Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Three interviewed: Mulally from KK; Mattie Murphy from Galway; and Donal Og from Cork.

Murphy is the outsider, but apparently neck n neck between the other two."
Stick to the baseball pal

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 292 - 11/08/2023 12:04:16    2500043

Replying To alwaysasub:  "Very disappointed to read Keith Rossiter in the fame for the Wexford job mentioned in todays independent. I'm sure he will be one for the future, but surely there is better more qualified candidates out there."
Like?

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 11/08/2023 12:08:23    2500045

I think Rossiter is a good appointment if he gets the nod.
He was a fantastic player for Wexford during some hard lean years when you were winning nothing.
A nice fellow as well but takes no nonsense from what I know of the u20 setup this year. You either want to do it or you don't and if you don't there is the door was what I was told.
He was involved with Davy and the u20's and has seen it all in his playing career you would say.
The continuity from the u20s might be valuable as Wexford have to get those players through.
Its better than a mercenary from another county. Plough what extra finance the county has in to underage and schools coaching if you ask me.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1264 - 11/08/2023 12:11:24    2500046

The last time around then independent had an article about JJ Doyle being appointed so it's not something I'd believe to be honest.

I do hope that it's a Wexford man and he's the best option.

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 188 - 11/08/2023 12:24:08    2500050

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "5 years involved with Davy's set up, 2 years managing u20s, why do people think he's inexperienced?"
KK didn't shy away from giving Derek Lyng their gig and Rossiter has similar experience. I thought he was going a very good job with the U20s and if it's his time then wish him all the best.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 309 - 11/08/2023 12:43:50    2500055

Replying To wexfordwin:  "The last time around then independent had an article about JJ Doyle being appointed so it's not something I'd believe to be honest.

I do hope that it's a Wexford man and he's the best option."
Fair point, article from 2 years ago.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/jj-doyle-clear-favourite-to-succeed-davy-fitzgerald-in-wexford-hurling-hotseat/40807164.html

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 11/08/2023 12:48:35    2500056

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "5 years involved with Davy's set up, 2 years managing u20s, why do people think he's inexperienced?"
He's inexperienced in 2 ways. He's no Senior intercounty managerial experience even with a lower tier county. And he's no managerial experience of winning anything even at Leinster underage, never mind an AI. I think he's a great managerial prospect, but at the end of the day we are going back to Egan 2 years ago really. He's not even as experienced as Egan was when he was let go.The only real difference being Keith is from Wexford.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14127 - 11/08/2023 12:48:49    2500057

Replying To Timbertony:  "KK didn't shy away from giving Derek Lyng their gig and Rossiter has similar experience. I thought he was going a very good job with the U20s and if it's his time then wish him all the best."
I wish him the very best too if he does get the job don't get me wrong. The big difference between Lyng and Rossiter is Lyng won an AI U20 while Keith didn't even win a Leinster.
An important thing to bear in mind as well though is the Independent ran a story saying JJ Doyle was getting the job ladt time and then in the end up of it he didn't.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14127 - 11/08/2023 12:51:41    2500058

Replying To wexfordwin:  "The last time around then independent had an article about JJ Doyle being appointed so it's not something I'd believe to be honest.

I do hope that it's a Wexford man and he's the best option."
Just posted that before I read your post!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14127 - 11/08/2023 12:52:24    2500059

Replying To logger:  "I'd have no issues with Keith Rossitor as manager but he needs a coach with him. I guess David Franks will come in as the coach similar to the U20 set up last year. Let Keith manage and Franks coach."
Wouldn't be against that. The one benefit of Keith as manager is he knows the Wexford club scene inside out and has brought through some promising under 20s last 2 years . This is a huge step up I hope he can make

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 11/08/2023 13:32:40    2500064

Difference is Colm Keyes wrote that article about JJ 2 years ago but this time Michael Verney has wrote it. I don't think Verney is the type to just put something like that out there if he didn't know something concrete.

logger (Wexford) - Posts: 298 - 11/08/2023 14:18:56    2500078

Replying To logger:  "Difference is Colm Keyes wrote that article about JJ 2 years ago but this time Michael Verney has wrote it. I don't think Verney is the type to just put something like that out there if he didn't know something concrete."
I don't think Colm Keyes is the sort to just put something like that out there either surely…he's an experienced journalist, more so than Michael Verney I would have thought.

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 227 - 11/08/2023 16:13:43    2500097

Replying To Afinestick:  "Wouldn't be against that. The one benefit of Keith as manager is he knows the Wexford club scene inside out and has brought through some promising under 20s last 2 years . This is a huge step up I hope he can make"
Thought about it all day now. Worry would be he wouldn't be much more experienced than Egan was. Lads are pointing out Lyng got the Kilkenny job but the big difference is he got a pretty similar team ability wise over the line to win an AI. Keith came up just short in the 2 Leinster finals. All small things but they might be the fine margins between qualifying for a Senior Leinster final and not.
The advantages he would have would be being from Wexford, and being 1 of the best Wexford players of his generation, he understands the Wexford psyche. Another advantage is he looked at, and picked, players from all level of club here.
Another would be that he might get more lads to commit. The 2 best players on the u20 team that lost the Leinster final last year were AJ Redmond and Cian Molloy. A Gorey clubman told me Molloy had some disagreement with Egan, while AJ joined the panel in December and then left in January.
I suppose everyone has to get their 1st intercounty job sometime. If he gets it he could turn out to be the next Brian Cody. Or he could turn out to be the next Darragh Egan.
If it was up to me I'd rather get someone with a little more experience and more importantly success as a manager. Tom Mulally would be my 1st choice. And give Rossiter 2 more years with the u20s in the hope that he would at least win a Leinster. But if Keith does get it then fair play to him and I really hope it works out well, both for him and Wexford hurling.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14127 - 11/08/2023 17:37:15    2500111

Replying To Afinestick:  "Wouldn't be against that. The one benefit of Keith as manager is he knows the Wexford club scene inside out and has brought through some promising under 20s last 2 years . This is a huge step up I hope he can make"
Thought about it all day now. Worry would be he wouldn't be much more experienced than Egan was. Lads are pointing out Lyng got the Kilkenny job but the big difference is he got a pretty similar team ability wise over the line to win an AI. Keith came up just short in the 2 Leinster finals. All small things but they might be the fine margins between qualifying for a Senior Leinster final and not.
The advantages he would have would be being from Wexford, and being 1 of the best Wexford players of his generation, he understands the Wexford psyche. Another advantage is he looked at, and picked, players from all level of club here.
Another would be that he might get more lads to commit. The 2 best players on the u20 team that lost the Leinster final last year were AJ Redmond and Cian Molloy. A Gorey clubman told me Molloy had some disagreement with Egan, while AJ joined the panel in December and then left in January.
I suppose everyone has to get their 1st intercounty job sometime. If he gets it he could turn out to be the next Brian Cody. Or he could turn out to be the next Darragh Egan.
If it was up to me I'd rather get someone with a little more experience and more importantly success as a manager. Tom Mulally would be my 1st choice. And give Rossiter 2 more years with the u20s in the hope that he would at least win a Leinster. But if Keith does get it then fair play to him and I really hope it works out well, both for him and Wexford hurling.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14127 - 11/08/2023 17:39:50    2500112

Replying To Viking66:  "I wish him the very best too if he does get the job don't get me wrong. The big difference between Lyng and Rossiter is Lyng won an AI U20 while Keith didn't even win a Leinster.
An important thing to bear in mind as well though is the Independent ran a story saying JJ Doyle was getting the job ladt time and then in the end up of it he didn't."
I don't think the indo said Jj Doyle was getting the job viking. The quote from the paper said Jj Doyle was a clear favourite.
Rossi I believe would be the best choice.
A- He has huge experience as a player.
B- He has managed our U20s, while not getting silverware He came very close over the last couple of years.
C- Being with Davy for 5 years has to be a big plus.
D- He would be very familiar with all the current players
E- He would introduce some of the u2os from this year and last year, so as to freshen up things.
F- He would have local knowledge of the club scene. I would be surprised if he didn't try out some lads from this years club championship.
G- From what I hear he's tough but fair.
H- He is wexford through and through and I'm certain he would give it everything to succeed.
I- He would surely bring passion to the team. Getting the lads to fight for every ball and bring intensity into every game.
J- He may not have intercounty experience as a manager at senior level but I think he would grow into the position rather quickly.
K- I don't think the list of potential candidates for the Wexford gig is great. So I honestly feel that the time is now for Keith Rositter to take the step up and bring pride back to the purple and gold. It can and must be done.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 386 - 12/08/2023 05:05:35    2500139

Replying To Magpie2:  "I don't think the indo said Jj Doyle was getting the job viking. The quote from the paper said Jj Doyle was a clear favourite.
Rossi I believe would be the best choice.
A- He has huge experience as a player.
B- He has managed our U20s, while not getting silverware He came very close over the last couple of years.
C- Being with Davy for 5 years has to be a big plus.
D- He would be very familiar with all the current players
E- He would introduce some of the u2os from this year and last year, so as to freshen up things.
F- He would have local knowledge of the club scene. I would be surprised if he didn't try out some lads from this years club championship.
G- From what I hear he's tough but fair.
H- He is wexford through and through and I'm certain he would give it everything to succeed.
I- He would surely bring passion to the team. Getting the lads to fight for every ball and bring intensity into every game.
J- He may not have intercounty experience as a manager at senior level but I think he would grow into the position rather quickly.
K- I don't think the list of potential candidates for the Wexford gig is great. So I honestly feel that the time is now for Keith Rositter to take the step up and bring pride back to the purple and gold. It can and must be done."
I agree with all of that except possibly K I hope it's not too soon for him. I suppose it would have just been the icing on the cake if he'd of actually won some sort of national silverware as a manager with club or county. He's definitely the best of the local options, and if he turns out to be successful it would be great to have a Wexford man in charge just from the standpoint of being an independent hurling county.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14127 - 12/08/2023 09:18:30    2500146

From a distance, I would say Keith Rossiter is exactly what Wexford need. For all the reasons Magpie2 gave.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1788 - 12/08/2023 09:41:54    2500150

Replying To StoreysTash:  "From a distance, I would say Keith Rossiter is exactly what Wexford need. For all the reasons Magpie2 gave."
How about bringing back The Babs Keating? He's getting sick of the golf course, I hear, and wants to take over a team again. Ye've no sheep in Wexford, just strawberries, which might suit Mr. Keating. He'd be a souped up, older, more experienced version of Davy. He might not quite hit as many ''me's, I's and myself's" in the media spotlight after a game as Davy does, but he wouldn't be far behind at all. He would not let ye down in that regard anyway.

So, altogether now lads, "Bring back The Babs!"

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2114 - 12/08/2023 15:32:04    2500201

My understanding is the interviews haven't even happened yet.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1435 - 12/08/2023 18:51:07    2500221

Replying To tearintom:  "My understanding is the interviews haven't even happened yet."
I heard today that noone is appointed yet.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14127 - 12/08/2023 22:08:15    2500244