Cavan Seniors 23

A woeful performance…, we were lucky Down didn't get 2/3 more goals… We had a player at one stage 25/30 yards from goals but he turned around and kicked it 50 yards backwards out over the line from which Down scored a point… you couldn't make it up.. Is it any wonder such a small attendance turned up to see such tripe… yet people continue to sing the praises of this management set up… what on earth are they looking at or do they know the slightest thing about football… A total clear out needed as it's becoming embarrassing at this stage….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1930 - 19/06/2023 10:14:50    2487104

Agree result no real shock we were not playing well this year Galligan a huge loss the one player who apart from the tailteann cup final last year always raised his game in the championship. Thanks to Mickey and the lads for all the hard work and dedication put in over the past 5 years and great memories 2020 sure there was also disappointments along the way. it seems like the end of an era and many retirements will now follow. We will be back to our normal cycle new team and management next year with very little talent available in the county to replace the 7 or 8 players who go and we will be lucky to win another Anglo Celt cup within the next 20 years regardless of who manages us. 1969 1977 2020 when next 2042. I probably wont be around to see it.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 19/06/2023 10:19:13    2487110

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Agree result no real shock we were not playing well this year Galligan a huge loss the one player who apart from the tailteann cup final last year always raised his game in the championship. Thanks to Mickey and the lads for all the hard work and dedication put in over the past 5 years and great memories 2020 sure there was also disappointments along the way. it seems like the end of an era and many retirements will now follow. We will be back to our normal cycle new team and management next year with very little talent available in the county to replace the 7 or 8 players who go and we will be lucky to win another Anglo Celt cup within the next 20 years regardless of who manages us. 1969 1977 2020 when next 2042. I probably wont be around to see it."
Can you really see 7 or 8 going? Martin Reilly certainly, maybe 2 or 3 others, but I don't think it'll be 7 or 8. Not sure what James Smith's plans are but I believe he wanted to go the the states last summer. I think getting himself and Galligan back would make a massive difference.

I do agree, it's time for Mickey to call it a day. 2020 will always be remembered fondly but it seems to have gone a bit stale. I don't think the backroom appointments were good, at all.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 19/06/2023 10:40:25    2487136

Cavanblueman will be putting the defeat down to Terry Hyland who hasn't managed Cavan since 2016

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 19/06/2023 11:03:30    2487169

Replying To cavanman47:  "Can you really see 7 or 8 going? Martin Reilly certainly, maybe 2 or 3 others, but I don't think it'll be 7 or 8. Not sure what James Smith's plans are but I believe he wanted to go the the states last summer. I think getting himself and Galligan back would make a massive difference.

I do agree, it's time for Mickey to call it a day. 2020 will always be remembered fondly but it seems to have gone a bit stale. I don't think the backroom appointments were good, at all."
Agree 100% that things have gone stale. Big thanks to Mickey for 2020. Every Ulster Championship win is cherished.
But we cant keep doing the same things game in game out and expecting different results.
Apart from Martin Reilly who Father Time has probably caught up with a new management team with fresh ideas might rejuvenate the panel.
Just keep Ricey away from things because he adds nothing.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 19/06/2023 11:19:54    2487184

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "A woeful performance…, we were lucky Down didn't get 2/3 more goals… We had a player at one stage 25/30 yards from goals but he turned around and kicked it 50 yards backwards out over the line from which Down scored a point… you couldn't make it up.. Is it any wonder such a small attendance turned up to see such tripe… yet people continue to sing the praises of this management set up… what on earth are they looking at or do they know the slightest thing about football… A total clear out needed as it's becoming embarrassing at this stage…."
All us genuine Cavan supporters know that there are many problems with the team and management and that change is needed at this stage. It's just that we don't put ourselves in the position you find yourself in of taking an extreme view of things to the point where on Saturday, I believe, you were hoping Cavan would lose just so you could start banging your drum again this morning. You can disagree with people without accusing them of knowing nothing about football and you can also criticise management without personally insulting them.

BreffniGael (Cavan) - Posts: 46 - 19/06/2023 11:33:11    2487205

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "A woeful performance…, we were lucky Down didn't get 2/3 more goals… We had a player at one stage 25/30 yards from goals but he turned around and kicked it 50 yards backwards out over the line from which Down scored a point… you couldn't make it up.. Is it any wonder such a small attendance turned up to see such tripe… yet people continue to sing the praises of this management set up… what on earth are they looking at or do they know the slightest thing about football… A total clear out needed as it's becoming embarrassing at this stage…."
If you look back over the years you will see similar posts to yours. Clear outs change of management etc.
We get the usual clear outs and change of management but unfortunately it's the same old story over and over for decades. We have one or two quality players who carry the team as far as possible and then the usual exit from the championship. Two Ulster titles since 1969 speaks for itself.
I will never see Cavan in an All Ireland final in my life time and the way the competition is set up now leaves it virtually impossible unless we can dig up a bunch of quality players.
We need real monetary investment in Cavan football which in turn may help produce and hold onto the players we need.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 19/06/2023 11:36:15    2487208

Down played a far more direct style of football last Saturday than they have played since the good Down teams back in the Day.
They have always been known down they years as playing direct football. The ***** they were playing up to now didn't suit them. That kinda ***** is fine for the likes of Kildare who never did and never will win anything.
Same goes for Meath since they have gone more direct they had a change in fortune.
Develope our own style of direct football. Lets players express themselves. Stop worrying about the opposition and let them worry about us pressing them( we never pressed up until it was too late)

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 19/06/2023 12:07:32    2487239

I wondered how long it would be before the harbingers of doom appeared to tell actual supporters that they told us so. First to the game.
The performance on Saturday was very disappointing and pointed to a number of big issues. The loss of Paddy Lynch was a huge blow for us. We don't have marquee forwards in abundance and this restricts us greatly. Down played a turgid and negative game which we struggled to break down. Lynch's absence definitely exacerbated this. Down had more pace and broke with purpose, when given opportunities. Our attacks were more languid, and often allowed Down to get into their shape. In my opinion, Mickey Graham, having gotten us back to Division 2, needs to stay on. He needs an injection of ideas in his backroom team. We need Thomas Galligan, James Smith, and Paddy Lynch on the field for this. Whether they will be or not, I can't tell you. On the above post. Why were you at the game? You spent much of last week telling me that only fools payed to watch inter County football. Also, if you think that clearing out a panel and management that has just been promoted to Div 2, you are crazy.

Fontofwisdom (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 19/06/2023 12:55:33    2487282

Replying To BreffniGael:  "All us genuine Cavan supporters know that there are many problems with the team and management and that change is needed at this stage. It's just that we don't put ourselves in the position you find yourself in of taking an extreme view of things to the point where on Saturday, I believe, you were hoping Cavan would lose just so you could start banging your drum again this morning. You can disagree with people without accusing them of knowing nothing about football and you can also criticise management without personally insulting them."
Well anyone who thought Cavan were performing well and good to watch over the last few years obviously knows very little about football… and never did I have any personal attack on Mickey Graham… Do you want me to say he is a brilliant manager and tactician…? Would that make you happy…? He wasted 3 years in basement football and now we are paying the price for it…. I would have loved to see us beat Down and get to a semifinal but I would fear for us with that defence in the wide open spaces in Croke Park ….we would ship a bag of goals.. Change is needed but unless we change the way we are playing the game then it's a complete waste of time…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1930 - 19/06/2023 13:15:27    2487302

One player that has to go is GMac. Huge player for cavan over the years but his time has come. He was way of it at the weekend and offered nothing. He should be driving the team on, instead he was nowhere to be seen.

Cutler (Cavan) - Posts: 33 - 19/06/2023 13:22:33    2487309

Replying To Fontofwisdom:  "I wondered how long it would be before the harbingers of doom appeared to tell actual supporters that they told us so. First to the game.
The performance on Saturday was very disappointing and pointed to a number of big issues. The loss of Paddy Lynch was a huge blow for us. We don't have marquee forwards in abundance and this restricts us greatly. Down played a turgid and negative game which we struggled to break down. Lynch's absence definitely exacerbated this. Down had more pace and broke with purpose, when given opportunities. Our attacks were more languid, and often allowed Down to get into their shape. In my opinion, Mickey Graham, having gotten us back to Division 2, needs to stay on. He needs an injection of ideas in his backroom team. We need Thomas Galligan, James Smith, and Paddy Lynch on the field for this. Whether they will be or not, I can't tell you. On the above post. Why were you at the game? You spent much of last week telling me that only fools payed to watch inter County football. Also, if you think that clearing out a panel and management that has just been promoted to Div 2, you are crazy."
Nobody said anything about clearing out a panel… have a bit of wit good lad…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1930 - 19/06/2023 13:31:09    2487317

Replying To Cutler:  "One player that has to go is GMac. Huge player for cavan over the years but his time has come. He was way of it at the weekend and offered nothing. He should be driving the team on, instead he was nowhere to be seen."
Don't agree with you there. There is a place. Full forward or impact sub. Yes he's not a full 70min man nowadays nor a midfielder but we shouldn't discard a player just because he's has a bad game playing out of position.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 19/06/2023 13:45:28    2487329

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Nobody said anything about clearing out a panel… have a bit of wit good lad…"
I quote your post I replied to, "a total clear out is needed as it's becoming embarrassing at this stage". Are these not your words. Also, what's with the constant attempts to personally insult? Your use of the phrase "have a bit of wit, good lad" reveals a lot about you! By the way, if I believed that people who payed to watch inter county football were fools, I'd have the 'wit' not to pay into games!!

Fontofwisdom (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 19/06/2023 13:53:18    2487335

Replying To Fontofwisdom:  "I quote your post I replied to, "a total clear out is needed as it's becoming embarrassing at this stage". Are these not your words. Also, what's with the constant attempts to personally insult? Your use of the phrase "have a bit of wit, good lad" reveals a lot about you! By the way, if I believed that people who payed to watch inter county football were fools, I'd have the 'wit' not to pay into games!!"
Total clear out means the management team not the players but I'd assume some will retire now.. I never said I was at the game… I watched it on GAAGO on Saturday… I would not be foolish enough to go to see that rubbish… and going by the paltry attendance most people are of the same opinion as myself… If you are happy to put up with what's going on then that's fine but don't be finding fault with those who can see through the charade…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1930 - 19/06/2023 16:44:51    2487488

Replying To Fontofwisdom:  "I wondered how long it would be before the harbingers of doom appeared to tell actual supporters that they told us so. First to the game.
The performance on Saturday was very disappointing and pointed to a number of big issues. The loss of Paddy Lynch was a huge blow for us. We don't have marquee forwards in abundance and this restricts us greatly. Down played a turgid and negative game which we struggled to break down. Lynch's absence definitely exacerbated this. Down had more pace and broke with purpose, when given opportunities. Our attacks were more languid, and often allowed Down to get into their shape. In my opinion, Mickey Graham, having gotten us back to Division 2, needs to stay on. He needs an injection of ideas in his backroom team. We need Thomas Galligan, James Smith, and Paddy Lynch on the field for this. Whether they will be or not, I can't tell you. On the above post. Why were you at the game? You spent much of last week telling me that only fools payed to watch inter County football. Also, if you think that clearing out a panel and management that has just been promoted to Div 2, you are crazy."
If I thought Mickey could stay on and bring in a new backroom team, I'd be happy to let him have a go at Division 2 next year. But I just don't see that happening.

Yes they've just been promoted, and I was never too bothered with winning a Tailteann Cup. But the manner of the loss to Armagh is the clincher for me. They were there to be beaten that day and look where they are now vs where we are.

Ulster was wide open this year and we made a paltry attempt on it. Something has to give.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 19/06/2023 17:09:36    2487511

Be mad to get rid of the manager. He got ye back to division 2 which was the main target for Cavan. Yes disappointing to lose out to Derry but he is the right man for the job.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 342 - 19/06/2023 18:08:41    2487565

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Total clear out means the management team not the players but I'd assume some will retire now.. I never said I was at the game… I watched it on GAAGO on Saturday… I would not be foolish enough to go to see that rubbish… and going by the paltry attendance most people are of the same opinion as myself… If you are happy to put up with what's going on then that's fine but don't be finding fault with those who can see through the charade…"
You said "I would not be foolish enough to go to see that rubbish" yet you paid to watch it on gaago. Not only is that ironically foolish, its pretty sad too. Since you 'knew' it would be rubbish, you watched your own county play in the hope that their performance would justify your belief in how useless they were. That's outrageous, in my opinion. Lads like you are more harmful to my county than the world's worst management team. My county team are not rubbish. You and those who share that belief can stay at home, you're no loss!

Fontofwisdom (Cavan) - Posts: 128 - 19/06/2023 21:12:11    2487623

I will be very surprised if Mickey Graham stays on … I think the players need a new voice at this stage and the panel needs fresh faces… he is far too loyal to certain players…. We were 3pts down on Saturday and he replaces a forward with Moynagh…that just about sums it up… The players haven't covered themselves in glory either… Since that 2020 Ulster win they have gone completely backwards… That's very unusual for a team that had just won the Ulster Championship … Regardless of who is manager next season they have to get away from this turgid slow build up play , backwards and lateral movement and passing…. If they don't they soon won't have anybody at all at matches…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1930 - 19/06/2023 22:37:05    2487646

Replying To williesboy:  "Be mad to get rid of the manager. He got ye back to division 2 which was the main target for Cavan. Yes disappointing to lose out to Derry but he is the right man for the job."
If it was Derry it wouldn't be so bad. Management deserves plenty of criticism but is there anyone better waiting for the post? Mickeys earned the right to have a good go at Div 2 but the players that are off the panel will really need to be coaxed back if we have any hope. Some of the selections/ subs are yet again baffling but it's not the time to be taking a dig at individual players. A better back room team for next year should be priority.

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 20/06/2023 04:05:53    2487656