Wexford Inter County Football

Replying To Viking66:  "There will be at least half those Dubs from today starting League games at some point, and maybe 3 or 4 might start championship games if they keep developing. They are a serious squad. They are training at a completely different level to us week in and week out, in terms of speed and intensity. And it showed in their tackling and their decision making. That game will stand to our lads no question. They likely won't play another team that good even if they reach a Tailteann Cup final.
Our u12s played Oulart and Barntown u12 selections in the long gap between the League and the finals last year. We lost both but the lads learnt alot. In our final we only conceded 1 score after that."
Travelled across the city to Parnell and there was a significant gap between teams. Dublin were excellent and Wexford looked like a team who trained hard during the week. That Dublin team would win Division 4 at a canter.

On the other hand it's hard to understand those who say no change is needed in Wexford championship.

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 124 - 13/01/2024 15:52:32    2520011

Replying To wexfordwin:  "Travelled across the city to Parnell and there was a significant gap between teams. Dublin were excellent and Wexford looked like a team who trained hard during the week. That Dublin team would win Division 4 at a canter.

On the other hand it's hard to understand those who say no change is needed in Wexford championship."
They'd come close to winning the Tailteann to be fair.

So long as its treated as an extra game under the belt ahead of the league opener, and it appears it is regarded as such, then there is nothing to read into it at all.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1418 - 13/01/2024 16:18:28    2520016

Replying To wexfordwin:  "Travelled across the city to Parnell and there was a significant gap between teams. Dublin were excellent and Wexford looked like a team who trained hard during the week. That Dublin team would win Division 4 at a canter.

On the other hand it's hard to understand those who say no change is needed in Wexford championship."
Fair play to you for going lad.
As regards changes in the Wexford Championship its probably too late in the players development to change how fast they think, react and tackle. Football probably has to be coached better from u10/u12 upwards in terms of being better ball handlers and kickers etc, and the only way our lads will get better at the mental side, reading the game and making good decisions faster when tired, and the art of tackling and pressing etc is to try get more games against better teams like today's in the short term, but more importantly rise up the pyramid and improve along the way. I do think there are excellent footballers, technically speaking, in our team, but they are used to having more time on the ball, and so take more time.
Do you think reducing our football championship to 8 teams would improve our intercounty lads that way?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 13/01/2024 16:40:34    2520020

Replying To Viking66:  "Fair play to you for going lad.
As regards changes in the Wexford Championship its probably too late in the players development to change how fast they think, react and tackle. Football probably has to be coached better from u10/u12 upwards in terms of being better ball handlers and kickers etc, and the only way our lads will get better at the mental side, reading the game and making good decisions faster when tired, and the art of tackling and pressing etc is to try get more games against better teams like today's in the short term, but more importantly rise up the pyramid and improve along the way. I do think there are excellent footballers, technically speaking, in our team, but they are used to having more time on the ball, and so take more time.
Do you think reducing our football championship to 8 teams would improve our intercounty lads that way?"
Not a hope would an 8 team championship improve things. Our goal scorer today would be thrown further down in the pecking order of lads to watch, and there were a few more who featured today that probably wouldn't get the same eyes on them either. Most laughable proposal there ever was.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1418 - 13/01/2024 17:04:27    2520023

To improve football surely would be better getting more championship games would be better to increase numbers in football championship where likes of rosslare fethard maudlintown st martims would hold thier own and could play against better teams and improve their all round game surely increase the player pool up to a certain level.
Whilst reduce the amount of hurling championship teams to 8 and add in 4 district teams to give the best of the rest a chsnce to play against better opposition surely woulc bring more up to the level needed too .
Prob better in structures than on here .
Think there is plenty of talent in both codes just getting g them to the level required is the conundrum.
Hard luck today to the boys better things to come not many come away from parnell Park inc hurlers with the spoils

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 178 - 13/01/2024 17:27:15    2520026

Replying To Viking66:  "Fair play to you for going lad.
Do you think reducing our football championship to 8 teams would improve our intercounty lads that way?"
I agree that the solution lies at Under 8,10,12 and being based in Dublin I think the work in clubs is a step ahead in quality. However the top tier of football in a county needs to be of a high standard with the best players playing in it. Nobody could argue that is the case at the moment and the suggestion to go to 16 is crazy. Let's be honest Dublin's 35- 50 tanked us today. Their first team panel are in Cork for training weekend according to a lad sitting beside me.

Wouod going to eight make us worse ?

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 124 - 13/01/2024 17:45:13    2520030

Replying To beano:  "Not a hope would an 8 team championship improve things. Our goal scorer today would be thrown further down in the pecking order of lads to watch, and there were a few more who featured today that probably wouldn't get the same eyes on them either. Most laughable proposal there ever was."
Absolutely Beano it's a terrible idea.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 13/01/2024 17:50:14    2520031

Change is fine, as long as it's the right change.

The idea of changing the championship grades to grades of 8 is most definitely not the right one.

The fact that we have a football development committee in place who weren't even consulted about these plans doesn't sit right.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 13/01/2024 18:21:42    2520036

Replying To Formertownie:  "To improve football surely would be better getting more championship games would be better to increase numbers in football championship where likes of rosslare fethard maudlintown st martims would hold thier own and could play against better teams and improve their all round game surely increase the player pool up to a certain level.
Whilst reduce the amount of hurling championship teams to 8 and add in 4 district teams to give the best of the rest a chsnce to play against better opposition surely woulc bring more up to the level needed too .
Prob better in structures than on here .
Think there is plenty of talent in both codes just getting g them to the level required is the conundrum.
Hard luck today to the boys better things to come not many come away from parnell Park inc hurlers with the spoils"
District teams would be fantastic for the hurling championship. But because their concern is seemingly reducing football's window, it'll never happen

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1418 - 13/01/2024 18:26:25    2520037

Replying To wexfordwin:  "I agree that the solution lies at Under 8,10,12 and being based in Dublin I think the work in clubs is a step ahead in quality. However the top tier of football in a county needs to be of a high standard with the best players playing in it. Nobody could argue that is the case at the moment and the suggestion to go to 16 is crazy. Let's be honest Dublin's 35- 50 tanked us today. Their first team panel are in Cork for training weekend according to a lad sitting beside me.

Wouod going to eight make us worse ?"
Carlow have a six or eight team senior championship if I'm not mistaken and has done nothing for there county senior team for many years.

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 165 - 13/01/2024 18:38:02    2520041

have never ever understood the total bull that comes out of wexford gaa people ever time the hurlers or footballers suffer a bad defeat!!!! its always the format of the club shampionships have to be changed!!! how many times has it been changed since we first did away with the knockout? several times, and after every change lads are crying out for another change within a year , 150 years of gaa and we still have not found a way to run local cships, this all comes down to the county teams not doing well, easy way out is blame the club cship its the lazy option, some people need to cop on and grow up

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 13/01/2024 20:04:58    2520052

Replying To tearintom:  "Change is fine, as long as it's the right change.

The idea of changing the championship grades to grades of 8 is most definitely not the right one.

The fact that we have a football development committee in place who weren't even consulted about these plans doesn't sit right."
Fair enough and everyone is entitled to their opinion. What would you say is the right change to
Improve the overall standard of football in Wexford?

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 124 - 14/01/2024 07:37:48    2520080

Replying To wexfordwin:  "Fair enough and everyone is entitled to their opinion. What would you say is the right change to
Improve the overall standard of football in Wexford?"
To be honest personally speaking I think we should be going the opposite way.

The rationale is in regards to competitiveness when in reality the football championship has been more competitive than hurling for the past decade or little longer.

Moreover if there was to be a change I believe it should be to increase the amount of teams rather than reduce. We have had more teams come up from intermediate and win senior in football than in hurling for the best part of the last what 20 years or so for example.

There's actually more scope to increase the teams per grade and retain competitiveness in football compared to hurling and exposing more players to a higher level of football would be one thing that would help.

Of course as others have pointed out the big work needs to come underage.

But I suppose the crux of my point is that's just my own thoughts on the matter but when there's actually a committee in place for football development in the county surely the first port of call for such a redial change would be to discuss with them and get their views

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1337 - 14/01/2024 10:55:18    2520093

Seems to me that most of the posters here understand that to genuinely improve the standard of football and get us to a level where we are consistently a Division 2/3 football team we need to sort out our underage coaching structures 1st.
Anything else might give us a good year here or a good year there but nothing long-term.
The skill levels of our 12s /14s are miles behind most of the Counties in Ireland and this transfers all the way eventually to our Senior team .
How many of our best 24 footballers are equally good left and right? Can solo comfortably both feet?
Can execute a dummy hop subconsciously when the need arises. Can kick a football pass accurately 30 yards ?
Can actually kick a point 35 yards out?
I would love to know the answer to those questions but I would be very surprised if it was more than a few.
These are the things our club coaches plus development squads should be working on with our young players.
Then, hopefully, once they are 16/17, they can then concentrate on getting fit and strong enough to be able to play and hopefully last 70 mins at championship pace.
I urge you to have a look at the Munster Minor Football Final last year between Cork and Kerry on Youtube.
The skill levels are off the chart. That is what we need to aspire to.
Am I expecting too much when I say that if you want to play football for Wexford the minimum standard should be that you are comfortable kicking left and right?
And I am not letting Hurling off the hook either as lots more needs to be done there just to get us consistently competitive as a top 8 team and equally if you want to play Hurling for Wexford the very Minimum standard is to be comfortable left and right.

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 171 - 14/01/2024 12:19:02    2520100

Replying To Paull:  "Seems to me that most of the posters here understand that to genuinely improve the standard of football and get us to a level where we are consistently a Division 2/3 football team we need to sort out our underage coaching structures 1st.
Anything else might give us a good year here or a good year there but nothing long-term.
The skill levels of our 12s /14s are miles behind most of the Counties in Ireland and this transfers all the way eventually to our Senior team .
How many of our best 24 footballers are equally good left and right? Can solo comfortably both feet?
Can execute a dummy hop subconsciously when the need arises. Can kick a football pass accurately 30 yards ?
Can actually kick a point 35 yards out?
I would love to know the answer to those questions but I would be very surprised if it was more than a few.
These are the things our club coaches plus development squads should be working on with our young players.
Then, hopefully, once they are 16/17, they can then concentrate on getting fit and strong enough to be able to play and hopefully last 70 mins at championship pace.
I urge you to have a look at the Munster Minor Football Final last year between Cork and Kerry on Youtube.
The skill levels are off the chart. That is what we need to aspire to.
Am I expecting too much when I say that if you want to play football for Wexford the minimum standard should be that you are comfortable kicking left and right?
And I am not letting Hurling off the hook either as lots more needs to be done there just to get us consistently competitive as a top 8 team and equally if you want to play Hurling for Wexford the very Minimum standard is to be comfortable left and right."
Agree with all of that Paull. Hopefully as a county we can sort out underage coaching. Encourage more volunteers, parents, to mentor teams, maybe a bit of advertising along the lines of "what better way to spend quality time with your kids and keep you and your family active?" etc etc. Then offer them a better standard of coaching, so that they can be better coaches.
Better defined recommendations for training session structure for all the underage age groups for all clubs would be helpful also, with more emphasis put on basic skills like kicking and striking off both sides as you have been pushing, and catching at all ages also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11864 - 14/01/2024 17:02:20    2520163

the kicked pass by scully for dublins first goal was something very special

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 14/01/2024 19:24:28    2520178

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "the kicked pass by scully for dublins first goal was something very special"
Two Wexford defenders ball watching for this, mark your man please Wexford defenders,loads of men behind ball ,but no man marking

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 439 - 15/01/2024 09:16:07    2520227

Replying To Lockerroomboy:  "Two Wexford defenders ball watching for this, mark your man please Wexford defenders,loads of men behind ball ,but no man marking"
of course, still there was a very narrow window to get it through, but when it got there , he was clear on goal, your 100% correct but it was still an amazing ball in

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 15/01/2024 14:53:07    2520311

Replying To Viking66:  "Agree with all of that Paull. Hopefully as a county we can sort out underage coaching. Encourage more volunteers, parents, to mentor teams, maybe a bit of advertising along the lines of "what better way to spend quality time with your kids and keep you and your family active?" etc etc. Then offer them a better standard of coaching, so that they can be better coaches.
Better defined recommendations for training session structure for all the underage age groups for all clubs would be helpful also, with more emphasis put on basic skills like kicking and striking off both sides as you have been pushing, and catching at all ages also."
I think it goes back to the age old problem in Wexford - we are duel code in all respects but everyone sees football as the easier to coach so don't have to put in much effort. Its the attitude to football that has to change first - we need coaches to believe that the kids here could be every bit as good as those in Dublin etc

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1804 - 15/01/2024 23:56:37    2520376

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "have never ever understood the total bull that comes out of wexford gaa people ever time the hurlers or footballers suffer a bad defeat!!!! its always the format of the club shampionships have to be changed!!! how many times has it been changed since we first did away with the knockout? several times, and after every change lads are crying out for another change within a year , 150 years of gaa and we still have not found a way to run local cships, this all comes down to the county teams not doing well, easy way out is blame the club cship its the lazy option, some people need to cop on and grow up"
Agree 100 per cent you say, brilliant post

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 439 - 18/01/2024 17:44:51    2520864