ??"
Did you hear about the Monaghan man with an inferiority complex? He thought he was the same as everyone else! Having knocked about with plenty of Monaghan people down the years they approach nothing in life with a lack of confidence, sometimes to the point of annoyance. They bring that attitude to the football pitch and believe they can beat anyone even if all logic says they can't. I think Cavan are stuck in a long long term rut and are beat before they get on the pitch a lot of the time

Calving4Sam (Cavan) - Posts: 69 - 27/06/2023 12:56:23    2490027

what are peoples genuine opinions for this and what do we as a County need to do to replicate their achievements ??"
They have a serious will to win attitude. They always had that.
Not that exciting football wise to watch but great determination and never give up as they showed last weekend.
They have a lot of players in the mid 30s bracket. Big players like the 2 Hughes, McManus, K O Connell and they will take replacing.
Mc Manus was as good a footballer as you will ever see.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 27/06/2023 13:13:59    2490037

Monagahan have a great underage structure at club level. All underage teams get plenty of football with the league and championship structures. Every team in each division play each other home and away, so if there's 8 teams in Division 1, they'll play each other twice meaning at least 14 league games in the league and same with championship and then semi-final and final. Then you got Cavan, 8 teams in Division 1, they'll play 7 games with a possible semi-final and final, although Cavan have no introduced shield semis and finals. But you cant under estimate game time for underage and its one of the reasons why Monaghan are ahead of us in terms of development. The other reason is our development squads, they are development for the elite, so its actually harder to get out of a development squad in Cavan than to get in. You go in at 14 and almost guaranteed a spot on the minor panel a few years later, whereas a player at 14 and not yet developed gets left behind but could turn out to be a very good minor footballer but doesnt get called in.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 27/06/2023 15:55:54    2490132

Replying To Breffni1969:  "They have a serious will to win attitude. They always had that.
Not that exciting football wise to watch but great determination and never give up as they showed last weekend.
They have a lot of players in the mid 30s bracket. Big players like the 2 Hughes, McManus, K O Connell and they will take replacing.
Mc Manus was as good a footballer as you will ever see."
I totally agree with all that…. We had no forward since Johnston who comes even close to McManus… Their will to win and eke out results when you'd think they were beat would put our lot to shame… We could somehow loose games at all levels when holding a decent lead.. Monaghan always backed themselves regardless of who the opponent was…. Any time we were drawn to play Tyrone we'd be a beaten docket hours before throw in….that would never be in their make up…. A lot of their better players are getting to the veteran stage but they have given their supporters going times with an unbroken 10 year stay in Division 1 … We need to get up to their will to win attitude and never say die approach because we have every bit as good a group of players to choose from… Change all around needed..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 27/06/2023 18:18:59    2490219

Several reasons:

1. Monaghan have a resolute self belief. They literally fear nobody. By contrast, Cavan have a losers mentality.

2. Monaghan clubs are much stronger. Just look at Cavan clubs teams record in the Ulster club championship this past 20 years. Speaks for itself.

3. Cavan "supporters" have very low expectations and the county as a whole lacks the ambition to change things.

4. Cavan live in the past. People still talk about 1997 like it was yesterday.

Cavan will never change, and that was a bitter pill for me to swallow. But after going to games for years, I eventually realised that the problems were systemic, and it simply isn't a matter of changing managers, picking other players etc. The truth is, whilst everyone wants to win, nobody wants to make the structural changes from the grassroots up to make it happen.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 27/06/2023 20:27:41    2490245

its only in the past 5 years or so that their minors and under 21 have really started to challenge so some thing has drastically changed there either brilliant mentors and coaching and a complete change in mindset, The standard of their club football is also way ahead of Cavan and they seem to have at least one team from either senior intermediate or junior club final in the uslter final each year. Hard to know why have they less clubs they are hardy bucks and seem much more committed than our lads. Have they now two teams playing in the mcrory cup i think carrickmacross also play at this level along with mccartens which is a big help to their minors.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 27/06/2023 21:11:25    2490249

just checked Monaghan actually have three teams playing in the mcrory cup last year St mccartens, Carrickmacross and Castleblayney its some going to have so many teams playing at this elite level.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 27/06/2023 21:21:51    2490251