Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Kilkenny 3-26, Wexford 0-5.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 1292 - 27/02/2023 15:58:21 2460730

How many of those 5 were from play and who scored them? I moved to Wexford around then."
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/kilkenny-put-on-show-fit-for-president-1.432991

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 974 - 27/02/2023 20:05:58    2460825

I get the team were inexperienced on Sunday, but I'm really concerned on the lack of fight and drive they showed. If you're young and eager to impress and given an opportunity to play, why did they show such a lack of drive. Is the indifference coming from an issue with management? We can give out about Davy, but if he said jump the lads said how high.

goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 27/02/2023 20:36:33    2460831

Replying To Magpie2:  "The main problem in my opinion is lack of strength and power. Most county sides are composed of tall strong forceful hurlers. It's okay to have a few smaller fast wingers but the likes of Kilkenny, Clare, Waterford,Tiipperary, Galway and of course Limerick are top heavy with that type of player.
We on the other hand have too many average height lads. We do have some players capable of mixing it with the best, such as OHanlon, Chin, Mac and jippo but beyond that we fall far short of the required standard.
Yesterday's game put that into perspective. We were pushed around like an underage team. Unable to clear the ball as Clare bossed us physically and skilfully. No good of course having big strong lads if they lack the skills of the game.
I suppose if we haven't got that type of player coming through there's nothing we can do .
Maybe with further strength and conditioning we can improve our standing in the hurling world.
."
I've been beating the underage S and C drum for years on this. Also at club level more effort should be made with the bigger lads, who are usually less well coordinated on account of growing fast, at u10, u12, and u14. Not just the smaller more skilful lads.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16767 - 28/02/2023 08:22:48    2460854

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "I don't think the club split season has had any major impact either way on county teams I'm just thinking in terms of club players, football club league games on this weekend nearly 6 months before championship, I don't remember any big complaints pre covid of the then status quo but open to correction."
It was a different set up before Covid with championsip games in April.

And yes, we now find ourselves this season in a situation where we have less teams than ever playing football in the league, literally dual clubs who "might" play 6/7 weeks of football in 2023 but we are told this scenario is great for the clubs!!. The reason being given is "sure whats the point, be nearly 6 months before we play football again"

As for the impact on the county teams, who knows? I can see arguments either way but ive seen it in my own club where lads would have a preference towards one code, pick up simple niggly little injuries and end up missing over half their championship because of one niggly injury.

We have county hurlers who will be lucky to get 2 proper training sessions with their clubs all year before championship going on last year, the chance for proper training between games is practically non existent, in the long run how does that help the Clubs?

We are told that if we had alternate weeks that players would still concentrate on one code but thats happening now anyway, once the hurling was finished there were players who didnt even play the 2nd code, i know of clubs who didnt even train once for the football and literally picked lads up the day of a championship game to avoid fines, said same club have also pulled out of the football league this year!

Now is that having an impact now, no i dont think so but in the long run im not sure its going to help if im being honest.

TheHogues (Wexford) - Posts: 26 - 28/02/2023 09:10:41    2460867

Replying To goreyll:  "I get the team were inexperienced on Sunday, but I'm really concerned on the lack of fight and drive they showed. If you're young and eager to impress and given an opportunity to play, why did they show such a lack of drive. Is the indifference coming from an issue with management? We can give out about Davy, but if he said jump the lads said how high."
Tbh the worst lads for lack of drive and intensity weren't the newer or younger lads, who were largely just not large enough in fairness to them.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16767 - 28/02/2023 09:14:56    2460872

Replying To Viking66:  "Tbh the worst lads for lack of drive and intensity weren't the newer or younger lads, who were largely just not large enough in fairness to them."
There was a lack of drive and intensity all over the field Viking.
Normally a newcomer would tend to be over-egged, hyper and too up for the match.
The lack of effort and intensity everywhere was staggering.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1452 - 28/02/2023 10:02:41    2460886

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "There was a lack of drive and intensity all over the field Viking.
Normally a newcomer would tend to be over-egged, hyper and too up for the match.
The lack of effort and intensity everywhere was staggering."
That is the biggest worry.

I find it quite ironic that we were told earlier in the league that it meant so little that the manager was sending players out on to the pitch for games with no instructions, no warm up for the game and that was ok apparently and here we are now with an injury crisis and an epidemic of "disinterest" from players who should be as you say chomping at the bit!!

I would suggest that a change of approach might be appropriate!

TheHogues (Wexford) - Posts: 26 - 28/02/2023 10:29:53    2460890

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "There was a lack of drive and intensity all over the field Viking.
Agreed, it was heads down, they gave up running, they gave up on tackles. There was just no fight. They were trying to hit the ball with 2/3 Clare lads in front of them just to get rid of it, not aiming anywhere. There was very little running off the ball to give options. I agree the more experienced lads were the same, but it wasn't just them. To me, they didn't want to be there

goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 28/02/2023 10:31:34    2460891

That is the big worry . I dont mind being beaten but lack of drive and intensity is not acceptable when you put on the Wexford jersey. Only Cathal Dunbar, Rory Higgins in the second half and Ian Carty when he came on showed any kind of drive on Sunday.

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 28/02/2023 10:36:10    2460892

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "So much heated talk on here about Wexford under-age hurling being a disaster so it only makes sense to look at the crops of lads to have played Senior hurling for Wexford in either the League or the Championship (Although I may have left some out by accident):

1990: Paul Morris//Shaun Murphy/Eoin Moore/James Breen/Harry Kehoe/Shane Tomkins/Podge Doran
1991: Matthew O'Hanlon/Willie Devereux/Mark Fanning/Liam Óg
1992: Lee Chin/Ian Byrne/Dee O'Keeffe
1993: Aidan Nolan/Jack Guiney
1994: Jack O'Connor/Andrew Kenny/Eoin Conroy/David Dunne
1995: Conor Mc/Paudie Foley/Kevin Foley/Simon Donohoe/Liam Ryan/Conor Devitt/Gavin Bailey/Oliver O'Leary
1996: Cathal Dunbar
1997: Oisín Foley/Shane Reck/Joe O'Connor/Ian Carthy/Aaron Maddock/Seamus Casey/David Clarke
1998: Rory O'Connor/Damien Reck/Conor Firman/Conor Hearne/Mikie Dwyer/Connal Flood/Rory Higgins/Darren Byrne
1999: Charlie McGuckin/Eoin Murphy
2000: Ross Banville/James Lawlor/Niall Murphy
2001: Jack Doran
2002: Richie Lawlor
2003: Oisín Pepper/Corey Byrne-Dunbar/Conor Foley

Some years were very strong (1990, 1991, 1992, 1995, and 1998), some were ok (1993, 1994, and 1997), and some were very weak (1996, 1999, 2000, and 2001). I think we're really feeling the pinch from the lack of quality between the 1999, 2000, and 2001 crops right now as they are aged 22, 23, and 24 right now so should be breaking through. I wouldn't take that as evidence we're failing at under-age level though. Like we should in theory have at the very least three very promising hurlers from the 2002 crop right now; the issue is that one is currently injured and the other two are off the panel for reasons unbeknownst to me. Personally, I think Cian Molloy, AJ Redmond, and Richie Lawlor were all in with a great chance of breaking through this season and starting come Championship time. Plus the 2003 crop looks very promising too so I don't think the underage set-up here is bleak, we just had a few fallow years (At a not particularly good time considering the 1995s should be close to the end of their primes and the 1998s are right in the middle of it)."
Think this is an excellent summary of things and not something that was recently discovered, we could have flagged 2-3 years ago that there wasn't a huge amount talent in 1999-2001 age bracket, I think this is why our Fitzgibbon representation was down this year, 2 lads in that age group who didn't push on were Eoin Molloy and Jack Cullen, I know both had injury issues, Cullen wasn't fancied by 2 managements in a row, Molloy was actually in the panel in 2019, hopefully 1 or 2 late bloomers can come through from this cohort like Shane Reck did after not standing out at underage. I was told anecdotally the reason some of the u20 team from last year aren't involved was an unwillingness from a few of them to put in the S&C work required for the highest level, their still young men so hopefully the penny will drop with them sooner rather than later.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 28/02/2023 11:06:10    2460904

Who was cut from the panel does anybody know?

Waltermitty2 (Wexford) - Posts: 275 - 28/02/2023 11:18:37    2460909

Yes there was especially in the 1st half but the leaders should've led. I thought Dunbar really put his hand up, Mcguckin tried too, Hearne who was invisible in the 1st half got better in the 2nd. Higgins put in a shift. Carthy and Doran when they came on played well also, although Doran could do with putting on a couple of stone. Unfair to tar them all with the one brush is all. Yes the overall team level of performance was S###e but some of them weren't too bad individually.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16767 - 28/02/2023 11:25:30    2460912

Replying To TheHogues:  "That is the biggest worry.

I find it quite ironic that we were told earlier in the league that it meant so little that the manager was sending players out on to the pitch for games with no instructions, no warm up for the game and that was ok apparently and here we are now with an injury crisis and an epidemic of "disinterest" from players who should be as you say chomping at the bit!!

I would suggest that a change of approach might be appropriate!"
I noticed he had the lads warming up properly in front of us to come on in the 2nd half this time. Meant to mention it!!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16767 - 28/02/2023 11:26:48    2460913

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Think this is an excellent summary of things and not something that was recently discovered, we could have flagged 2-3 years ago that there wasn't a huge amount talent in 1999-2001 age bracket, I think this is why our Fitzgibbon representation was down this year, 2 lads in that age group who didn't push on were Eoin Molloy and Jack Cullen, I know both had injury issues, Cullen wasn't fancied by 2 managements in a row, Molloy was actually in the panel in 2019, hopefully 1 or 2 late bloomers can come through from this cohort like Shane Reck did after not standing out at underage. I was told anecdotally the reason some of the u20 team from last year aren't involved was an unwillingness from a few of them to put in the S&C work required for the highest level, their still young men so hopefully the penny will drop with them sooner rather than later."
Got told by a clubman of theirs that Cian Molloy had a falling out, the other 2 lads and Cullen didn't want to commit. Which is fair enough. It's not for everyone. It's probably very ####### hard. And then you have lads on this jumping on you too!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16767 - 28/02/2023 11:29:14    2460914

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Think this is an excellent summary of things and not something that was recently discovered, we could have flagged 2-3 years ago that there wasn't a huge amount talent in 1999-2001 age bracket, I think this is why our Fitzgibbon representation was down this year, 2 lads in that age group who didn't push on were Eoin Molloy and Jack Cullen, I know both had injury issues, Cullen wasn't fancied by 2 managements in a row, Molloy was actually in the panel in 2019, hopefully 1 or 2 late bloomers can come through from this cohort like Shane Reck did after not standing out at underage. I was told anecdotally the reason some of the u20 team from last year aren't involved was an unwillingness from a few of them to put in the S&C work required for the highest level, their still young men so hopefully the penny will drop with them sooner rather than later."
Got told by a clubman of theirs that Cian Molloy had a falling out, the other 2 lads and Cullen didn't want to commit. Which is fair enough. It's not for everyone. It's probably very ####### hard. And then you have lads on this jumping on you too!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16767 - 28/02/2023 12:03:14    2460921

In fairness Shane was good for the u21s. Kyle Firman played football underage. We are going to have more late bloomers than other counties because our lads just aren't big enough in their late teens early 20s.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16767 - 28/02/2023 12:05:55    2460922

Replying To Viking66:  "In fairness Shane was good for the u21s. Kyle Firman played football underage. We are going to have more late bloomers than other counties because our lads just aren't big enough in their late teens early 20s."
Shane was good but personally wouldn't have envisaged him to say be the man to be marking Tony Kelly in big championship games, that's all the more credit to him though for improving and pushing on, by all accounts himself and his brother couldn't have a better attitude towards the game.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 28/02/2023 12:24:35    2460926

Don't know who was dropped but on the topic of being behind S&C wise.
I heard in our club recently that one of the Galway hurlers put on something like 10kg over the winter (management said he being pushed off the ball too much), and Billy Drennan in Kilkenny did something similar. I am sure this wasn't put on in the local chippy or eating breakfast rolls but if we are behind S&C it doesn't take 2-3 years as is often made out.
If the players aren't fit enough and S&C is still miles off, things are not right.
And yet, qualify in Leinster and all will be forgiven. But go out and get annihilated by Limerick and Cork and morale will be at a low going to Galway.
I just as an outsider with Wexford as my 2nd team don't like what I am seeing from this team.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1452 - 28/02/2023 12:26:39    2460928

Replying To Viking66:  "Got told by a clubman of theirs that Cian Molloy had a falling out, the other 2 lads and Cullen didn't want to commit. Which is fair enough. It's not for everyone. It's probably very ####### hard. And then you have lads on this jumping on you too!!!!"
Yeah I would never condemn anyone for not wanting to commit. Modern inter-county is probably too intense and all-encompassing these days. The innocence is gone from the sport as a whole, heck even club has gone too serious.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1503 - 28/02/2023 12:43:54    2460936

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Shane was good but personally wouldn't have envisaged him to say be the man to be marking Tony Kelly in big championship games, that's all the more credit to him though for improving and pushing on, by all accounts himself and his brother couldn't have a better attitude towards the game."
Real nice fellas off the pitch the only time I saw them out. Minded themselves. Went home early. And apparently are real animals on the training pitch. Couldn't ask more from them. Fair play to both of them for it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16767 - 28/02/2023 14:20:04    2460968