Wexford Inter County Football

Replying To zinny:  "We are home for Wicklow. I would rank the Sligo game the toughest of those three."
I know. Sligo is the only game I said was away. And because of that it will be the toughest.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11730 - 27/02/2023 13:16:08    2460645

Right....let's say we win our remaining matches, to finish on 11 points. And let's say Leitrim & Laois draw with each other, and both win their other remaining matches. That would leave them both on 11 points as well.

And I'm honestly not sure what would happen then. Traditionally, it would just go to points difference, and we'd have to hope that some of our missed goal chances v Waterford on Saturday wouldn't come back to haunt us.

However, there's a new rule coming down the tracks in some competitions, whereby if three or more teams finish level, it doesn't go straight to points difference. Instead, it goes to what's essentially a "mini league" between those teams. And in this case, it would be:
Laois - beat Wexford, drew with Leitrim - 3 points - 1st place
Wexford - lost to Laois, beat Leitrim - 2 points - 2nd place
Leitrim - lost to Wexford, drew with Laois - 1 point - 3rd place

I don't think it applies to the League this year, but am not sure. Will try find out.

Either way, it all still depends on winning our last three matches!

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2229 - 27/02/2023 16:28:58    2460753

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Right....let's say we win our remaining matches, to finish on 11 points. And let's say Leitrim & Laois draw with each other, and both win their other remaining matches. That would leave them both on 11 points as well.

And I'm honestly not sure what would happen then. Traditionally, it would just go to points difference, and we'd have to hope that some of our missed goal chances v Waterford on Saturday wouldn't come back to haunt us.

However, there's a new rule coming down the tracks in some competitions, whereby if three or more teams finish level, it doesn't go straight to points difference. Instead, it goes to what's essentially a "mini league" between those teams. And in this case, it would be:
Laois - beat Wexford, drew with Leitrim - 3 points - 1st place
Wexford - lost to Laois, beat Leitrim - 2 points - 2nd place
Leitrim - lost to Wexford, drew with Laois - 1 point - 3rd place

I don't think it applies to the League this year, but am not sure. Will try find out.

Either way, it all still depends on winning our last three matches!"
I think the fact we're in the promotion picture is in itself a sign of progress, just hope throwing away the game V London isn't the difference between promotion and not after round 7.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1673 - 27/02/2023 17:14:01    2460773

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "I think the fact we're in the promotion picture is in itself a sign of progress, just hope throwing away the game V London isn't the difference between promotion and not after round 7."
Just to turn glass half empty on things.....we're presently in the promotion picture. But if we lose to Sligo next Sunday, we're out of it unless all sorts of quare yokes happen. Chances of going up with just 9 points are slim.

It really is a crunch match.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2229 - 27/02/2023 17:50:21    2460794

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Just to turn glass half empty on things.....we're presently in the promotion picture. But if we lose to Sligo next Sunday, we're out of it unless all sorts of quare yokes happen. Chances of going up with just 9 points are slim.

It really is a crunch match."
True but hypotectically if we lose next Sunday, beat Wicklow and Carlow and end up 3rd or 4th on 9 points I still think that's a progressive league and would be our best since 2017, ironically the only year since then we've had a win return over 50% was when Galvin was involved.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1673 - 28/02/2023 10:52:19    2460899

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "True but hypotectically if we lose next Sunday, beat Wicklow and Carlow and end up 3rd or 4th on 9 points I still think that's a progressive league and would be our best since 2017, ironically the only year since then we've had a win return over 50% was when Galvin was involved."
Yup. With the way things have been in recent years, even third or fourth on 9 points would be an improvement.

Glass half full or half empty?????

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2229 - 28/02/2023 13:43:52    2460949

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Yup. With the way things have been in recent years, even third or fourth on 9 points would be an improvement.

Glass half full or half empty?????"
Lads we haven't lost to Sligo yet; D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11730 - 28/02/2023 14:12:40    2460963

god sligo is a long drive, worth it when we win

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 28/02/2023 15:57:24    2461005

Replying To Viking66:  "Wexford Bus sponsor our club too. Good call!"
Just to follow up and say thanks for the recommendations but I didn't make it on the day due to a stomach bug unfortunately but Wexford bus still did ok out of me ! Fully deserved by all accounts.
We are lucky Carlow's discipline let them down.
Maybe we may meet again in Div 3. Its currently anyone's game but this weekend will go some way to identifying those who are going up. I could not call our game against Wicklow as they seem to be on the bounce now.
Good luck to ye anyhow

Mugatay (Leitrim) - Posts: 157 - 03/03/2023 17:09:16    2461654

Replying To Viking66:  "Lads we haven't lost to Sligo yet; D"
And ye won't lose tomorro either ,will ye bring some hurlers with ye ,we could do with a few of them too

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 270 - 04/03/2023 21:37:58    2461849

Hard luck to the lads. Fought to the end. Up against it now. Need to win the last 2 games well and hope results go our way elsewhere.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11730 - 05/03/2023 16:06:03    2461979

Viking, it would take a miracle to get promotion now. Simply outplayed today for most of the game.
We got 3 goals all right but still lost by 6 points.
The next 2 games at home are now irrelevant.
There will be very small attendances against Wicklow and Carlow and dead rubbers from our point of view.
Hard to see us making any impression in the championship. However maybe there a kick in them yet. Remember last year when we surprised Offaly?

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 259 - 05/03/2023 17:26:42    2462024

Replying To Magpie2:  "Viking, it would take a miracle to get promotion now. Simply outplayed today for most of the game.
There will be very small attendances against Wicklow and Carlow and dead rubbers from our point of view.
Hard to see us making any impression in the championship. However maybe there a kick in them yet. Remember last year when we surprised Offaly?"
Agree it will take more than a minor miracle Magpie! We beat Wicklow in the Championship the year before also. Porter will hopefully be back soon too. And hopefully the 2 week break will do Coleman some good.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11730 - 05/03/2023 19:30:32    2462075

Replying To Magpie2:  "Viking, it would take a miracle to get promotion now. Simply outplayed today for most of the game.
Hard to see us making any impression in the championship. However maybe there a kick in them yet. Remember last year when we surprised Offaly?"
the games left are far from irrelevent . this is not the league 1990, we are only weeks from cship v laois a game we will hold no fear going in to, the game v high flying wicklow will be massive, beating them will be big boost, today was hard to look at for long spells, the unforced errors were countless and the stray passes , mixed in that we played some lovely football, beating laois will depend on everything going right on the day, as it does for every team, a massive plus is we have a few very good young players and they will only get better, the glass is half full, but winning the last 2 games is still vital

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 05/03/2023 19:37:20    2462077

Unfortunately today is a clear indication of where we are as us and Sligo have always been on a par with some close defeats and a big win for us over the last couple of years.
The Sligo thread says that wexford were atrocious and worse than waterford two weeks ago which is true from what I saw today and the "lads fought to the end is just garbage" We got very excited about a home game v leitrim and a nice attractive brand of football but 21 scores to 11 today shows that we defending is not a focus at all. This is a team that beat Offaly in championship who are now joint 3rd in division 3 and we are hammered by Sligo.

gaapundit13 (Dublin) - Posts: 11 - 05/03/2023 20:49:35    2462126

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "the games left are far from irrelevent . this is not the league 1990, we are only weeks from cship v laois a game we will hold no fear going in to, the game v high flying wicklow will be massive, beating them will be big boost, today was hard to look at for long spells, the unforced errors were countless and the stray passes , mixed in that we played some lovely football, beating laois will depend on everything going right on the day, as it does for every team, a massive plus is we have a few very good young players and they will only get better, the glass is half full, but winning the last 2 games is still vital"
Irrelevant in the sense of promotion. Yes it will be good to get a couple of games under their belts before the championship. They must however learn to stay in the game throughout.
Both remaining games are winnable and if we have Coleman and Porter back fully fit it will increase our chances of success. Laois will be tough and I wouldn't be too hopeful. They may be promoted at that stage and will be full of confidence.
I usually try to be positive with my posts but facts dictate otherwise.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 259 - 05/03/2023 21:09:48    2462139

Replying To Magpie2:  "Irrelevant in the sense of promotion. Yes it will be good to get a couple of games under their belts before the championship. They must however learn to stay in the game throughout.
Both remaining games are winnable and if we have Coleman and Porter back fully fit it will increase our chances of success. Laois will be tough and I wouldn't be too hopeful. They may be promoted at that stage and will be full of confidence.
I usually try to be positive with my posts but facts dictate otherwise."
also missing dylan furlong and gavin sheehan today so four starters

lefty (Wexford) - Posts: 185 - 06/03/2023 08:41:36    2462174

Was at game yesterday and it would be very hard to be positive in any way. Got a great start with a well worked goal and then offered nothing for the next 60 minutes, don't be deceived by the final scoreline, Wexford were very very poor for most of the match all over the pitch. In fairness they managed to put some respectability on the scoreline in the last few minutes but it was a really dismal performance, No energy/power at all and Sligo cut through them at will. Not sure you could say anyone played well, Glen Malone and O Grady tried hard and Tubritt was pick of a poor forward line. Sligo are probably the best team in the division, if they could finish third in league it would be a reasonable campaign, need to give them time. O Connor is a huge loss at moment.

FearBeag (Mayo) - Posts: 74 - 06/03/2023 10:03:02    2462194

Replying To FearBeag:  "Was at game yesterday and it would be very hard to be positive in any way. Got a great start with a well worked goal and then offered nothing for the next 60 minutes, don't be deceived by the final scoreline, Wexford were very very poor for most of the match all over the pitch. In fairness they managed to put some respectability on the scoreline in the last few minutes but it was a really dismal performance, No energy/power at all and Sligo cut through them at will. Not sure you could say anyone played well, Glen Malone and O Grady tried hard and Tubritt was pick of a poor forward line. Sligo are probably the best team in the division, if they could finish third in league it would be a reasonable campaign, need to give them time. O Connor is a huge loss at moment."
Big problem down here getting lads to commit to the footballers. Obviously lads who are on the hurling panel aren't going to, but there are some others who don't want to either for various different reasons.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11730 - 06/03/2023 13:18:46    2462266

maybe he should keep coleman under wraps now till laois game, no point in hin v wicklow or carlow

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 14/03/2023 17:43:38    2463939