Lights In Pearse Stadium Galway

Seems there is finally about to be movement on the saga of installing flood lights in Pearse Stadium after all these years. Planning permission that was already extended is running out and it looks like it may not be renewed without some works taking place.

Galway City Council in its recent budget has allocated 50K a year for the next 5 years as a contribution. Funding from Croke Park also seems to be part of the package.

We have all seen the success of Friday and Saturday night games for Connacht Rugby and the buzz it brings to the City. We all head up the Dyke Rd to Galway United matches under lights so finally the turn of big GAA matches in the City under lights.

Cant wait for National hurling League match on Saturday night versus Limerick, Kilkenny, Tipperary or Football versus Mayo, Tyrone, Kerry with the place packed. We spend our Spring months watching these Saturday night matches on TV elsewhere.

Big match under lights and night in the hostelries around Salthill and Galway after.

Medals (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 18/11/2022 15:51:25    2448083

Replying To Medals:  "Seems there is finally about to be movement on the saga of installing flood lights in Pearse Stadium after all these years. Planning permission that was already extended is running out and it looks like it may not be renewed without some works taking place.

Galway City Council in its recent budget has allocated 50K a year for the next 5 years as a contribution. Funding from Croke Park also seems to be part of the package.

We have all seen the success of Friday and Saturday night games for Connacht Rugby and the buzz it brings to the City. We all head up the Dyke Rd to Galway United matches under lights so finally the turn of big GAA matches in the City under lights.

Cant wait for National hurling League match on Saturday night versus Limerick, Kilkenny, Tipperary or Football versus Mayo, Tyrone, Kerry with the place packed. We spend our Spring months watching these Saturday night matches on TV elsewhere.

Big match under lights and night in the hostelries around Salthill and Galway after."
It's long over due.
It will be a good away trip for other counties if nothing else. Galway on a Saturday night will be a big draw for them.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 18/11/2022 16:13:20    2448092

Pearse Stadium in the middle of residential area is not a good spot for floodlit games let's be honest.

Those residents protested before and floodlights had to be removed. Remains to be seen if it will be any different now.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 18/11/2022 16:35:55    2448098

Replying To Medals:  "Seems there is finally about to be movement on the saga of installing flood lights in Pearse Stadium after all these years. Planning permission that was already extended is running out and it looks like it may not be renewed without some works taking place.

Big match under lights and night in the hostelries around Salthill and Galway after."
While it would be brilliant the local residents might not be as happy about it from my recollection the last time this was proposed the locals objected

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 18/11/2022 17:59:19    2448105

I'm almost certain I was at a game in Pearce stadium under lights about 3 years ago.

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 18/11/2022 18:11:56    2448110

Replying To Yondu:  "Pearse Stadium in the middle of residential area is not a good spot for floodlit games let's be honest.

Those residents protested before and floodlights had to be removed. Remains to be seen if it will be any different now."
You should remember that a residential area was built around Pearse Stadium, so they knew what was insitu when they acquired the houses.Did some expect the neighbours to move out because they did not approve of them.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 68 - 18/11/2022 18:42:56    2448111

Replying To Yondu:  "Pearse Stadium in the middle of residential area is not a good spot for floodlit games let's be honest.

Those residents protested before and floodlights had to be removed. Remains to be seen if it will be any different now."
It's actually more suited to floodlit games than current ones. If the rugby was on at 3 in the afternoon it would be a nightmare. Most of the other floodlit pitches are in built up areas. Had some great nights away in places like Tralee, Newry, even Castlebar

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 18/11/2022 19:33:14    2448114

Replying To Champotime18:  "I'm almost certain I was at a game in Pearce stadium under lights about 3 years ago."
Some acid trip lad.

Good for the venue. Its a nice ground and good surface. Only issues i have with it are the wind from the coast ruin many a game and the traffic is always a hoor in and out.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 18/11/2022 20:39:45    2448118

Replying To Champotime18:  "I'm almost certain I was at a game in Pearce stadium under lights about 3 years ago."
From my recollection the only game played under lights in Pearce stadium was a compromise rules game between Ireland and Australia and the lights were temporary and its a lot more than 3 years ago

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 18/11/2022 20:54:01    2448122

Replying To backtooldwall:  "You should remember that a residential area was built around Pearse Stadium, so they knew what was insitu when they acquired the houses.Did some expect the neighbours to move out because they did not approve of them."
What are you on about? Where did you pull that lie from

Floodlights are needed for our main grounds but it's absolutely unfair on residents. On top of the lights now getting in and out of their homes will take hours on a Saturday night .Again showing how the location of Pearse stadium was stupid. Tuam should've been upgraded. Easy to get in and out of. Needing a stadium in the city only works if its well serviced by public transport, many exit roads to get in and out and adequate parking. Pearse has zero of these. And I'm certainly not one who believes the home of Galway football is tuam. Its just practical. When investing a significant amount of money all decisions should be bloody practical

County final with a crowd of around 7k had to delay throw in because people couldn't get in to the stadium. And salthill were in the final so some of that crowd would've walked. Moycullens a 15 min drive and most aimed to be in there 30 mins before kick off for the atmosphere and warm up. Only a small % would've left it to get there just before throw in which is a fair hope given the proximity of the majority of the fans

A stadium built for over 40k couldn't manage a crowd of 7000.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 19/11/2022 07:53:05    2448127

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Some acid trip lad.

Good for the venue. Its a nice ground and good surface. Only issues i have with it are the wind from the coast ruin many a game and the traffic is always a hoor in and out."
Tbh the wind from the coast adds a distinctive element to the games there. Like Wexford Park. It's great that grounds have their own individual character!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 19/11/2022 09:13:12    2448129

Replying To galwayfball:  "What are you on about? Where did you pull that lie from

Floodlights are needed for our main grounds but it's absolutely unfair on residents. On top of the lights now getting in and out of their homes will take hours on a Saturday night .Again showing how the location of Pearse stadium was stupid. Tuam should've been upgraded. Easy to get in and out of. Needing a stadium in the city only works if its well serviced by public transport, many exit roads to get in and out and adequate parking. Pearse has zero of these. And I'm certainly not one who believes the home of Galway football is tuam. Its just practical. When investing a significant amount of money all decisions should be bloody practical

County final with a crowd of around 7k had to delay throw in because people couldn't get in to the stadium. And salthill were in the final so some of that crowd would've walked. Moycullens a 15 min drive and most aimed to be in there 30 mins before kick off for the atmosphere and warm up. Only a small % would've left it to get there just before throw in which is a fair hope given the proximity of the majority of the fans

A stadium built for over 40k couldn't manage a crowd of 7000."
To be honest I was born and reared with a view of wexford Park, and have recently moved back there.

Like my parents and grand parents before me, I knew the park was there and have6to live with that.

The same applies to all our grounds.

In fairness how many games per year will there be under lights? 3 or 4 max.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2629 - 19/11/2022 10:21:42    2448137

Replying To galwayfball:  "What are you on about? Where did you pull that lie from

Plus Tuam on match day has a way better atmosphere than Salthill.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 19/11/2022 10:25:30    2448138

Ye do kick offs in Galway instead of throw ins?!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 19/11/2022 10:28:17    2448140

To be fair we are talking about Saturday night games mostly here. Most travelling vans will want to be in Galway, even when Galway play in Tuam. Whatever about Pearse Stadium Dublin, Limerick, Cork all have their main stadium in the main town for a reason.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 19/11/2022 11:28:29    2448144

Replying To Viking66:  "Tbh the wind from the coast adds a distinctive element to the games there. Like Wexford Park. It's great that grounds have their own individual character!"
Always thought Wexford park was like Pearse Stadium junior, not as cold or windy but not too far off. I'd say you'll do well to find a few Galway hurlers at club or county level who enjoys playing in there. I actually can't think of a truly great game at club or county level that has ever been played in there. Athenry for hurling and Tuam for football shoukdve been done up for the price it took to do Pearse stadium, one of the great white elephants of Galway GAA. Dressing rooms are also some of the poorest for an intercounty ground. The parking situation for Wexford Park is also a lot better than Pearse stadium. Building a stadium right beside the Atlantic Ocean for a pitch that gets 90% of its games in Winter was so stupid IMO

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 19/11/2022 12:01:19    2448151

Would agree - Athenry is the most "central" town in Galway and would be much more suited to intercounty games although more parking spaces would be required.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 19/11/2022 12:22:03    2448153

Is there no street lights?
I grew up beside one of the earlier flood lit facilities in Dublin, never noticed them.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 20/11/2022 10:52:56    2448211

Nope. There was temporary lights installed for the 2006 compromise rules first test.
That's pretty much it as far as lights in Pearse Stadium.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1237 - 20/11/2022 14:32:38    2448224

Replying To tommy k:  "Would agree - Athenry is the most "central" town in Galway and would be much more suited to intercounty games although more parking spaces would be required."
Athenry has a stand that can hold 600 max. What are the other 5500 supportllers supposed to do ? Pearse Stadium can seat 7000. These days families want to go to matches and have shelter and some comfort in out of rain.

Pearse Stadium has permission for 12,events throughout the year. It also has permission for the lights but it must use this permission soon before it runs out.

Every other County has its County grounds in the main town..castlebar, limerick, kilkenny, ennis, sligo, Roscommon, thurles, Cork etc. Why should Galway be different?

Medals (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 20/11/2022 20:21:21    2448248