Shane Walsh Transfer

It's an amateur pastime, he can play for who he likes within the rules.
The hypocrisy of "grand for lads to play for money in Chicago" but a good player shouldn't transfer clubs in Ireland.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1397 - 30/07/2022 17:49:50    2435478

Replying To MesAmis:  "A silly and unworkable rule imo.

The vast, vast majority of transfers in GAA are bog standard club players not inter-county stars.

If someone moves to Stillorgan, and Crokes are the nearest club to them, why deny them the chance to play for the club that suits them the most? Crokes 3rd Junior team might be perfect for them instead of another club's inter team that takes it all more seriously.

If a player is settling down somewhere new they should have the choice imo."
Agree if he living near Kilmacud but the problem with Dublin club sometimes is a player can transfer to a ub he has no ties with. A player can come up from Kerry or Mayo and live in Glasnevin beside Na Fianna work in the airport near St Vincent's or Craobh Ciarán and play with Oliver Plunkett. Down the country a player must be working or have an address to be considered. If Shane is working or living there I have no problem. If not. I do! I would nt like to be facing Crokes with Paul Mannion and Shane Walsh on same team.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 30/07/2022 17:59:49    2435482

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Work easily…. Loads of single Junior clubs that a player of that type could transfer to…."
So you think someone who settles down a 2 minute walk away from one club should be made to join another club further away? Silly rule.

In anyways you can't discriminate against country players in Dublin. Dubs can play for whatever club they choose to no matter where they live in the city/county. Same rule applies to players who settle in Dublin. That makes your rule unworkable.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 30/07/2022 18:02:28    2435483

Are we forgetting that this is an amateur sport, and if the man wants to cut out spending every weekend heading back to Galway for training, with all the cost that goes with that, then that's his call. Hard loss for his local team, obviously, but a totally understandable decision on Walsh's part.

The underlying issue of course is that the talent drain from rural Ireland to the cities, and Dublin in particular, continues to show that there's not many options for young people to live fulfilling lives in their own towns and parishes (and of course there are people who want to move away, but there's plenty more who'd move back if they could. Unless they're from rural Offaly of course :) ).

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 30/07/2022 18:07:48    2435485

Replying To Galway9801:  "His club are saying they'll fight it all the way.
I think they'd be as well off just wishing him luck tbh."
Definitly. Fighting it all the way is really going to make him want to stay and continue playing with that pettiness.
Fair play to him, more luck to guy. Its not like he's transferring to a rival club in Galway, and could you blame him wanting to throw his lot in with Crokes?

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 30/07/2022 18:17:37    2435489

Replying To fancyaride:  "Read the article in the Western People where the club Chairman stated they were going to "fight" it. What an utter nonsense that is and who does he think he is?

Firstly I sympathise that rural Ireland is struggling with the exodus of young players. But to be laying the blame at the door of a club like KK is just daft.

And I agree KK don't necessarily need another player at the expense of a small intermediate club in Galway.

However IF he is working and living in that part of the country, then what's the issue? Are you really expecting him to travel 4 hour round trip for training and matches.

Like a lot of young people who locate to big cities, they build a life and other interests beyond football. You can therefore hardly blame him wanting to move to a club closer.

And as for the poor small rural GAA club and disappointed young people, let's not start that again. Guilt tripping at its finest.

To address the issues over the plight of rural Ireland, there needs to be significant investment in these areas to attract businesses to offer meaningful employment to aspirational young people."
Well, he's studying so perhaps the move is essential for him. For office workers though, WFH is key to rural regeneration, and an end to the last-century nonsense of travelling miles to an office merely to switch on a laptop.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 238 - 30/07/2022 18:45:12    2435499

Replying To Bon:  "Definitly. Fighting it all the way is really going to make him want to stay and continue playing with that pettiness.
Fair play to him, more luck to guy. Its not like he's transferring to a rival club in Galway, and could you blame him wanting to throw his lot in with Crokes?"
Absolutely. In fairness to them they seem to have been taken totally by surprise by this which looks bad, but he's living and studying in Dublin afaik so can't blame him.
Better not feckin transfer to the blues tho lol

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1697 - 30/07/2022 18:45:33    2435500

Replying To MesAmis:  "So you think someone who settles down a 2 minute walk away from one club should be made to join another club further away? Silly rule.

In anyways you can't discriminate against country players in Dublin. Dubs can play for whatever club they choose to no matter where they live in the city/county. Same rule applies to players who settle in Dublin. That makes your rule unworkable."
"Dubs can play for whatever club they choose to no matter where they live in the city/county."

Is that true? I didn't know that - surely based on a parish rule like anywhere else?

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 238 - 30/07/2022 18:46:48    2435501

Obviously, you want to be at a good club to ensure you're playing top flight club football, as that has a positive effect on your county game. But could he not come to an arrangement with the club in Dublin where they'd let him train with them during the week, and then he could return to his real club at the weekends? I agree going back home for training would be daft, but a weekend trip is very do-able; half the country does that anyway. I just don't see how playing for Kilmacud would mean anything to most rural club players.

points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet (Tyrone) - Posts: 238 - 30/07/2022 18:53:55    2435503

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  ""Dubs can play for whatever club they choose to no matter where they live in the city/county."

Is that true? I didn't know that - surely based on a parish rule like anywhere else?"
Parish rule doesn't exist in Cities or indeed some Counties.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1397 - 30/07/2022 19:01:09    2435504

Best of luck to him.

My only issue is the chairman talking about fighting it! Surely there is a set of criteria to comply with for a club transfer and if he complies he complies end of story. It should not be down to the whim of club officers.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 30/07/2022 19:09:11    2435506

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  ""Dubs can play for whatever club they choose to no matter where they live in the city/county."

Is that true? I didn't know that - surely based on a parish rule like anywhere else?"
In Dublin GAA there is no parish rule. Most play for a club in or around their locality obviously but other factors such as family or school can come into play.

For example, on my street there are 4 families involved in the GAA, all four with four different clubs.

Most people wouldn't even know what a parish is in Dublin!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 30/07/2022 19:11:15    2435507

Devastating for small rural club. Soul destroying. All that work at under age to be creamed off by mega power club.

Nothing they can do unfortunately.

handpassking (Galway) - Posts: 430 - 30/07/2022 19:22:24    2435512

Replying To points50swiththeargyllsonthewrongfeet:  "Obviously, you want to be at a good club to ensure you're playing top flight club football, as that has a positive effect on your county game. But could he not come to an arrangement with the club in Dublin where they'd let him train with them during the week, and then he could return to his real club at the weekends? I agree going back home for training would be daft, but a weekend trip is very do-able; half the country does that anyway. I just don't see how playing for Kilmacud would mean anything to most rural club players."
The problem in Galway is that a small number of clubs with large catchment areas, consistently win senior county titles e.g. Corofin, Mountbellew Moylough, and recently with the expansion in Galway City - Claregalway, Salthill/Knockbacarra.

Of course, every young player's ambition is to win a senior title, but there appears to be no thought given to providing a level playing field.

David Clifford plays with a small rural club - Fossa just outside Killarney. However, Kerry supports a Divisional outlet, which means players can still experience senior club football e.g. Norh Kerry/ West Kerry.

Something needs to be done in Galway. Either set up Divisional teams, or else consider club amalgamations in rural areas.

In the past, Michael Donnellan transferred from Dunmore to Salthill and won an AI club title with them. He had been a one man show with Dunmore for several years..

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 30/07/2022 19:30:48    2435513

I'd definitely encourage Shane to think long and hard about this just when Galway football is in a good place and he is adored by all the young kids not only in his own club but every club in Galway the amour of. Neutrals thar would go watch him play in Galway is unreal , I've no doubt he be getting a substantial package to play in Dublin ,, just look at Padraig Joyce who played for his club prob 25 years adult football I've no doubt he could have left ,, he only be another number in Dublin club scene in his own club he is everything ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 832 - 30/07/2022 19:38:05    2435516

If he is in Dublin as he is studying to be a PE teacher that's fair enough - but why transfer now b4 the club championship is about to start - pretty sure colleges are closed over the summer so he's not studying there now.

He could of waited to transfer till college started.

This stinks and is nothing other than money driving this..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 30/07/2022 19:38:34    2435517

Yes that's true and theirin lies the problem. He could be working and living beside two clubs but end up playing for a club 15 miles away. If they working or living in the area I have no problem. Parnells was a joke getting country players to play for them that had no ties whatsoever and fair play to Cluxton who took a stance at the time and refused to play with Parnells senior for a period of time.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 30/07/2022 19:50:28    2435522

Replying To handpassking:  "Devastating for small rural club. Soul destroying. All that work at under age to be creamed off by mega power club.

Nothing they can do unfortunately."
All that got was the last 20 years of him playing for the club!

No one put in more work than Shane to be the footballer he is.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 30/07/2022 19:56:56    2435524

What assumptions did I make?

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1478 - 30/07/2022 19:58:32    2435525

Is he studying in UCD?
If he is then he could play for the UCD club and still play for his Galway club. Would be one way of controlling the Super Clubs.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 30/07/2022 19:58:34    2435526