According to Paull we had 2 even teams as opposed to an A and a B team. I had heard there was a blitz to qualify but we didn't do well enough in it. They won both their games today apparently. Well done to them!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14141 - 26/08/2023 14:01:01 2502321 Link 0 |
Our u16 B team just beat Clares U16 2nd team by 1-15 to 2-5. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14141 - 26/08/2023 14:49:15 2502327 Link 0 |
From reading the squad lists it seems like a massive spread of clubs with no real dominant club providing a decent bulk of players. While a spread is good, you would wonder if the standard of players being provided to these squads is at a high enough standard.
Groundball (Wexford) - Posts: 122 - 26/08/2023 19:53:22 2502360 Link 0 |
Our u15b team lost to Kerry in the John Doyle Cup semi final. Kerry went on to beat Clare in the final. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14141 - 26/08/2023 19:56:50 2502362 Link 0 |
The standard would be alot worse if you only picked the best lads from a small number of clubs. Smaller pick to choose from.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14141 - 27/08/2023 07:20:44 2502398 Link 0 |
Our U16A team beat Cork in the Michael Foley Cup but lost the final narrowly to Kilkenny. Thats 2 final appearances in a row now, fair play to the lads. Hopefully next year's group can go 1 step further and make it 3rd time lucky. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14141 - 27/08/2023 07:23:48 2502399 Link 0 |
Good games of hurling up in Ferns yesterday, they were unluck in the final with a few key injuries but a cracking game to look at. Who's the minor manager next year? Hurleronthequay (Wexford) - Posts: 7 - 27/08/2023 21:48:48 2502518 Link 0 |
16s seemed to have lads from all over the place, Kilmore, Askamore, Liam Mellows alot of traditional clubs, Buffers Alley etc not represented. Changing tines in Wexford hurling
Hurleronthequay (Wexford) - Posts: 7 - 27/08/2023 21:54:13 2502519 Link 0 |
Bad news for you Paull most other counties had at least 2 if not 3 even teams make the Tony Forrestal. I say even but if not they all qualified where we didn't qualify at all. Cork even had 4 qualify but one withdrew after a panel member tragically died in a swimming accident. Cork Tipp and Clare had 3 teams, while Limerick, Kilkenny, Galway, Dublin had at least 2, and Offaly at least one. https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41213539.html Hopefully the lads get to play some of the other top counties next year in a cup. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14141 - 28/08/2023 08:18:35 2502542 Link 0 |
Bad news for you Paull most other counties had at least 2 if not 3 even teams make the Tony Forrestal. I say even but if not they all qualified where we didn't qualify at all. Cork even had 4 qualify but one withdrew after a panel member tragically died in a swimming accident. Cork Tipp and Clare had 3 teams, while Limerick, Kilkenny, Galway, Dublin had at least 2, and Offaly at least one. https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41213539.html Hopefully the lads get to play some of the other top counties next year in a cup. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14141 - 28/08/2023 08:22:09 2502545 Link 0 |
And they were very competitive too at u16 by the sounds of things. Imagine how much better Wexford mightve done since the 60s if that had of been the case since then? 1 AI in 55 years doesn't say much for the old selection processes. The teams of the 50s and 60s had players from non traditional at the time clubs who had never won Senior club championships before. A good article about Oliver Gough who won Celtic Crosses with Wexford and then his native Kilkenny afterwards, hurled in Wexford with Ferns- https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-30933688.html Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14141 - 28/08/2023 09:35:31 2502560 Link 0 |
Any updates on Rossiters backroom team to be revealed at county board meeting tomorrow night? Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 28/08/2023 10:00:57 2502564 Link 0 |
A bus shelter type cantilever roof over the open side would be good too.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14141 - 28/08/2023 11:58:44 2502601 Link 0 |
No I didn't hear anything new about the backroom team at any of the games this weekend. Only hurling men from other clubs I was really talking to was a Harriers man who was very disappointed with the current standard of underage hurling coaching and the lack of a Tony Forrestal team this year. He coached a good few Tony Forrestal teams over the years himself. The other was an u15 Clongeen lad who hurled for our u15s in the Arrabawn and told me they beat a Clare u15 team by 6-12 to 6 points.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14141 - 28/08/2023 12:04:40 2502604 Link 0 |
its good to see big improvements in our facilities at the Centre of Excellence and Wexford Park but we need to get our player development plan right most importantly .
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 28/08/2023 12:54:19 2502616 Link 0 |
That would be a welcome addition and would improve the atmosphere on the current open side I think.
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 28/08/2023 12:55:05 2502617 Link 0 |
It would! It would hold in the noise so to speak. And shouldn't cost too much or take up much room, with the road right behind those seats.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14141 - 28/08/2023 13:26:57 2502633 Link 0 |
I agree. If we don't have any money left over for the COE or the Park but had properly funded player development plans in place, with joined up thinking and proper coaching for schools, national and secondary, ALL clubs underage in the county, and County development squads, that would surely be more important.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14141 - 28/08/2023 13:30:06 2502634 Link 0 |
Anyone know the backroom team after last night? Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14141 - 29/08/2023 08:50:55 2502754 Link 0 |
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14141 - 29/08/2023 09:35:49 2502756 Link 0 |