New Donegal Manager

Bonner has gone. Who would you like to see next?

Donegal_D (Donegal) - Posts: 61 - 20/07/2022 20:27:11    2433254

The family combo from Milford, S P Barrett and son Luke.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 405 - 21/07/2022 09:46:08    2433267

Internally - no standout candidate other than the obvious, but unlikely.

Externally - Malachy O'Rourke, Enda McGinley or Mickey Graham (if he becomes available)

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 21/07/2022 10:20:40    2433280

Has to be shane ward for me. Wonderful record at all levels.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 21/07/2022 10:25:49    2433282

Theres a poster on the meath forum "brian" who says malachey o rourke is next up for the donegal job nailed on certainly apparently, he was linked with meath and declined a few weeks ago.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 21/07/2022 10:27:45    2433284

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Theres a poster on the meath forum "brian" who says malachey o rourke is next up for the donegal job nailed on certainly apparently, he was linked with meath and declined a few weeks ago."
Get down to your local bookie so if he's nailed on, wouldn't be the worst appointment for sure,
I'd really like to see the likes of Kevin Cassidy get a crack at it with an experienced backroom team with him, imagine if Cass went on to win Sam as manager having missed out as a player in 2012, it would be some story.
Exciting times ahead a change was badly needed.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 21/07/2022 11:41:12    2433318

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Get down to your local bookie so if he's nailed on, wouldn't be the worst appointment for sure,
I'd really like to see the likes of Kevin Cassidy get a crack at it with an experienced backroom team with him, imagine if Cass went on to win Sam as manager having missed out as a player in 2012, it would be some story.
Exciting times ahead a change was badly needed."
Ye won't have a hope of winning an all Ireland in the foreseeable future no matter who ye get. Not even best team in ulster.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 21/07/2022 12:21:22    2433336

It certainly won't be Jim. For his many talents, Jim is a headstrong man. He's made his decision now that he wants to apply himself to soccer and he won't give up on that until he achieves whatever it is he'd like to achieve.

In Jim's head now if he were to leave soccer to return to GAA, it would be like throwing in the towel. I don't think Jim will ever manage a football team again.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 21/07/2022 12:30:21    2433339

Replying To howdareu:  "Ye won't have a hope of winning an all Ireland in the foreseeable future no matter who ye get. Not even best team in ulster."
We're no longer the best team in Ulster. That's true. Tyrone were in a very similar position last year. Galway are well in with a shout this year. Derry themselves were even in with a shout. With the right men over a team you'd be surprised where an All Ireland charge could come from.

On that topic fair play to Galway. I was dismissive of them earlier in the year but a lot of their players have stood up in a big way.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 21/07/2022 12:35:02    2433341

Replying To howdareu:  "Ye won't have a hope of winning an all Ireland in the foreseeable future no matter who ye get. Not even best team in ulster."
What county are you from yourself? I always find it weird on here that fellas put where they are supposedly located rather than what county they are actually from and support,
it could be a few years till we get another chance to win Sam but with the right leadership we aren't as far away as you might think.
The new format for Sam Maguire will help I think get away from the annual quagmire of Ulster football. Tyrone will be back strong next year. I think Derry are limited enough and Armagh have potential if they focus on football and less on the MMA auditions.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2748 - 21/07/2022 13:00:30    2433354

For me there are a number of candidates but the list is small and all from outside the county.
Rochford, would he stay?
James Horan, could we afford him?
Malachy O'Rourke, is he interested in County ball?
Enda McGinley, may be waiting for Tyrone.
We need local guys in the backroom, people like Jack Cooney, Shane Ward, Paul Durcan etc
Rochford would be my choice, he knows the players and County and would be different if he was the main man. Just my thoughts, but I think the team could be fixed quickly if we get the right person, they should get two years with an option for yearly after that for both parties to continue or not.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 77 - 21/07/2022 13:14:09    2433361

Rory Kavanagh and Martin McHugh double act.The old and the new like Logan and Dooher.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 21/07/2022 14:23:38    2433375

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Get down to your local bookie so if he's nailed on, wouldn't be the worst appointment for sure,
Sure Cassidy only lasted one year at gaothdobhair. County manager job not for everyone as we see with all the vacancies. Too many fools on social media who never kicked a ball in there lives doesn't help. You should know

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 21/07/2022 14:37:13    2433380

Okay Mr 'I won't reveal my county'. If you say so.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 21/07/2022 14:41:14    2433382

Laughable to see Rochford being suggested here. Declan was obviously the figure head but Rochford was the coaching lead and needs to leave.

Moot point anyway as he will be gone by now.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1072 - 21/07/2022 14:46:44    2433383

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Okay Mr 'I won't reveal my county'. If you say so."
Time will tell- not being smart or insulting. Just my opinion. I'm from leitrim BTW and before the usual stuff starts about oh well what would u know etc etc let me tell you its all a bit boring by now. So unless its original don't bother.

Bit seriously and again I'm genuinely not being a smart ass here- how many of the donegal team would dislodge a kerry, dublin or even galway player? Murphy would but hes nearly past his best. Apart from that it is slim pickings. But that's just my opinion. You are of course free to disagree.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 21/07/2022 15:05:32    2433392

Now would nt that be a great story. Kevin Cassidy would be a god choice imo. Respected by the players and a great will to win.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 21/07/2022 15:18:09    2433398

Replying To howdareu:  "Time will tell- not being smart or insulting. Just my opinion. I'm from leitrim BTW and before the usual stuff starts about oh well what would u know etc etc let me tell you its all a bit boring by now. So unless its original don't bother.

Bit seriously and again I'm genuinely not being a smart ass here- how many of the donegal team would dislodge a kerry, dublin or even galway player? Murphy would but hes nearly past his best. Apart from that it is slim pickings. But that's just my opinion. You are of course free to disagree."
I wouldn't insult Leitrim, have good time for the place.

I'm personally of the opinion that there is a raft of players in that squad who a lot more can be extracted from with the right management - Michael Langan, Jason McGee, Jamie Brennan, Stephen McMenamin, Odhran McFadden Ferry, Shane and Niall O'Donnell and a number of others.

And it's fine today talking about Galway or Kerry with them being in a final on Sunday. Who would have predicted Galway to win Sam until now? I'm sure you know football is fickle and things can change. In 2010, I felt a good squad was being wasted and then from 2011 we know what happened. I think this group have loads of talent but the required steel, hard calls and belief is missing.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 21/07/2022 15:19:08    2433399

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Now would nt that be a great story. Kevin Cassidy would be a god choice imo. Respected by the players and a great will to win."
I doubt the Glenties players would be in a rush to play for him...

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 802 - 21/07/2022 15:35:25    2433407

Replying To Samsforthehills:  "Laughable to see Rochford being suggested here. Declan was obviously the figure head but Rochford was the coaching lead and needs to leave.

Moot point anyway as he will be gone by now."
It is all about opinions, who is your choice? What qualifications and qualities do they bring?

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 77 - 21/07/2022 15:36:16    2433408