Ulster Senior Club Championship

Replying To Galway9801:  "I get where he's coming from but I wouldn't say he's taking a stand. He's the one reneging on his commitment, not them."
I get where he's coming from but I wouldn't say he's taking a stand. He's the one reneging on his commitment, not them.
Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1359 - 10/11/2022 11:03:27

He is not reneging though is he ? He is doing exactly what he said he would do if they ever met Kilcoo so he is a man of his word.

If anyone is in the wrong it is Ballybay in agreeing to take him on under those circumstances but maybe they didn't believe that it would happen that the two sides would meet.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 10/11/2022 15:59:32    2447111

Replying To Breffni40:  "If he was that principled he wouldn't manage another club. You can't have your cake and eat it as the saying goes."
If he was that principled he wouldn't manage another club. You can't have your cake and eat it as the saying goes.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 11937 - 09/11/2022 14:50:03

A man has to put bread on the table some way and he is doing under his terms fair play to him.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 10/11/2022 16:01:37    2447112

Replying To Galway9801:  "I get where he's coming from but I wouldn't say he's taking a stand. He's the one reneging on his commitment, not them."
No he is not , in fact he is honouring his commitment, he told them that if they were ever to play Kilcoo in a serious match that he would stand down , fact

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 10/11/2022 18:50:01    2447123

i suppose that's the mercenary code.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 11/11/2022 08:17:50    2447143

Replying To Tom1916:  "i suppose that's the mercenary code."
LOL ,you sound like a grumpy wee man with a chip on your shoulder, maybe its because a Jerome coached Ballybay side blew Cross away, but dont panic , time is a great healer

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 11/11/2022 09:52:41    2447148

He said if they met Kilcoo in a serious match he couldn't manage them. So they've met Kilcoo in a serious match so he's not going to manage them. Hardly surprising. I do hope the team knew though. If the players weren't aware he had said this, It will have hurt them but I'm assuming they'll have known this at least before the crossmaglen game

Better for him to step down than manage where he wants the other team to win.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 11/11/2022 10:36:14    2447154

Replying To germac:  "LOL ,you sound like a grumpy wee man with a chip on your shoulder, maybe its because a Jerome coached Ballybay side blew Cross away, but dont panic , time is a great healer"
not really, I'm from monaghan but live in armagh. I support the GAA and I support grassroots communities being the best that they can, true to the fundamentals of the association. What is happening now is people are trying to destroy those fundamentals, communities that are obviously not strong enough on an even playing field are paying to take short cuts to success, I think that is wrong.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 11/11/2022 10:57:13    2447156

Replying To germac:  "No he is not , in fact he is honouring his commitment, he told them that if they were ever to play Kilcoo in a serious match that he would stand down , fact"
Regardless of previous agreements with Ballybay it's not a good look to be ducking out of what is a huge game for the club. As someone above pointed out, the Ireland rugby manager is in a similar position. He's not looking for outs.

You can't be dodging challenges if you're demanding 100% committment from your players. This isn't a sentiment business.

I think he's damaged himself and his relationship with the players won't be the same after the game whatever the outcome, that's for sure.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 11/11/2022 10:59:40    2447157

It's going to be a very interesting week end, looking forward to seeing Glen v Errigal Ciaran on TV. (Two Derry teams will be featuring on Tg4 and RTE2 at the same time) This club competition is every bit as competitive as the Ulster county football championship. You could make a strong case for 5 or 6 of these teams winning out. Ballybay/Kilcoo and Glen/ Errigal Ciaran would be worthy pairings for an Ulster final in themselves. Wonder will home county advantage mean much . Do Enniskillen Gaels play all their home matches in Brewster Park? It's going to be a long journey for Naomh Conaill. Impossible to predict the four winners with any certainty

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 11/11/2022 12:09:27    2447171

Replying To Curlew66:  "It's going to be a very interesting week end, looking forward to seeing Glen v Errigal Ciaran on TV. (Two Derry teams will be featuring on Tg4 and RTE2 at the same time) This club competition is every bit as competitive as the Ulster county football championship. You could make a strong case for 5 or 6 of these teams winning out. Ballybay/Kilcoo and Glen/ Errigal Ciaran would be worthy pairings for an Ulster final in themselves. Wonder will home county advantage mean much . Do Enniskillen Gaels play all their home matches in Brewster Park? It's going to be a long journey for Naomh Conaill. Impossible to predict the four winners with any certainty"
Aye Brewster is home ground for the Gaels as well as the county team. You might notice if you have ever been up that the flags used even jouring county games are Yellow and Blue representing the club colours.

Predictions for me (with hesitancy) are Enniskillen, Naomh Conaill, Glen & Kilcoo! My early prediction for a winner would be Glen but it's so tight to call this year. Would not be surprised if I got all wrong though!

Bailah (Fermanagh) - Posts: 43 - 11/11/2022 12:37:01    2447176

Replying To PolicemanFox:  "Regardless of previous agreements with Ballybay it's not a good look to be ducking out of what is a huge game for the club. As someone above pointed out, the Ireland rugby manager is in a similar position. He's not looking for outs.

You can't be dodging challenges if you're demanding 100% committment from your players. This isn't a sentiment business.

I think he's damaged himself and his relationship with the players won't be the same after the game whatever the outcome, that's for sure."
What a load of BS. Agreements/promises/contracts,call them what you want are made to be adhered to. Let me assure you nobody in Ballybay is questioning the decision. In fact quite the opposite. As regards your nonsensical comment re the after effects let me assure you on Tuesday nite all will be as it was,except for some good natured ribbing that the Kilcoo lads will get. Also when Ballybay were bringing the Down lads in,it was with the intention of getting on to the Ulster stage to challenge the Kilcoos and Crossmaglens etc,thus the agreement between the parties. Finally good luck to Ballybay and I have no doubt they will remove Kilcoo's All Ireland crown on Sunday.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 11/11/2022 13:47:06    2447190

Replying To seamusorinn:  "What a load of BS. Agreements/promises/contracts,call them what you want are made to be adhered to. Let me assure you nobody in Ballybay is questioning the decision. In fact quite the opposite. As regards your nonsensical comment re the after effects let me assure you on Tuesday nite all will be as it was,except for some good natured ribbing that the Kilcoo lads will get. Also when Ballybay were bringing the Down lads in,it was with the intention of getting on to the Ulster stage to challenge the Kilcoos and Crossmaglens etc,thus the agreement between the parties. Finally good luck to Ballybay and I have no doubt they will remove Kilcoo's All Ireland crown on Sunday."
You've pretty much missed my point entirely.
I'm not talking about contracts or agreements that were made in the past.
I'm talking about now and regardless of the past "agreements" it's a mistake and it will damage the relationships.

If you played at all yourself I'd expect you to understand this. Stand or fall togther is the usual starting point.

As for your personal assurances that eveything in Ballybay will be OK, unless you're part of the setup I'll treat that (let me assure you) as BS (as you'd say yourself).

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 11/11/2022 15:07:46    2447203

Now, time to concentrate on the games!... I have a feeling Ballybay's momentum will see them over the line next Sunday. If thewre is one team, I think can beat Kilcoo's blanket, tis Ballybay.... class forwards!... of course, on the other hand, kilcoo ain't All-Ire Champs for nothing !... Ballybay to shade it, as they have a greater goal threat than Kilcoo!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 11/11/2022 19:41:47    2447249

Replying To Monaghan Exile:  "Now, time to concentrate on the games!... I have a feeling Ballybay's momentum will see them over the line next Sunday. If thewre is one team, I think can beat Kilcoo's blanket, tis Ballybay.... class forwards!... of course, on the other hand, kilcoo ain't All-Ire Champs for nothing !... Ballybay to shade it, as they have a greater goal threat than Kilcoo!"
Well impressed with Ballybay, teams don't like playing teams that take the game to them so I'm going to agree with you.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 11/11/2022 21:55:36    2447262

Replying To PolicemanFox:  "You've pretty much missed my point entirely.
I'm not talking about contracts or agreements that were made in the past.
I'm talking about now and regardless of the past "agreements" it's a mistake and it will damage the relationships.

If you played at all yourself I'd expect you to understand this. Stand or fall togther is the usual starting point.

As for your personal assurances that eveything in Ballybay will be OK, unless you're part of the setup I'll treat that (let me assure you) as BS (as you'd say yourself)."
I will defer to you, as with all that "knowledge", you are obviously part of the Ballybay team. Good luck on Sunday. I expect ye to cruise to victory.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 12/11/2022 13:13:42    2447288

Replying To Saynothing:  "Well impressed with Ballybay, teams don't like playing teams that take the game to them so I'm going to agree with you."
I think Kilcoo won't mind Ballybay taking game to them as with the pace Kilcoo have they will burst at speed which could leave ballybay open. Crossmaglen defence was shocking you could have drove buses through them, with kilcoo experience id expect them to be hard to break down.

Fancy a Kilcoo v Glen final Myself.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 704 - 12/11/2022 15:36:43    2447301

Replying To PolicemanFox:  "Regardless of previous agreements with Ballybay it's not a good look to be ducking out of what is a huge game for the club. As someone above pointed out, the Ireland rugby manager is in a similar position. He's not looking for outs.

I think he's damaged himself and his relationship with the players won't be the same after the game whatever the outcome, that's for sure."
i get where your coming from ,but you cant compare it with the rugby lads , those fellas are on hundreds of thousands a year come on , as a past player and part of a management team it actually cost me money to be involved, not one penny and i mean not one penny did i get and believe me i wouldent change a thing, the team i was involved with won a Cship memories and pride i will take to the grave

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 12/11/2022 19:49:18    2447326

Replying To seamusorinn:  "I will defer to you, as with all that "knowledge", you are obviously part of the Ballybay team. Good luck on Sunday. I expect ye to cruise to victory."
Cruise to victory , you might well be right , but do yourself a favour and dont put your house on it

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 12/11/2022 19:53:34    2447328

Replying To germac:  "i get where your coming from ,but you cant compare it with the rugby lads , those fellas are on hundreds of thousands a year come on , as a past player and part of a management team it actually cost me money to be involved, not one penny and i mean not one penny did i get and believe me i wouldent change a thing, the team i was involved with won a Cship memories and pride i will take to the grave"
there you go, the kilcoo and ballybay management are doing it for charity, perhaps even paying the clubs to manage them. Great bunch of lads

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 13/11/2022 13:20:08    2447366

Replying To Tom1916:  "there you go, the kilcoo and ballybay management are doing it for charity, perhaps even paying the clubs to manage them. Great bunch of lads"
More waffle tom, do yourself a favour and dont dig that hole any bigger, you might fall into it , lol lol lol ,ill agree with you they are a great bunch of lads , more lol lol

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 13/11/2022 19:40:12    2447437