Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To Yellow:  "Look we lost by 6

Missed a penalty so let's call it 3

No Chin or Damien Reck which surely would have created 3 points between them

We need to push on now and realise that we are up there with the Galway - 2nd favourites for the All Ireland"
That's what I was thinking when I drove back down. And all the players returning from injury should get better with more gametime also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16905 - 23/04/2023 09:51:44    2472640

Replying To Waltermitty2:  "Thats just not true. Has got some good scores and had good games since then although i will admit has not played near his potential. Still alot better than a player who i dont think offers anything even if he gets through "alot of work". Its a hurling match where highest score wins. If a lad cant stand out at club level the chances are they wont make an impact at inter county. Iv said it before that its no surprise that the likes of ian carty had a positive league campaign because anytime iv seen taghmon play he catches the eye because he is a good stickman and well able to hurl. Its not rocket science. We cant afford to not start jack. Mcdonald has been very, very poor for wexford lately but id make the same arguement for him that he has to start as hes a scoring threat and alot better than what would be replacing him."
Ian Carty is an excellent hurler. Conor Mcdonald is too static and easy to mark. You don't have to be fast but you do have to be willing to nake runs all game. Otherwise you are too easy to mark for an intercounty full back.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16905 - 23/04/2023 09:53:38    2472641

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Jeez lad have you had an epiphany or what! You were writing the obituary of Wexford hurling here a few months ago, I maintain what's a problem for us at the moment for panel depth is we didn't have strong groups coming through from the lads born 1999-2001, only lads from those age groups in the 26 today were James Lawlor, Mcguckin and Ross Banville only others in the panel are Niall Murphy and Jack Doran, think there's plenty of potential the lads younger than that which are this year and last years u20 teams and hopefully lads even younger can drive on too. Real pity Cian Molloy isn't involved this year think he had the potential too push for starting 15, of the lads aged 18-21 those with the most potential over the next few years in my opinion are him, Richie Lawlor, Conor Foley, Luke Murphy and Cillian Byrne. Just to clarify on the Celtic Challenge we've 1 team who beat East Cork today, we lost to Kilkenny last week but qualify for the next phase, each county are approaching it differently Cork have 4 or 5 teams entering, most seem to have 1, Waterford didn't enter any team. It was u14 where we had a blitz with Waterford and Dublin and got 3 wins and a draw, as I said previously Leinster u20 looks a very good standard this year and stronger than Munster, Offaly could be a tricky opponent too for ourselves or Galway in the QF aswel given their recent record at u17."
I think we will have Westmeath in the u20 but I'm not 100% sure. I think Conall Clancy has potential in that age group also. In the last age group you mention I think AJ Redmond has great potential if he commits fully. Tucker will improve also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16905 - 23/04/2023 09:57:30    2472642

Replying To Finchfurlong996:  "Has he broken it twice now? Real shame he didn't get a league campaign under his belt. Probably would be a serious contender to start today if he did. One of the better lads to come through. We need more of them though!"
Yes seemingly it needs an operation to fully cure the problem. Not just 8 weeks in a cast or whatever.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16905 - 23/04/2023 09:58:40    2472643

Replying To Timbertony:  "Jacko....wouldn't even put his hand up for the first ball he got. Bottled a decent goal chance. Don't make me laugh....if Wexford are serious about IC hurling, we need to rip up what we are doing and start again."
Haha what game were you watching? Anyone with eyes could see yesterday that he is ten times the hurler of certain starter(s).

Waltermitty2 (Wexford) - Posts: 278 - 23/04/2023 10:05:55    2472645

We need to push on now and realise that we are up there with the Galway - 2nd favourites for the All Ireland"
Now that's optimism.

I thought your lads were a good bit of the pace, granted missing two key players would not help. Have a look at the stats, it might change your opinion. Key areas of turn overs, shots, efficiency Wexford were well behind, and even with the two lads back it wouldn't have closed the gap imo.

Best of luck rest of championship, had some good craic in the the stand with some Wexford folk yesterday.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1747 - 23/04/2023 10:28:43    2472649

Replying To Viking66:  "Haven't lost to ye in normal time since was it 5 years ago?"
What's that got to do with the matter at hand? Is not losing to Kilkenny the raison d'etre of Wexford hurling?
For the record, in the last 5 years Kilkenny have won 2 League titles, 3 Leinsters , appeared in 4 AI semi-finals and 2 finals. Not that anyone in Kilkenny would boast about it. Just like they wouldn't be losing much sleep over not beating Wexford in the last 4 years, or whatever it is.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 23/04/2023 10:42:01    2472652

First touch was completely off where it needs to be in order to challenge at that level. Kept firing high balls into their halfback line - without Chin in the half forward line we don't have the player who will win that ball. I don't believe that our first touch is that bad so I would hope the next day out that part of it is fixed but the tactics may need to change.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2048 - 23/04/2023 10:57:30    2472655

Encouraging start but very poor after that. Outscored 23 points to 11 after that good start....and thank God we did. A combination of good start and galway being very poor. A game that will be forgotten very quickly by all involved. Poor stuff all round. Felt very similar to the league game in Wexford park...just with an even smaller crowd. Players didn't even look too up for it, be it lack of confidence from Wexford and complacency from Galway. I don't think either set of supporters were happy with that. Awful game to watch. We looked well off the pace. Not impressed by Galway either. Egans game plan leaves a lot to be desired. Were great lads to make excuses but we couldn't have got a better start even with the lads but it petered out as a contest once they went ahead.
On the positive side. We didn't get hammered. It reminded me a bit of the Limerick league game where we didn't get hammered and stayed close-ish. Galway are a top side and have sights on an all Ireland but can't seem to string a full game together so not fully convinced by them. Most of their supporters were very dissapointed by their showing. And obviously we've the two lads to come back. We've missed Lee so much the last few years it's nearly just a bonus having him as basing every game on that he'll be playing. Damien Reck a loss but tbf Conor Foley probably played as well as Reck could've. All round forgettable performance from all. We were going in hope anyways so don't think result as put a dent in our expectations for Leinster progression. Dublin and Antrim games going to be huge now. Westmeath not be taken lightly after our disaster class last year. I don't think we'll be winning an all Ireland or even Leinster but I definitely don't think we're as bad as some pundits are saying, seen one very big Podcaster saying were in danger of falling off the map as a serious hurling player, something about there could only be 7 top hurling counties in a few years (KK, Gal and 5 Munster teams) I do worry a small bit about 3/4 years down the line but to suggest we'll turn into something as low as that is extreme.
Anyways, all we can worry about is Antrim now and getting over that.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 23/04/2023 11:23:46    2472657

Replying To Finchfurlong996:  "Has he broken it twice now? Real shame he didn't get a league campaign under his belt. Probably would be a serious contender to start today if he did. One of the better lads to come through. We need more of them though!"
He's broken it 3 times actually

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3893 - 23/04/2023 11:27:13    2472658

I'm feeling somewhat more positive this morning.

We defended fairly well

Lawlor was OK for first championship start.

Backs were grand but would call out matt and Devitt. I think we missed Ian carty too.

Foley can be proud of his first big day. A little raw but wasn't roasted.

Niland was excellent but if Reck was on he wouldn't have had it that easy.

Chinner up front would have made a massive difference for us.

We were well in it but not clinical enough. Really should have had a lead at half time.

Galway were excellent for the first ten minutes of 2nd half which was ultimately the difference between the 2 teams.

Missing the penalty was crucial but mac had a reasonably good game for what ball he got. Was very surprised jacko didn't hit it, or even Rory.

Dee was excellent too and didn't seem to be injured.

Not sure what we're at with Rory, but he did fairly well.

Jippo looks very rusty but will improve I'm sure.

Right before dee came off and chin had been warming up and Galway were in the ascendcy, dee came off and Egan went over and said something to chin.

A bit of strategy at play? Perhaps he decided we'd gone too far and wasn't worth going hammer and tongs to lose anyway?

Antrim were unlucky not to win so we need to bring everything we have for the next two games.

Get the maximum from Antrim, Dublin and Westmeath. Then we'll see what we're made of at home to the old enemy.

We've bounced back before. Last year we had no form after the Waterford game but beat Kilkenny and were excellent against Clare.

We need to do the same again.

This feels a lot like the early 00s. Not fully at the races, but capable of a huge day against all odds.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3893 - 23/04/2023 11:37:50    2472660

Replying To Viking66:  "Ian Carty is an excellent hurler. Conor Mcdonald is too static and easy to mark. You don't have to be fast but you do have to be willing to nake runs all game. Otherwise you are too easy to mark for an intercounty full back."
Conor Mac is so maligned on here. Does anyone realise how outnumbered he is most of the time and just how badly he's fouled? At one point in the second half he was out in front of McInerney so McInerney literally wrapped both his arms around Conor's free hand to drag him back. No free. How many times have we seen backs bear hug and wrestle him to the ground for their spare man or keeper to clean up? I honestly think he's one of the most fouled forwards in the country that gets nothing from refs.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 270 - 23/04/2023 11:38:47    2472662

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Encouraging start but very poor after that. Outscored 23 points to 11 after that good start....and thank God we did. A combination of good start and galway being very poor. A game that will be forgotten very quickly by all involved. Poor stuff all round. Felt very similar to the league game in Wexford park...just with an even smaller crowd. Players didn't even look too up for it, be it lack of confidence from Wexford and complacency from Galway. I don't think either set of supporters were happy with that. Awful game to watch. We looked well off the pace. Not impressed by Galway either. Egans game plan leaves a lot to be desired. Were great lads to make excuses but we couldn't have got a better start even with the lads but it petered out as a contest once they went ahead.
On the positive side. We didn't get hammered. It reminded me a bit of the Limerick league game where we didn't get hammered and stayed close-ish. Galway are a top side and have sights on an all Ireland but can't seem to string a full game together so not fully convinced by them. Most of their supporters were very dissapointed by their showing. And obviously we've the two lads to come back. We've missed Lee so much the last few years it's nearly just a bonus having him as basing every game on that he'll be playing. Damien Reck a loss but tbf Conor Foley probably played as well as Reck could've. All round forgettable performance from all. We were going in hope anyways so don't think result as put a dent in our expectations for Leinster progression. Dublin and Antrim games going to be huge now. Westmeath not be taken lightly after our disaster class last year. I don't think we'll be winning an all Ireland or even Leinster but I definitely don't think we're as bad as some pundits are saying, seen one very big Podcaster saying were in danger of falling off the map as a serious hurling player, something about there could only be 7 top hurling counties in a few years (KK, Gal and 5 Munster teams) I do worry a small bit about 3/4 years down the line but to suggest we'll turn into something as low as that is extreme.
Anyways, all we can worry about is Antrim now and getting over that."
Not impressed by Galway. Galway are a top side . I'm confused.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4376 - 23/04/2023 11:50:49    2472667

Galway could have put another 5 or 6 points on us easily. Their two midfielders seemed to hit a crazy amount of uncontested wides. Maybe one of very few positives is that the team rallied a bit in the last 10 minutes with the subs to keep the defeat somewhat respectable. ROC moving back to his own full back line was complete nonsense though.

As for the rest of it, the game was done as a contest after 50 mins and played at a league style intensity anyway. The pathetic penalty effort finished us but we were already in serious trouble at that stage. Positives, I thought Hanlon and Ryan were very good and McGovern battled like a trooper. Age old problem of being unable to win hard ball in the forward line very evident. Until that's addressed we will continue to be an also ran at this level. Tactically I thought we were all over the place with HB line getting dragged everywhere. Very slow to switch Devitt off Niland too. I was very disappointed with ROC, frees aside. He had a great start with the turnover for the goal but after that Grealish beat him to nearly every ball.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 444 - 23/04/2023 11:55:35    2472669

Replying To zinny:  "First touch was completely off where it needs to be in order to challenge at that level. Kept firing high balls into their halfback line - without Chin in the half forward line we don't have the player who will win that ball. I don't believe that our first touch is that bad so I would hope the next day out that part of it is fixed but the tactics may need to change."
Agreed, two big differences with Galway yesterday. The obvious one was strength. Some of our lads are simply miles off being able to physically compete at this level. In fairness for likes of Devitt, Foley it was their first game of the year and it showed. Second, just basic skill levels and decision making. First touch, losing the ball under no pressure, turning into tackles for no reason....standard first round fare maybe but the Galway lads werent making the same unforced errors. I thought some of Galways use of the ball at times was really poor, a bit more care and they could have given us a hiding.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 444 - 23/04/2023 12:02:40    2472675

Very big podcasters talk shit, it's what they do, I'd pay it no attention whatsoever

You could argue that there's currently only one top tier team, from that perspective.

You could argue it, but of course you would be wrong.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 953 - 23/04/2023 12:19:41    2472686

You think we're up there with Galway, 2nd favourites for the all Ireland..?!! I'd love some of what you're smoking. Look, I like to keep it as positive as anyone else on here but at some stage, reality has to come into play. If we get all our key players back and start hurling with a bit of confidence and a proper game plan as opposed to what we saw yesterday then we might still have a decent season. But we're a good bit behind Galway.

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 276 - 23/04/2023 12:25:33    2472691

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Encouraging start but very poor after that. Outscored 23 points to 11 after that good start....and thank God we did. A combination of good start and galway being very poor. A game that will be forgotten very quickly by all involved. Poor stuff all round. Felt very similar to the league game in Wexford park...just with an even smaller crowd. Players didn't even look too up for it, be it lack of confidence from Wexford and complacency from Galway. I don't think either set of supporters were happy with that. Awful game to watch. We looked well off the pace. Not impressed by Galway either. Egans game plan leaves a lot to be desired. Were great lads to make excuses but we couldn't have got a better start even with the lads but it petered out as a contest once they went ahead.
Anyways, all we can worry about is Antrim now and getting over that."
Ye were abysmal yesterday, 6 points down with 5 minutes of normal them plus stoppage time and ye looked like ye just resigned yourselves to defeat.
No fight at all. Gonna be a short year (like our own Hurlers may I add) unfortunately.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2492 - 23/04/2023 12:32:06    2472692

Replying To Viking66:  "Ian Carty is an excellent hurler. Conor Mcdonald is too static and easy to mark. You don't have to be fast but you do have to be willing to nake runs all game. Otherwise you are too easy to mark for an intercounty full back."
I wonder would moving Mac out to centre-forward, and basically telling him to stay there and occupy the opponent's number 6, work? He is still one of our best catchers, and we could go with one of Chin/Rory O in full-forward combined with pace/goal poachers either side of them.

Maybe something like:

Chin-Mac-Foley
Mogie-ROC-Dunbar.

With the likes of Dwyer, Higgins and Lawlor options too. Pace scares the bejaysus out of full-back lines more than anything, while a lot of the top teams use their centre-back as the launch-pad for attacks (which is why D.Reck is so important for us). Tormenting the former may negate the influence of the latter.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1504 - 23/04/2023 12:33:35    2472694

Chin shoulder injury, reck hamstring strain, Egan hoping to have both back next Saturday but not 100 percent yet

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 23/04/2023 12:33:55    2472695