Wexford Inter County Football

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "that fecking penelty!!!!!!!!!!"
Unreal. Took a while to get over it. And next weekend the pain could be back again. If any justice Leitrim will drop points v tipp.

Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 79 - 17/03/2024 20:07:02    2531770

Replying To Paull:  "And to rub salt into the wounds the only way Leitrim can get that promotion is if we do them a favour and beat Longford.."
There are two ways Wexford can get promotion:

1 Wexford beat Longford and Tipperary beat Leitrim

2 Waterford beat Laois, Leitrim beat Tipperary and Wexford also win.In this scenario , Laois and Wexford will go up as they have by far the best scoring differences .In a situation where three teams or more tie scoring differences count.I know Laois are hot favourites to beat Waterford, but the reality is they are promoted.I was at the Leitrim Laois game last night and I thought their backs were porous and we should have put 4 goals past them.

Any thoughts on this ?

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 17/03/2024 20:14:48    2531776

I believe that we were absolutely awful today.

And to think that we were in an AI semifinal a couple of years ago!

Moyle (Tipperary) - Posts: 86 - 17/03/2024 20:30:21    2531784

Now, come here lads. Was it a penalty? Strictly speaking it was a penalty - yes, defender was tugging at the top of his jersey as the ball was sent in. Was it "soft", I think so, but not much we can do about it. Like all teams we've have had some stinkers against us.

We probably have the right amount of points - should have lost to Wexford and should have beaten Carlow. By the way, Laois have a funny way of throwing a game, they went 4 points up in the second-half, against the run of play - by all accounts Leitrim played their best game of the year yesterday, we were the far better team on the day, We always seem to play well against them, beat them last year too...... ( and we seem to play badly against Longford!).

I'm wary about Tipp; when the fixtures came out I didn't want to play them at the end, they seem to start the league slowly and then improve. Glad its in Carrick-on-Shannon.

Anyway, if we do beat Tipp, and Wexford do us a favour, I'll be hoping you get up next year ( and I suspect you might be cheering for us to come back down......... but that's ok!!).

Solo_Run (Leitrim) - Posts: 209 - 17/03/2024 20:33:23    2531785

Response from Wexford since Leitrim loss has been brilliant, don't give up hope yet, good things come to those who wait

FearBeag (Mayo) - Posts: 75 - 17/03/2024 20:46:32    2531790

Replying To Solo_Run:  "Now, come here lads. Was it a penalty? Strictly speaking it was a penalty - yes, defender was tugging at the top of his jersey as the ball was sent in. Was it "soft", I think so, but not much we can do about it. Like all teams we've have had some stinkers against us.

We probably have the right amount of points - should have lost to Wexford and should have beaten Carlow. By the way, Laois have a funny way of throwing a game, they went 4 points up in the second-half, against the run of play - by all accounts Leitrim played their best game of the year yesterday, we were the far better team on the day, We always seem to play well against them, beat them last year too...... ( and we seem to play badly against Longford!).

I'm wary about Tipp; when the fixtures came out I didn't want to play them at the end, they seem to start the league slowly and then improve. Glad its in Carrick-on-Shannon.

Anyway, if we do beat Tipp, and Wexford do us a favour, I'll be hoping you get up next year ( and I suspect you might be cheering for us to come back down......... but that's ok!!)."
Strictly speaking it wax a penalty ??
I didn't read any more !!

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 114 - 17/03/2024 20:48:12    2531791

Replying To Solo_Run:  "Now, come here lads. Was it a penalty? Strictly speaking it was a penalty - yes, defender was tugging at the top of his jersey as the ball was sent in. Was it "soft", I think so, but not much we can do about it. Like all teams we've have had some stinkers against us.

Anyway, if we do beat Tipp, and Wexford do us a favour, I'll be hoping you get up next year ( and I suspect you might be cheering for us to come back down......... but that's ok!!)."
Every neutral observer I've seen or read said it was a crazy penalty call which says everything, fair play for getting the result in Portlaoise shows good resilience that ye were 4 down in the 2nd half.

Good performance today for ourselves we blew an very disappointing Tipp side away conditioning wise, goals were well worked, wides biggest negative, we miss Brooks badly for the long distance frees. Lovely set up in Fethard, has it limits in terms of a crowd but would be a great venue for club games.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1726 - 17/03/2024 21:01:51    2531795

Replying To beano:  "Anyone else find it farcical that no pitch could be sourced in either Tipp or Wexford to host a Division 4 football game when all the Division 1 hurling games went ahead in the weather that isn't meant to be conducive to hurling (so we are told)?"
The initial 6pm throw in time limited options for starters and alot of pitches simply aren't playable at the moment, only 2 soccer games went ahead on grass pitches in the whole of Wexford today. I don't know why today's venue wasn't considered for last night, i know its used for both GAA and rugby so maybe it was booked already. I'm guessing alot of people are trying to avoid alot of traffic on their pitches too, I know of 1 pitch in Wexford that was good condition last weekend but after 3 games in 4 days ( 1 adult, 1 u16 and 1 Rackard League) was close to unplayable.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1726 - 17/03/2024 21:16:14    2531799

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "The initial 6pm throw in time limited options for starters and alot of pitches simply aren't playable at the moment, only 2 soccer games went ahead on grass pitches in the whole of Wexford today. I don't know why today's venue wasn't considered for last night, i know its used for both GAA and rugby so maybe it was booked already. I'm guessing alot of people are trying to avoid alot of traffic on their pitches too, I know of 1 pitch in Wexford that was good condition last weekend but after 3 games in 4 days ( 1 adult, 1 u16 and 1 Rackard League) was close to unplayable."
Just to add to this the fact Patricks Park and Ferns were deemed unplayable tells you everything about the recent rainfall, usually 2 of the better playing surfaces to cope with wet weather.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1726 - 17/03/2024 21:56:35    2531809

Replying To beano:  "Anyone else find it farcical that no pitch could be sourced in either Tipp or Wexford to host a Division 4 football game when all the Division 1 hurling games went ahead in the weather that isn't meant to be conducive to hurling (so we are told)?"
No.

Tipp's county ground isn't even available for hurling these days. Wexford Park already had the hurling, and there's no way that it or any other venue could have taken two matches on Saturday. No club would have been willing to hand over a pitch on Saturday either, and have it churned up in all that rain.

The rain that really made St. Patrick's Park and Ferns unplayable started at about 4.30 p.m. If the football had been fixed for earlier in the day, then it could have gone ahead in St. Patrick's Park all right, but then of course there'd be complaints about a direct clash with the hurling.

Maybe tell us where you'd have put the match on Saturday evening, if you'd been in charge?

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2249 - 17/03/2024 21:58:55    2531810

beating longford , ever if we dont get promoted, will leave us in good shape going in to championship, while we will have failed in our no 1 aim [to go up] we can take a lot of good from the league and will be in good form going in to the next two championships

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 17/03/2024 22:27:06    2531824

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "beating longford , ever if we dont get promoted, will leave us in good shape going in to championship, while we will have failed in our no 1 aim [to go up
we can take a lot of good from the league and will be in good form going in to the next two championships"]If we could win I always think 5 wins from 7 promotion or not is a good effort in the league and realistically 1 of the defeats was ultimately down to a scandalous call from the ref.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1726 - 18/03/2024 00:07:41    2531836

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "true"
Did you go after? Was a great afternoon for it. Good entertaining game! We kicked some wides though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11865 - 18/03/2024 01:29:20    2531841

I still laugh at the insinuations "oh it was a soft penalty" it wasnt a soft penalty, it was a phantom decision, dodgy doesn't even come into it.

And it looks likely that it may ultimately cost us unfortunately.

Didn't get down to todays game but was talking to one of the lads who did and said whilst good it was hard to gauge as Tipp just looked complex off it.

That's so unlike Tipperary teams, they still have a decent set of players and just seem to be capitulating, that's very un Tipp like.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1338 - 18/03/2024 06:39:01    2531846

Replying To tearintom:  "I still laugh at the insinuations "oh it was a soft penalty" it wasnt a soft penalty, it was a phantom decision, dodgy doesn't even come into it.

And it looks likely that it may ultimately cost us unfortunately.

Didn't get down to todays game but was talking to one of the lads who did and said whilst good it was hard to gauge as Tipp just looked complex off it.

That's so unlike Tipperary teams, they still have a decent set of players and just seem to be capitulating, that's very un Tipp like."
Tipp were poor ok, though they are apparently missing 4 or 5 starters. Our lads did help make them look poor though, they played with great intensity and the workrate was impressive. Only negative was all the wides we kicked.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11865 - 18/03/2024 09:41:04    2531861

Good to see wexford showing shoots of hope again, they were a good team in the 2000s, hopefully they can get promoted

222 (UK) - Posts: 694 - 18/03/2024 09:47:59    2531866

One other thing the ref was probably more of a hurling ref. There were 3 clear Tipp black cards, and a few more borderline ones, and the ref only dished out yellows.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11865 - 18/03/2024 09:58:46    2531870

Replying To 222:  "Good to see wexford showing shoots of hope again, they were a good team in the 2000s, hopefully they can get promoted"
Not in our hands sadly. Hopefully should be a good entertaining game in the Park next weekend. Try win it and take it from there after that.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11865 - 18/03/2024 12:05:27    2531896

Replying To Viking66:  "Not in our hands sadly. Hopefully should be a good entertaining game in the Park next weekend. Try win it and take it from there after that."
It's not in our hands now viking but a win would be a good way to finish the league.
Longford beat Carlow by 5 points. We beat Carlow by 10 points. It probably won't account for much on the day but if we go out and give it everything we can get the win and if we are very lucky with other results going our way we may get promoted but it's very much odds against.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 272 - 18/03/2024 14:57:35    2531927

Replying To Viking66:  "Tipp were poor ok, though they are apparently missing 4 or 5 starters. Our lads did help make them look poor though, they played with great intensity and the workrate was impressive. Only negative was all the wides we kicked."
Steven O'Brien and Conor Sweeney are 2 massive losses for them through injury, in fairness after the devastation of the end of the Leitrim game to respond with 11, 10 and 14 point wins shows good resilience in the panel regardless of opposition.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1726 - 18/03/2024 16:09:30    2531940