Wexford Clubs In The Leinster Club Hurling Championship

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "You lads are gas.
Ferns are a club team with 1 county hurler and a team of good club hurlers. They did great to win Wexford.
But you all think that they should automatically be winning Leinster, or have some god-given right to beat teams from Carlow where half the team are just better hurlers than them playing McDonagh cup hurling?
Crokes are a top side with players with lots of both current and underage inter county experience.
Ferns rode the crest of a wave to the county title in Wexford, but they stumbled over the line against an injury ravaged St. Martins team? Not a chance in my view.
Wexford is in a better place than people think, with county players coming from every club from senior to junior. That is always going to hamper them when they meet Ballyhale, St. Mullins (who ran Ballyhale close a few years back) and Crokes in Leinster."
I don't think anyone is saying what you claim at all.

There was certainly nobody here suggesting that Ferns should win Leinster, or even have it handy against St. Mullins. Anybody with a decent knowledge of club hurling (which in fairness, included most of the people here) knows the relative strength of Carlow clubs in recent years.

Yes, there were some questions over whether Ferns might have done better if they'd been playing championship hurling into October and therefore maybe had an advantage over a team that hadn't played competitively since early August, but that's a very different thing.

Also reckon everybody here realises Crokes would have been a hell of a challenge for them had they managed to beat St. Mullins, but even still, an appearance in Croke Park would have been a great way to finish the year, and they must be very disappointed at missing out on it.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2246 - 02/12/2022 10:34:10    2449310

Replying To Pikeman96:  "I don't think anyone is saying what you claim at all.

There was certainly nobody here suggesting that Ferns should win Leinster, or even have it handy against St. Mullins. Anybody with a decent knowledge of club hurling (which in fairness, included most of the people here) knows the relative strength of Carlow clubs in recent years.

Yes, there were some questions over whether Ferns might have done better if they'd been playing championship hurling into October and therefore maybe had an advantage over a team that hadn't played competitively since early August, but that's a very different thing.

Also reckon everybody here realises Crokes would have been a hell of a challenge for them had they managed to beat St. Mullins, but even still, an appearance in Croke Park would have been a great way to finish the year, and they must be very disappointed at missing out on it."
I had a look back at the posts leading up to the game and yes that is accurate Pikeman96.
But there were many in Wexford, in work with me with the "Its only St. Mullins" mantra.
You could be right that if it had been August, different story. But I am not so sure because after the celebrations Leinster would have gone out the window.
If they can defend the title it is the next step maybe.
But Wexford clubs have been abject in Leinster since the 80's. Only Oulart, Rathnure and Buffers Alley have given it any sort of a shot and if I recall right from the mid 80's to late 80's Rathnure and Buffers Alley were the teams to beat in Leinster and then Oulart lost 2-3 in a row to that great Birr team if I remember right.
It is for the betterment of Wexford in general that they don't have a Ballyhale beating everybody overall though. A county team spread across a host of clubs shows a healthy game in the county but only if the clubs effort is matching that of the top clubs.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 02/12/2022 20:52:40    2449373

Replying To Viking66:  "Of course it will. We don't have superclubs as such which makes our championships a much better spectacle than those where teams have won 5 in a row, Kilkenny and Galway, and even more, Waterford. We have probably had more different winners of all our Football and Hurling championships in the last 10 years than nearly any other county. Obviously the current lack of a superclub hurts our provincial club chances especially in the Senior Leinster club championships. But I'd rather have what we have tbh."
Just reading a preview of the Dunloy Slaughtneil game. Dunloy just won their 4th Antrim SHC title and Slaughtneil their 10th Derry title in a row. 2 more counties dominated by 1 club in recent times. Interestingly 3 of Slaughtneils AISF defeats have come against naP, Ballygunner and Ballyhale. And if the last 4 ends up being St Thomas, check, Ballygunner, Ballyhale, and Slaughtneil, all favourites for their provincial finals, then that would be the 2nd year in a row those 4 were in the AI series. Think some combination or other of 3 of those 4 have appeared in the last 3 AI series. Only Cushendall beat Slaughtneil in 2018/9 and Borris Ileigh beat Ballygunner the following year or we would have had the same 4 clubs in the AISFs the last 3 occasions. Apart from Ballygunner the other 3 are small rural clubs. Just goes to show what is possible if a club gets a talented generation or 2 and is run right, off the pitch.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11847 - 03/12/2022 07:19:00    2449378

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I had a look back at the posts leading up to the game and yes that is accurate Pikeman96.
But there were many in Wexford, in work with me with the "Its only St. Mullins" mantra.
You could be right that if it had been August, different story. But I am not so sure because after the celebrations Leinster would have gone out the window.
If they can defend the title it is the next step maybe.
But Wexford clubs have been abject in Leinster since the 80's. Only Oulart, Rathnure and Buffers Alley have given it any sort of a shot and if I recall right from the mid 80's to late 80's Rathnure and Buffers Alley were the teams to beat in Leinster and then Oulart lost 2-3 in a row to that great Birr team if I remember right.
It is for the betterment of Wexford in general that they don't have a Ballyhale beating everybody overall though. A county team spread across a host of clubs shows a healthy game in the county but only if the clubs effort is matching that of the top clubs."
I heard several similar comments, and saw posts on social media, along the lines of "couldn't even beat a Carlow team...should be ashamed of yourselves...sad day for Wexford hurling". But they'd be from people who don't actually know much about hurling, and who certainly don't know the relative strength in recent years of Carlow club teams, when compared to their inter-county team.

Similarly, I expect Naas would give most senior teams in Wexford a good run for their money. But if they happened to beat any of them, these same people would come out with "terrible stuff, any Wexford hurling team should be beating a team from Kildare".

Just to clarify one point, though: I didn't suggest might have been a different story if the Ferns v St. Mullins match had been played in August. I meant might have been different if Ferns had been playing competitively up to October, and then came up against a Mullins team that hadn't played competitively since early August.

Then again, would surely have depended on the gap beetween a county final and the Leinster match, because Ferns would surely still have had a right old whack at the celebrations instead of keeping things quiet in order to prepare for Leinster!

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2246 - 05/12/2022 09:44:12    2449537

Replying To Pikeman96:  "I heard several similar comments, and saw posts on social media, along the lines of "couldn't even beat a Carlow team...should be ashamed of yourselves...sad day for Wexford hurling". But they'd be from people who don't actually know much about hurling, and who certainly don't know the relative strength in recent years of Carlow club teams, when compared to their inter-county team.

Similarly, I expect Naas would give most senior teams in Wexford a good run for their money. But if they happened to beat any of them, these same people would come out with "terrible stuff, any Wexford hurling team should be beating a team from Kildare".

Just to clarify one point, though: I didn't suggest might have been a different story if the Ferns v St. Mullins match had been played in August. I meant might have been different if Ferns had been playing competitively up to October, and then came up against a Mullins team that hadn't played competitively since early August.

Then again, would surely have depended on the gap beetween a county final and the Leinster match, because Ferns would surely still have had a right old whack at the celebrations instead of keeping things quiet in order to prepare for Leinster!"
A first ever senior win deserves to be celebrated! Agreed as regards clubs from so called weaker counties the only difference which makes those counties weaker is that they have less senior hurlers from less senior clubs to pick from. Not that their senior hurlers or clubs are any weaker in themselves.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11847 - 05/12/2022 11:39:24    2449551

Replying To Pikeman96:  "I heard several similar comments, and saw posts on social media, along the lines of "couldn't even beat a Carlow team...should be ashamed of yourselves...sad day for Wexford hurling". But they'd be from people who don't actually know much about hurling, and who certainly don't know the relative strength in recent years of Carlow club teams, when compared to their inter-county team.

Then again, would surely have depended on the gap beetween a county final and the Leinster match, because Ferns would surely still have had a right old whack at the celebrations instead of keeping things quiet in order to prepare for Leinster!"
I get you Pikeman. Yes the people on social media don't tend to know what the story is in a county like Carlow. But those who I work with, they would think they would be in the know.
When you have talent concentrated in to a small few clubs it make them clubs stronger. Even at club level in Dublin back in my day the talent all moved to a handful of clubs. Still happens to this day with Na Fianna/Vincents on the northside and Boden/Crokes/Cuala on the south side.
It is a good sign for Wexford that will be good for Wexford in the long term if the county team is spread across all clubs. The minor hurling team this year was anchored by players from small clubs. A rising tide lifts all boats, but only if the tide continues to rise.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 05/12/2022 12:16:08    2449558

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I get you Pikeman. Yes the people on social media don't tend to know what the story is in a county like Carlow. But those who I work with, they would think they would be in the know.
When you have talent concentrated in to a small few clubs it make them clubs stronger. Even at club level in Dublin back in my day the talent all moved to a handful of clubs. Still happens to this day with Na Fianna/Vincents on the northside and Boden/Crokes/Cuala on the south side.
It is a good sign for Wexford that will be good for Wexford in the long term if the county team is spread across all clubs. The minor hurling team this year was anchored by players from small clubs. A rising tide lifts all boats, but only if the tide continues to rise."
Up to all of us to continue ******* in the sea so!!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11847 - 05/12/2022 12:55:33    2449564

A rising tide lifts all boats, but only if the tide continues to rise.

By Jaysus. There's a real Irish way of taking the good out of what's supposed to be a positive saying!!!!! :)

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2246 - 05/12/2022 15:37:35    2449587

Replying To Pikeman96:  "A rising tide lifts all boats, but only if the tide continues to rise.

By Jaysus. There's a real Irish way of taking the good out of what's supposed to be a positive saying!!!!! :)"
He's from Dublin. I've loads of friends from there including 1 of the kids godfathers. Their glasses are always half empty!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11847 - 05/12/2022 17:14:52    2449593

Jaysis if you lads are taking that post and turning it in to a negative, you might want to have another read.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 06/12/2022 14:33:48    2449661

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Jaysis if you lads are taking that post and turning it in to a negative, you might want to have another read."
Ah, I was just messing with you. It's just that it seems like the real Irish thing of quickly adding something downbeat to something that starts out positive.

Like "it's a grand sunny day....but it'll probably rain tomorrow".

Or "he's a lovely fella...when he's sober". :)

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2246 - 07/12/2022 14:44:31    2449770

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Ah, I was just messing with you. It's just that it seems like the real Irish thing of quickly adding something downbeat to something that starts out positive.

Like "it's a grand sunny day....but it'll probably rain tomorrow".

Or "he's a lovely fella...when he's sober". :)"
Or - "he's great craic......when he's drunk!"

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11847 - 07/12/2022 17:36:49    2449788

Horeswood's Leinster final moved to Patricks Park presume its to do with the weather.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1716 - 09/12/2022 15:21:18    2449972

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Horeswood's Leinster final moved to Patricks Park presume its to do with the weather."
Yeah. My guess is it's mainly frost on the pitch area in front of the stand not thawing out.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2246 - 09/12/2022 16:06:30    2449980

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Horeswood's Leinster final moved to Patricks Park presume its to do with the weather."
That's going to be a nightmare to get in and out of with the likely crowd there

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11847 - 09/12/2022 16:23:28    2449985

Must be expecting it to be a lot colder in Wexford than Enniscorthy.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 09/12/2022 16:47:20    2449989

Replying To countyman2022:  "Must be expecting it to be a lot colder in Wexford than Enniscorthy."
Patrick's Park was bleak enough for our game in September never mind now.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11847 - 10/12/2022 09:34:43    2450013

Replying To Viking66:  "That's going to be a nightmare to get in and out of with the likely crowd there"
There's a new one-way system in operation there, where traffic goes up Pearse Road the ordinary way, but then exits through The Showgrounds (eventually emerging onto the Ross Road at the other end of Enniscorthy, above Bellefield). Saw it in action myself when at an underage final a couple of weeks ago.

Helps somewhat, but it's still not exactly an ideally-located venue.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2246 - 10/12/2022 11:59:25    2450021

Replying To Pikeman96:  "There's a new one-way system in operation there, where traffic goes up Pearse Road the ordinary way, but then exits through The Showgrounds (eventually emerging onto the Ross Road at the other end of Enniscorthy, above Bellefield). Saw it in action myself when at an underage final a couple of weeks ago.

Helps somewhat, but it's still not exactly an ideally-located venue."
Now in the COE Ferns

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11847 - 10/12/2022 12:37:40    2450026

Congrats Horeswood great second half comeback

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 260 - 10/12/2022 15:14:14    2450048