Wexford Inter County Football

Replying To Yellaman:  "Yes, it's a great rule & Should keep the GAA true to its roots, but it is being abused ( and ignored) countywide."
Is it really that widespread though? I'm guessing what your referring to more a chase parents sent there children to a certain club when there small and even though they might not live in the parish stay playing with them, so for example a family might live in Oilgate but send there children to school in Crossabeg, when the children start playing GAA they will play with Crossabeg because they want to play on the same team as there friends from school.

I don't think the transfer system get regularly abused, there have been a odd controversial transfer over the last decade like Brosnan or Cathal Dunbar but there not that frequent, Wexford town used to be a farce for transfers but think that's calmed down and there isn't a parish rule there either.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 26/03/2024 13:20:25    2533863

Replying To gaelsboy:  "You could be right, but as stated by one of your own no need to be salty.
It was an unusual decision that cost you agaisnt us but not necessarily a wrong one, holding a player off the ball is a foul, most refs just do not spot it or do not bother to call it if noone falls or an argument follows.. but it was called on that occasion, unfortunate but that is sport.
I wish you the best in Leinster and tailteann cup campaign"
Don't want to be dragging it up again but if you think it was a penalty your either in denial or deluded, forget Leitrim or Wexford opinions on it as naturally they'll be biased, but every neutral opinion I've seen, read or heard on it said it was a crazy decision.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 26/03/2024 14:09:54    2533881

Replying To Yellaman:  "Yes, it's a great rule & Should keep the GAA true to its roots, but it is being abused ( and ignored) countywide."
It'd not really. Yes there are kids who play with a neighbouring parish on account of where they go to school, and maybe a few who go to their parents clubs, but by and large these would be few and far between. We don't have any lads playing for us living in other parishes as far as I know, and there wouldn't be lads living here playing for neighbouring clubs either as far as I know. It's certainly not widespread around here.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11876 - 26/03/2024 14:18:54    2533885

It'd not really. Yes there are kids who play with a neighbouring parish on account of where they go to school, and maybe a few who go to their parents clubs, but by and large these would be few and far between. We don't have any lads playing for us living in other parishes as far as I know, and there wouldn't be lads living here playing for neighbouring clubs either as far as I know. It's certainly not widespread around here.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11876 - 26/03/2024 14:18:57    2533886

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Don't want to be dragging it up again but if you think it was a penalty your either in denial or deluded, forget Leitrim or Wexford opinions on it as naturally they'll be biased, but every neutral opinion I've seen, read or heard on it said it was a crazy decision."
I am neither, it was not a stonewall penalty but potentially a foul, albeit a soft one and in this case the ref decided to call it and it cost you promotion. You had more wides that us in that game so it was not all that decision.
That ref hasn't got an intercounty game since so probably was never up to the level, but if we drag refs over hot coals for every call they may have got wrong, there will be no refs left in 10 years time..
I have no doubt you will get promoted next year

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 458 - 26/03/2024 14:38:38    2533893

Replying To gaelsboy:  "I am neither, it was not a stonewall penalty but potentially a foul, albeit a soft one and in this case the ref decided to call it and it cost you promotion. You had more wides that us in that game so it was not all that decision.
That ref hasn't got an intercounty game since so probably was never up to the level, but if we drag refs over hot coals for every call they may have got wrong, there will be no refs left in 10 years time..
I have no doubt you will get promoted next year"
Your correct on the wides but despite that still Wexford were deservedly leading 2-9 2-7 in injury time before the ref made that baffling call, speaks volumes no Leitrim player appealed for it and neither did the crowd in attendance.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 26/03/2024 15:00:03    2533898

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Your correct on the wides but despite that still Wexford were deservedly leading 2-9 2-7 in injury time before the ref made that baffling call, speaks volumes no Leitrim player appealed for it and neither did the crowd in attendance."
Ah I can't believe you are still at this, move on.

By the way in all the analysis you would think Leitrim were blessed to win the game, forgetting they had a brilliant goal disallowed for a borderline square ball!!

This wasn't put up on line, like the penalty.I think it was the right decision to disallow it, but it was on the margins.The margin went the other way for the penalty.

I really can't believe this incident keeps coming up and it is not by the Wexford management who are very professional.

To those who keep bringing up New York , I say surely ye are bigger than that and focus your attention on your neighbours Kilkenny and hurling.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 26/03/2024 15:56:39    2533918

Replying To joeman123:  "Ah I can't believe you are still at this, move on.

By the way in all the analysis you would think Leitrim were blessed to win the game, forgetting they had a brilliant goal disallowed for a borderline square ball!!

This wasn't put up on line, like the penalty.I think it was the right decision to disallow it, but it was on the margins.The margin went the other way for the penalty.

I really can't believe this incident keeps coming up and it is not by the Wexford management who are very professional.

To those who keep bringing up New York , I say surely ye are bigger than that and focus your attention on your neighbours Kilkenny and hurling."
I'm not going to get dragged into debate about that penalty, because my view is what's done is done, none of us can change it, and Leitrim are going up and we're not. All going well, we'll see you in Div. 3 the year after next!

But just since you mention that other goal, that ended up being disallowed - I was actually at that match myself. I thought there was a fairly blatant push in the back of a Wexford player as Leitrim gained possession for the move that led to that goal.

I suspect that as the play developed, the referee began thinking that he should have actually awarded a free for it, so when the "goal" resulted, he was glad of an opportunity to be able to disallow it. And yes, it was a marginal call as well.

I'm normally reluctant to criticise referees because I genuinely have the height of respect for anyone who does what I consider the hardest job in the game, but still, I think the fact that he didn't get another refereeing appointment for the rest of the League tells its own story about that particular one.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 26/03/2024 16:36:31    2533937

Watching the u20s on clubber. We are 1 point down at halftime. It's nearly like watching an underage game. When the keeper is taking short kickouts the backs are getting turned over by both sides. Dylan Cooke Leonard is an excellent player. Cian Hughes isn't playing and seemingly will be out for a while. Big loss. Overall Wicklow have been more direct and should be ahead by more than 1 point, but fair play to our lads for hanging in there.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11876 - 26/03/2024 20:09:40    2533988

Replying To Viking66:  "Watching the u20s on clubber. We are 1 point down at halftime. It's nearly like watching an underage game. When the keeper is taking short kickouts the backs are getting turned over by both sides. Dylan Cooke Leonard is an excellent player. Cian Hughes isn't playing and seemingly will be out for a while. Big loss. Overall Wicklow have been more direct and should be ahead by more than 1 point, but fair play to our lads for hanging in there."
Lost by 2. Terrible conditions for football in the 2nd half. Wicklow probably just about deserved the win but our lads battled well. Game could've gone either way.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11876 - 26/03/2024 20:51:13    2533999

Replying To joeman123:  "Ah I can't believe you are still at this, move on.

To those who keep bringing up New York , I say surely ye are bigger than that and focus your attention on your neighbours Kilkenny and hurling."
Firstly just ignore the poster who brought up New York,he's constantly making childish remarks. I'm well moved on just can't accept someone trying to suggest that technically it might have been a penalty, it wasn't the slightest sniff of a penalty. The reason it was brought up again this week is that head to head seperated the teams ultimately when it came to promotion. 2 things were pivotal for me in the end, that decision and ye getting the brilliant win vs Laois. Leagues are decided over 7 games and probably what hurts for ourselves is we delivered performances in 6 of those which you'd hope would be good enough for promotion, the 1 we didn't Laois put us to the sword. There's certainly no ill feeling towards Leitrim just a frustration how things panned out, best of luck for the year ahead except if ye end playing us again in the Tailteann Cup.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 26/03/2024 23:05:43    2534019

Replying To Pikeman96:  "I'm not going to get dragged into debate about that penalty, because my view is what's done is done, none of us can change it, and Leitrim are going up and we're not. All going well, we'll see you in Div. 3 the year after next!

But just since you mention that other goal, that ended up being disallowed - I was actually at that match myself. I thought there was a fairly blatant push in the back of a Wexford player as Leitrim gained possession for the move that led to that goal.

I suspect that as the play developed, the referee began thinking that he should have actually awarded a free for it, so when the "goal" resulted, he was glad of an opportunity to be able to disallow it. And yes, it was a marginal call as well.

I'm normally reluctant to criticise referees because I genuinely have the height of respect for anyone who does what I consider the hardest job in the game, but still, I think the fact that he didn't get another refereeing appointment for the rest of the League tells its own story about that particular one."
What's surprising is that every club referee would say don't make the game about you unless your hand is forced. It was a free but no ref would give a penalty in those circumstances. Before someone says a free is a free and should be blown - if that was the case there would be no football played at all. You could argue two All Irelands Dublin won were decided by frees but they were not gimmies and why people remember the frees being taken the decision to give them was not viewed as being controversial. I am sure he will get more games as at the end of the day its D4 football.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 27/03/2024 03:08:54    2534034

Replying To Viking66:  "Lost by 2. Terrible conditions for football in the 2nd half. Wicklow probably just about deserved the win but our lads battled well. Game could've gone either way."
Yes the lads battled well but overall I thought Wickliw deserved the win.
As an aside, why was the game brought to Blessington ?? Its akin to Wexford bringing wicklow down to Fethard. Surely wicklow have other grounds that could host these type of games.

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 114 - 27/03/2024 08:38:39    2534044

Replying To Yellaman:  "Yes the lads battled well but overall I thought Wickliw deserved the win.
As an aside, why was the game brought to Blessington ?? Its akin to Wexford bringing wicklow down to Fethard. Surely wicklow have other grounds that could host these type of games."
Not sure what they have with floodlights. And there's loads of pitches waterlogged around the country still.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11876 - 27/03/2024 09:01:06    2534047

Replying To Viking66:  "Not sure what they have with floodlights. And there's loads of pitches waterlogged around the country still."
I'd have assumed Bray Emmets (easily accessible from the motorway) or maybe the Wicklow Centre of Excellence at Ballinakill (just outside Rathdrum) would have been the venue. Don't think the state of pitches was an issue in choosing Blessington as the venue was chosen long before we knew there'd be so much rain.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 27/03/2024 13:21:27    2534086

Minor match switched to SETU this evening as Dr Cullen Park unplayable I've seen on social media

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1338 - 27/03/2024 13:55:43    2534093

Replying To Pikeman96:  "I'd have assumed Bray Emmets (easily accessible from the motorway) or maybe the Wicklow Centre of Excellence at Ballinakill (just outside Rathdrum) would have been the venue. Don't think the state of pitches was an issue in choosing Blessington as the venue was chosen long before we knew there'd be so much rain."
Maybe it was some sort of promotional thing. When I asked why our game against Laois was in Mountrath last year I got told by one of the Laois lads it was to give the club a boost in the area.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11876 - 27/03/2024 14:20:06    2534095

Replying To tearintom:  "Minor match switched to SETU this evening as Dr Cullen Park unplayable I've seen on social media"
I wouldn't say it's unplayable it's more that after all the rain they are minding it for the div 2a hurling final on Sunday, Carlow v Laois. But yes it is moved

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 213 - 27/03/2024 15:29:52    2534118

Replying To Viking66:  "Maybe it was some sort of promotional thing. When I asked why our game against Laois was in Mountrath last year I got told by one of the Laois lads it was to give the club a boost in the area."
Maybe. But the cynic in me can't help thinking maybe it was just Wicklow trying to make things awkward for Wexford!

They're also due to play Laois at home in the championship, and Blessington would have been on the "right" side of Co. Wicklow for that one. Found this on an old post in the Wicklow thread on this forum - list of grounds there with floodlights:
- Baltinglass
- Bray
- Rathnew
- Eire Og Greystones
- Newtown
- Donard/Glen
- Blessington
- Hollywood
- An Tochar Roundwood
- Avondale

If they end up bringing Laois to somewhere like Newtown or Rathnew, then the cynic in me might be right!

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 27/03/2024 15:35:48    2534119

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Maybe. But the cynic in me can't help thinking maybe it was just Wicklow trying to make things awkward for Wexford!

They're also due to play Laois at home in the championship, and Blessington would have been on the "right" side of Co. Wicklow for that one. Found this on an old post in the Wicklow thread on this forum - list of grounds there with floodlights:
- Baltinglass
- Bray
- Rathnew
- Eire Og Greystones
- Newtown
- Donard/Glen
- Blessington
- Hollywood
- An Tochar Roundwood
- Avondale

If they end up bringing Laois to somewhere like Newtown or Rathnew, then the cynic in me might be right!"
You're right there pikeman, the cynic in me thought likewise.
Like I said, it was like us bringing wicklow to new Ross or fethard.

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 114 - 27/03/2024 16:22:19    2534134