Cavan Seniors 23

Replying To Cutler:  "Ponger, not sure if you have been at many games but the amount of angled runes PL makes is unreal. Hes always out in front, running into space, (small amounts of space due to packed defenses). Hes not getting quality ball because players like GMc keep slowing down the play. PL is a huge talent and best natural forward Cavan has had in years."
Paddy Lynch is a decent enough forward when playing against weak Div 3/4 opponents but when up against better teams he is found out…some of his misses v Armagh were not that of a top forward.. He wouldn't be in the same league at all as either Seani Johnston or Martin Dunne when it comes to converting chances…. He might well shoot the lights out against some of these teams in the Taltainn Cup ( hopefully) but in big championship games he is easily enough handled…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 16/05/2023 16:51:18    2479038

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Some of ye are very negative lads give every man his due Hyland team in his last year played great football in division 2 i think they were the highest scorers in the league i was at the deciding match against galway in breffni park and it was as good as football as you would see anywhere great scores match played at championship pace cavan with a great forward line and coming out on top against a good galway team by 2 points i think to get promotion to division 1.
Same with Mickey Graham came in in 2019 and brought the team to an Ulster final after two great games of open skillful football against an up and coming Armagh team. He followed this up by winning an Ulster final in 2020 after a brilliant performance against Donegal plus Barry Cassidy in the final again playing great football.
Credit to both men where it is due yes Hyland had a very poor championship record and Mickey now seems to have lost his nerve in big matches sending the team out in the wrong frame of mind to play it tight and avoid risk early on which gives even poor teams like laois a great chance to get a foothold in the game. Mickey needs to get his mojo back and send his team out especially in the Tailteann Cup to play open attacking fooball. We are easily as good if not better than anyone else in the competition and the only we we can lose is if management get it completely wrong on the line like in last years final."
So we are supposed to give Hyland credit just because he played great football in Division 2! What nonsense, the man had 5 years in charge of Cavan, he set them back years with his blanket defence and his Championship record was abysmal to say the least, how he was left in charge for 5 years is beyond belief.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 17/05/2023 09:11:37    2479147

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Paddy Lynch is a decent enough forward when playing against weak Div 3/4 opponents but when up against better teams he is found out…some of his misses v Armagh were not that of a top forward.. He wouldn't be in the same league at all as either Seani Johnston or Martin Dunne when it comes to converting chances…. He might well shoot the lights out against some of these teams in the Taltainn Cup ( hopefully) but in big championship games he is easily enough handled…"
Lynch is one of the best forwards in the County, you could put David Clifford in that Cavan Team and present and he'd struggle sometimes. Some of the build up play out the field is too slow, forwards have made their run, but someone decides to take an extra solo or turn back and go sidewards and the move breaks down. The problem with Cavan is as Sean Quigley said, too many athletes and not enough players with footballing intelligence on the pitch, thats the difference between the top teams and the rest.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 17/05/2023 09:15:43    2479148

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Lynch is one of the best forwards in the County, you could put David Clifford in that Cavan Team and present and he'd struggle sometimes. Some of the build up play out the field is too slow, forwards have made their run, but someone decides to take an extra solo or turn back and go sidewards and the move breaks down. The problem with Cavan is as Sean Quigley said, too many athletes and not enough players with footballing intelligence on the pitch, thats the difference between the top teams and the rest."
I agree with you totally but the way football is being played it's impossible for any forwards to perform…. The real top class ones can still produce the goods no matter how defensively the opposition plays… unfortunately Paddy Lynch while decent does not fit into this category…!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 17/05/2023 10:11:47    2479172

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "I agree with you totally but the way football is being played it's impossible for any forwards to perform…. The real top class ones can still produce the goods no matter how defensively the opposition plays… unfortunately Paddy Lynch while decent does not fit into this category…!"
The difference with those forwards is the supply from out the field, the running the loops, runs of the shoulder. Granted, Lynch could do a bit more, but look at the top teams, players outfield can infiltrate defences, get in close to goal, lay off the ball, they can also pick out intelligent passes from further out, Cavan dont have those types of players, we have plenty of good, athletic fit players, but we lack players with footballing brains and that has been Cavan's problem down the years and from what I've seen at underage, it wont change soon.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 17/05/2023 10:32:35    2479181

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "I agree with you totally but the way football is being played it's impossible for any forwards to perform…. The real top class ones can still produce the goods no matter how defensively the opposition plays… unfortunately Paddy Lynch while decent does not fit into this category…!"
Lynch is young and learning and to be honest he doesn't get a lot of help.
I think you see a better Lynch playing off a full forward close to goal. He's no treat 50 M from goal.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 17/05/2023 10:46:18    2479189

Agreed, until Paddy Lynch becomes one of the greatest players of his generation, Cavan are going nowhere.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 17/05/2023 11:17:47    2479211

Replying To Breffni40:  "Agreed, until Paddy Lynch becomes one of the greatest players of his generation, Cavan are going nowhere."
No pressure

Cutler (Cavan) - Posts: 33 - 17/05/2023 16:49:27    2479288

Replying To Cutler:  "No pressure"
Don't worry it won't happen…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 18/05/2023 10:11:16    2479361

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Don't worry it won't happen…"
Such nonsense, Lynch is a fine footballer and would fit into many county teams, put him in a top team and he would flourish like most good forwards because he'd be playing with better footballers.

The biggest problem with Cavan Football is Cavan Supporters. They are delusional in most cases, they think Cavan should be up there competing with the top teams. Its been a long long time since Cavan ever competed with top teams, since the 60s to be exact and it will be a long time into the future before they ever do, thats if they ever do. Cavan Football is average at best (the fact that we waited 30 years for an Ulster Title, is testament to that). Mickey Graham is a once in a life time manager, he came into the fold, and won an Ulster Senior Football Title in 2020, the first since 1997, Martin McHugh was the same, Cavan hadn't won an Ulster Title since since 1969 and then McHugh came along, in other words, Cavan have one a grand total of 2 Ulster Championships since 1969, thats 2 titles in 51 years.

To put it into context, Cavan have the same amount of provincial titles in the 2000's as Westmeath and Laois have, so embrace the Tailteann Cup and if we win it, go and celebrate it the way Westmeath celebrated it last year.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 19/05/2023 12:00:22    2479614

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Such nonsense, Lynch is a fine footballer and would fit into many county teams, put him in a top team and he would flourish like most good forwards because he'd be playing with better footballers.

The biggest problem with Cavan Football is Cavan Supporters. They are delusional in most cases, they think Cavan should be up there competing with the top teams. Its been a long long time since Cavan ever competed with top teams, since the 60s to be exact and it will be a long time into the future before they ever do, thats if they ever do. Cavan Football is average at best (the fact that we waited 30 years for an Ulster Title, is testament to that). Mickey Graham is a once in a life time manager, he came into the fold, and won an Ulster Senior Football Title in 2020, the first since 1997, Martin McHugh was the same, Cavan hadn't won an Ulster Title since since 1969 and then McHugh came along, in other words, Cavan have one a grand total of 2 Ulster Championships since 1969, thats 2 titles in 51 years.

To put it into context, Cavan have the same amount of provincial titles in the 2000's as Westmeath and Laois have, so embrace the Tailteann Cup and if we win it, go and celebrate it the way Westmeath celebrated it last year."
There's some sense in what you say.

But there's a difference in Cavan vs Westmeath/Laois since the year 2000 and the year, say 2007, when Dublin's money started to pay dividends.

These days, Leinster is a foregone conclusion, and the most a Laois or Westmeath can realistic hope to win in the summer is a TC, so of course they'll celebrate it.

Cavan, having won Ulster in 2020, would (rightly or wrongly) consider winning Ulster with the same group of players as a very realistic ambition. And by extension, would consider ending up in the TC as having fallen short of the goal set at the start of the year.

I don't think I'll be attending any homecoming parties should we win the TC.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 19/05/2023 12:51:26    2479625

Replying To cavanman47:  "There's some sense in what you say.

But there's a difference in Cavan vs Westmeath/Laois since the year 2000 and the year, say 2007, when Dublin's money started to pay dividends.

These days, Leinster is a foregone conclusion, and the most a Laois or Westmeath can realistic hope to win in the summer is a TC, so of course they'll celebrate it.

Cavan, having won Ulster in 2020, would (rightly or wrongly) consider winning Ulster with the same group of players as a very realistic ambition. And by extension, would consider ending up in the TC as having fallen short of the goal set at the start of the year.

I don't think I'll be attending any homecoming parties should we win the TC."
Correct about Leinster but lets be real, Westmeath nor Laois were never gonna win many Leinster Titles despite Dublin's dominance. Cavan's record in Ulster is two Championship wins since the 60's and 30 years apart. The 2020 win was a great win, but they fell seriously short after that, majority of that winning panel couldn't beat Westemeath in the Tailteann Cup last year, so regardless of what anyone believes, the 2020 win was a once in a lifetime win, just like the win in 1997. Granted, they can have a realistic ambition, but the truth is, they are nowhere near the standards of Derry, Armagh or Tyrone.

As I said before, the proof is there, 2 Anglo Celt Cups in 51 years, yet there's people that expect Cavan to win an Ulster Title every year.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 19/05/2023 13:26:16    2479644

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Correct about Leinster but lets be real, Westmeath nor Laois were never gonna win many Leinster Titles despite Dublin's dominance. Cavan's record in Ulster is two Championship wins since the 60's and 30 years apart. The 2020 win was a great win, but they fell seriously short after that, majority of that winning panel couldn't beat Westemeath in the Tailteann Cup last year, so regardless of what anyone believes, the 2020 win was a once in a lifetime win, just like the win in 1997. Granted, they can have a realistic ambition, but the truth is, they are nowhere near the standards of Derry, Armagh or Tyrone.

As I said before, the proof is there, 2 Anglo Celt Cups in 51 years, yet there's people that expect Cavan to win an Ulster Title every year."
Derry came from nowhere to win Ulster titles in 2022,2023.
They won a Minor All Ireland in 2020 and 3 Ulster minor titles in 15, 17 , 20.
We won 4 Under 21 Ulster titles and couldn't win anything until we won Ulster in 2020. All we did was slip down the Div.
Expectations were high and rightly so . We should be better than we are. Something lacking somewhere.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 19/05/2023 16:49:50    2479683

So...with all the positivity flying around here...has anyone been bothered heading to London for the match tomorrow?

As a London dweller I'll be going, maybe a few more in the same boat will trek to Ruislip. There was a big crowd at the league match last year, guess we all thought it was a one-off fixture, but unfortunately we find ourselves back here again!

London have been very poor this year, lost everything bar one draw in the league so we should be big favourites. But we almost got caught last year because we started coasting after 15 minutes, can't do that again. Would be great to see a few new faces in the line-up but looks like it's fairly full-strength again.

TheBlackDeath (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 19/05/2023 18:00:07    2479691

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Such nonsense, Lynch is a fine footballer and would fit into many county teams, put him in a top team and he would flourish like most good forwards because he'd be playing with better footballers.

To put it into context, Cavan have the same amount of provincial titles in the 2000's as Westmeath and Laois have, so embrace the Tailteann Cup and if we win it, go and celebrate it the way Westmeath celebrated it last year."
Lynch as I said is a decent forward but nowhere near top notch…. some of his shots v Armagh were woefully poor and not the sort of play that would get him into a top team… As for Graham and McHugh been once in a lifetime managers… let's see. Both won Ulster titles after loosing one but the huge difference lies in the fact McHugh took over a team struggling in Division 3 and got them to be competitive in Division 1 while Graham took over a team that was competitive in Division 1/2 and brought them all the way down to Division 4 and left them uncompetitive in the Ulster Championship…. There is absolutely no comparison between the two managers…!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 20/05/2023 11:03:33    2479753

Half time in Ruislip and we 1 pt up. Should be behind really if London took their goal chances. Cutting us wide open.
McKiernan out around the middle spraying 10 M passes as usual.
Forwards completely over complicating things.
Playing with wind advantage in 2nd half so let's see how that goes.
Moynagh , mcLoughlin and Mc Vitty all togged out in subs.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 20/05/2023 14:49:19    2479771

Poor performance overall. Really over complicating things with silly needless passes. Got turned over loads of times.
London ran out of steam in the 2nd half.
We never kicked 1 ball in to the full forward line. Suppose there was no point as there was nobody in there anyway.
Take it from me but we WONT win no Tailteann Cup playing that kind of Sh@@e.

Breffni1969 (Cavan) - Posts: 510 - 20/05/2023 17:45:37    2479788

London cut us open on numerous occasions and could have had 5 goals by all accounts. Imagine what would happen if we actually faced quality opposition.
It's the same old story and the management just don't same to learn from any games. We will probably hear the same old after the game " lots to work on, lots of learnings ". What exactly do they work on? Because we are not getting better , the whole thing just seems stale at the moment.

asdfg (Cavan) - Posts: 316 - 20/05/2023 18:34:13    2479796

Replying To Breffni1969:  "Poor performance overall. Really over complicating things with silly needless passes. Got turned over loads of times.
London ran out of steam in the 2nd half.
We never kicked 1 ball in to the full forward line. Suppose there was no point as there was nobody in there anyway.
Take it from me but we WONT win no Tailteann Cup playing that kind of Sh@@e."
When we come to the knock out stages Cavan will surely show signs of improvement… these group games are tedious but management should have used them to play a more attacking style of play but unfortunately took the lazy approach and carried on with the same rubbish tactics… Will there be 100 at the 3rd match…?

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1928 - 21/05/2023 10:34:37    2479905

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "When we come to the knock out stages Cavan will surely show signs of improvement… these group games are tedious but management should have used them to play a more attacking style of play but unfortunately took the lazy approach and carried on with the same rubbish tactics… Will there be 100 at the 3rd match…?"
Some man to moan

packing (Cavan) - Posts: 31 - 21/05/2023 12:04:54    2479932