Cavan Seniors 23

Replying To packing:  "Some man to moan"
Moaning when the team isn't playing well is 1 thing, but refusing to take any joy from wins like the Ulster Championship in 2020 suggests maybe this poster isn't actually from Cavan

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 21/05/2023 12:58:39    2479946

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "When we come to the knock out stages Cavan will surely show signs of improvement… these group games are tedious but management should have used them to play a more attacking style of play but unfortunately took the lazy approach and carried on with the same rubbish tactics… Will there be 100 at the 3rd match…?"
Until you get rid of the glory hunters who want to do it all on their own you will never have a so called TEAM.
Too many wanting their name in the Celt.
Now if you don't kick the ball direct against a team like London what chances against better opposition?

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 21/05/2023 14:01:22    2479960

Replying To cavanman47:  "Moaning when the team isn't playing well is 1 thing, but refusing to take any joy from wins like the Ulster Championship in 2020 suggests maybe this poster isn't actually from Cavan"
I took great joy out of our 2020 win but I am not delusional or stupid enough to think that it wasn't more than a tad lucky…. The fact that the same group of players got relegated all the way down to Division 4 would suggest that this was indeed the case… People can hark back to 2020 for as long as they like but the fact remains we have gone backwards since Mickey Graham took over and he only remains in position because of a fluke 2020 season… Even the Ulster Final was played at a venue that would never be used in normal circumstances…. A great win but our performances since proves without doubt it must have been a fluke…..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 21/05/2023 16:35:31    2480003

As I said before, delusional supporters, we always produce decent players, but in terms of top footballers, we are lacking in that department and have been for many many years. And that is not down to Inter County management, that is down to coaching starting at juvenile level right right up to senior level within their own clubs.

Numerous managers came and left without any real impact, so the fact that McHugh and Graham won Ulster Titles with their respective group of players has to be applauded, but god forbid, it's probably gonna be another 30 years before we see another Ulster Title.

For the moment, time to get real, we are on the same level as most teams in Division Two and Three but like most of those teams, there is a massive massive gap with the top teams and that gap will keep increasing every year.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 22/05/2023 09:53:16    2480322

Replying To cavanblueman:  "As I said before, delusional supporters, we always produce decent players, but in terms of top footballers, we are lacking in that department and have been for many many years. And that is not down to Inter County management, that is down to coaching starting at juvenile level right right up to senior level within their own clubs.

Numerous managers came and left without any real impact, so the fact that McHugh and Graham won Ulster Titles with their respective group of players has to be applauded, but god forbid, it's probably gonna be another 30 years before we see another Ulster Title.

For the moment, time to get real, we are on the same level as most teams in Division Two and Three but like most of those teams, there is a massive massive gap with the top teams and that gap will keep increasing every year."
Well last Saturday I didn't see a lot of difference in a Div 4 side London and a supposedly Div 2 side in ourselves.
They really put it up to us, and us nearly at full strength , so explain that 1?.
Simple basic stuff like running up blind alleys, getting turned over, over complicating simple passes when a direct ball is more beneficial.
Look how Mayo beat Kerry and how they used their full forward line
It's basic stuff.
If you're going to play 15 men behind the ball against a Div 4 side what chance have you against the likes of Galway, Armagh, Derry ect.
I was all for giving Graham another year but watching Saturday tells me he won't change, he won't even try anything different , even against so called weaker opposition.
We are Div 3/4 standard.
And mark my words we won't win the Tailteann Cup playing like we did against London.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 22/05/2023 10:09:35    2480333

Replying To cavanblueman:  "As I said before, delusional supporters, we always produce decent players, but in terms of top footballers, we are lacking in that department and have been for many many years. And that is not down to Inter County management, that is down to coaching starting at juvenile level right right up to senior level within their own clubs.

For the moment, time to get real, we are on the same level as most teams in Division Two and Three but like most of those teams, there is a massive massive gap with the top teams and that gap will keep increasing every year."
What you say is probably true enough but County football is no longer an attractive option for players to get involved in…. Nobody in their right minds would put themselves through such sacrifices every week to turn out on weekends to have to play that rubbish….It's sole destroying to watch and must be a nightmare to play…. County football is dead thanks to lazy overpaid coaches….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 22/05/2023 10:16:44    2480342

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "I took great joy out of our 2020 win but I am not delusional or stupid enough to think that it wasn't more than a tad lucky…. The fact that the same group of players got relegated all the way down to Division 4 would suggest that this was indeed the case… People can hark back to 2020 for as long as they like but the fact remains we have gone backwards since Mickey Graham took over and he only remains in position because of a fluke 2020 season… Even the Ulster Final was played at a venue that would never be used in normal circumstances…. A great win but our performances since proves without doubt it must have been a fluke….."
Meaning: "I took great joy out of it, now here's the reasons why I didn't actually enjoy it"

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 22/05/2023 12:56:02    2480475

Lads, do you actually like football or support Cavan? You'd think you hated the sport. Why are you here if you hate it this much?

(Btw, I'm in no way standing up for the very poor football lately, the brutal display against Armagh, or the 2nd gear performances last 2 weeks. Last 2 weeks are lose lose no matter what happened. We went out last year and coasted through to the TC semis with big results and then froze. I'd rather we do it the other way round this time and get through these games and be ready for the proper games at this level from QF onwards - for what little it's worth)

And if I didn't know better, ye sound like the same person replying to each other. How sad...

That's me out from replying to either of you, as it's honestly pointless as everything is twisted so you're right no matter what. 2020 was lucky, was too long ago, can't commend the coach; but relegation was not long ago, blame the coach for everything. You can't have it both ways lads. Change the record. We are where we are now.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 22/05/2023 13:08:00    2480486

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Lads, do you actually like football or support Cavan? You'd think you hated the sport. Why are you here if you hate it this much?

(Btw, I'm in no way standing up for the very poor football lately, the brutal display against Armagh, or the 2nd gear performances last 2 weeks. Last 2 weeks are lose lose no matter what happened. We went out last year and coasted through to the TC semis with big results and then froze. I'd rather we do it the other way round this time and get through these games and be ready for the proper games at this level from QF onwards - for what little it's worth)

And if I didn't know better, ye sound like the same person replying to each other. How sad...

That's me out from replying to either of you, as it's honestly pointless as everything is twisted so you're right no matter what. 2020 was lucky, was too long ago, can't commend the coach; but relegation was not long ago, blame the coach for everything. You can't have it both ways lads. Change the record. We are where we are now."
We are where we always were and so be it. I'm a passionate football supporter, I'll follow and support Cavan no matter what, but I'm also a realist and I dont go into every championship year thinking Cavan are going to win Ulster or an all Ireland because that simply isnt going to happen. But I was there in the 1997 when they won an Ulster and celebrated like most Cavan supporters did, well into the night, and I celebrated the 2020 win just as much. But the sooner Cavan supporters wake up and realise that Cavan Football is not within the top echelons, they might lower their expectations and start enjoying football. And credit to any man that wears a county jersey for Cavan, their commitment should be applauded, 4/5 times training per week, some travelling distances to training, so get behind them and support them, win, lose or draw. You can put blame on coaches, some more than others, but at the end of the day, we are not producing the calibre of players that many of the better teams, so the Co Board will need to look at the overall coaching within the County, starting with clubs right up to the academy squads.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 22/05/2023 14:14:58    2480522

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Meaning: "I took great joy out of it, now here's the reasons why I didn't actually enjoy it""
I certainly did enjoy it and celebrated as much as we possibly could in such strange and difficult circumstances… but anyone who thinks it wasn't a freak season needs their heads examined… you were the one wetting yourself when you saw the team selected to play Armagh and said how we were better in many positions than them… Do you actually go to or watt games at all …? This was virtually the same team that was struggling through games in Division 4 yet somehow you thought they could match up to a hardened Division 1 side…. We were a decent Div 1/2 side until we appointed Graham as manager… he has somehow turned us into rabble that plays a desperate style of football…. why he persists with this slow tedious play is beyond me as I'm sure he must be getting it in the ear from the last few unfortunate souls turning up to matches….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 22/05/2023 16:52:22    2480619

its typical irish begrudgery i agree at the moment we are a mess and have gone backwards big time especially defensively and Mickey and his selectors are sending out the team in a very negative mindset what has changed i dont know we are back to the slurry teams were playing after Donegals win against Dublin.
This should never take away from the achievement of winning the Anglo Celt cup in 2020 and especially giving the performnce of the team on the day which was the best i ever seen from any cavan team and way better than the 1997 win where we got the rub of the green. we also played two great games against Armagh in 2019 with great open attacking football from both teams and also beat monaghan that year. ye have very short and selective memories.
What has gone wrong why were we set up much more attack minded in 2019 and 2020 and also in the championship aganist Donegal last year which was the one of the few games we played well in has mickey lost his nerve or is he listening to far to much BS from his team of stats men i believe there are 4 involved what a waste of money.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 22/05/2023 18:47:11    2480669

Replying To cavanblueman:  "We are where we always were and so be it. I'm a passionate football supporter, I'll follow and support Cavan no matter what, but I'm also a realist and I dont go into every championship year thinking Cavan are going to win Ulster or an all Ireland because that simply isnt going to happen. But I was there in the 1997 when they won an Ulster and celebrated like most Cavan supporters did, well into the night, and I celebrated the 2020 win just as much. But the sooner Cavan supporters wake up and realise that Cavan Football is not within the top echelons, they might lower their expectations and start enjoying football. And credit to any man that wears a county jersey for Cavan, their commitment should be applauded, 4/5 times training per week, some travelling distances to training, so get behind them and support them, win, lose or draw. You can put blame on coaches, some more than others, but at the end of the day, we are not producing the calibre of players that many of the better teams, so the Co Board will need to look at the overall coaching within the County, starting with clubs right up to the academy squads."
Except of course when Terry Hyland is manager, then it's 100% the coaches fault and we had the best players in Ireland for 5 years and he ruined them all. And yes Loughduff lad they're obviously the same person.

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 23/05/2023 07:17:07    2480731

Replying To JamsieMac:  "Except of course when Terry Hyland is manager, then it's 100% the coaches fault and we had the best players in Ireland for 5 years and he ruined them all. And yes Loughduff lad they're obviously the same person."
What are you on about….who ever thought we had the best players in Ireland for 5 years… what are you smoking…? And by the way Loughduff Lad is wrong on this as usual…!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 23/05/2023 10:10:52    2480769

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "What are you on about….who ever thought we had the best players in Ireland for 5 years… what are you smoking…? And by the way Loughduff Lad is wrong on this as usual…!!!"
ForeverBlue2 did you not know that you can't have a different opinion to Loughduff Lad on here.
He the poster that was telling us we were building up to the Armagh game to peak.
3 games later and now we building up for the Tailteann knockout stages.
He just can't accept where we are and where we will be and that's a ranking somewhere between 16-20.
He's a great man to look back and look forward but forgets about the present.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 23/05/2023 11:49:22    2480827

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "What are you on about….who ever thought we had the best players in Ireland for 5 years… what are you smoking…? And by the way Loughduff Lad is wrong on this as usual…!!!"
Went way over your head lad

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 23/05/2023 14:14:50    2480910

Replying To JamsieMac:  "Went way over your head lad"
It's actually incredible what has gone over their heads here. Their very replies are proving the point

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2385 - 23/05/2023 14:47:15    2480930

Replying To JamsieMac:  "Went way over your head lad"
You had better explain yourself Jamsie…. no point in saying it went over anyone's head.. what did…?

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 23/05/2023 16:08:14    2480992

Cavan is 25 out of 32 counties in terms of population and 7 out of 9 in Ulster with only Fermanagh and Monaghan having lower populations. The next closest Ulster county above us is Donegal at 13 out of 32 and has double the population of Cavan. Nationally the only counties with similar or lower populations who are notionally outcompeting us are Roscommon and Monaghan (boooo), and whilst both are going okay, would anybody be shocked to see them fighting for survival in D2 in a few years. Not unthinkable. So taking the odd hurling focused county like kilkenny out of it, I'd say we are probably where a county / pick our size would expect to be. Division 2 is actually good going with a random good run in Ulster every now and again a bonus. Yes there are different demographic factors with some of our ulster neighbours, but those counties all have populations that tower over Cavan. Bigger playing pools equals better options to pick from. Fair play to every Cavan lad who trains his hardest and faces into those odds every year.

Calving4Sam (Cavan) - Posts: 69 - 23/05/2023 16:40:03    2481008

Replying To Calving4Sam:  "Cavan is 25 out of 32 counties in terms of population and 7 out of 9 in Ulster with only Fermanagh and Monaghan having lower populations. The next closest Ulster county above us is Donegal at 13 out of 32 and has double the population of Cavan. Nationally the only counties with similar or lower populations who are notionally outcompeting us are Roscommon and Monaghan (boooo), and whilst both are going okay, would anybody be shocked to see them fighting for survival in D2 in a few years. Not unthinkable. So taking the odd hurling focused county like kilkenny out of it, I'd say we are probably where a county / pick our size would expect to be. Division 2 is actually good going with a random good run in Ulster every now and again a bonus. Yes there are different demographic factors with some of our ulster neighbours, but those counties all have populations that tower over Cavan. Bigger playing pools equals better options to pick from. Fair play to every Cavan lad who trains his hardest and faces into those odds every year."
Take Louth for example. One of the smallest counties. Can't have that many clubs. Got to a Leinster final from a province with 12 counties.
Would that be because of their small population or because they had a Manager who knew what he was doing?
Maybe you could answer that 1 with your population stats??

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 24/05/2023 10:15:47    2481157

At a under age final last night under fifteen grade in general both teams tried to play good open football when ball was won in either defense both teams tried to get it our to a team mate at midfield or in the forward line with a long kick pass with very little short hand passing. When forwards won possession they took their man on all the time it was refreshing to see. How come in a few years time when the best of these players get on county delevopment squads and get the proper coaching (brain washing) all these natural skills will be erased from their brains.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 24/05/2023 10:31:33    2481163