Wexford Inter County Football

Lads I said it before, why do ye bother responding to that poster.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 939 - 15/02/2024 21:32:16    2526280

Laois beating Carlow well, the second position is well up for grabs. The match tomorrow against Leitrim is pivotal to any hope. Best of luck to all involved. Waterford gave Longford a game aswell , all to play for still

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 166 - 17/02/2024 23:07:22    2526580

Replying To WexMurph:  "Laois beating Carlow well, the second position is well up for grabs. The match tomorrow against Leitrim is pivotal to any hope. Best of luck to all involved. Waterford gave Longford a game aswell , all to play for still"
It's a huge game, like I said earlier Laois are head and shoulders above everyone else in the division.

In that respect the result against Laois wasn't exactly the issue, but the performance was worrying for me, it's the first time I've felt like leaving early since the debacle the hurlers had against Clare in the league last year.

If and it's a big if we manage a win today it will be huge and sets us up well, this weeks game was always likely to be the key game all league.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1338 - 18/02/2024 10:42:16    2526610

Listened to the game on the radio. Unlucky way to lose the game. 2nd half seemed exciting. Probably some poor wides cost us the win in the end.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11877 - 18/02/2024 15:40:36    2526676

Anyone know the goalkeeper situation? Why only 1 on squad. Seems strange and last 2 away games went with an outfield player who isn't in contention out field as the number 16.

Anyhow, results need a pick up and start moving up the table or another year in div 4 is on the cards

Rosscountrt (Wexford) - Posts: 7 - 18/02/2024 17:20:04    2526718

We grew into the game in the 2nd half but chances were missed and our defence seemed leaky by all accounts. Leitrim are most definately no better than Wexford. They may get promoted but if they do will almost certainly drop back down.
We look destined to be stuck in division 4 for yet another year unless by some miracle we win our remaining games and the leaders drop points.
Wasn't at the game. But Spratt and Billy Byrne said several times that the referee was making home town decisions throughout the game.
It doesn't look good for the championship if you take results so far this year. Hammered by a 3rd string Dublin. Hammered by Laois and earlier hammered by Meath. Beating a very weak London by 4 points and today losing to a very ordinary Side
( although they were lucky )
Where to from here? I don't know but maybe management need to look in the mirror.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 273 - 18/02/2024 17:41:58    2526723

Replying To Magpie2:  "We grew into the game in the 2nd half but chances were missed and our defence seemed leaky by all accounts. Leitrim are most definately no better than Wexford. They may get promoted but if they do will almost certainly drop back down.
We look destined to be stuck in division 4 for yet another year unless by some miracle we win our remaining games and the leaders drop points.
Wasn't at the game. But Spratt and Billy Byrne said several times that the referee was making home town decisions throughout the game.
It doesn't look good for the championship if you take results so far this year. Hammered by a 3rd string Dublin. Hammered by Laois and earlier hammered by Meath. Beating a very weak London by 4 points and today losing to a very ordinary Side
Where to from here? I don't know but maybe management need to look in the mirror."
Wasn't at the game but seemed like the defence was in trouble again think Leitrim had a couple more goal chances aswell, being realistic going to division 3 and leaking goals for fun we are at nothing until it's sorted out.

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 166 - 18/02/2024 18:05:35    2526735

Replying To Magpie2:  "We grew into the game in the 2nd half but chances were missed and our defence seemed leaky by all accounts. Leitrim are most definately no better than Wexford. They may get promoted but if they do will almost certainly drop back down.
Where to from here? I don't know but maybe management need to look in the mirror."
Feel sorry for Wexford as Leitrim have been on the receiving end of last minute heartbreak down the years.We are not used to dramatic endings going in our favour but I understand a Wexford defender pulled back a Leitrim man in the square leading to penalty.Very relieved team and supporters but think your Radio people were watching a different game although there is always a little bias with local Radio.General con census here is that The Ref gave Wexford a lot of dubious decisions when Leitrim were in attacking mode but Referees usually don't decide the outcome. Wexford will bemoan several missed chances especially in the first half with wind at their back while their focus on one of our top forwards Darragh Rooney allowed our other talented Forward Ryan O'Rourke free rein.. I agree Wexford are still in contention despite having only 2 points but it proves how competitive this Division is.However a Leitrim win against Carlow could decide it.Best of luck.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 131 - 18/02/2024 18:58:26    2526756

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "Feel sorry for Wexford as Leitrim have been on the receiving end of last minute heartbreak down the years.We are not used to dramatic endings going in our favour but I understand a Wexford defender pulled back a Leitrim man in the square leading to penalty.Very relieved team and supporters but think your Radio people were watching a different game although there is always a little bias with local Radio.General con census here is that The Ref gave Wexford a lot of dubious decisions when Leitrim were in attacking mode but Referees usually don't decide the outcome. Wexford will bemoan several missed chances especially in the first half with wind at their back while their focus on one of our top forwards Darragh Rooney allowed our other talented Forward Ryan O'Rourke free rein.. I agree Wexford are still in contention despite having only 2 points but it proves how competitive this Division is.However a Leitrim win against Carlow could decide it.Best of luck."
Sorry, but I don't really understand your post. You "understand" a Wexford defender pulled a Leitrim man. Understand from who exactly ?
"Referee's usually don't decide the outcome "
.....but this one did just that.

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 114 - 18/02/2024 19:50:53    2526776

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "Feel sorry for Wexford as Leitrim have been on the receiving end of last minute heartbreak down the years.We are not used to dramatic endings going in our favour but I understand a Wexford defender pulled back a Leitrim man in the square leading to penalty.Very relieved team and supporters but think your Radio people were watching a different game although there is always a little bias with local Radio.General con census here is that The Ref gave Wexford a lot of dubious decisions when Leitrim were in attacking mode but Referees usually don't decide the outcome. Wexford will bemoan several missed chances especially in the first half with wind at their back while their focus on one of our top forwards Darragh Rooney allowed our other talented Forward Ryan O'Rourke free rein.. I agree Wexford are still in contention despite having only 2 points but it proves how competitive this Division is.However a Leitrim win against Carlow could decide it.Best of luck."
Travelled to the game from Dublin with a pal from Leitrim and a €50 wager. My pal was genuinely embarrassed by the penalty decision although it the embarrassment had worn off 10 miles into the return trip as we stopped for a pint.

Wexford will kick themselves as they were the better team overall but lacked the cutting edge that Leitrim had as they could have had two more goals. The ref who someone said was doing his first inter county game didn't punish the constant fouling from
Leitrim with yellow cards while the dragging of the ball was like an Ulster team. At one stage a leitrim player caught Malone high with a closed fist. The ref took out his book noticed that the player was already booked and then put away his book again.

The penalty decision is just one that you don't ever get. There was probably 12 people under the ball and not one person around me who were mostly Leitrim were appealing for a foul.

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 126 - 18/02/2024 20:15:25    2526790

Replying To Yellaman:  "Sorry, but I don't really understand your post. You "understand" a Wexford defender pulled a Leitrim man. Understand from who exactly ?
"Referee's usually don't decide the outcome "
.....but this one did just that."
Barry McNulty was pulled down when fielding the ball and a penalty decision was the correct call.

The referee didn't decide the outcome, Ben Brosnan missing several simple frees throughout, and wexfords shooting in the first half decided the outcome. Wexford cannot honestly blame the referee for losing the game

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 18/02/2024 20:28:57    2526794

Replying To wexfordwin:  "Travelled to the game from Dublin with a pal from Leitrim and a €50 wager. My pal was genuinely embarrassed by the penalty decision although it the embarrassment had worn off 10 miles into the return trip as we stopped for a pint.

Wexford will kick themselves as they were the better team overall but lacked the cutting edge that Leitrim had as they could have had two more goals. The ref who someone said was doing his first inter county game didn't punish the constant fouling from
Leitrim with yellow cards while the dragging of the ball was like an Ulster team. At one stage a leitrim player caught Malone high with a closed fist. The ref took out his book noticed that the player was already booked and then put away his book again.

The penalty decision is just one that you don't ever get. There was probably 12 people under the ball and not one person around me who were mostly Leitrim were appealing for a foul."
I am afraid you have rose tented glasses about the game.

Anyway time to move on, you have a strong team and I wish you well in your remaining games which I think you will win.We are lucky to have the head to head with you .

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 18/02/2024 20:41:03    2526806

Hmmm

Yet Wexford finished the game with a sum total of zero score from placed balls compared to 1:2 in favour of Leitrim from placed balls.

You believe? Fair play cos everyone around me Leitrim supporters also were saying "what was that for?"

And genuinely I don't know what it was for.

The match itself, terrible start and even worse finish, we performed ok, much improved but you're right the missed chances were a killer.

Can only see another year in division 4 unfortunately, we are too open for my liking for division 4 football, it's a dogfight to get out of it.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1338 - 18/02/2024 20:45:52    2526808

Replying To wexfordwin:  "Travelled to the game from Dublin with a pal from Leitrim and a €50 wager. My pal was genuinely embarrassed by the penalty decision although it the embarrassment had worn off 10 miles into the return trip as we stopped for a pint.

The penalty decision is just one that you don't ever get. There was probably 12 people under the ball and not one person around me who were mostly Leitrim were appealing for a foul."
I was at the game,it was definitely a penalty.Mcnulty was pulled back as he jumped for the ball.The defender panicked.Your second goal also came from Ryan o Rourke being fouled on the Wexford 45 which should have been a free in to us. I could go on,the ref did us no favours today with any 50/50s.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 18/02/2024 21:07:39    2526815

We were very lucky today ,got the rub of the green big time can't deny it. Wexford were very strong around the middle third , once they pushed up on our kick out and forced our keeper into going long they mainly dominated possession, but some terrible wides especially from frees left us in it. Best of luck for the rest of the year lads.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 18/02/2024 21:09:55    2526816

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "Barry McNulty was pulled down when fielding the ball and a penalty decision was the correct call.

The referee didn't decide the outcome, Ben Brosnan missing several simple frees throughout, and wexfords shooting in the first half decided the outcome. Wexford cannot honestly blame the referee for losing the game"
Have just been sent the video and it's one of the worst decisions you will see. I presume it will be on social media in the next few days getting plenty of attention.

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 126 - 18/02/2024 22:01:49    2526822

Replying To masseyferguson:  "I was at the game,it was definitely a penalty.Mcnulty was pulled back as he jumped for the ball.The defender panicked.Your second goal also came from Ryan o Rourke being fouled on the Wexford 45 which should have been a free in to us. I could go on,the ref did us no favours today with any 50/50s."
Have a look at the clip on X. No way was that a penalty.

Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 80 - 18/02/2024 22:20:58    2526827

Wasn't at the game but I presume like others seen the penalty clip on Twitter, the fact no Leitrim player was claiming for it tells you everything.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1727 - 19/02/2024 00:08:03    2526836

https://x.com/panthero84/status/1759329955094110433?s=48&t=0sVo3P3GExLtyfdpuuiCVA

Very hard to see a penalty in that lads.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11877 - 19/02/2024 04:52:26    2526841

I agree with you on the high closed fist should have been a second yellow. The penalty also very dubious. Probably a foul but as you said it's one that is never given. There was a lot of dragging and pulling down of players off the ball. But to be honest I thought it was mostly being engaged by Wexford players. I thought Wexford looked fitter, faster and stronger than our lads. But simple skills let you down at times. We didn't deserve to win the game and performed very badly at times. I do think though if we meet you later in the year in the T cup we should win comfortably. Best of luck for the rest of the year.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 240 - 19/02/2024 09:25:10    2526866