We're Ready For An Inter County Transfer System.

Replying To cityman73:  "You can say goodbye to the GAA if that ever happens,will kill off the smaller clubs and counties."
But isn't that effectively what this transfer is a part of. The depletion of rural clubs, and the strengthening of bigger urban ones, and yet yere all supporting this???
Why is it fine for Shane Walsh to switch to crokes but its an absolute disgrace bla bla bla if he switches to Dublin.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 01/08/2022 18:50:04    2435803

Replying To Galway9801:  "It struck me reading the Shane Walsh thread that GAA people are finally beginning to open up to the idea a transfer system for players.
Pretty much all of the arguments used to endorse his move to kilmacaud could also apply to a move to the dubs if he so desired. (I personally think he should switch counties)
If, say, a roscommon man living and working in Dublin decided to transfer why should we have the right to criticise him? You don't even have to be living there either imo. If a player feels he has a better chance of success with a nearby county, good luck to him,its his choice.
Time to get things rolling imo."
What kind of Galway supporter wants walsh or any galway man to play for Dublin?

I'm not delighted he's leaving a rural club to play for a large one with deep pockets however I'm aware he is a person not property and its his choice which is why most support him

He could play for Dublin as he is living and studying there but I wouldn't be happy about it. No way should we open a transfer market where someone with no ties to a county can just line out for them. The requirements currently in place work just fine.

Shocking statement from a galwegian

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 01/08/2022 18:58:35    2435804

Replying To Galway9801:  "It struck me reading the Shane Walsh thread that GAA people are finally beginning to open up to the idea a transfer system for players.
Pretty much all of the arguments used to endorse his move to kilmacaud could also apply to a move to the dubs if he so desired. (I personally think he should switch counties)
If, say, a roscommon man living and working in Dublin decided to transfer why should we have the right to criticise him? You don't even have to be living there either imo. If a player feels he has a better chance of success with a nearby county, good luck to him,its his choice.
Time to get things rolling imo."
Utter rubbish, to answer the question ,no were not and never should be , glory hunters are a disaster what if his first move dosent work out will he go again and again , nonsense Look you dont pick your club or county your born into it

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 01/08/2022 19:08:01    2435806

Replying To Square_B:  "Any inter-county transfer system that would favour the stronger counties or large urban populated centres wouldn't wash with me. I doubt anyone in Galway would want to loose one of their best players to the Dublin county team. Obviously only 15 lads can play but I would argue that a county transfer system should only favour Division 3 & 4 teams with the view to improving standards for those teams."
More rubbish here , Im a very proud Down man were in Div 3 and wouldent wantanyone transfered in , it might take a while but we will sort ourselves out thank you very much

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 01/08/2022 19:12:40    2435808

Replying To Bon:  "Pride wears very thin though if your winning nothing ."
Like big Dan? 30 years playing senior for his club and under age before that.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 01/08/2022 20:47:10    2435822

Replying To Bon:  "Pride wears very thin though if your winning nothing ."
Depends on the player. If we go down this road we'll end up with no intercounty system like we have now but a system of regions/clubs/franchises whatever way you want to describe it. Intercounty players usually remain loyal to their county. Professional club players aren't big on loyalty. Could be interesting. A top tier of professional clubs and an intercounty amateur competition of amateur players loyal to their counties. Like the golf with less zeros!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 01/08/2022 21:40:21    2435829

When Walsh switches to crokes, its all about choice, good luck to him, fair play,too much travel he's a free man, he can do what he likes, etc
At the very mention that he might fancy a switch to Dublin, out come the pitchforks, it's a disgrace, it's wrong, he has a duty to his team lol
Ye guys crack me up.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 01/08/2022 21:52:32    2435830

Replying To germac:  "More rubbish here , Im a very proud Down man were in Div 3 and wouldent wantanyone transfered in , it might take a while but we will sort ourselves out thank you very much"
Alright fella, a bit sensitive are we?

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 01/08/2022 22:05:23    2435835

I can see a player opting to play where he works and lives and not wanting the travel. It is very easy to criticize if you are not the one finishing work and having to driving across the country. Back late and up for work the next morning. The ones I have an issue with are this who move clubs in their own county. We called them medal hunters. That's usually what the are and always were. In our county the western teams are very loyal to their clubs. If the Bennetts were to go down the road and play with Lismore it would be difficult to see Ballygunner beating them. There are plenty senior teams around DeBurca but stays with his own club. I think though he may be travelling home from Dublin. In the east players move more. I guess in the city it is hard to distinguish where the boundaries are. Dublin ,Cork, Limerick and other places must be the same.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 02/08/2022 14:23:47    2435891

It's all about money. Money talks and players will end up going to the highest bidder. That's the way it has always been. Walsh would have only been playing championship for his club anyway. Hardly a big ask to travel back for a few game. Club comes first.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 02/08/2022 14:41:30    2435896

Replying To Canuck:  "I can see a player opting to play where he works and lives and not wanting the travel. It is very easy to criticize if you are not the one finishing work and having to driving across the country. Back late and up for work the next morning. The ones I have an issue with are this who move clubs in their own county. We called them medal hunters. That's usually what the are and always were. In our county the western teams are very loyal to their clubs. If the Bennetts were to go down the road and play with Lismore it would be difficult to see Ballygunner beating them. There are plenty senior teams around DeBurca but stays with his own club. I think though he may be travelling home from Dublin. In the east players move more. I guess in the city it is hard to distinguish where the boundaries are. Dublin ,Cork, Limerick and other places must be the same."
Players moving clubs within their own county is not on but clubs are to blame for taking them. I have seen it first hand . Lads coming in , playing their game and home after, no mixing , no craic. Lads who played from youth up taking a back seat or dropped to Reserve which in turn drops a reserve player off team. Winning is great but local players getting games for the club is more important, to me anyways.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 02/08/2022 18:58:59    2435933

Replying To Canuck:  "I can see a player opting to play where he works and lives and not wanting the travel. It is very easy to criticize if you are not the one finishing work and having to driving across the country. Back late and up for work the next morning. The ones I have an issue with are this who move clubs in their own county. We called them medal hunters. That's usually what the are and always were. In our county the western teams are very loyal to their clubs. If the Bennetts were to go down the road and play with Lismore it would be difficult to see Ballygunner beating them. There are plenty senior teams around DeBurca but stays with his own club. I think though he may be travelling home from Dublin. In the east players move more. I guess in the city it is hard to distinguish where the boundaries are. Dublin ,Cork, Limerick and other places must be the same."
I get what your saying Canuck but at the end of the day if a player is good enough and winning medals in the be all and end all to them I wouldn't begrudge them moving to a bigger club within the county. Granted this is not ideal for a lot of smaller clubs and there is potential for problems down the road but I still wouldn't blame a guy. If you have a fella who is the star of a smaller club and is constantly being let down by the fact that his 14 teammates aren't up to it or putting in the effort, why should he be denied a realistic chance of winning a medal?
You mentioned Big Dan the other day and its great to see such a legend still playing, but he has won county medals with Lismore and Munster Medals with Waterford. I'm talking about guys that have won nothing at all.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 03/08/2022 12:21:55    2435987

Replying To Galway9801:  "When Walsh switches to crokes, its all about choice, good luck to him, fair play,too much travel he's a free man, he can do what he likes, etc
At the very mention that he might fancy a switch to Dublin, out come the pitchforks, it's a disgrace, it's wrong, he has a duty to his team lol
Ye guys crack me up."
That's not what you said in your first post.Your trying to change your words cause nobody agrees with your first post.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 03/08/2022 13:05:49    2435997

Replying To cityman73:  "That's not what you said in your first post.Your trying to change your words cause nobody agrees with your first post."
Tell me how I've "changed my words". I've been quite consistent here.
And while you're at it, explain to me why club transfers are OK but county ones aren't.
No one else has been able to.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 03/08/2022 15:11:00    2436034

Replying To Galway9801:  "Tell me how I've "changed my words". I've been quite consistent here.
And while you're at it, explain to me why club transfers are OK but county ones aren't.
No one else has been able to."
so as a galway man you would want to play for mayo how stupid is that in an amateur sport has pride of place gone

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1801 - 03/08/2022 15:21:58    2436035

Replying To Bon:  "I get what your saying Canuck but at the end of the day if a player is good enough and winning medals in the be all and end all to them I wouldn't begrudge them moving to a bigger club within the county. Granted this is not ideal for a lot of smaller clubs and there is potential for problems down the road but I still wouldn't blame a guy. If you have a fella who is the star of a smaller club and is constantly being let down by the fact that his 14 teammates aren't up to it or putting in the effort, why should he be denied a realistic chance of winning a medal?
You mentioned Big Dan the other day and its great to see such a legend still playing, but he has won county medals with Lismore and Munster Medals with Waterford. I'm talking about guys that have won nothing at all."
Maybe your views are common in your county with a quarter of a million people.Maybe that lack of passion for place might have something to do with the failure of your county to achieve what it should.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 03/08/2022 15:41:49    2436038

Replying To Bon:  "I get what your saying Canuck but at the end of the day if a player is good enough and winning medals in the be all and end all to them I wouldn't begrudge them moving to a bigger club within the county. Granted this is not ideal for a lot of smaller clubs and there is potential for problems down the road but I still wouldn't blame a guy. If you have a fella who is the star of a smaller club and is constantly being let down by the fact that his 14 teammates aren't up to it or putting in the effort, why should he be denied a realistic chance of winning a medal?
You mentioned Big Dan the other day and its great to see such a legend still playing, but he has won county medals with Lismore and Munster Medals with Waterford. I'm talking about guys that have won nothing at all."
Ya Bon there is always that, the effort put in by some. I grew up in a club where the stars were the one's that turned up for training the last session before the game. However the rest of us stuck with the club out of love for our parish and home. There are thousands of people like that in the past all over Ireland and guess what there will be thousands of them in the future also. Dan has very few medals with his club. I think only one senior medal and I guarantee he has more pride in that than any Munster medal. I can also tell you many many times in my life I have seen the medal hunters add nothing to where they went either. The most successful county of all Kilkenny has parish rule and it seems to serve them well.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 03/08/2022 15:46:52    2436042

so as a galway man you would want to play for mayo how stupid is that in an amateur sport has pride of place gone
mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1524 - 03/08/2022 15:21:58

Changing county isnt losing pride of place. it can often be just be a player being realistic. they wont be able to commit the time/travel/hours required to train and put in the effort if they stay to their original county so have to transfer.

You can say goodbye to the GAA if that ever happens,will kill off the smaller clubs and counties.
cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 626 - 01/08/2022 14:40:31
It wouldnt kill off smaller clubs or counties and certainly wouldnt be that bad.
Some may move but most wouldnt. people cant commit all the extra hours required to travel home for the hours needed to be competitive at the top level any more. to be playing top level you need to commit a lot of hours and that isnt feasible if youre living a considerable distance from your club/county.

What makes our sport is the pride first in playing for your club and then playing for your county. Go ahead with this and you will have a dramatic watering down of the determination, commitment and competitiveness that we all enjoy now in our games. Money will drive where players will play just like we are seeing with the mercenary managers already. If that is what you want then lets go fully professional and not the old typical Irish nodded wink wink stuff that is at play now. Though that will be a sad day and the same people will be saying remember the days.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2196 - 01/08/2022 14:59:31

you wouldnt have a watering down of determination or commitment or competitiveness. and how do you measure these btw to see if levels were to go down if this went ahead?

Depends on the player. If we go down this road we'll end up with no intercounty system like we have now but a system of regions/clubs/franchises whatever way you want to describe it. Intercounty players usually remain loyal to their county. Professional club players aren't big on loyalty. Could be interesting. A top tier of professional clubs and an intercounty amateur competition of amateur players loyal to their counties. Like the golf with less zeros!
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 6744 - 01/08/2022 21:40:21

Players moving clubs within their own county is not on but clubs are to blame for taking them. I have seen it first hand . Lads coming in , playing their game and home after, no mixing , no craic. Lads who played from youth up taking a back seat or dropped to Reserve which in turn drops a reserve player off team. Winning is great but local players getting games for the club is more important, to me anyways.
Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 1267 - 02/08/2022 18:58:59

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 03/08/2022 15:52:08    2436045

I have seen more players pushed out of the sport in the club because mentors only had eyes for someone to bring in. When these medal hunters left the loyal players doing their best to barely keep a team on the field. People have the right to do as they please but it does not stop me from calling it out for what it is. By the way there are many clubs that experienced this. Kudos to the loyal players who stuck with their junior clubs and because of them there is a place for the kids to play today and a parish team to represent. The others are long gone.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 03/08/2022 17:23:55    2436075

Replying To mickcunningham:  "so as a galway man you would want to play for mayo how stupid is that in an amateur sport has pride of place gone"
The world and its mother are queuing up to congratulate Walsh on his transfer, so yes, pride of place does seem to have gone, frankly.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 03/08/2022 18:57:05    2436089