National Forum

Rule Query - Gaelic Football

(Oldest Posts First) - Go To The Latest Post


Replying To reffingmad:  "Can an outfield player use a kicking tee when taking a kick out"
Yes he can. The relevant rule makes no distinction between a goalkeeper and any other player:
The Player taking the kick-out after the ball goes wide or a score shall have the option of using a standard tee as approved by Central Council

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 954 - 05/08/2022 09:57:52    2436280

Link

Replying To Canuck:  "No question legal. You can hit the ball with what ever you want into the goal as long as you don't touch the ball on the ground with your hand."
1.2 When the ball is on the ground, it may be played by any part of the body except the hand(s). It may be lifted off the ground with the feet.
Exceptions
(i) The goalkeeper may play the ball on the ground with his hand(s) inside his own small rectangle.
(ii) Any player who falls or is knocked to the ground while in possession of the ball may fist or palm the ball away on the ground, and may score by so doing.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 210 - 05/08/2022 13:22:03    2436330

Link

Some interesting comments there but absolutely no unanimity! An 'authoritative' view would be welcome; an Antrim man was good on topics like this a few years ago - where are you?

I do think it's a legal goal - no convincing argument against it, I think.

A few mention 'possession' but though 'possession' is mentioned many times in the rules it is not defined.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 210 - 05/08/2022 13:34:34    2436333

Link

Replying To WanPintWin:  "That's definitely legal. No issue with that at all. Player 1 has passed it to another using a handpass. Player 2 can kick it, punch it or palm it into the net from there."
Cheers WanPintWin.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 6764 - 05/08/2022 16:09:31    2436352

Link