Shane Walsh Transfer

I read in the Independent today that between them, three of last year's Dublin semi-finalists - Crokes, Ballyboden St Enda's and Lucan Sarsfields - fielded exclusively home-grown panels. And that Judes when they met Crokes had 6 lads that transferred up playing for them with zero outrage that i could see.
So in this instance people are annoyed because its Shane Walsh, MOTM imo in the final and Dublins largest club that are involved.

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 02/08/2022 12:29:31    2435872

Replying To CastleBravo:  "It's funny how 100s of transfers go through up and down the county every year without a word of complaint, but once a talented player does it it's suddenly heresy and a desecration of the ethos of the GAA.

The loyalty seems to go one way; if you're nothing special the club will let you go, but if you're talented you belong to the club."
Apart from his own club chairman, the reaction to this move has been almost exclusively supportive, which is bizarre seeing as how most of the same people throw a hissy fit at the very mention of a possible inter County transfer.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 02/08/2022 12:33:48    2435874

Has he ruled out a transfer to the dubs?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1705 - 02/08/2022 12:34:18    2435875

Replying To RHF:  "Would there be even a word about this if he had of moved last year ?"
Probably not

mintyfresh (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 02/08/2022 12:37:49    2435880

I doubt if his club were asking him to travel up and down for training they prob just needed him for championship matches , to win intermediate championship in Galway u have 2, play 6 matches Thars it , if he finds that 2 much it's prob only a matter of time before he play county with Dublin

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 02/08/2022 12:51:46    2435881

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Brian Kavanagh of Longford played with Kilmacud as did Pat Burke of Mayo. Plenty others too.There is obviously a lure to play for them being Leinster Champions, though probaly some tapping up too

But Walsh is entitled to do what he wants."
Pat Burke Mayo?

The only Pat Burke that I know that played for Crokes was a Dub. Part of the Dubs squad in 2011 under Gilroy but never really got a look in under Gavin. Played a season or two with Clare later on as he has family connections in the Banner.

Was there another?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 02/08/2022 13:47:37    2435886

Replying To MesAmis:  "Pat Burke Mayo?

The only Pat Burke that I know that played for Crokes was a Dub. Part of the Dubs squad in 2011 under Gilroy but never really got a look in under Gavin. Played a season or two with Clare later on as he has family connections in the Banner.

Was there another?"
is he getting mixed up with James Burke of Ballymun..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 02/08/2022 14:51:38    2435899

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Not one bit embarrassing…. They are right to make it as awkward as they can …. These sort of high profile transfers have a history of not working out too well and this one might be the same…."
Can you give us some examples of these "high profile transfers" that have a history of not working out too well?

I can think of many that were successful: Tompkins & Fahy won AIs with Cork after leaving Kildare; Sean Lowry won a Connacht medal with Mayo after moving from Offaly; David Reidy of Limerick winning with Kildare; Vinnie Murphy hurling championship (scoring 1-3 v Cork) for Kerry; Nick O'Donnell moving from KK to Wexford, etc. I wouldn't classify Denis Byrne's move from KK to Tipp or that of Mossie and Bomber Carroll from LK to Tipp as successes, but in general, we've had lots of happy, successful transfers.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 02/08/2022 15:11:40    2435903

Replying To IrelandUnited:  "https://hoganstand.com/Forum/FindPost?MessageID=2435547
Sorry, but I think this whole Parish Rule/No Parish Rule need to be discussed further, our club is a small rural one here In Tyrone, when our kids grow up many go to work and buy a house in Omagh/Killyclogher which are aprox 7-8 miles away, their kids go to the schools there and by in large play for one of those Big clubs.
We accept this and wish our Former players/members kids well, it's their 'parish'
We as a club like wise select players from within our Parish boundary, again with the odd exception like through the parent Rule. We field teams at all grades but struggle, especially at underage to have 15 players all the right age for their age grade as our pick of players solely is from people living within our Parish.
All clubs in Tyrone follow the parish Rule, which I though was an across the board GAA rule until reading this thread.
First question is
Is the Parish Rule an offical GAA rule or a bye law for each County board to decide upon?
Second question
Can we all complete the list to state whether each of the 32 Counties have a Parish Rule in place or not.
Dublin : No Parish Rule
Tyrone : Parish Rule"
IrelandUnited I would have thought you would have gotten more traction with your request to confirm if the parish rule applies in the different counties..In Galway County yes..in the City there is every sort of arrangement with lads playing football with one club and hurling with another sometimes on the opposite side of the City..Hard to figure out how that would stack up legally if GAA rules are implented differently in different Counties.

In Galway City you can play soccer with one Club and if you don't like it move across to another next season in same area or across the town. Same with Rugby, Basketball and swimming. But the good old GAA in the same area look at what side of the road your on. Try explaining that to a modern day parent that your child is stuck with a team that don't even field because you played a competitive underage game sometimes years earlier.

Medals (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 02/08/2022 15:36:35    2435905

Replying To Kickitout:  "I doubt if his club were asking him to travel up and down for training they prob just needed him for championship matches , to win intermediate championship in Galway u have 2, play 6 matches Thars it , if he finds that 2 much it's prob only a matter of time before he play county with Dublin"
A bit strange alright. If students from outside Dublin who spend 4+ years in college in Dublin started transferring to Dublin based Clubs we would have carnage altogether. Students tend not to do this, that is why it is very strange for Walsh to do this. I also saw recently that he has a sponsored car and a nice one at that..

hashtag2017 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 02/08/2022 15:39:04    2435907

Replying To hashtag2017:  "A bit strange alright. If students from outside Dublin who spend 4+ years in college in Dublin started transferring to Dublin based Clubs we would have carnage altogether. Students tend not to do this, that is why it is very strange for Walsh to do this. I also saw recently that he has a sponsored car and a nice one at that.."
A lot of intercounty footballers get sponsored cars. We don't know what Walsh plans to do nor is it anybodys busibess. He could be putting routes down in Dublin, planning to work there after college, have a partner from there. Who knows.

SimonstownBack (Meath) - Posts: 143 - 02/08/2022 16:06:51    2435908

Replying To Medals:  "IrelandUnited I would have thought you would have gotten more traction with your request to confirm if the parish rule applies in the different counties..In Galway County yes..in the City there is every sort of arrangement with lads playing football with one club and hurling with another sometimes on the opposite side of the City..Hard to figure out how that would stack up legally if GAA rules are implented differently in different Counties.

In Galway City you can play soccer with one Club and if you don't like it move across to another next season in same area or across the town. Same with Rugby, Basketball and swimming. But the good old GAA in the same area look at what side of the road your on. Try explaining that to a modern day parent that your child is stuck with a team that don't even field because you played a competitive underage game sometimes years earlier."
I think the main point is loyalty.There is no loyalty to a club in any of those sports.In fact in some sports a club can come in and take your nest players in the middle of a season when you are winning a league and leave to decimated. Not a nice situation for volunteer coaches who have given their free time up to train these players since they were kids.I am more than grateful to these people who have looked after my kids 2 or 3 times a week for I don't know how many years.
So please stop saying that a player doesn't owe some gratitude to their club,they do.If all young players were just allowed to transfer ad hock then they would all go to the best team and parents would back them.Its what happens in soccer.
However it shouldn't stop a player from transferring to another club in a different county if it makes sense for them.We don't know the in and outs of Shanes decision but both parties maybe could have handled it better,the club by not going to media and Shane by acknowledging all the club has done for him as a player.Just a middle ground.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 218 - 02/08/2022 17:13:38    2435922

Replying To SimonstownBack:  "A lot of intercounty footballers get sponsored cars. We don't know what Walsh plans to do nor is it anybodys busibess. He could be putting routes down in Dublin, planning to work there after college, have a partner from there. Who knows."
If he's putting 'routes' down, no doubt he'll build a secret pathway back to the wesshht.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3419 - 02/08/2022 17:18:11    2435924

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Transfer request in from his club to Crokes. Club cannot object as it's inter county. Club chairman seething and rightly so. Not right that Dublin clubs can behave in this manner."
Slightly ironic that this topic is being raised by someone within a county where parish boundaries count for nothing in local GAA and the county board regularly sanctions transfers of the most talented young players from smaller rural clubs to the prominent town based senior clubs who already have more numbers than they can cater for

CleanShoulder (Westmeath) - Posts: 270 - 02/08/2022 18:27:12    2435929

If the last 2 years has thought people anything it's how precious time is and how to use it the the best, it's ok to say travel up and down for matches only but in reality that's not a runner as all clubs want their key men for training before matches. How many have sat in a car for around trips of about 4+ hours to go training or play a match. One of the mayo guys a few years ago had to stop several times on the way up and down from Dublin to stretch out to prevent injury. Maybe people commenting should try travelling up and down twice a week, go for a run around for an hour or two, hop in the car and travel back again and see how your feeling after a few weeks of that. It takes a hit on the body !!! Regardless of sponsored car or not

moyard (Mayo) - Posts: 9 - 02/08/2022 18:39:42    2435930

Replying To hashtag2017:  "A bit strange alright. If students from outside Dublin who spend 4+ years in college in Dublin started transferring to Dublin based Clubs we would have carnage altogether. Students tend not to do this, that is why it is very strange for Walsh to do this. I also saw recently that he has a sponsored car and a nice one at that.."
Good for him. As if any of us would turn down a free car

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 02/08/2022 18:50:37    2435932

Replying To BlueBeret:  "What's all this talk about The Parish Rule? What is a parish? Is it an administrative area defined by the Catholic Church, the Church of Ireland or some other religious church or sect?
Many if not most of those who still cling to the parish rule in terms of THEIR club only attend church for weddings or funerals these days.

Is Ireland not considered to be a pluralistic society these days?
This is a short but interesting read https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/columnists/arid-40202792.html"
"What's all this talk about The Parish Rule? What is a parish? Is it an administrative area defined by the Catholic Church, the Church of Ireland or some other religious church or sect? Many if not most of those who still cling to the parish rule in terms of THEIR club only attend church for weddings or funerals these days. Is Ireland not considered to be a pluralistic society these days? This is a short but interesting read https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/columnists/arid-40202792.html"

It's 2022, not 1957! Your diatribe is very out of date. The parish rule survives, not because GAA players necessarily are church-goers (some are; many aren't), but purely because it's a convenient, ready-made administrative unit which facilitates the central GAA principle that "you play where you live". That's the core principle of the GAA, and parishes are just handy. In any event, there is no other comparable and widely-understood way to administer that principle. For club purposes, townlands are too small. Counties obviously are too big.

The inference that we should reject the ready-made parish structure purely because of its source is daft, and very narrow-minded. At that rate, we should reject the county structure, as the English created it. Why not stop speaking English altogether? The reality is that such structures, regardless of who created them, have been long since been adopted by Irish people and taken to their hearts, for purposes that were never dreamt of by the people who created such structures. And that's fine.

Excellent article on the subject in the Irish News today by Cahair O'Kane. He makes 2 good suggestions: (1) Dublin city needs the parish rule too (why the inconsistency? If you e.g., live in Phibsboro, why should you be playing for a club in Foxrock (if they have one); and (2) people transferring to a Dublin club should be required to go to an intermediate Dublin club in their area first. As he notes, a club with 4,800 members and 7 adult football teams hardly needs more players. Article here: https://www.irishnews.com/sport/gaafootball/2022/08/02/news/kicking_out_walsh_has_done_no_wrong_-_but_gaa_must_deal_with_urban_lawlessness-2787959/

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 239 - 02/08/2022 20:45:10    2435940

Replying To sourmilk93:  "I think its a disgrace if this transfer goes through. Lost a lot of respect for Shane over this. Goes against what most what the gaa is about."
What's the difference between him going to crokes and half of the inter county players gone to club football in America at the end of the genius split season????!!!

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 916 - 02/08/2022 21:14:47    2435941

All the sponsored cars are nice cars. They're marketing for the dealerships. Hibernia College do blended learning options. Hopefully he can get some flexibility in his studies that lets him play for his county and club. Hibernia College probably won't be slow to use Shane Walsh for a bit of marketing for themselves. Fair play to the man. Leaving a steady job to pursue a career in what he loves. If he makes a few quid for himself along the way the more the better. Class act.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 02/08/2022 21:40:48    2435944

Replying To SimonstownBack:  "A lot of intercounty footballers get sponsored cars. We don't know what Walsh plans to do nor is it anybodys busibess. He could be putting routes down in Dublin, planning to work there after college, have a partner from there. Who knows."
Unfortunate typo there... is it ROOTS down in dublin.....or ROUTES down from Dublin.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 02/08/2022 21:45:39    2435945